Rasgulla Posted December 21, 2018 Posted December 21, 2018 (edited) Forget the tweet but that video of bollywood biggies serving Edited December 21, 2018 by Rasgulla Nikola and UrmiSinhaRay 1 1
beetle Posted December 21, 2018 Posted December 21, 2018 Paisa kuch bhi karata hai... The JR bachchan explained it is a part of ceremony where the girl's side family serves the guy's family. Kuch hhi ! Ambani's don't have relatives of their own ...sare bollywood ko ristedaar bana rakha tha. How many other weddings have the bachchan's served food to keep this tradition ? Ambani turned bollywood soooooperstars into back ground dancers and made them serve food. Paise ki chamak The Dark Horse, tweaker, UrmiSinhaRay and 4 others 1 6
beetle Posted December 21, 2018 Posted December 21, 2018 Ha**** Khalid ....mauke pe chauka laga hara hai!! UrmiSinhaRay 1
coffee_rules Posted December 21, 2018 Posted December 21, 2018 Ambanis are cool, they make them serve and also become backup dancers. That tukde tukde dude is using this to cover up Naseeruddin was ranting election time talk, UrmiSinhaRay 1
wanted_desi Posted December 21, 2018 Posted December 21, 2018 3 hours ago, beetle said: Paisa kuch bhi karata hai... The JR bachchan explained it is a part of ceremony where the girl's side family serves the guy's family. Kuch hhi ! Ambani's don't have relatives of their own ...sare bollywood ko ristedaar bana rakha tha. How many other weddings have the bachchan's served food to keep this tradition ? Ambani turned bollywood soooooperstars into back ground dancers and made them serve food. Paise ki chamak I like those weird looking Ambanis now just for this reason. They showed Bollywood so called stars their Aukaat. Laaloo, beetle, Turning_track and 3 others 1 1 4
UrmiSinhaRay Posted December 21, 2018 Posted December 21, 2018 If they want , they can make these JNU "students" wash their toilets and wipe their assSent from my CPH1609 using Tapatalk Laaloo, Jimmy Cliff, coffee_rules and 2 others 5
Clarke Posted December 22, 2018 Posted December 22, 2018 I hate this level of coverage about celeb or titan weddings. The fork should the regular Amit or Ayesha care about them ? The problem is many of them do, and some even end up emulating these money blowing practices. UrmiSinhaRay 1
Deleted_User_1 Posted December 23, 2018 Posted December 23, 2018 (edited) This Mukesh Ambani dude is fugly inside and out. Obscene display of wealth in a country where half the people live below poverty. Edited December 23, 2018 by dandaroy Muloghonto, Switchblade and UrmiSinhaRay 2 1
Singh bling Posted December 23, 2018 Posted December 23, 2018 (edited) 1 hour ago, dandaroy said: This Mukesh Ambani dude is fugly inside and out. Ugly display of wealth in a country where half the people live below poverty. Entire middle class of India is guilty of it when they spend more than their means for their children's marriage. Edited December 23, 2018 by Singh bling beetle, velu, UrmiSinhaRay and 1 other 2 2
Deleted_User_1 Posted December 23, 2018 Posted December 23, 2018 11 hours ago, Singh bling said: Entire middle class of India is guilty of it when they spend more than their means for their children's marriage. He is a billionaire, some of the wealth is earned and some of it because he was born into his family. I do not have a problem him showing off, but it is the level to which it is shown off. He built ugly auss house worth 1 billion dollars a decade back (god knows how much it would cost today) towering the biggest slums of Mumbai. Everytime I see his phucker in the news, he is showing off his wealth. This wedding cost $100 million .... .WTF? Even 90-100 of me I would not amass that kind of wealth in a lifetime and I do fairly well in US. So the question is, you want to spend money for your daughter's wedding, but was $100 million needed when half the people cannot eat, farmers are committing suicide, social problems galore, etc.. This is just showing off and it is plain disgusting especially given the circumstances. And I do not envy him for having all that money at all, more power to him if he is earning it legally. Switchblade and UrmiSinhaRay 2
Mariyam Posted December 23, 2018 Posted December 23, 2018 On 12/22/2018 at 10:28 AM, Clarke said: I hate this level of coverage about celeb or titan weddings. The fork should the regular Amit or Ayesha care about them ? The problem is many of them do, and some even end up emulating these money blowing practices. Another way to look at it, is that the fairly recent process of grand/glamorous and elaborate weddings, has created a massive wedding industry. And its a big money industry, creating a lot of jobs. Supporting many ancillary industries. Most of the coverage time in these big weddings is paid for by the brands/companies which are associated with that particular wedding. To give you an instance, the size of the Gulmohar and Rose market in the Nov-Feb window is 5 times that in the rest of the year. There are specific karigars, whose sole purpose is zari embroidered lehengas. Hell there are even financial products: Marriage loans and marriage related SIPs available nowadays. Emulating these practices isn't necessarily a bad thing. @dandaroy You should remember that Ambani spent 0.05% of his stated wealth on his daughters wedding. An average middle class/ upper middle class household spends a lot more as a percentage of their income. Many end up borrowing for weddings. If splurging on weddings is something to be ashamed of, clearly the regular folks are guiltier, proportionately speaking.
coffee_rules Posted December 23, 2018 Posted December 23, 2018 Ghanta, this is Rich-shaming, his money, his wish, baaki chale bhaad mein. If a middle-class family man spends Rs. 2000 on a sunday movie-dinner, do you question , if he should donate that money because there are people below poverty line begging on the street.. He should be shamed for spoiling Mumbai's look by building a Godzilla, Sorry Antilla in the heart of Mumbai. An eyesore. Look at the dictionary meaning of eyesore: eye·sore /ˈīsôr/ noun a thing that is very ugly, especially a building that disfigures a landscape. UrmiSinhaRay, Mariyam, Laaloo and 3 others 1 5
Mariyam Posted December 23, 2018 Posted December 23, 2018 In addition to the point that coffee saab has succinctly expressed, it is highly hypocritical of us to fault the Ambanis here. How many of us have had a simple wedding? I would be hard pressed to find a girl who wouldn't want a grand or at least a very elaborate wedding. It isn't necessary about showing off. Its a celebration and in most of the times, it is a one off expense. UrmiSinhaRay and coffee_rules 1 1
Deleted_User_1 Posted December 23, 2018 Posted December 23, 2018 48 minutes ago, Mariyam said: In addition to the point that coffee saab has succinctly expressed, it is highly hypocritical of us to fault the Ambanis here. How many of us have had a simple wedding? I would be hard pressed to find a girl who wouldn't want a grand or at least a very elaborate wedding. It isn't necessary about showing off. Its a celebration and in most of the times, it is a one off expense. I had a very simple wedding here in the US. I had no money to spend coming out of grad school. My in-laws gave us the choice of spending a few thousand $$ on a wedding or taking the money and starting our lives. We chose the latter. I got married at a courthouse in rural Kansas in front of a redneck Judge with only close family of my wife’s present, and then went and had fried chicken. I did not say he does not have the right to spend his own money. Of course he does. But if you tell me his daughter has to have a $100 million wedding to be content, then I am out of words. Does not matter if it is only a fraction of his wealth. Like he has the right to spend his own money, in a free society I have the right to criticize. I think it is nothing but a show-off, it’s immoral and obscene, and the whole family should be ashamed of it. beetle, JourneyMan, rahulrulezz and 4 others 1 1 5
Clarke Posted December 24, 2018 Posted December 24, 2018 (edited) 10 hours ago, Mariyam said: Another way to look at it, is that the fairly recent process of grand/glamorous and elaborate weddings, has created a massive wedding industry. And its a big money industry, creating a lot of jobs. Supporting many ancillary industries. Most of the coverage time in these big weddings is paid for by the brands/companies which are associated with that particular wedding. To give you an instance, the size of the Gulmohar and Rose market in the Nov-Feb window is 5 times that in the rest of the year. There are specific karigars, whose sole purpose is zari embroidered lehengas. Hell there are even financial products: Marriage loans and marriage related SIPs available nowadays. Emulating these practices isn't necessarily a bad thing. @dandaroy You should remember that Ambani spent 0.05% of his stated wealth on his daughters wedding. An average middle class/ upper middle class household spends a lot more as a percentage of their income. Many end up borrowing for weddings. If splurging on weddings is something to be ashamed of, clearly the regular folks are guiltier, proportionately speaking. Yes, aware of economic activity & job creation. My point about emulation has a specific & a larger context. In terms of weddings, it's mostly the parents which bear the brunt of the expenses. I really dislike the idea of middle class parents working their arses off all their lives & saving month by month so that their children can have a shiny occasion. I feel they deserve a more comfortable & fulfilling retirement than these one offs, but of course it's their money & their choice. Having said that, not many have the courage to ignore social pressures. The larger context is the well documented effects of social media which has built unrealistic expectations among the millions of addicts. Holidays, cars, weddings, fine dining, everyone can't have everything. Edited December 24, 2018 by Clarke beetle 1
velu Posted December 24, 2018 Posted December 24, 2018 On 12/23/2018 at 9:54 AM, dandaroy said: This Mukesh Ambani dude is fugly inside and out. Obscene display of wealth in a country where half the people live below poverty. they are nothing and i would say they are frugal when compared with other billionaires outside india .. whatever they spend is not waste of money , infact it will benefit our econoy UrmiSinhaRay and beetle 1 1
coffee_rules Posted December 24, 2018 Posted December 24, 2018 (edited) 19 hours ago, dandaroy said: I had a very simple wedding here in the US. I had no money to spend coming out of grad school. My in-laws gave us the choice of spending a few thousand $$ on a wedding or taking the money and starting our lives. We chose the latter. I got married at a courthouse in rural Kansas in front of a redneck Judge with only close family of my wife’s present, and then went and had fried chicken. I did not say he does not have the right to spend his own money. Of course he does. But if you tell me his daughter has to have a $100 million wedding to be content, then I am out of words. Does not matter if it is only a fraction of his wealth. Like he has the right to spend his own money, in a free society I have the right to criticize. I think it is nothing but a show-off, it’s immoral and obscene, and the whole family should be ashamed of it. I don't understand . How do you have the right to criticize how he spends his own money? He didn't spend your money, or your tax money or public funds. You have right to mock/judge/laugh at his lavish spending, but no moral criticism of his way, saying there is so much poverty in the world, etc. He didn't do anything wrong morally. There are some pros of his spending, contribution to jobs, wedding industry, economy, so many people flew in, imagine the amount of revenue generated for the airline industry, limousine industry, designer wear industry and most importantly, it gives us commoners the grudging satisfaction we get to see the Bollywood stars you hate, to make them serve and dance in the wedding. Edited December 24, 2018 by coffee_rules manu4411, velu and beetle 3
beetle Posted December 24, 2018 Posted December 24, 2018 20 hours ago, Mariyam said: In addition to the point that coffee saab has succinctly expressed, it is highly hypocritical of us to fault the Ambanis here. How many of us have had a simple wedding? I would be hard pressed to find a girl who wouldn't want a grand or at least a very elaborate wedding. It isn't necessary about showing off. Its a celebration and in most of the times, it is a one off expense. I had a simple wedding and loved it. I would have prefered lesser people but parents did not relent. Mariyam, JourneyMan, UrmiSinhaRay and 1 other 2 2
Deleted_User_1 Posted December 24, 2018 Posted December 24, 2018 1 hour ago, coffee_rules said: I don't understand . How do you have the right to criticize how he spends his own money? He didn't spend your money, or your tax money or public funds. You have right to mock/judge/laugh at his lavish spending, but no moral criticism of his way, saying there is so much poverty in the world, etc. He didn't do anything wrong morally. There are some pros of his spending, contribution to jobs, wedding industry, economy, so many people flew in, imagine the amount of revenue generated for the airline industry, limousine industry, designer wear industry and most importantly, it gives us commoners the grudging satisfaction we get to see the Bollywood stars you hate, to make them serve and dance in the wedding. Ha ... you are asking me about rights in a free society. Don't press write op-eds, columns criticizing someone of their actions? I just exercised my first amendment. I told in this forum what I think. I am not inciting violence against him. I said in my post he has every right to spend his money the way he sees fit. I just do not have to agree with it, just like you are not agreeing with my post. This is what a free society is. We may all have differing opinions and we debate and sometime we have to agree to disagree. On a different note: Does anyone know how much charity this phucker does? Based on his wealth, he should be India's no 1 phliantropist. That is why I admire Warren Buffet so much. He is giving his offsprings pittace as inheritance compared to his wealth, is giving away almost everything to chairty and lives a very modest existence. He is the polar opposite of this Mukesh Phuckbani. Now I understand every mega rich does not have the humility of Buffet, but I think there is a middle ground. JourneyMan and UrmiSinhaRay 2
Deleted_User_1 Posted December 24, 2018 Posted December 24, 2018 8 hours ago, velu said: they are nothing and i would say they are frugal when compared with other billionaires outside india .. whatever they spend is not waste of money , infact it will benefit our econoy If you think his motivation for spending such a ungodly obscene amount is to create jobs, then I need to get your head checked! The main motivation is show-off and everything is a by-product of it. There are better ways to contribute to the society you live in. JourneyMan 1