‘Emphasis on part-time wicketkeepers unfortunate, affects quality’

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/emphasis-on-part-time-wicketkeepers-unfortunate-affects-quality/story-YWOjQbB3UERaCjX2TxuiLM.html

MS Dhoni’s long stint with the Test team gave India selectors time to spot a worthy successor as wicketkeeper. Wriddhiman Saha nudged ahead of Naman Ojha because of a more classical approach to the art of keeping wickets.

His injury though has exposed the India team management’s myopic vision as they have had to fall back on Parthiv Patel and Dinesh Karthik, both discarded when Dhoni arrived in the mid-2000s.

In a crucial year of Test tours, India have already fielded three wicketkeepers in the space of four Tests since January.

If that wasn’t bad enough, the selectors have picked young Rishabh Pant as backup for Karthik for the England Tests. With a Ranji triple century in his kitty, it comes as no surprise Pant is being tested as a potential India stumper.

It remains to be seen how these random selections affect India’s long term plans. However, former India stumper and World Cup winner, Syed Kirmani, feels the competition is taking a toll on quality.

“You miss out on one or two innings and you are out of the team. They are making all batsmen makeshift wicketkeepers. Unfortunately, that is how the selection team is thinking. It reflects on their inexperience,” Kirmani, also a former chief selector, said from Bangalore.

This is not a one-off thing. The likes of Jonny Bairstow and Quinton de Kock are considered best in the business because of the runs they produce, not how safe they are behind the wicket. Proliferating T20 leagues too have strengthened the concept of getting a batsman to keep wicket.

“It’s a phenomenon world over. There is too much cricket. Players have no rest at all. All these injuries are happening because there is no particular technique wicketkeepers are following. If you don’t have that, you can’t last long,” Kirmani said.

Saha is out with a shoulder injury – not specified by BCCI when naming the squad for the first three Tests in England – after suffering a hamstring strain in South Africa and then fracturing his thumb during IPL.

The Decision Review System (DRS) needs inputs from wicketkeepers, and his role has thus expanded manifold. Kirmani feels this is why Dhoni remains India’s best choice. “The keeper is the best judge of the game. He is the best guide for the bowler and is the right person to set the field.

“I was so excited when MS Dhoni was appointed captain. And he proved himself so well. That is why I say lay off Dhoni. His experience gives the team a unique edge.”

Pant’s selection suggests specialist wicketkeepers may not get the nod easily in the future. Consistent scores or pinch-hitting is a must to stay in contention.

Kirmani feels the rot sets in at state level. “The selection pattern is that they don’t want a specialised keeper. They want an additional all-rounder who can stop the ball.

“The first one to take that place was Rahul Dravid (2003 World Cup). Even KL Rahul is keeping wicket nowadays. Right now, all the state associations are choosing wicketkeepers like that.”

DK is anything but a part time keeper.
DK:

Keeping :  Good
Batting: Great
Captaincy: V Good

DK still does not get to play. Kohli is a moron and Shastri is a bufoon.
He needs to be included into the team as a a batsman first and then slowly blooded as the keeper.

Sent from my CPH1609 using Tapatalk

14 hours ago, philcric said:

Another misinformed opinion from a former player.

Who is a part time keeper among the incumbents or the hopefuls?

Dhoni, Saha, Karthik, Parthiv, Pant, Ishan .. none of them are part time keepers.

Parthiv is a **** keeper, but full time !!

Really ? why does everyone of this forum want Pant or even pandya in team ? because Pant can hit the ball, thats it. Keeping skills are secondary. 

13 hours ago, beetle said:

Kuch bhi...

Who are the part timers?

Only one I remember is Dravid .

KL Rahul ???? But he doesn't play as keeper for India.

These oldies think they were the only ' pure ' ones ...unke baad sab milatwat (adulderated ) hai.:rolleyes:

His point is more towards the thought process which to be honest i agree with. Please tell me why is Pandya still in the test team. 

1 hour ago, jf1gp_1 said:

His point is more towards the thought process which to be honest i agree with. Please tell me why is Pandya still in the test team. 

Because of his bowling, no one gives a toss even if he doesn't score 50 runs every test, match not innings mind you. Ashwin on the other hand won't find a spot in the side overseas without his batting, he has such a poor record away from Asia :yousuck:

1 hour ago, jf1gp_1 said:

Really ? why does everyone of this forum want Pant or even pandya in team ? because Pant can hit the ball, thats it. Keeping skills are secondary. 

Pant is a good keeper as far as we have seen . He has always been a specialist keeper batsman.People expect him to be a specialist  bat because he is that good as a batsman.

Can only judge his keeping skills in big boy league after he gets a chance.If he doesn't prove himself...he will go. He neither has the clout nor the support in the management to stick around .

A pure keeper who can't hold a bat is a dinosaur of bygone times which no team can afford in these times. 

Pandya is a wkt taker. There are very few games where he does not take wkts .He is sometimes expensive...but in todays batsman loaded game, everyone is expensive once in a while.

He is also a big hitter. Considering the few opportunities he gets to bat, he does well.

Not ideal....but he is the best we have right now.If someone else better comes along...then we will support him .

Edited by beetle
21 minutes ago, beetle said:

Pant is a good keeper as far as we have seen . He has always been a specialist keeper batsman.People expect him to be a specialist  bat because he is that good as a batsman.

Can only judge his keeping skills in big boy league after he gets a chance.If he doesn't prove himself...he will go. He neither has the clout nor the support in the management to stick around .

A pure keeper who can't hold a bat is a dinosaur of bygone times which no team can afford in these times. 

Pandya is a wkt taker. There are very few games where he does not take wkts .He is sometimes expensive...but in todays batsman loaded game, everyone is expensive once in a while.

He is also a big hitter. Considering the few opportunities he gets to bat, he does well.

Not ideal....but he is the best we have right now.If someone else better comes along...then we will support him .

Sure Pandya has only played handful of test but that he is a wicket taker isnt exactly accurate. Guy has not taken a wicket in last 3 test when 2 of them were in SA. 

2 minutes ago, jf1gp_1 said:

Sure Pandya has only played handful of test but that he is a wicket taker isnt exactly accurate. Guy has not taken a wicket in last 3 test when 2 of them were in SA. 

I meant Pandya in general...not in tests.

In test Pandya can sit out....we do have Ashwin ,Bhuvi ( when fit) and now Kuldeep who provide a balance between bat and ball. Together they are about one and half  good batsmen .

4 minutes ago, beetle said:

In test Pandya can sit out....we do have Ashwin ,Bhuvi ( when fit) and now Kuldeep who provide a balance between bat and ball. Together they are about one and half  good batsmen .

Pandya is an integral part of  LOIs setup i dont see much debate there till atleast WC, its the test part specially overseas. Yes on paper he makes sense but i would prefer a specialist batsman or bowler ahead of him. 

7 hours ago, beetle said:

And jadeja too. I dont think Pandya is ahead of Ashwin, Jadeja and Kuldeep. I also know the Moron Kohli will play him.

On Sat Jul 21 2018 at 5:58 PM, beetle said:

Kuch bhi...

Who are the part timers?

Only one I remember is Dravid .

KL Rahul ???? But he doesn't play as keeper for India.

These oldies think they were the only ' pure ' ones ...unke baad sab milatwat (adulderated ) hai.:rolleyes:

Time beet jaane k baad aisa hi hota hai.sab apne aap ko Adam Gilchrist samajhte hain apne time ka

Edited by Suhaan

@Gollum you were talking about match ka mujrim while Bedi used to be relentless on Ganguly or even on other players do you remember how Kirmani used to defend them Dekhie paji ye ek aisa mahan khiadi hai jisne desh k lie bahut kuch kia hai :phehe:.

Bedi used to reply him with something like to ab kya kar raha wo ye dekho present ki bat karo ab batao na kya kia hai he should be kicked out.