20 hours ago, dandaroy said:

I had a very simple wedding here in the US. I had no money to spend coming out of grad school. My in-laws gave us the choice of spending a few thousand $$ on a wedding or taking the money and starting our lives. We chose the latter. I got married at a courthouse in rural Kansas in front of a redneck Judge with only close family of my wife’s present, and then went and had fried chicken. :rofl:

I did not say he does not have the right to spend his own money. Of course he does. But if you tell me his daughter has to have a $100 million wedding to be content, then I am out of words. Does not matter if it is only a fraction of his wealth. Like he has the right to spend his own money, in a free society I have the right to criticize. I think it is nothing but a show-off, it’s immoral and obscene, and the whole family should be ashamed of it.

:phehe: :phehe: :phehe: :phehe: :phehe: :phehe:

2 minutes ago, Texy said:

:phehe: :phehe: :phehe: :phehe: :phehe: :phehe:

Yes, I married a mid-Western Kansas girl and although the judge was redneck (could not even pronounce my name), her family has always been very welcoming. Regarding fried chicken, the place we went to is renowned and has been featured on the Food Network several time. :phehe:

8 minutes ago, dandaroy said:

If you think his motivation for spending such a ungodly obscene amount is to create jobs, then I need to get your head checked! :giggle: The main motivation is show-off and everything is a by-product of it. There are better ways to contribute to the society you live in.

if you think spending some money is of no use to anyone then probably you need to update yourself with finance :phehe: 

anyway gujjus spend only on one occasion and why do you want them to save that money as well ..

for the record i am saying , ambanis are far more frugal than any other western industrialists ( antilla is an exception though :p: ) 

1 hour ago, dandaroy said:

Ha ... you are asking me about rights in a free society. Don't press write op-eds, columns criticizing someone of their actions? I just exercised my first amendment. I told in this forum what I think. I am not inciting violence against him. I said in my post he has every right to spend his money the way he sees fit. I just do not have to agree with it, just like you are not agreeing with my post. This is what a free society is. We may all have differing opinions and we debate and sometime we have to agree to disagree.

On a different note: Does anyone know how much charity this phucker does? Based on his wealth, he should be India's no 1 phliantropist. That is why I admire Warren Buffet so much. He is giving his offsprings pittace as inheritance compared to his wealth, is giving away almost everything to chairty and lives a very modest existence. He is the polar opposite of this Mukesh Phuckbani. Now I understand every mega rich does not have the humility of Buffet, but I think there is a middle ground. 

I also said you have every right to mock/judge/laugh, but there is nothing immoral about celebrating one's lifetime event. Some do lavishly, some do it in KFC. I think they do enough charity work, maybe they don't want publicity like some rich folk. 

FYI.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reliance_Foundation

21 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

I also said you have every right to mock/judge/laugh, but there is nothing immoral about celebrating one's lifetime event. Some do lavishly, some do it in KFC. I think they do enough charity work, maybe they don't want publicity like some rich folk. 

FYI.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reliance_Foundation

Abe, I did not go to KFC. Mistake mat Karo bhai. Even KFC was beneath my lowly standards back then. :giggle: I went to a family run joint. That part of Kansas has a lot of these fried chicken restaurants that are well known. People drive 2-3 hrs to just to come and eat. Like I said it was featured on TV shows several times and every time I go visit my in-laws it is #1 on my list of things to do! :rofl: :rofl:

11 hours ago, Audiophile said:

Abe, I did not go to KFC. Mistake mat Karo bhai. Even KFC was beneath my lowly standards back then. :giggle: I went to a family run joint. That part of Kansas has a lot of these fried chicken restaurants that are well known. People drive 2-3 hrs to just to come and eat. Like I said it was featured on TV shows several times and every time I go visit my in-laws it is #1 on my list of things to do! :rofl: :rofl:

sorry, just trolling, when you say fried chicken, I read it as KFC. 

9 out of 10 times I would say his money his wish.

I mean I can bet that most people from

my generation ( in their 30s) from the urban  middle class despite wanting to have a low key wedding gave in to their parents wishes and emotional black mail to have a wedding that is - how do I put it,

” where you invite a lot more people and spend a lot more money and waste a lot of food than necessary” .

didnt want to use the word “lavish” loosely given how much these millionaires and  billionaires spend on weddings :laugh:

Pretty sure given how much an average person spends on a wedding in proportion to their net worth this may be well in synch.

Anyways  100 million is obscene display of wealth and at his level Ambani should have some social responsibility to be honest.

1 hour ago, maniac said:

Anyways  100 million is obscene display of wealth and at his level Ambani should have some social responsibility to be honest.

looks like ambanis spent 100-700 crores on ishas wedding .. dude even janardhan reddy spent 500 crores on his daughters wedding :phehe: 

3 minutes ago, velu said:

looks like ambanis spent 100-700 crores on ishas wedding .. dude even janardhan reddy spent 500 crores on his daughters wedding :phehe: 

What do you mean “even” Janardhan Reddy?  If you account for his illegal assets he  might be pretty close to Ambani and I don’t mean that as some kind of boasting. This guy has looted one of the richest natural resources of an entire region.

Also Ambani’s money is relatively more white and accounted for than people like this guy.

Edited by maniac
5 minutes ago, maniac said:

What do you mean “even” Janardhan Reddy?  If you account for his illegal assets he  might be pretty close to Ambani and I don’t mean that as some kind of boasting. This guy has looted one of the richest natural resources of an entire region.

Also Ambani’s money is relatively more white and accounted for than people like this guy.

so ambanis spending is justified :proud:

you guys are making it out as if ambani thrown all the money in the drain

other than flight charges for Clintons + beyonces fee , rest of the money has gone to our local economy ..

there are 1000s of families  depends on the marriage celebrations 

5 hours ago, maniac said:

It was a very expensive crass wedding. Starting from the invitation dabba.....to the Star tv award night kind of sangeet.....

Money can't buy class.

4 hours ago, velu said:

According to the news...it was upwards of 1600 crores.

13 hours ago, Rasgulla said:

:plane::yess::five:

Reddy bros own Karnataka. I remember reading about this guy. There were IT raids during the marriage but the IT folks can find no money. That guy must be the biggest crook to hide even from IT folks. @coffee_rules