So who are we taking as 5th seamer in the squad to SA? Dont tell me Pandya

Who will you choose as 5th seamer for SA tour   

18 members have voted

1. 1. Who will you choose as 5th seamer for SA tour

Dear OP Pandya is not a bowler or batter, but an allrounder n there is a separate slot for that.Now what you wish for is a allrounder who can bowl like Steyn n bat like Lara lol.

The kid has done great since debut, what do you expect, allrounders mature slowly, he can bowl a teasing line at 138 k, move the ball has a good short one n can seam, so please be real , he has to be in team as an allrounder n his performance with the bat n ball have been good.

40 minutes ago, vishalvirsingh said:

what my head Says is 

shammi ishant bhuvi Umesh will be the pacers

pandya sure will go and shankar also has outside chance to go, depending on whether he plays well in the second or third test...he is sure coming into the playing 11.

ashwin Jadeja and Kuldeep- 2 out of the three will go as i feel Kuldeep will definitely go and one out of ash/jaddu may go- any way 1 out of the three will play so 2 out of these three will go.

Since kuldeep has been warming benches i highly doubt he ll go 

Just now, MCcricket said:

Dear OP Pandya is not a bowler or batter, but an allrounder n there is a separate slot for that.Now what you wish for is a allrounder who can bowl like Steyn n bat like Lara lol.

I knw that ...........

Just now, MCcricket said:

The kid has done great since debut, what do you expect, allrounders mature slowly, he can bowl a teasing line at 138 k, move the ball has a good short one n can seam, so please be real , he has to be in team as an allrounder n his performance with the bat n ball have been good.

So were did i criticize him or raise question on him..............infact im one of them who has given the same point ur giving from his debut 

Read carefully all m saying is pandya shudnt be the excuse of not taking 5th seamer . 

Likhna hai to matalb kuch bhi........

4 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

I knw that ...........

So were did i criticize him or raise question on him..............infact im one of them who has given the same point ur giving from his debut 

Read carefully all m saying is pandya shudnt be the excuse of not taking 5th seamer . 

Likhna hai to matalb kuch bhi........

I can't read your mind, but only comment on what is written, and I agree, but this will be a three test series now, so 5 bowlers, n the management is rigid ,don't see em playing any one outside their clique so pointless unless a few bowlers get injured.

Most prob Shami, BK, Umesh, Ishant n Pandya /Shankar as allrounders, ideally I would wanna see Bumrah, Aniket n no Ishant n if Umesh is bowling at 135k then he shouldn't go to SA.

3 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Ability- What ability does a trundler like dhawal have

Action- achar daalu main action ka , 130k ke upar bwol to hoti nhin

Attitude- Shardul has the best attitude i have seen in many new and current bowlers

Pace- there is a diff of 10-15 km between dhawal n aniket n shardul, did u see what pace shardul was bowling in SL series

Siraj n dhawal dont have much diff :laugh1::laugh1:

I really wanna see those spells were u have seen dhawal bowl 

I have played one Ranji match for my state. I know better than you. That's all I got to say.

27 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

I have played one Ranji match for my state. I know better than you. That's all I got to say.

Gavaskar has more international games then anyone here and yet he thinks rahane shud be selected in t20 ( he is the best opening batsman in test cricket)

Azharduddin have been a captain of indian side for a long period and yet he wants yuvi n raina back 

Bhajji thinks after karthik raina is the best option at no-4.......and he has 600+ international wkts

Yet most ICF are smarter then them and they havent played on national level......

I dont know how much bhogle has played at competitive level or has he even...........but his analysis is better then most cricketers

1 kya 100 ranji match khel lo............samjh ka koi fixed criteria nhin hota......

Since ur a ranji player and u find dhawal so good that has answered one of my concerns how these trundlers have ruled ranji........in ur mind they are malcolm marshal 

Yea right dhawal is good......so ranji player where does he stand. Be rest assured when it comes to selection he stands right behind Siraj, shardul, aniket . 

8 hours ago, MCcricket said:

I can't read your mind, but only comment on what is written, and I agree, but this will be a three test series now, so 5 bowlers, n the management is rigid ,don't see em playing any one outside their clique so pointless unless a few bowlers get injured.

Most prob Shami, BK, Umesh, Ishant n Pandya /Shankar as allrounders, ideally I would wanna see Bumrah, Aniket n no Ishant n if Umesh is bowling at 135k then he shouldn't go to SA.

first name on the african flight after virat kohli is Hardik Pandya so option of pandya/shankar is not possible.if shankar performs he may also go, as pandya will not play the tests against lanka and may even miss the ODI and t20 lanka series.

this lankan series is being considered as a PRACTICE Series for our trip to africa, may be fast tracks may be prepared.

I think the performers in this Series will go to africa.

virat will miss the third test against Lanka and Sjikhar will be back in the third test and i think all the three openers may play if the tracks are fast.

I dont see rohit sharma succeeding on african tracks , Murli could be taken as a Spare batsman and Instead of Rohit, if we take a pace all rounder like Shankar , then its a better option.

if ashwin and/or jadeja fail as batsman and bowler than SHankar may get a chance to be in the team 11.

On 11/21/2017 at 4:13 PM, Forever Indian said:

Would prefer the tall Left armer Aniket if he is in good form.

i have not followed Aniket much, if he is good enough and is being seriously considered for the african flight, He will get an opportunity in the matches played on green Mumba's against Srilanka, if he is not Selected , you can be rest assured that he wont fly to africa.

among the Pacers- shardul and Siraj have some chances to be selected.( shammi/umesh/bhuvi/ishant/pandya are already booked to africa). if some other pacer is also given an opportunity, he may also have some chance, i dont see any pacer who may be given debut cap on african soil.

On Tuesday, November 21, 2017 at 8:43 PM, randomGuy said:

1. Bhuvi

2. Umesh

3. Shami

4. Ishant

5. Dhawal Kulkarni

6. Bumrah

7. Siraj

Aniket n shardul are bad. Haven't seen Navdeep. Bumrah is low in the list coz he is an excellent LoI bowler , has an action that's very difficult on his body. So I wnanna rest him for tests.

Aniket and shardul are bad???? :facepalm: aur ye trundler dhawl ko south Africa le Jake  samne wali team ko rasgulle khilane hai kya?? :facepalm: 

Edited by speedheat
On 11/22/2017 at 3:57 PM, rkt.india said:

Playing one ranji match does not make you better than any.  Playing cricket has nothing to do with cricketing judgement about players.

No dear..i disagree. 

Cricketers who have played Genuine Cricket on INDIAN wickets and that also Green, turning and Patta wickets have an idea about these tracks.

I played on a green track @cross Maidan in Mumbai, there is just one green Pitch which only teams which has deep pockets can book.

we were playing a Corporate tournament and 35 Over Match. we got to play a BANK and we knew that their opening bowler was a trundling pacer bowling 110K and I opened the Match as Opening batsman. My aim was to start scoring quick runs after playing straight for first 2 overs.

Yes the bowler was a medium trundler but on a GREENTRACK , his balls were bouncing Swinging and even his Pace had increased , i got a SHOCK as I was considering him medium pace and he became a fast bowler with great control on line n length. he took 5 wickets in a 4 over Spell and i remained not out and we were all out in 18 overs.

we still WON the Match.

on a green track one needs ACCURATE medium pace bowling rather than Super fast bowling.

Boss ..selection wohi kar sakta hain ..jisne match khele ho...asi have not played domestic ranji trophy i dont know much about schedules and level of competetion , though i can see only one or 2 good bowlers in each domestic team.

dhwal kulkarni on a flat patta- i will be manage myself against him as he will bowl straight 125k bowling with little outswing.

where as even on a Patta if its shardul, i wont be able to play as he is pacy and he does bounce at Pace.

but if pitch helps even dhwal would get me out soon.

getting BOUNCE and getting BOUNCE at Sheer Pace are two different things..as a batsman i have found myself helpless and scared against one or 2 mediumpacers who got bounce with pace....Bounce with Pace is scary..the bowler only gets for 2 or 3 overs on a patta, semi new red ball becomes ineffective and easy.

1 minute ago, King Tendulkar said:

Looks like 5 specialist pacers plus pandya going 

so with ishant , yadav , bk and shami locked in . Another slot is there 

bumrah , thakur and navdeep  saini are the contenders apparently 

If they don’t pick Bumrah then it has to be Aaron. Varun Aaron. I can see him getting Amla out caught behind.

Just now, Cricketics said:

If they don’t pick Bumrah then it has to be Aaron. Varun Aaron. I can see him getting Amla out caught behind.

Cricinfo reckons the 3 above are contenders . Apparently they seriously considering picking bumrah but he not played fc game for yonks so negative 

they shoudl pick him for 3rd test . Have a look , so obvious thing to do . Rest yadav