Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 13, 2017 Author Posted February 13, 2017 5 minutes ago, Cricketics said: What the hell you want to do then? Play 3 spinners even against Bangladesh in Indian conditions? I am glad we do not have a captain who thinks like you. Winning with 3 apinners every time is no fun, especially against teams like Bangladesh. We have to try different things and give others some chance. Kohli is the best captain we can have. Now suck it up. He will be better than Dhoni and Ganguly and any other Indian test captain. Where did Dhoni and Ganguly come from?Insecure Dilli Waali Feeling? Kohli miscalculated and made a mistake.Thats the truth. Australia dont play 2 spinners at Perth or Brisbane because playing 3 pacers is no fun or they want to try different things.Kohli made a mistake accept it. Sidhoni 1
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 13, 2017 Author Posted February 13, 2017 Blind BK fans @New guy @beetle bhabhji down voting me in this thread. Didnt know @sscomp32 had also joined the bandwagon. When did @King Tendulkar became a trundl kumar fan?
sscomp32 Posted February 13, 2017 Posted February 13, 2017 9 hours ago, G_B_ said: Must be said bhuvi was not good on this deck... Sent from my Wileyfox Swift using Tapatalk Dhawal would have been revolutionary isn't it? beetle 1
Cricketics Posted February 13, 2017 Posted February 13, 2017 3 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: Where did Dhoni and Ganguly come from?Insecure Dilli Waali Feeling? Kohli miscalculated and made a mistake.Thats the truth. Australia dont play 2 spinners at Perth or Brisbane because playing 3 pacers is no fun or they want to try different things.Kohli made a mistake accept it. No I liked both guys more than you ever will have respect for, but I mentioned them since under both those captains we have had most success recently. Just pointing out that he will turn out to be better than both those guys, so stop sensationalizing and trying to change the topic now. Back to your drama, Kohli did not make a mistake. He intentionally picked extra seamer over third spinner. I am glad we don't have someone who thinks like you as captain else we might end up having 4 spinners in the test team and kill the future of Indian pace bowling.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 13, 2017 Author Posted February 13, 2017 3 minutes ago, Cricketics said: No I liked both guys more than you ever will have respect for, but I mentioned them since under both those captains we have had most success recently. Just pointing out that he will turn out to be better than both those guys, so stop sensationalizing and trying to change the topic now. Back to your drama, Kohli did not make a mistake. He intentionally picked extra seamer over third spinner. I am glad we don't have someone who thinks like you as captain else we might end up having 4 spinners in the test team and kill the future of Indian pace bowling. Now respect for Dhoni and Dada?Kya track change hai mere bhai! He did make a mistake.Else if plan was to play 3 seamers why did team management ask for replacement of Mishraji? Lets play 4 pacers for our next test match to preserve the future of Trundl Indians. If Australia would have thought like this,they would play 2 spinners in Australia.Same with SA and ENG.
Cricketics Posted February 13, 2017 Posted February 13, 2017 2 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: He did make a mistake.Else if plan was to play 3 seamers why did team management ask for replacement of Mishraji? Lets play 4 pacers for our next test match to preserve the future of Trundl Indians. If Australia would have thought like this,they would play 2 spinners in Australia.Same with SA and ENG. First of all, Bhuvi is not a trundler. Which ever British- Raj you are living in and whichever missionary from such British Raj who taught you that word, owes you an explanation for the meaning of the word "trundler". And then talking talking about why we didn't play 4 seamers then. Well it is common sense. You try different things but don't over do it. It is common sense. There is always room to try few different things instead of over doing it and Kohli did just that by playing 2 spinners and 3 seamers, he did not change the balance of the team a lot. beetle 1
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 13, 2017 Author Posted February 13, 2017 1 minute ago, Cricketics said: First of all, Bhuvi is not a trundler. Which ever British- Raj you are living in and whichever missionary from such British Raj who taught you that word, owes you an explanation for the meaning of the word "trundler". And then talking talking about why we didn't play 4 seamers then. Well it is common sense. You try different things but don't over do it. It is common sense. There is always room to try few different things instead of over doing it and Kohli did just that by playing 2 spinners and 3 seamers, he did not change the balance of the team a lot. I am living in British Raj and being taught by Missionaries.LOL. Says the man who left his country and lives in USA and is not even an Indian. Bhuvi is a exactly a Trundler in tests.That may change in ODI and T20s. Why is it difficult to accept that Kohli ji made a mistake? He picked 3 pacers seeing grass on the pitch.Thank the Ghante Waale Maharaj at Chandni CHowk that this was BD and it didnt back fire.
Cricketics Posted February 13, 2017 Posted February 13, 2017 13 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: I am living in British Raj and being taught by Missionaries.LOL. Says the man who left his country and lives in USA and is not even an Indian. Bhuvi is a exactly a Trundler in tests.That may change in ODI and T20s. Why is it difficult to accept that Kohli ji made a mistake? He picked 3 pacers seeing grass on the pitch.Thank the Ghante Waale Maharaj at Chandni CHowk that this was BD and it didnt back fire. Too bad the player you think is a trundler is actually comsidered as a prospect of Indian team by two people who matter the most - Kohli and Kumblr. He will also be playing a lot for India, so suck it up and get used to it. And too bad for you that Kohli doesn't think the same way as you of playing 3 spinners every time and thinks of making some changes like playing 3 seamers. We are lucky to have such captain. Kohli made a mistake
Cricketics Posted February 13, 2017 Posted February 13, 2017 20 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: I am living in British Raj and being taught by Missionaries.LOL. Says the man who left his country and lives in USA and is not even an Indian. Bhuvi is a exactly a Trundler in tests.That may change in ODI and T20s. Why is it difficult to accept that Kohli ji made a mistake? He picked 3 pacers seeing grass on the pitch.Thank the Ghante Waale Maharaj at Chandni CHowk that this was BD and it didnt back fire. Too bad the player you think is a trundler is actually considered as a prospect of Indian team by the two people who matter the most - Kohli and Kumblr. He will also be playing a lot for India, so suck it up and get used to it. And too bad for you that Kohli doesn't think the same way as you of playing 3 spinners every time and thinks of making some changes like playing 3 seamers. We are lucky to have such captain. Kohli made a mistake
maniac Posted February 13, 2017 Posted February 13, 2017 (edited) 11 minutes ago, Cricketics said: Too bad the player you think is a trundler is actually considered as a prospect of Indian team by the two people who matter the most - Kohli and Kumblr. He will also be playing a lot for India, so suck it up and get used to it. And too bad for you that Kohli doesn't think the same way as you of playing 3 spinners every time and thinks of making some changes like playing 3 seamers. We are lucky to have such captain. Kohli made a mistake It happen's....he is missing the advice of one of the most successful T20 captains of all time(Not Dhoni)...once he comes back to the think-tank,Kohli will do much better with his strategies. Edited February 13, 2017 by maniac
Cricketics Posted February 13, 2017 Posted February 13, 2017 6 minutes ago, maniac said: It happen's....he is missing the advice of one of the most successful T20 captains of all time(Not Dhoni)...once he comes back to the think-tank,Kohli will do much better with his strategies. Rohit will not be back in the test playing x1 for a while, so Kohli will still be fine without his advice. Hardly any mistake choosig 3 seamers. Great decision instead.
express bowling Posted February 13, 2017 Posted February 13, 2017 Apart from Bangladesh being the opponent ( who are weaker against pace and better against spin ) another reason for playing 3 pacers could be that the team management wanted to see which of the 3 seamers is best suited to being the 2nd seamer after Shami or the first 2 seamers if Shami is unavailable..... while playing tests in India on flat or flattish tracks. We have never seen these 3 pacers play together on the same pitch in the last 2 years and many of us even on this forum wanted to actually test out their relative effectiveness on the same flat track. I have got some indicators and the team management perhaps has too. Mosher and sandeep 2
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 13, 2017 Author Posted February 13, 2017 30 minutes ago, Cricketics said: Too bad the player you think is a trundler is actually considered as a prospect of Indian team by the two people who matter the most - Kohli and Kumblr. He will also be playing a lot for India, so suck it up and get used to it. And too bad for you that Kohli doesn't think the same way as you of playing 3 spinners every time and thinks of making some changes like playing 3 seamers. We are lucky to have such captain. Kohli made a mistake yea he is a prospect in favourable condtions.Kohli made the mistake of playing him in Hyd and the result is for everyone to see. I hope he plays a lot or India in ENG/SA/NZ. Rest of the places he probably wont even make the squad.K and K have likely learnt their lesson now from their mistake.
veer Posted February 13, 2017 Posted February 13, 2017 On 2/12/2017 at 5:24 AM, Malcolm Merlyn said: So what was the point of Bhuvi Kumar in the team?Keeping Kuldeep and Jayant out of the side?Bhuvi did nothing in the test match.He is a liablity when the pitch or the conditions dont have anything for swing bowling.He isnt fast enough neither can he reverse the ball.He has looked the worst of the 3 pacers here, Mr.Kohli has tried to be oversmart and has been caught naked.May be he should learn and thing or two from Dhoni. Bhai.. tu rehne de... tujse nai hoga beetle, sscomp32 and Cricketics 3
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 13, 2017 Author Posted February 13, 2017 6 minutes ago, veer said: Bhai.. tu rehne de... tujse nai hoga Veer Bhai Kehna Kya Chahte Ho?
fineleg Posted February 13, 2017 Posted February 13, 2017 (edited) Cricketics - you seem to think VK played Bhuvi to develop pacers' culture - not sure where you get that info. Its very simple - VK saw some grass initially and wanted to have an extra seamer if we have to bowl first. So happened we batted first. I am ok with VK picking Bhuvi as a extra seamer if we had to bowl first. Nothing wrong with VK's selection. But thats as simple as that. Where is your theory of "developing pace culture" coming from!? Edited February 13, 2017 by fineleg
Cricketics Posted February 13, 2017 Posted February 13, 2017 6 minutes ago, fineleg said: But thats as simple as that. Where is your theory of "developing pace culture" coming from!? I am just trying to simply counter that we simply can't have 3 spinners every freakin time in India.
maniac Posted February 13, 2017 Posted February 13, 2017 8 minutes ago, fineleg said: Cricketics - you seem to think VK played Bhuvi to develop pacers' culture - not sure where you get that info. Its very simple - VK saw some grass initially and wanted to have an extra seamer if we have to bowl first. So happened we batted first. I am ok with VK picking Bhuvi as a extra seamer if we had to bowl first. Nothing wrong with VK's selection. But thats as simple as that. Where is your theory of "developing pace culture" coming from!? According to him declaration was delayed because of Kumble but the brilliant team selection was done by VK. I have found a match
Cricketics Posted February 13, 2017 Posted February 13, 2017 2 minutes ago, maniac said: According to him declaration was delayed because of Kumble but the brilliant team selection was done by VK. Let me know your playing x1 miss acumen? lets see which x1 our legend Maniac would have picked instead.
fineleg Posted February 13, 2017 Posted February 13, 2017 (edited) 7 minutes ago, Cricketics said: I am just trying to simply counter that we simply can't have 3 spinners every freakin time in India. It depends on the pitch man! In this case, he wanted extra seamer. He did not do this to break out of the 3 spinners formula. Had this been a dry pitch, he would have gone with 3 spinners - so your theory of this is weaker team, so VK was experimenting to break from the "standard formula" is not right. Correct? Edited February 13, 2017 by fineleg