Sunil Gavaskar raises questions on Virat Kohli's captaincy in Test cricket

Switchblade

1 hour ago, Trichromatic said:

If 5 batsman can score 200, 6 can score 240.

if ur bowlers are bowling well that 5th one allows them to have that breather which allows the main bowler to bowl at full steam their all overs instead of managing their overs. Lets not forget 2013-14 SA n NZ tours where to much workload on fast bowlers resulted in them breaking down. N we dnt even have part timers now 

6th batsman is jst a defensive theory 

We aleardy have 5 + pant+ Pandya+ ashwin + bhuvi  aur kitna batting chahiye 

Hadnt it been for Pandya we wnt have won the 3rd test to. We won in Lords when we had binny 

Problem is Rahane is struggling , who was one of our best in overseas

Pujara - he avg around 30 in SA, AUS, ENG and 15 in NZ

Openers are no scoring 

6th batsman kya kr lega, and ur taking for guarnteed that he ll score runs. Aisa koi mahaan talent nhin bench pe. 

The likes of Dhawan has gone on 2 tours to SA n ENG n failed to score a single 50 same with rohit. Pujara is in his 2nd cycle of overseas and still is inconsistent. 

The min we go with 4th bowlers, Most overseas team will give us Pattas to test the stamina of our bowling coz they knw we dnt have a backup and someone like Shami can get injured anytime. Also consider the workload bhuvi n bumrah has .Surely we dnt want to end up with 3 bowlers

30 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

We already have played 6 batsman under dhoni and failed in those games to, infact the only win that came at that time was with binny and even under kohli its with pandya n binnny

Any good spin bowling all rounder with decent technique in domestics?? Off spin, leftarm spin or leg spin?

46 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

If ur 5 batsman are not doing the job question those 5 batsman

Exactly.

2 minutes ago, speedheat said:

Any good spin bowling all rounder with decent technique in domestics?? Off spin, leftarm spin or leg spin?

Jayant, but his bowling cudnt command him a place in India forget overseas

Gopal can bat but dnt think his batting is good enough for overseas same with gowtham 

Shankar is the best batting all rounder acc to me but his bowling doesnt come even close to pandya

3 hours ago, Trichromatic said:

If 5 batsman can score 200, 6 can score 240.

Pant is a proper 6th batsman.  FC average of 54.5 before test debut ... averaged 62 in the 2 Unofficial tests in England 45 days back.

Pant has left balls well and played close to his body most of the time. Has rarely poked at outside off stump balls. Hasn't looked weak against the short ball either.   3 of his 4 dismissals were to good balls.  He can be and should be persisted with to solve the 6th batsman problem.

Pandya, averaging 31,  is not a No.6  yet ... but can be a No.7.

2 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Shutup sunny 

u wanted rohit in this test series, u didnt have gr8 ideas either 

Why not question coach over his job to prepare the team

He is protecting cheerleader and to be honest Sunny contradicts himself after the first test he asked Dhawan to be dropped then after Lords test he complained why Dhawan was dropped.He claims constant changing of position of Che and Rahane has affected them.

I can’t understand this forum mentality. If a teamhas full of more than 70% heck how can we win ? Actually in this tour no youngster has performed .actully kohli, Rahane and Pujara performed better than England top order. Let see one by one player batting performance        Rahul  has been poor since South Africa series  . Dhawan heck.pandya lol . Pant another heck . Ashwin poor . And three bowler who can’t scored ten runs . To Saala run kya keval Kohli , Rahane aur Pujara ko hi banane hai 

Edited by VT87
3 hours ago, express bowling said:

Pant is a proper 6th batsman.  FC average of 54.5 before test debut ... averaged 62 in the 2 Unofficial tests in England 45 days back.

Pant has left balls well and played close to his body most of the time. Has rarely poked at outside off stump balls. Hasn't looked weak against the short ball either.   3 of his 4 dismissals were to good balls.  He can be and should be persisted with to solve the 6th batsman problem.

Pandya, averaging 31,  is not a No.6  yet ... but can be a No.7.

+1

Out before posters start claiming how Pandya performing better than 1000 other batsmen in series indicated he is proper no 6.

8 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

if ur bowlers are bowling well that 5th one allows them to have that breather which allows the main bowler to bowl at full steam their all overs instead of managing their overs. Lets not forget 2013-14 SA n NZ tours where to much workload on fast bowlers resulted in them breaking down. N we dnt even have part timers now 

6th batsman is jst a defensive theory 

We aleardy have 5 + pant+ Pandya+ ashwin + bhuvi  aur kitna batting chahiye 

Hadnt it been for Pandya we wnt have won the 3rd test to. We won in Lords when we had binny 

Problem is Rahane is struggling , who was one of our best in overseas

Pujara - he avg around 30 in SA, AUS, ENG and 15 in NZ

Openers are no scoring 

6th batsman kya kr lega, and ur taking for guarnteed that he ll score runs. Aisa koi mahaan talent nhin bench pe. 

The likes of Dhawan has gone on 2 tours to SA n ENG n failed to score a single 50 same with rohit. Pujara is in his 2nd cycle of overseas and still is inconsistent. 

The min we go with 4th bowlers, Most overseas team will give us Pattas to test the stamina of our bowling coz they knw we dnt have a backup and someone like Shami can get injured anytime. Also consider the workload bhuvi n bumrah has .Surely we dnt want to end up with 3 bowlers

why do we even need 5 , why not 4 or 3 ? 

“This batting lineup hasn’t been making runs for a long time now. If you look at India’s overseas performances from 2011 until now, they have lost every big series. When Virat Kohli is at the crease it seems that he is playing against totally different bowlers as compared to when the other batsmen are batting. I believe that the batting ability of the current players has gone down,” Ganguly further added.

“Regarding Ravi Shastri, he has to be held accountable for the results along with Sanjay Bangar regarding why only one batsman is performing whereas others seem to have taken backward steps. Unless these questions are answered an overseas series win in the three countries looks impossible for India,” Ganguly told IndiaTV.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/india-vs-england-ravi-shastri-needs-to-he-held-accountable-for-india-s-results-says-sourav-ganguly/story-amp48on9VbWsb28LfXXdQL.html

Edited by Switchblade
2 hours ago, Switchblade said:

“This batting lineup hasn’t been making runs for a long time now. If you look at India’s overseas performances from 2011 until now, they have lost every big series. When Virat Kohli is at the crease it seems that he is playing against totally different bowlers as compared to when the other batsmen are batting. I believe that the batting ability of the current players has gone down,” Ganguly further added.

“Regarding Ravi Shastri, he has to be held accountable for the results along with Sanjay Bangar regarding why only one batsman is performing whereas others seem to have taken backward steps. Unless these questions are answered an overseas series win in the three countries looks impossible for India,” Ganguly told IndiaTV.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/india-vs-england-ravi-shastri-needs-to-he-held-accountable-for-india-s-results-says-sourav-ganguly/story-amp48on9VbWsb28LfXXdQL.html

correct, its the batting nothing else