Ankit_sharma03 Posted December 29, 2020 Posted December 29, 2020 Honestly with Jaddu, Ashwin coming good a lot of things have fallen in place. Let me start with positives Ashwin as spinner is taking wkts overseas in 1st innings and then we have 2nd innings shami . We did well overseas when kumble became a force which cane be same case with ashwin. Shami n Ashwin kind of has 2-3 yrs of top cricket left in them may be even Ishant after that a cycle wud began for someone next to reach his peak Pant not only provides a left hander but someone who can change the momentum Jaddu another left hander who seems to have hit his peak Siraj- If u can make an old kookabura talk well ur a top potential Gill - but i hope like rahul n mayank white ball habbits doesnt affect his game With Siraj entrance fast bowling looks more potent Opportunity in Eng and SA Sa is on downwards spiral infact they are quite avg now Eng has inexperienced batting unit and their new batsman looks to have big chinks their game Anderson is on his last yr or so Root also looks to be regressing Now comes to the batting Openers not soughted Pujara - post that Aussie tour he is back to being avg infact below avg overseas . Failed in Nz, WI and now Aus hasnt started well Kohli - definitely not in his purple patch Rahane- lets see if he becomes consistent now Vihari- is on edge already Shaw n Mayank has developed major technical issues Gill also isnt that tight so he also in future will have issues If we have to have any chance on those 2 tours batting has to come good
Lone Wolf Posted December 29, 2020 Posted December 29, 2020 Next tour is in England & right before that we got WTC final (hopefully) then Asia Cup. Either way I hope Test team stays there & practice by playing 2-3 side games. Leave Asia cup T20 to newbies & Rohit. Two A games helped this time. Gill & Siraj came ready this time due to that. We have the team to beat England.. If we don't do blunders & prepare well. Saffers are there for the taking even 3-0 is. Possible vs them.
ravishingravi Posted December 29, 2020 Posted December 29, 2020 With this captain, we should be happy with what we gave got. Great great player. But not the right man for next jump.
shortbread Posted December 29, 2020 Posted December 29, 2020 Problem is Virat doesn't seem like a captain who can stock to a plan. Too many chops and changes.
G_B_ Posted December 29, 2020 Posted December 29, 2020 Get a feeling that SA will roll of flat decks to neutralise our attack...
ShoonyaSifar Posted December 29, 2020 Posted December 29, 2020 Our batting will do well ONLY when we give the batsmen enough time to adjust to the conditions. It's a young team, they need as much practice as possible, that too against quality opposition as FC matches, before the tougher away Test series. Since the days of Dhoni, these practice matches have lost their value just because the captain doesn't feel the need and prefers to do simulation practice, whatever that means. That has been the biggest bane in the last 8-10 years and major reason for our underperformance, along with picking the wrong players in the series starter. We get those two issues sorted, we wil have better chances of fighting well.
G_B_ Posted December 29, 2020 Posted December 29, 2020 Just now, ShoonyaSifar said: Our batting will do well ONLY when we give the batsmen enough time to adjust to the conditions. It's a young team, they need as much practice as possible, that too against quality opposition as FC matches, before the tougher away Test series. Since the days of Dhoni, these practice matches have lost their value just because the captain doesn't feel the need and prefers to do simulation practice, whatever that means. That has been the biggest bane in the last 8-10 years and major reason for our underperformance, along with picking the wrong players in the series starter. We get those two issues sorted, we wil have better chances of fighting well. Its not that young dude. Rahane is 32, Jadeja is 32 Ashwin is 34. Its not an old team. But not young either. Median tests played and median age of players suggests this.
ShoonyaSifar Posted December 29, 2020 Posted December 29, 2020 21 minutes ago, G_B_ said: Its not that young dude. Rahane is 32, Jadeja is 32 Ashwin is 34. Its not an old team. But not young either. Median tests played and median age of players suggests this. Gill/Shaw/Mayank/Vihari/Pant/Siraj/Saini/Kuldeep - all these guys have put together played less than 50 tests. I was referring to them, especially the batsmen.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted December 29, 2020 Author Posted December 29, 2020 7 hours ago, G_B_ said: Get a feeling that SA will roll of flat decks to neutralise our attack... then they are in trouble as it will help our batsman but wud be a problem for their avg bowling , remeber they only have one bowler Rabada Our bowling is good enough for patta their isnt and their batsman are also not good
Gollum Posted December 29, 2020 Posted December 29, 2020 RSA I am sure we will crush them. About Eng tour I am quietly confident. Time to inflict some mental scars in the upcoming home series and reap rewards a few months later. If all our 1st choice players are fit, very difficult for Eng next Aug.
ViruDilSeKhelo Posted December 29, 2020 Posted December 29, 2020 OP used to call Jaddu useless for all formats before (bits and pieces) despite his merit being obvious. Takla.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted December 29, 2020 Author Posted December 29, 2020 19 minutes ago, ViruDilSeKhelo said: OP used to call Jaddu useless for all formats before (bits and pieces) despite his merit being obvious. Takla. errrr wrong called jadeja ATG in home test ODI someone who can bowl and bat better if high up the order at 7 he is a waste T20 useless to kya galat bola , he has came good now...why shud i call him when he wasnt. Reality is he has started showing good returns after heavy investement now ViruDilSeKhelo 1
ViruDilSeKhelo Posted December 29, 2020 Posted December 29, 2020 14 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: errrr wrong called jadeja ATG in home test ODI someone who can bowl and bat better if high up the order at 7 he is a waste T20 useless to kya galat bola , he has came good now...why shud i call him when he wasnt. Reality is he has started showing good returns after heavy investement now aree chup re, you said he should never play for India and called for his drop. I won't look for the quote. You are a fairweather fan who supports anyone briefly scoring runs, taking wickets or achi pielding.
Majestic Posted December 29, 2020 Posted December 29, 2020 We do well in SA so we should do well there. In England, I don't know what we will do. Someone needs to take care of that chotu party spoiler. The guy bats with tail and spoils our party, comes in and bowl inswingers at 125 Kph and our batsmen gets out to him.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted December 29, 2020 Author Posted December 29, 2020 (edited) 36 minutes ago, ViruDilSeKhelo said: aree chup re, you said he should never play for India and called for his drop. I won't look for the quote. You are a fairweather fan who supports anyone briefly scoring runs, taking wickets or achi pielding. chal jaake dhudh when i said he shud have never played for India Edited December 29, 2020 by Ankit_sharma03
ViruDilSeKhelo Posted December 29, 2020 Posted December 29, 2020 3 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: chal jaake dhudh when i said he shud have never played for India bhai, aap ke pass 30 hajar posts hai, jyada time lage ga. Koi bhat nay, I forgive you, Aaj kushi ka din hai, chilmar
Ankit_sharma03 Posted December 29, 2020 Author Posted December 29, 2020 Just now, ViruDilSeKhelo said: bhai, aap ke pass 30 hajar posts hai, jyada time lage ga. Koi bhat nay, I forgive you, Aaj kushi ka din hai, chilmar kyunki milega hi nahin Dropped yes i have, not played i never said ViruDilSeKhelo 1
zen Posted December 29, 2020 Posted December 29, 2020 (edited) 11 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: Pujara - post that Aussie tour he is back to being avg infact below avg overseas . Failed in Nz, WI and now Aus hasnt started well Even before Aus series, Pujara was pretty good relatively speaking In top order View overall figures Primary team India Opposition team Australia or England or New Zealand or South Africa Home or away away (home of opposition) Start of match date between 1 Jan 2012 and 1 Dec 2018 Batting position between 1 and 3 Qualifications matches played greater than or equal to 5 Ordered by batting average (descending) Overall figures Player Span Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0 4s 6s M Vijay 2013-2018 18 36 0 1208 146 33.55 2877 41.98 2 7 4 157 8 CA Pujara 2013-2018 19 36 1 1119 153 31.97 2752 40.66 2 5 3 145 1 KL Rahul 2014-2018 9 17 0 456 149 26.82 858 53.14 2 0 2 64 2 S Dhawan 2013-2018 15 30 0 774 115 25.80 1343 57.63 1 2 2 98 2 G Gambhir 2012-2014 5 10 0 190 83 19.00 456 41.66 0 1 2 24 0 In the middle order Primary team India Opposition team Australia or England or New Zealand or South Africa Home or away away (home of opposition) Start of match date between 1 Jan 2012 and 1 Dec 2018 Batting position between 4 and 7 Qualifications matches played greater than or equal to 5 Ordered by batting average (descending) Overall figures Player Span Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0 4s 6s V Kohli 2012-2018 24 48 1 2480 169 52.76 4269 58.09 10 8 3 292 4 AM Rahane 2013-2018 19 37 3 1383 147 40.67 2643 52.32 3 8 3 177 4 MS Dhoni 2012-2014 13 24 2 626 82 28.45 1206 51.90 0 5 2 88 2 RG Sharma 2013-2018 9 18 1 360 72 21.17 824 43.68 0 1 3 39 4 HH Pandya 2018-2018 7 13 1 252 93 21.00 400 63.00 0 2 2 38 That avg of 32 in the top order can be like a 42-45 in MO. Has 7 50+ scores in 36 innings, while someone like Rahane has 8 in 37 playing in MO (leader in MO is Kohli w/ 18 in 48) On top of that he won us a series single handedly with the bat in Aus (first time in Ind's history)! .... Why would we want to focus on games in WI (a low intensity series) and in NZ (where he was the 2nd highest run scorer playing in top order among mass failures), and here when he is coming off a long lay off (no IPL) but played some decent knocks such as 40 odd in Adelaide in difficult conditions and soaking up the pressure in the 1st inning at MCG Edited December 29, 2020 by zen
Ankit_sharma03 Posted December 29, 2020 Author Posted December 29, 2020 (edited) 32 minutes ago, zen said: Even before Aus series, Pujara was pretty good relatively speaking In top order View overall figures Primary team India Opposition team Australia or England or New Zealand or South Africa Home or away away (home of opposition) Start of match date between 1 Jan 2012 and 1 Dec 2018 Batting position between 1 and 3 Qualifications matches played greater than or equal to 5 Ordered by batting average (descending) Overall figures Player Span Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0 4s 6s M Vijay 2013-2018 18 36 0 1208 146 33.55 2877 41.98 2 7 4 157 8 CA Pujara 2013-2018 19 36 1 1119 153 31.97 2752 40.66 2 5 3 145 1 KL Rahul 2014-2018 9 17 0 456 149 26.82 858 53.14 2 0 2 64 2 S Dhawan 2013-2018 15 30 0 774 115 25.80 1343 57.63 1 2 2 98 2 G Gambhir 2012-2014 5 10 0 190 83 19.00 456 41.66 0 1 2 24 0 how is 31 avg good ? and where is WI thats also overseas Quote In the middle order Primary team India Opposition team Australia or England or New Zealand or South Africa Home or away away (home of opposition) Start of match date between 1 Jan 2012 and 1 Dec 2018 Batting position between 4 and 7 Qualifications matches played greater than or equal to 5 Ordered by batting average (descending) Overall figures Player Span Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0 4s 6s V Kohli 2012-2018 24 48 1 2480 169 52.76 4269 58.09 10 8 3 292 4 AM Rahane 2013-2018 19 37 3 1383 147 40.67 2643 52.32 3 8 3 177 4 MS Dhoni 2012-2014 13 24 2 626 82 28.45 1206 51.90 0 5 2 88 2 RG Sharma 2013-2018 9 18 1 360 72 21.17 824 43.68 0 1 3 39 4 HH Pandya 2018-2018 7 13 1 252 93 21.00 400 63.00 0 2 2 38 That avg of 32 in the top order can be like a 42-45 in MO. Has 7 50+ scores in 36 innings, while someone like Rahane has 8 in 37 playing in MO (leader in MO is Kohli w/ 18 in 48) On top of that he won us a series single handedly with the bat in Aus (first time in Ind's history)! .... no he didnt won it single handedly bowlers and other batsman also performed and opp didnt, Virat has had big series but other didnt contribute and opp scored . No player will single handed win u series, its a down right insult to other players Quote Why would we want to focus on games in WI (a low intensity series) so drop him what a bull **** excuse, WI is a challenge in itself as it has duke balls and good bowlers . Just becoz he cant buy a run doesnt make it less of international cricket Edited December 29, 2020 by Ankit_sharma03
Ankit_sharma03 Posted December 29, 2020 Author Posted December 29, 2020 38 minutes ago, zen said: and in NZ (where he was the 2nd highest run scorer playing in top order among mass failures), and here when he is coming off a long lay off (no IPL) did he score when others scored in NZ in 2014, even dhawan had a 100 and rohit had 70 there was no layoff in NZ or WI