Guha’s Poignant piece on Kohli

58 minutes ago, sandeep said:

I guess he should apologize to you for not having a perspective and a viewpoint that agrees with yours.  All the time.  

I was, and am strongly anti-Shastri as far as the coaching gig is concerned.   And I thought Kumble was the perfect foil for an immature and inexperienced Captain Kohli, as has now been shown conclusively.  But I don't understand why you have to get all frothing at the mouth, just because Sachin or any other XYZ doesn't agree with your personal viewpoint.  

sandeep other than your penchant to defend Sachin from well deserved thrashings that he gets in icf, the points you make are very sensible. 

1 hour ago, sandeep said:

I guess he should apologize to you for not having a perspective and a viewpoint that agrees with yours.  All the time.  

I was, and am strongly anti-Shastri as far as the coaching gig is concerned.   And I thought Kumble was the perfect foil for an immature and inexperienced Captain Kohli, as has now been shown conclusively.  But I don't understand why you have to get all frothing at the mouth, just because Sachin or any other XYZ doesn't agree with your personal viewpoint.  

He shouldnt apologise to me. But I am entitled to my point of view, as you are to yours. I am not shoving my opinion down ur throat! So don't try acting all intellectual in the guise of your fanboyism! Cheers!

Edited by Rightarmfast
11 minutes ago, Rightarmfast said:

He shouldnt apologise to me. But I am entitled to my point of view, as you are to yours. I am not shoving my opinion down ur throat! So don't try acting all intellectual in the guise of your fanboyism! Cheers!

Of course you are entitled to your opinion.  And your opinion is one that I respect.  Which is why I was surprised to read that post from you and ended up responding.   You are talking about a giant of the game, and at the end of the day, he's a human being - Tendy is also entitled to his opinion and perspective.  Its a bit unfair to attack his perspective as "selfish" and "disgusting", isn't it?  After all, you seem to have gotten worked up a bit just because I challenged your opinion, but you don't have any qualms making harsh conclusions and judgements, without much evidence to go by, on Tendy's actions?  

23 minutes ago, Vilander said:

sandeep other than your penchant to defend Sachin from well deserved thrashings that he gets in icf, the points you make are very sensible. 

To each his own.  I will defend Tendy, or Kohli/Dhoni, or any other non-Indian cricketer for that matter, when I feel like they are unfairly bashed, and feel like chiming in with my 2 cents.   

Btw, I don't extend a blanket defense to Tendy - he had his share of frailties - as a cricketer, and as a person.   Just like anybody else.  I do get drawn in to defend him when he's baselessly attacked, or attacked as a result of some unfair levels of expectations.  Which is often the case...

Edited by sandeep
4 hours ago, Rightarmfast said:

I accept he was a genius. However, what I see of him now, I find it disgusting. I find him selfish. Please dont also forget it was him who openly said he invited Shastri to apply for the position of the coach. However, Sachin was one of the juries for the selection and this was clearly a conflict of interest. I wonder why noone spoke this!

What is there to see of him now? Is it because he isn't getting actively involved in betterment of the game now? 

How being a jury leads to conflict of interest? Shastri was top contender for coach job and encouraging someone to apply doens't lead to conflict of interest unless there is some known way to gaining advantage from the his selection.

1 hour ago, Trichromatic said:

What is there to see of him now? Is it because he isn't getting actively involved in betterment of the game now? 

How being a jury leads to conflict of interest? Shastri was top contender for coach job and encouraging someone to apply doens't lead to conflict of interest unless there is some known way to gaining advantage from the his selection.

Agree. The phrase conflict of interest gets thrown around very loosely on ICF. 

Edited by kosingh
3 hours ago, sandeep said:

Of course you are entitled to your opinion.  And your opinion is one that I respect.  Which is why I was surprised to read that post from you and ended up responding.   You are talking about a giant of the game, and at the end of the day, he's a human being - Tendy is also entitled to his opinion and perspective.  Its a bit unfair to attack his perspective as "selfish" and "disgusting", isn't it?  After all, you seem to have gotten worked up a bit just because I challenged your opinion, but you don't have any qualms making harsh conclusions and judgements, without much evidence to go by, on Tendy's actions?  

Kindly enlighten which perspective have I been unfair towards him? As a player I respect him, and as a person I dont rate him much. I am not enamored by the fact that he was a top player so he could never be wrong. Thats silly. He is a public figure, and I entitled to my views towards his decisions which were not limited to his family. His perspective touched the whole of Indian cricket, and hence I have the right to have my opinion and voice them! 

Thats how democracy works, fyi! 

2 hours ago, Trichromatic said:

When I am a judge to a competition, and I am openly favoring a player, to the extent of going ahead and publicly asking the person to apply for a position, which I will judge, under normal circumstance, thats called ' Conflict of Interest'!

Is that rocket science.

11 minutes ago, Rightarmfast said:

Kindly enlighten which perspective have I been unfair towards him? As a player I respect him, and as a person I dont rate him much. I am not enamored by the fact that he was a top player so he could never be wrong. Thats silly. He is a public figure, and I entitled to my views towards his decisions which were not limited to his family. His perspective touched the whole of Indian cricket, and hence I have the right to have my opinion and voice them! 

Thats how democracy works, fyi! 

9 minutes ago, Rightarmfast said:

When I am a judge to a competition, and I am openly favoring a player, to the extent of going ahead and publicly asking the person to apply for a position, which I will judge, under normal circumstance, thats called ' Conflict of Interest'!

Is that rocket science.

Was it any secret that Virat Kohli clearly wanted Shastri back as coach?  In that situation, how is it unethical to get him to follow the application process?  Wasn't it the same "judge" committee that overwhelmingly supported Anil Kumble's appointment as Coach over Shastri in the first place?  Why blame Tendulkar for Shastri's candidacy when his appointment was being lobbied for by the current captain of the Indian team? 

Of course you are entitled to "not rate him much" as a person.  But when you are blaming someone incorrectly, speculating as to his motives and passing that baseless speculation off as "evidence" to justify your dislike, that's what I'm calling into question.   

If you had actually followed the entire Kohli-Kumble-Shastri soap opera and all its relevant details, you would be aware that the entire committee including Tendulkar made serious attempts at arranging a compromise between Kohli and Kumble.  Only when it was clear that Virat wasn't going to agree, did they go ahead and rubber-stamp the change in Head Coach.   And that too was accompanied by appointments of a support team independent of Virat and Shastri - this was eventually refused by Shastri and Virat as well. 

Bottomline is, there is absolutely no basis for you to blame Shastri's appointment as Head Coach on Tendulkar.   The fact that you chose to do so, is either ignorance, or an intentional misrepresentation of the facts to suit a pre-existing confirmation bias.  And yes, in a "democracy", you are free to cling to such biases.  Just as others are free to call you out on them.   

11 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Was it any secret that Virat Kohli clearly wanted Shastri back as coach?  In that situation, how is it unethical to get him to follow the application process?  Wasn't it the same "judge" committee that overwhelmingly supported Anil Kumble's appointment as Coach over Shastri in the first place?  Why blame Tendulkar for Shastri's candidacy when his appointment was being lobbied for by the current captain of the Indian team? 

Of course you are entitled to "not rate him much" as a person.  But when you are blaming someone incorrectly, speculating as to his motives and passing that baseless speculation off as "evidence" to justify your dislike, that's what I'm calling into question.   

If you had actually followed the entire Kohli-Kumble-Shastri soap opera and all its relevant details, you would be aware that the entire committee including Tendulkar made serious attempts at arranging a compromise between Kohli and Kumble.  Only when it was clear that Virat wasn't going to agree, did they go ahead and rubber-stamp the change in Head Coach.   And that too was accompanied by appointments of a support team independent of Virat and Shastri - this was eventually refused by Shastri and Virat as well. 

Bottomline is, there is absolutely no basis for you to blame Shastri's appointment as Head Coach on Tendulkar.   The fact that you chose to do so, is either ignorance, or an intentional misrepresentation of the facts to suit a pre-existing confirmation bias.  And yes, in a "democracy", you are free to cling to such biases.  Just as others are free to call you out on them.   

You seem to have personally accompanied tendulkar, going by the tone of your argument. Your started your argument by saying when Virat already made his mind up. Thats funny. And thats ironical too. In a way, you are already stating that sachin is spineless, he succumbed to kohli. Hilarious!

When you are going to interview someone for a position, you dont go publicly announce that you want such a person to apply, whats more, you dont go ahead and pursuade him to apply for the job. What kind of signal does it give to the other applicant? 

If this is not conflict of interest and if this is not morally wrong, then I would love to know what is!

21 hours ago, veer said:

Why did he not pull in Rahane in two games when Kohli didnt want Rahane to play? What are Rohit's credential compare to Rahane's for playing overseas test?

Why didnt he question Kohli when he dropped Bhuvi in 2nd test when his bowling and batting played a vital role in 1st game?

Why didnt he push Kohli to select KL Rahul when he was better placed to succeed in compare to Dhawan.. ?

Do you want more reasons/examples?

Kumble on other hand pushed Kuldeep's selection which actually turned out to be game changer for Ind-Aus game..

What did Rahul do in second test, did Kohli ask Rahane to fail in SL series.

Bhuvi was dropped after right after a five wicket haul in a test in  India too as Kohli did not feel he was right bowler on surface for next test.

As Shastri said if Rahane had failed the same questions would be asked why was Rohit dropped after making two 100s in series before, Rahane will get his chance moving forward , let us see what he can do. I certainly don't blame Rahane's non selection on either Kohli or Shastri. They was nothing to judge both of them after they landed in SA. So they made a call on Rohit and you certainly cannot fault them for it.

Why didn't Kumble ask Kohli to chase when all world know how weak Pakistan is in chasing in CT ,I did not see anyone questioning Kumble then.Why did Kumble persist with Ashwin in CT when all tournament he was found wanting.

You can dissect any failure after it has already happened, 2003 world cup finals still some people say why did Ganguly  chose to field  forgetting the fact he did that because he already batted first and failed miserably.

Truth is Australia was better team then like SA is better team now.

Ohh bhai.. there is something called Stats.. when you have a player whose avg difference is 60 runs when home and away avgs are compared .. then you know who to pick ahead of that player..

Btw.. are you Bunty Sajdeh by any chance?☺️

15 hours ago, Rightarmfast said:

What fanboyism? The only thing i see is you constantly frothing in your mouth and bringing sachin up like a fanatic. He has played for his country and retired. He has absolutely no obligation. You are entitled to your opinions but they sound like the fantasies of a fanatic

What obligations do you fulfil as a fan apart from calling players name? Do you boycott games, stop giving money and watching on TV when something is wrong?

Edited by New guy
14 hours ago, Rightarmfast said:

You seem to have personally accompanied tendulkar, going by the tone of your argument. Your started your argument by saying when Virat already made his mind up. Thats funny. And thats ironical too. In a way, you are already stating that sachin is spineless, he succumbed to kohli. Hilarious!

When you are going to interview someone for a position, you dont go publicly announce that you want such a person to apply, whats more, you dont go ahead and pursuade him to apply for the job. What kind of signal does it give to the other applicant? 

If this is not conflict of interest and if this is not morally wrong, then I would love to know what is!

Ok buddy.   You are free to cling to half-a-factoid, while ignoring the entire context, and umpteen relevant details, so that you can feel that your "outrage" is justified.  I'm done trying to talk sense on this subject to you.  

2 hours ago, sandeep said:

Ok buddy.   You are free to cling to half-a-factoid, while ignoring the entire context, and umpteen relevant details, so that you can feel that your "outrage" is justified.  I'm done trying to talk sense on this subject to you.  

I can say the same about you! Cheers!