Many Sikhs in UK don’t want to be identified as ‘Indian’

Switchblade

Another month, another such thread on Indian Cricket Fans forum. It's getting boring now.

People identify themselves in many different ways. Some people say their nationality is their prime identity for others it's their religion, state they were born in, caste, occupation, orientation etc.

6 hours ago, asterix said:

But they are not like Khalistanis. They’ve moved on from past and don’t protest every now and then or disrespect flags etc. They are immensely proud of their nation and both these communities won’t even hobnob with Muslims and compromise their ideals...

Have you seen Jews protesting against German Chancellor for the holocaust or banning entry of German officials from Synagogues all over the World?

They are not even indulging in any terrorist activities in Germany.

In this case Khalistanis are unique...

If Angela merkel was pro jailing anyone who spoke out against holocaust, Jewish community would rally against then and right fully so 

5 hours ago, Muloghonto said:

Punjab was a mediocre province of the Mughals. That much, is a fact. We have taxation figures ( chauth- all % fixed) from Akbar to Aurangzeb. What we do know, is that Bengal was, by a country mile, the largest revenue generator for the Empire. Followed by Gujarat subah. The combined tax of Multan & Lahore subahs ( the two Subahs that make up Punjab) were less than 60% that of Bengal, just slightly behind that of Bihar.

we do not have taxation figures from Ranjit Singh, so we cannot judge based on hearsay. Those are the facts, feel free to ask for sources if you want to verify. 

Nice point but it’s not a be all and end all. Mughal era is not be all and end all of Indian hx. Ranjit Singh empire in Punjab closer to partition so more relevant period? How was that data collected, what were reasons for less taxation...collection method, taxation rates, less compliance/wars against oppressive rule ?

Edited by mancalledsting

5 hours ago, asterix said:

The Sikhs in Punjab have moved on and have voted Congress to power in the state...

The Indian Sikhs are immensely proud of India and will do anything to prevent separatism rearing it’s head in Punjab...

Sarkar jokes are a thing of past. There’s great awareness about how Sikhs originated and the actual significance of 12 o clock. Sikh warrior used to raid Muslim/Mughal camps in midnight to free captured Hindu women...

Sikhs I know in the Indian Army and otherwise would rather sacrifice their lives than compromise with Pakistanis...

Yaar U have the right spirit. More of this type of sentiment needed across India. 

9 hours ago, beetle said:

I don't understand protest against Modi.

Why ?

Bjp has never done anything antisikh.

Why burn the Indian flag?

No body is protesting your decision to go non Indian in India.

This is like throwing a tantrum to get attention when no one really is bothered .

The aftermath of Indira Gandhi's death will always be one of  the darkest chapter of independent India ....but from what I have understood, the right wingers were the ones who helped sikhs that time.

It was the congress and its supporters who were held redponsible for the horrible riots.

So why anti Modi ? What has he done?

If a terrorist was arrested, it is the duty of the Indian govt to act against any anti state agents. 

The idea of Khalistan is anti India and every prime minister will fight it because it is anti India...not as an anti sikh cause .

Don't want to be called Indian...hum kya karen?Your choice and right .

We  have bigger problems including the drug problem and high level of corruption in Punjab politics and many many other problems.

His arrest was connected to the dark hx circa 84. Well done for acknowledging it as a dark chapter tho- more than most would care to admit 

We are talking about Mr. Jagtar Singh Johal who was arrested by Punjab Police (CM Captain Amarinder Singh of Congress) last year on charges of being involved in the killings of 8 prominent Hindu figures (not sure what is their link to any 1984 atrocities).

Law & Order in India is a State subject and Central Govt (Modi Govt) has no jurisdiction unless the State asks Centre to intervene.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2017/11/campaigners-accuse-india-torturing-british-sikh-171125053356556.html

There are many hearsay, claims & counter claims.

Ofcourse Punjab Police has a history.

But to protest this much, tear down Indian flag, demonstrate on Modi’s visit clearly indicates that all this is being directed from somewhere.

Not to forget that 8 prominent Hindu figures in Punjab has already dead. Not sure what Hindus needs to do in this regard, maybe target few Khalistsnis in retaliation?

11 minutes ago, asterix said:

We are talking about Mr. Jagtar Singh Johal who was arrested by Punjab Police (CM Captain Amarinder Singh of Congress) last year on charges of being involved in the killings of 8 prominent Hindu figures (not sure what is their link to any 1984 atrocities).

Law & Order in India is a State subject and Central Govt (Modi Govt) has no jurisdiction unless the State asks Centre to intervene.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2017/11/campaigners-accuse-india-torturing-british-sikh-171125053356556.html

There are many hearsay, claims & counter claims.

Ofcourse Punjab Police has a history.

But to protest this much, tear down Indian flag, demonstrate on Modi’s visit clearly indicates that all this is being directed from somewhere.

Not to forget that 8 prominent Hindu figures in Punjab has already dead. Not sure what Hindus needs to do in this regard, maybe target few Khalistsnis in retaliation?

Well your last para is the exact same thinking some extreme militant khalistanis use- shows when push comes to shove you’re capable of thinking in a similar manner 

anyone involved in killing innocents- deserves to be trialled under due process of law. Not confessions through torturing and evidence has to be strong. Indian legal system is a mess/joke and riddled with corruption. Hence ppl doubt the integrity of the process. 

Also so modi represents a right wing arm of Hinduism- given events of circa 84, Minorities will always view such a Party with great suspicion 

Edited by mancalledsting

52 minutes ago, FischerTal said:

Most religious people fall in that category. They are biggest hypocrites. 

And you’re clearly a nice guy? Your first contribution to this convo was an insendiary remark. And you have the nerveto call others hypocrites. What religion are you following? Chewtsim? 

Edited by mancalledsting

25 minutes ago, mancalledsting said:

And you’re clearly a nice guy? Your first contribution to this convo was an insendiary remark. And you have the nerveto call others hypocrites. What religion are you following? Chewtsim? 

unlike you, i dont seek validation from others. truth is not incendiary. its the truth whether you like it or not. i dont follow any religion but i can see you are a devotee of Bhole Butthurt Baba. 

Edited by FischerTal

Just now, Clarke said:

@Switchblade Why do u copy paste random articles from the web and create empty threads without any opinion or contributions whatsoever ?

This thread in particular, the **** should any Indian cricket fan care what some angrez of desi origin think ?

I didn’t do it on purpose Clarke and neither my intention was to make anyone angry here.

1 hour ago, mancalledsting said:

Nice point but it’s not a be all and end all. Mughal era is not be all and end all of Indian hx. Ranjit Singh empire in Punjab closer to partition so more relevant period? How was that data collected, what were reasons for less taxation...collection method, taxation rates, less compliance/wars against oppressive rule ?

we do not have taxation figures from Ranjit Singh. So we cannot say. we have the data from the Mughals because the Mughal records survive and they were better organized. Sikh empire was a short-lived, one-man show so its understandable that they were not nearly as consolidated or as organized as a 200 year mughal empire. 

An educated guess would be that the numbers for Punjab didn't change much between Aurangzeb and Ranjit Singh,because it was the British that introduced irrigation in Punjab and made a big difference agriculturally. 

2 hours ago, mancalledsting said:

If Angela merkel was pro jailing anyone who spoke out against holocaust, Jewish community would rally against then and right fully so 

india is not jailing anyone who speaks out against it, it jailing Sikh terrorists and terrorist supporters from the 80s. Which is good.

i 100% support Operation Blue Star. Anytime any religious fundamentalist terrorist takes over a public religious building and stockpiles weapons, they deserve to be blown to pieces.