4 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Maybe that is your criteria, but in India, the paisa vasool types go for story, script, acting, star cast, comedy interludes, soundtrack as wholesome masala entertainment and for repeat value. They don’t care much for background score. 
But whatever rocks your boat.

When we say masala it is understood that various elements are mixed (per the subject matter of respective films), along with the importance of soundtrack (one more dimension) ... by discussing background score, I am referring to an additional dimension (which many tend to overlook) ... therefore, films in "the 10" have to tick that box too 

For e.g. a Sholay and a Qurbani (films from the same period as AAA) have all those masala elements (understood part) and a good soundtrack, therefore in the 10 

PS where films (good fun films) like Amar, Akbar and Anthony fall short is that they do not have a background score, relatively speaking, which aligns with their period: 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=riSmCI52Eq8

While a Don, which is from the same period as AAA, for e.g.  has the below: 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SeAb3SpfVaY

^ In the above, the background score serve as a character too 

PPS Another example is Agneepath (however, from a different period than AAA's) ... the score brings the scene to life :hail::

^ if you listen to the above in better print and on a reasonable audio-video set up ... it elevates the watching experience 

46 minutes ago, zen said:

When we say masala it is understood that various elements are mixed, along with the importance of soundtrack ... therefore, films in the 10 have to tick that box too 

For e.g. a Sholay and a Qurbani have all those (understood part) including a good soundtrack, therefore in the 10 

PS where films like Amar, Akbar and Anthony fall short is that they do not have a background score which aligns with their period: 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=riSmCI52Eq8

While a Don for e.g.  has the below: 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SeAb3SpfVaY

Soundtrack and background music are different. Soundtrack is all songs , look at wiki listing all songs of  movie in that section for Indian movies.

Background score in titles or in movies has no value in repeat watches. Why are posts listing Govinda movies in paisa vasool category? For great background score?  AAA is a baap of all such Govinda movies of the 90s.

https://www.masterclass.com/articles/soundtrack-vs-score#what-is-a-film-score

Movie soundtrack vs Score
What Is the Difference Between a Soundtrack and a Score? A score is the specific musical piece or incidental music that accompanies a scene or moment in the film, and a soundtrack is the compilation of songs and sounds that comprise all of the film's music.Nov 13, 2020

38 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Soundtrack and background music are different. Soundtrack is all songs , look at wiki listing all songs of  movie in that section for Indian movies.

Background score in titles or in movies has no value in repeat watches. Why are posts listing Govinda movies in paisa vasool category? For great background score?  AAA is a baap of all such Govinda movies of the 90s.

https://www.masterclass.com/articles/soundtrack-vs-score#what-is-a-film-score

From the OP (there are other points listed as well and somethings are considered as understood):

• Background score: This was an important factor (if not the most) for films that released post Sholay. For e.g. Amar, Akbar & Anthony is a good film but misses out because its background score is dated (dhan dhan dhan). Songs are pretty good though ... An ordinary background can immediately make a film dated

I am referring to the score component when mentioning the soundtrack ... It is understood that most films have at least 1 or 2 good songs (depending upon the focus of the film), but films being included in the 10 would have a good score too, another dimension that separates them from others in the category  

If some ppl use regular laptops or TV speakers to watch films, score may not be important as sound is already in a degraded form when they watch films (probably not really conditioned to appreciate the score). Opinions come from all corners including random and those trying to be funny ... When you are judging films through a process, you would consider various parameters ... I will repeat -> the films in the 10 have everything that you would term as masala (the masala mix can depend upon the subject matter) and also a respectable score (this is not a thread on score but on top masala films picked as they have tick most boxed including the score) 

I am not sure you understand the thread, which is about picking 10 standout films ticking most boxes in this category. It does not mean that other films are not paisa vasool including Govinda's whatever or AAA. There are 100s of such films in this category! 

1 minute ago, zen said:

From the OP:

• Background score: This was an important factor (if not the most) for films that released post Sholay. For e.g. Amar, Akbar & Anthony is a good film but misses out because its background score is dated (dhan dhan dhan). Songs are pretty good though ... An ordinary background can immediately make a film dated

I am referring to the score component while mentioning the soundtrack ... It is again understood that most films have at least 1 or 2 good songs (depending upon the focus of the film), but films being included in the 10 should have a good score too 

If ppl use regular laptops or TV speakers to watch films, score may not be important as sound is already in a degraded form when they watch films (probably not really conditioned to appreciate the score). Opinions come from all corners including random and those trying to be funny ... When you are judging films through a thought out process, you would consider various parameters ... I will repeat -> the films in the 10 have everything that you term as masala (the masala mix can depend upon the subject matter) and also a respectable score (this is not a thread on score but top masala films picked as they tick most boxed including the score 

I am not sure you understand the thread, which is about picking 10 standout films ticking most boxes in this category. It does not mean that other films are not paisa vasool including Govinda's or AAA. There are 100s of such films in this category! 

Then you don't know what paisa vasool means. You can then list the top 10 movies with entertainment plus elitist background music. I don't have any issues. Just that your paisa vasool definition is odd.

In your definition, I listed movies like Tridev, Mohra etc.

Ilayaraja is the king of all BGM music in India. Watch this clip. Watch his BGM in movies like tick-tick-tick, Geetanjali, Anjali,  or Accident.

42 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Then you don't know what paisa vasool means. You can then list the top 10 movies with entertainment plus elitist background music. I don't have any issues. Just that your paisa vasool definition is odd.

In your definition, I listed movies like Tridev, Mohra etc.

Ilayaraja is the king of all BGM music in India. Watch this clip. Watch his BGM in movies like tick-tick-tick, Geetanjali, Anjali,  or Accident.

Buddy, I still think you do not understand what is being discussed. We are discussing top 10 films in paisa vasool category. To separate these from others through a process, there would be certain boxes - one e.g. is here on how I created boxes to arrive at my favorite current Hollywood film - Link  

Your points are like: 

X: top 10 films considering x, y , z

You: List some film (when the thread is actually about picking a favorite from the selected 10 films) 

X: Not selected because the acting (or other such parameter) in it was bad 

You: Who said acting has to be good in paisa vasool films? 

X: That differentiates good films from the rest

You: Ppl have enjoyed films with bad acting too 

X: Agree, but when I (or most ppl) am making a list of top films using a process, good acting would be a parameter 

You: Ppl are mentioning abc, which has bad acting. If good acting was a parameter, why would they list abc?

X: The list in the OP is done through a process and not randomly, therefore to separate top films from others good acting is a criteria (the films being discussed all provide entertainment) 

You: Then you don't know what paisa vasool means 

Tridev, Mohra, etc. are good films too. Not sure if they would make it to the 10 though ... The clip that you posted has a nice a background score, liked the use of violin! 

7 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Maybe that is your criteria, but in India, the paisa vasool types go for story, script, acting, star cast, comedy interludes, soundtrack as wholesome masala entertainment and for repeat value. They don’t care much for background score. 
But whatever rocks your boat.

In that criteria, the following gets mention,

Tridev

Yudh ( was a stylish entertainer) 

Mohra

Trishul

Rocky

Chor Machaye Shor (old one)

Chalti La Naam Gaadi

Mohra n tridev were absolute favs in my childhood 

10 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:
  • Dulhe raja
  • Deewana mastana
  • Shola aur shabnam(specially the 1st half)
  • Haseena maan jayegi
  • Hero no. 1
  • Saajan chale sasural

Love them all 

Coolie no.1

Aankhen

Raja Babu

Bade Miya Chhote Miya

all solid entertainers

With no criteria like OP , other than the ones already mentioned like Sholay and others etc. 

50s:  

Half Ticket

Aar Paar

CID

Anari (RK is best when he doesn’t direct movies)

Naya Daur

60s:

Padosan

Jewel Thief

An Evening in Paris - Beirut and  Niagara action scenes are awesome

Aankhen (Dharmendra)

Brahmachari

70s

Mera Gaon Mera Desh

Sacha Jhutha

Andaz

Haathi Mere Saathi

Ram Balraam

Khoon Pasina

Trishul

Kala Patthar 

Gol Maal

80s

Satte Pe Satta

Arjun (Sunny Deol)

Chasme Baddoor

Masoom

Katha

Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron

Angoor

Joshilay (Anil Kapoor and Sunny Deol)

Tehzaab

Parinda

90s:

Andaz Apna Apna (way beyond its times)

Kabhi Haan Kabhi Na

Many popular Govinda movies

Sarfarosh

Satya

2000s

Gadar

Kaho Na Pyaar Hain

3 Idiots

(To be continued)

8 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

With no criteria like OP , other than the ones already mentioned like Sholay and others etc. 

50s:  

Half Ticket

Aar Paar

CID

Anari (RK is best when he doesn’t direct movies)

Naya Daur

60s:

Padosan

Jewel Thief

An Evening in Paris - Beirut and  Niagara action scenes are awesome

Aankhen (Dharmendra)

Brahmachari

70s

Mera Gaon Mera Desh

Sacha Jhutha

Andaz

Haathi Mere Saathi