Rasgulla Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 (edited) Who cn go against Kohli and still stay in the team ? Only one man with heart of a Lion Edited July 7, 2017 by Rasgulla
Rasgulla Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 34 minutes ago, Sidhoni said: That article mentions one player was in support of Kumble. There's a greater chance of that player being Dhoni than anyone else IMHO. Since the player is standing up for something alone, it must be someone with spine who commands lot of respect from other players, so cannot be a newcomer. Contenders IMO would be Dhoni, Yuvraj, Ashwin, maybe Vijay and Pujara. Since Kumble was earlier a mentor for Dhoni and Kumble is one of the few seniors Dhoni was always on good terms with, I think there's a strong chance. Can't be Yuvi only reason he is back in odi team is cause of Kohli.. Ashwin is a snake.. He was with Ms before now with kohli Vijay and puraja are Test players who were dropped by kohli before so they won't risk
Sidhoni Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 16 minutes ago, Rasgulla said: Can't be Yuvi only reason he is back in odi team is cause of Kohli.. Ashwin is a snake.. He was with Ms before now with kohli Vijay and puraja are Test players who were dropped by kohli before so they won't risk Yeah their chances are bleak. But I don't think it can be anyone apart from these 5. Maybe Rahane because of the last match vs Aus, him and Kumble sharing similar thoughts etc but then he doesn't come across as a guy with such guts to stand alone.
Rasgulla Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 (edited) 5 minutes ago, Sidhoni said: Yeah their chances are bleak. But I don't think it can be anyone apart from these 5. Maybe Rahane because of the last match vs Aus, him and Kumble sharing similar thoughts etc but then he doesn't come across as a guy with such guts to stand alone. Why would he play in all 5 odis if he goes against kohli... Now kumble isn't there why is kohli helping an average player like him.. Rahane is the last one i expect Edited July 7, 2017 by Rasgulla
Sidhoni Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 2 minutes ago, Rasgulla said: Why would he play in all 5 odis if he goes against kohli... Now kumble isn't there why is kohli helping an average player like him.. Rahane is the last one i expect Good point. Even Yuvi doesn't seem possible on second thoughts.
wanted_desi Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 There are no personalities in the team other than Kohli. Everyone is just a chamcha of Captain because anyone can be dropped without second thought. We don't have any superstar other than Kohli.
Lannister Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 12 hours ago, express bowling said: Very likely. I was worried about this situation when I read about Kohli having the support of 10 other players on the coach issue. Now, it is payback time in terms of supporting them back. We see similar things in the world around us all the time. Question is.... how long would this last ? Yup, those 10 players will be his downfall as a captain. It's clear they don't have what it takes to win him trophies, this will end in a tragedy for Kohli if he doesn't wakeup soon.
SK_IH Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 8 hours ago, express bowling said: 8 hours ago, express bowling said: Rahane had not played in any LOI games till this series. Yuvraj was initially asked for by Kumble while the Duleep Trophy was going on. So, that leaves Rohit in test matches.... who has undoubtably been Kohli's choice. Do you think there will be a rift between captain and coach based on one player ? All the other picks have been either unanimous or have had supporters on both sides .... of the one being picked or dropped. Am I missing someone else... please remind me then. Again you defending the indefensible Rahane wasn't in the side because Rohit was there,if first had any plan he would not have played rahane in all 5 Odis Again it's no coincidence that yuvi came back in virat captaincy angst England ,ffs he bought yuvi for rcb purely on his whims & that's a commercial entity we are talking about where virat may not be only decision taker but still he pulled it off Then the whole thing about kuldeep & I keep going back to that 4th game vs eng where he played Mishra What about kartik ,even if selectors selected him ,he shouldn't have given chance that too ahead of deserving pant
Lannister Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 5 hours ago, Sidhoni said: That article mentions one player was in support of Kumble. There's a greater chance of that player being Dhoni than anyone else IMHO. Since the player is standing up for something alone, it must be someone with spine who commands lot of respect from other players, so cannot be a newcomer. Contenders IMO would be Dhoni, Yuvraj, Ashwin, maybe Vijay and Pujara. Since Kumble was earlier a mentor for Dhoni and Kumble is one of the few seniors Dhoni was always on good terms with, I think there's a strong chance. LOL. It must be Yuvi. I remember seeing a pic when Kumble visited him when he wad taking treatment for Cancer in US and he was playing with Kumble a lot longer than Dhoni did. The players in question are all Dhoni's underlings, he must be the biggest instigator behind Kumble's exit. Laaloo, Ironhide and GoldenSun 2 1
Sidhoni Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 2 hours ago, Lannister said: LOL. It must be Yuvi. I remember seeing a pic when Kumble visited him when he wad taking treatment for Cancer in US and he was playing with Kumble a lot longer than Dhoni did. The players in question are all Dhoni's underlings, he must be the biggest instigator behind Kumble's exit. Yuvi is in the team only because of friendship with Kohli, why would he go against him? Also selecting Yuvi was one of the reasons Kumble wasn't happy with Kohli. Though you can choose to see whatever you want through the tinted glasses. Biggest instigator is Dhoni when Kohli acts as like a dumb teen deleting tweets from last year Tendu_10, sscomp32, GoldenSun and 1 other 4
express bowling Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 5 hours ago, SK_IH said: Again you defending the indefensible Rahane wasn't in the side because Rohit was there,if first had any plan he would not have played rahane in all 5 Odis The issue being discussed in that particular post was whether Kohli playing certain favourite players led to a rift between Kohli and Kumble. If Rahane was not actually played, whatever the reason, then it would not create a rift between the two. Moreover, Rohit was not there during the England ODI series , but it was Rahul who replaced Rohit and not Rahane for the first 2 ODIs. Rahane played 70+ ODIs and 20 T20Is BEFORE Kohli became the captain. Rahane had played all 5 ODIs against New Zealand in 2016, just BEFORE Kohli became the captain. That means, he was actually dropped by Kohli in the England ODI series 2016 for the first 2 ODIs. Rahane also played the 2 T20Is in the WI in 2016 when Kohli was NOT the captain but was dropped by Kohli against England in the next T20I series. It also means that Rahane was always in the ODI and T20I plans of team India. All this Kohli's support for Rahane in ODIs has emerged after Kumble quit. 5 hours ago, SK_IH said: Again it's no coincidence that yuvi came back in virat captaincy angst England ,ffs he bought yuvi for rcb purely on his whims & that's a commercial entity we are talking about where virat may not be only decision taker but still he pulled it off Actually, Yuvi came back to Team India in January 2016 and played 15 T20Is BEFORE Kohli became the T20I captain. 5 hours ago, SK_IH said: Then the whole thing about kuldeep & I keep going back to that 4th game vs eng where he played Mishra Mishra is not Kohli's favourite. He was dropped for Jayant Yadav, a newcomer, in many test matches. 5 hours ago, SK_IH said: What about kartik ,even if selectors selected him ,he shouldn't have given chance that too ahead of deserving pant Absolutely.... it was wrong of Kohli to not play Pant. But the topic being discussed, by justarrived and I, was different and I outlined it in the first line of this post. Ironhide 1
Kerberos Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 52 minutes ago, express bowling said: The issue being discussed in that particular post was whether Kohli playing certain favourite players led to a rift between Kohli and Kumble. If Rahane was not actually played, whatever the reason, then it would not create a rift between the two. Moreover, Rohit was not there during the England ODI series , but it was Rahul who replaced Rohit and not Rahane for the first 2 ODIs. Rahane played 70+ ODIs and 20 T20Is BEFORE Kohli became the captain. Rahane had played all 5 ODIs against New Zealand in 2016, just BEFORE Kohli became the captain. That means, he was actually dropped by Kohli in the England ODI series 2016 for the first 2 ODIs. Rahane also played the 2 T20Is in the WI in 2016 when Kohli was NOT the captain but was dropped by Kohli against England in the next T20I series. It also means that Rahane was always in the ODI and T20I plans of team India. All this Kohli's support for Rahane in ODIs has emerged after Kumble quit. Actually, Yuvi came back to Team India in January 2016 and played 15 T20Is BEFORE Kohli became the T20I captain. Mishra is not Kohli's favourite. He was dropped for Jayant Yadav, a newcomer, in many test matches. Absolutely.... it was wrong of Kohli to not play Pant. But the topic being discussed, by justarrived and I, was different and I outlined it in the first line of this post. The theory that Kohli is supporting Rahane / other players to have support after Kumble's exit is ridiculous. Yes Dhoni backed Rahane but so has kohli. You are clearly trying to defend Kohli's favouritism for yuvraj and rahane. sscomp32 1
express bowling Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 11 minutes ago, Kerberos said: Yes Dhoni backed Rahane but so has kohli. You are clearly trying to defend Kohli's favouritism for yuvraj and rahane. I am getting the impression that Kohli's support for Rahane for ODIs has escalated after Kumble has left. The data that I provided above does point to that. Do, you have any data that suggests otherwise. I am open to learning about it. Regarding Yuvraj... Kohli obviously likes him quite a bit. I am agreeing to that. Just pointing out that Yuvraj was introduced to Team India in T20Is last year before Kohli became the captain. Which means that he had support of others along with the support he obviously has from Kohli. Cricketics and Ironhide 2
SK_IH Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 1 hour ago, express bowling said: The issue being discussed in that particular post was whether Kohli playing certain favourite players led to a rift between Kohli and Kumble. If Rahane was not actually played, whatever the reason, then it would not create a rift between the two. Moreover, Rohit was not there during the England ODI series , but it was Rahul who replaced Rohit and not Rahane for the first 2 ODIs. Rahane played 70+ ODIs and 20 T20Is BEFORE Kohli became the captain. Rahane had played all 5 ODIs against New Zealand in 2016, just BEFORE Kohli became the captain. That means, he was actually dropped by Kohli in the England ODI series 2016 for the first 2 ODIs. Rahane also played the 2 T20Is in the WI in 2016 when Kohli was NOT the captain but was dropped by Kohli against England in the next T20I series. It also means that Rahane was always in the ODI and T20I plans of team India. All this Kohli's support for Rahane in ODIs has emerged after Kumble quit. Actually, Yuvi came back to Team India in January 2016 and played 15 T20Is BEFORE Kohli became the T20I captain. Mishra is not Kohli's favourite. He was dropped for Jayant Yadav, a newcomer, in many test matches. Absolutely.... it was wrong of Kohli to not play Pant. But the topic being discussed, by justarrived and I, was different and I outlined it in the first line of this post. you try to hard to give benefit of doubt in everything when it comes kohli's bizzare moves n blatant favouritism especially when it comes to yuvi for ex you are trying to circumvent by this vague explanation about yuvi was in India t20 side in 2016 when actually we are talking about odis And i disagree on the basic premise of this debate there is quid pro quo going on this side,i am pretty certain these ind players are not such low level scums to be executing that sscomp32 1
rkt.india Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 (edited) 5 hours ago, Sidhoni said: Yuvi is in the team only because of friendship with Kohli, why would he go against him? Also selecting Yuvi was one of the reasons Kumble wasn't happy with Kohli. Though you can choose to see whatever you want through the tinted glasses. Biggest instigator is Dhoni when Kohli acts as like a dumb teen deleting tweets from last year news sites had reported it was Kumble who immediately after becoming coach asked Yuvi to come to NCA and prove his fitness last year. Edited July 8, 2017 by rkt.india
rkt.india Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 1 hour ago, SK_IH said: you try to hard to give benefit of doubt in everything when it comes kohli's bizzare moves n blatant favouritism especially when it comes to yuvi for ex you are trying to circumvent by this vague explanation about yuvi was in India t20 side in 2016 when actually we are talking about odis And i disagree on the basic premise of this debate there is quid pro quo going on this side,i am pretty certain these ind players are not such low level scums to be executing that Yuvraj was in scheme of things before Kohli became captain. In fact, Anil Kumble called Yuvraj at NCA for fitness test immediately after he became coach.
sscomp32 Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 (edited) 15 hours ago, Sidhoni said: That article mentions one player was in support of Kumble. There's a greater chance of that player being Dhoni than anyone else IMHO. Since the player is standing up for something alone, it must be someone with spine who commands lot of respect from other players, so cannot be a newcomer. Contenders IMO would be Dhoni, Yuvraj, Ashwin, maybe Vijay and Pujara. Since Kumble was earlier a mentor for Dhoni and Kumble is one of the few seniors Dhoni was always on good terms with, I think there's a strong chance. Its either Dhoni or one of the test specialists i feel. More chance of it being dhoni because he is the only guy left who played with kumble. P.S. Sorry if forgot yuvi is in the team too. But Yuvi will never go against Virat. Edited July 8, 2017 by sscomp32 Rasgulla 1
Kerberos Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 2 hours ago, express bowling said: I am getting the impression that Kohli's support for Rahane for ODIs has escalated after Kumble has left. The data that I provided above does point to that. Do, you have any data that suggests otherwise. I am open to learning about it. Regarding Yuvraj... Kohli obviously likes him quite a bit. I am agreeing to that. Just pointing out that Yuvraj was introduced to Team India in T20Is last year before Kohli became the captain. Which means that he had support of others along with the support he obviously has from Kohli. Not for getting his support though after Kumble's exit. Rest agreed: Both Rahane and Yuvraj were in team before kohli became captain.
express bowling Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 (edited) 2 hours ago, SK_IH said: you try to hard to give benefit of doubt in everything when it comes kohli's bizzare moves n blatant favouritism especially when it comes to yuvi for ex you are trying to circumvent by this vague explanation about yuvi was in India t20 side in 2016 when actually we are talking about odis No, I am saying that Kohli's favouritism for certain players was most probably not the reason for the rift between Kohli and Kumble.... as both Rahane and Yuvraj were in our LOI sides when Kumble was the coach and Kohli was not the captain. Is favouritism good ? NO..... I do not support it at all. Did it cause a rift between Kohli and Kumble ? Facts do not seem to suggest so. Quote And i disagree on the basic premise of this debate there is quid pro quo going on this side,i am pretty certain these ind players are not such low level scums to be executing that Different people will have different opinions about issues. It is natural. Edited July 8, 2017 by express bowling