Rightarmfast Posted February 29, 2020 Posted February 29, 2020 6 minutes ago, Cricket_Fan said: You cant be serious. Which India level boxers did you train with? You can see Vijender Singh spending some time in gym below: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tdOzoaqmgig Vijender doesnt represent all the Indian boxers. And he is a pro boxer, doesnt play for India, plays for a team. He will do what his coach tells him, who's a brit. And Olympic level training is different, which I already mentioned. You did not read it. I trained at Sports Authority of India, Karnataka division at Kanteerva Stadium. And I trained under someone who was an Olympian not once, but twice. Atleast he didnt Gym ever.
Cricket_Fan Posted February 29, 2020 Posted February 29, 2020 3 minutes ago, Rightarmfast said: Vijender doesnt represent all the Indian boxers. And he is a pro boxer, doesnt play for India, plays for a team. He will do what his coach tells him, who's a brit. And Olympic level training is different, which I already mentioned. You did not read it. I trained at Sports Authority of India, Karnataka division at Kanteerva Stadium. And I trained under someone who was an Olympian not once, but twice. Atleast he didnt Gym ever. I believe these videos are before his pro-boxing days. Most boxers I know ( both professional and amateur) here in USA spend plenty of time in gym strengthening their core and leg muscles. Indians are recent entrants to boxing and apart from some handful of medals, have not achieved much in boxing. So I wouldn't go with what old Indian coaches say.
Cricket_Fan Posted February 29, 2020 Posted February 29, 2020 4 hours ago, MechEng said: Fast bowlers getting injured, batsmen lacking skill against moving ball. Gym is perfect for high power sports like sprinting and boxing, but in cricket skill always trumps fitness at the highest level. Gym is nothing new to cricket. Even the likes of Glen Mcgrath use to spend hours in gym. You can hear himself saying that in the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H5VOg5d1eTk&t=100s
Rightarmfast Posted February 29, 2020 Posted February 29, 2020 20 minutes ago, Cricket_Fan said: I believe these videos are before his pro-boxing days. Most boxers I know ( both professional and amateur) here in USA spend plenty of time in gym strengthening their core and leg muscles. Indians are recent entrants to boxing and apart from some handful of medals, have not achieved much in boxing. So I wouldn't go with what old Indian coaches say. Never asked you to. Do whatever suits you!
Cricket_Fan Posted February 29, 2020 Posted February 29, 2020 2 minutes ago, Rightarmfast said: Never asked you to. Do whatever suits you! LOL. This is a public forum. I didn't comment on your personal FB wall.
SUMO Posted February 29, 2020 Posted February 29, 2020 I agree with OP upto large strength. However a min level of fitness must be there
Rightarmfast Posted February 29, 2020 Posted February 29, 2020 20 minutes ago, Cricket_Fan said: LOL. This is a public forum. I didn't comment on your personal FB wall. Sure it is. Where did I say it is not?
rollingstoned Posted February 29, 2020 Posted February 29, 2020 spending time in the middle and sharpening powers of concentration with both bat and ball is definitely more useful than acing a yoyo test. If in a game like football itself if your athleticism alone isn't enough to see you get picked at the top level no way is cricket a sport where you don't need to be anywhere near a gun athlete to make it. Especially not when you are deficient in your core skills. those talking about rocky balbao can't be serious, that in no way represents real life boxing. In many of those movies you'd be dead if you were taking those many hits to the head if the fight wasn't called off very early on.
Khota Posted February 29, 2020 Posted February 29, 2020 This thread is beyond ridiculous. It starts with a gym and ends with a gym. Injuries are the result of mismanagement of athletes, not gym time. Vilander 1
Gollum Posted February 29, 2020 Posted February 29, 2020 7 hours ago, Rightarmfast said: I trained at Sports Authority of India, Karnataka division at Kanteerva Stadium. And I trained under someone who was an Olympian not once, but twice. Atleast he didnt Gym ever. Nice !!! Bhai next time you meet that rascal @velu, punch him in his face for all those annoying cat videos, meri taraf se. Vilander 1
MechEng Posted February 29, 2020 Author Posted February 29, 2020 (edited) 9 minutes ago, Khota said: This thread is beyond ridiculous. It starts with a gym and ends with a gym. Injuries are the result of mismanagement of athletes, not gym time. Bilkul. Gym mein heavy weights ke saath body banao aur tough bano. Jab bahar dhoop mein cricket khelo tab oooh aaah, idhar niggle ho gaya udhar injury ho gayi, match nahi khelunga :( Edited February 29, 2020 by MechEng
Khota Posted February 29, 2020 Posted February 29, 2020 10 minutes ago, MechEng said: Bilkul. Gym mein heavy weights ke saath body banao aur tough bano. Jab bahar dhoop mein cricket khelo tab oooh aaah, idhar niggle ho gaya udhar injury ho gayi, match nahi khelunga :( OK. You need muscle strength, agility, coordination, balance, flexibility, endurance, power, speed, reaction time. How will you develope all that? I know skill is number one but if you don't want players with their hands on the hip by end of the day than you need gym time. Lot of well directed gym time. You are an ME and you should be about innovation. Vilander 1
MechEng Posted February 29, 2020 Author Posted February 29, 2020 2 minutes ago, Khota said: OK. You need muscle strength, agility, coordination, balance, flexibility, endurance, power, speed, reaction time. How will you develope all that? I know skill is number one but if you don't want players with their hands on the hip by end of the day than you need gym time. Lot of well directed gym time. You are an ME and you should be about innovation. Bilkul, Dravid Jo maarta tha na bade bade deadlifts apne technique ke liye... Ek Pujara jaisa patlu hai jisne izzat bachai Australia mein, baaki ke daullay shaullay kahan gaye?
someone Posted February 29, 2020 Posted February 29, 2020 Actually, it's a good question. Gym is primarily muscle building. And cricket, as a sport isn't based on muscularity. So it can be correct that gym should not be over-emphasized nor over-done in our cricket. Whereas fitness, there are millions way to be fit, and gym is just one of them.
MechEng Posted March 1, 2020 Author Posted March 1, 2020 (edited) On 2/28/2020 at 10:01 PM, Gollum said: Fitness is aways paramount in athletic endeavours, even non-athletic ones like chess or academics (to get the best out of someone). Sure you can rephrase your assertion that gym time alone won't help in cricket since the sport demands skills and mental fortitude. Abhi dekh lo itna weight lifting aur lean muscle ke baad Kohli cannot read seam at 124 kph, Pollock and McGrath isko saste mein out karte. Aur Vishwanathan Anand apne biceps flex nahi karta apne opponent ko darane ke liye chess mein. Edited March 1, 2020 by MechEng
Param Mastishk Pheeka Posted March 1, 2020 Posted March 1, 2020 Looks like OP is saying overemphasis on strength training at the expense of flexibility, agility and skills development does not belong in cricket. It ain't about the gym, it's about what one does in the gym. Gollum and Vilander 2
Vilander Posted March 1, 2020 Posted March 1, 2020 On 2/29/2020 at 8:43 AM, Khota said: OK. You need muscle strength, agility, coordination, balance, flexibility, endurance, power, speed, reaction time. How will you develope all that? I know skill is number one but if you don't want players with their hands on the hip by end of the day than you need gym time. Lot of well directed gym time. You are an ME and you should be about innovation. No i am sensing some restive angst there may be the person got shafted by a built guy or lost his gf or something. Let him be. Khota 1
Vilander Posted March 1, 2020 Posted March 1, 2020 28 minutes ago, Param Mastishk Pheeka said: Looks like OP is saying overemphasis on strength training at the expense of flexibility, agility and skills development does not belong in cricket. It ain't about the gym, it's about what one does in the gym. Gym is only a place it depends on regimen.
MechEng Posted March 1, 2020 Author Posted March 1, 2020 @Vilander tu ja ke infinite loop mein hag na be
Zero_Unit Posted March 1, 2020 Posted March 1, 2020 On 2/28/2020 at 9:52 PM, Straight Drive said: Kapil Dev the most fittest cricketer in history of cricket never went to gym. Gym will help cricketers who are not naturally blessed with stamina, power etc. Gym is not the only way to build stamina and power. I hear stop and start method does wonders to stamina and power Straight Drive 1