Can Rahul, Vijay and Dhawan play in the same line-up if we play 6 specialist batsmen?

jalebi_bhai

Can we accommodate Rahul, Vijay and Dhawan in the same line-up if we play 6 specialist batsmen?  

29 members have voted

1. 1. Can we accommodate Rahul, Vijay and Dhawan in the same line-up if we play 6 specialist batsmen?

• Yes
    • No

1 minute ago, Forever Indian said:

Possibly, Dhawan can be played at no.6. But still don't have much faith in his technique in places like SA and Eng. Other countries he should be Okay.

I was thinking more along the lines of this:

Rahul 

Dhawan

Vijay

Pujara

Kohli

Rahane

1 minute ago, jalebi_bhai said:

I was thinking more along the lines of this:

Rahul 

Dhawan

Vijay

Pujara

Kohli

Rahane

Dhawan should not be in top 3 outside subcontinent. We need players who can play a lot of balls and wear shine off ball to bat in top 3. Dhawan is a hot or miss player and will have majority misses outside subcontinent, and will expose our middle order sooner.

1 minute ago, Forever Indian said:

Dhawan should not be in top 3 outside subcontinent. We need players who can play a lot of balls and wear shine off ball to bat in top 3. Dhawan is a hot or miss player and will have majority misses outside subcontinent, and will expose our middle order sooner.

Can he bat in the middle order though? He is a quick scorer so he might be more useful up the order. 

See, if he gets out early then Vijay can come and consolidate at 3. 

Just now, jalebi_bhai said:

Can he bat in the middle order though? He is a quick scorer so he might be more useful up the order. 

See, if he gets out early then Vijay can come and consolidate at 3. 

The biggest priority should be having an opening which will not expose the middle order in first 10 overs , I wudnt care about SR especially in difficult batting conditions . Quick scorers would be required down the order when the pitch eases out . So I think he should be fine playing at 6

Well its a 50/50 for me.. Dhawan at 6 or Dhawan to open to give left/right combination and play a sehwag type role to put bowlers off at the top.. 

Now since vijay is a grt player of spin i will play him at 4 and kohli at 5 protecting him further against the new ball.

18 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Wo dhawan hai lara nhin jo usko accomodate krne ke liye thread bna diya 

Look, the start he and Rahul gave yesterday put India in a very good position. Had India played well in today's first session, match could've been won. Vijay, for all his virtues, has never shown the ability to score as briskly as Dhawan can when on song. 

Dhawan has a better Test record than Rohit does, so if India has to play six specialist batsmen, why not Dhawan? 

Once again Dhawan carries his own weight but India does need Vijay. The others who can do the job are both Rohit and Rahane. That is enough and probably the strongest opening lineup. The problem is a proper batting coach who can rotate these guys, but current coaching setup is cancerous for India.

I think hahane needs to be dropped for good.

HE is not part of t20. He is on lifeline in ODIs and now he is absolutely **** in test cricket. If ranji form is any indication, the guy is going to struggle big time in the next couple of test matches. HE is simply not the batsman we need. A highly inconsistent batsman, who supposedly is good in this format but gets out more often than not like a tailender. Pretender of the highest order. THRow him out. * saala.

11 minutes ago, WC2011INDIA said:

I think hahane needs to be dropped for good.

HE is not part of t20. He is on lifeline in ODIs and now he is absolutely **** in test cricket. If ranji form is any indication, the guy is going to struggle big time in the next couple of test matches. HE is simply not the batsman we need. A highly inconsistent batsman, who supposedly is good in this format but gets out more often than not like a tailender. Pretender of the highest order. THRow him out. * saala.

Did Rahane gave you a roundhouse kick back when both of you were in school?

2 hours ago, Pollack said:

We need to groom one more newcomer opener. No Mukund please. Who else can be?

Regarding OP, 

Vijay should be prefered over Dhawan on green pitches and Dhawan in all other conditions. (Rotation policy based on horses for courses)

panchal, samrat and p chopra are the next in line in A team.

40 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Interesting topic Jalebi bhai. 

Any two top players with 40 plus average  can be accomodated when the team needs changes. May be not right away but in the middle of the tour when things are not working for the team.

Good thread. 

Thanks paaji.

All three of them bring different skills to the table that the team can utilize. I'd rather try fitting these three in the team than play Rohit. At least Dhawan has done well in New Zealand and shown that he's useful overseas.