Should Kohli and Rohit be banned if the 5th test is deemed forfeited by ICC?

zen

7 hours ago, kirkutfan said:

Your math is off. The Indians were in front 2-1 in this series,  lost the 1 off with NZ, won the last series 3-1, and the one before 2-1. Overall, the captain everyone loves to hate has 38 test wins against 16 losses. That does not equate to “keep losing” or “no accountability”. Agar fatteybaazi karni hai tho thora homework kar lo. Don’t do the chalta hai deal… :cantstop:

Another hero worshipper.

He lost the important stuff.

Lost CT.

Lost WC.

Lost Test Championship.

That is enough for me.

27 minutes ago, MultiB48 said:

You feel for Bharath Arun. This is the second time, that he has to be isolated because someone else has tested positive. Last time it was Dayanand Garani, the masseur," he added.

https://wap.business-standard.com/article/sports/ravi-shastri-3-other-staff-members-of-team-india-in-isolation-in-england-121090500472_1.html

they were isolated because they were close contact not positive.

Once again the guidelines are very explicit. If he was aymptomatic he does not have to if fully vaccinated.

1 hour ago, Khota said:

If you are +ve you have to quarantine.

You are taking up for people who think they are better than others and rules dont apply to them. That is called hero worshipping.

Other coaches tested negative, still they quarantined. Krunal was positive, but other 5 who were in close contact with him, although they tested negative, quarantined too. For a few days until subsequent tests tested negative. The same here, at least 5 or 6 would have to quarantine as they were massaged by the physio. I don’t worship Kohli , seriously want Kohli to be ridden of captaincy, at least in LOIs.

47 minutes ago, Khota said:

Ask them, not me.

Are you for real? Thing is if close contacts of Shastri got isolated despite testing negative then close contacts of Physio too would have been isolated. ECB had no right to ask those 8-10 players too play. Those 8 players could not have played.

26 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Other coaches tested negative, still they quarantined. Krunal was positive, but other 5 who were in close contact with him, although they tested negative, quarantined too. For a few days until subsequent tests tested negative. The same here, at least 5 or 6 would have to quarantine as they were massaged by the physio. I don’t worship Kohli , seriously want Kohli to be ridden of captaincy, at least in LOIs.

Not 5 but 8-9 players got isolated. Here too at least 8-10 players likes of Shami, Bumrah, Shardul, Umesh, Siraj, Ishant, Pujara, Rohit, Jaddu etc

6 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

I don’t know how you argue what Indian players were feeling based on a few reported links . All links you posted said India and ECB were negotiating till a few hours before toss. Nobody had agreed to take the field 

I can’t help it if you chose to ignore that Ind agreed to play.

Already discussed about feelings and opinions

6 hours ago, poyzzplaidwell said:

Kohli aur Rohit to ban karenge.. kahan se aate hai re ye log. Aur kya maal laga ke aate hain subah subah.. lol. Kuch bhi.

Let’s not judge using desi logic. If you were in Aus, you would write Smith aur Warner KO ban karenge. 

34 minutes ago, zen said:

I can’t help it if you chose to ignore that Ind agreed to play.

Already discussed about feelings and opinions

Then How match got cancelled if India agreed to play? You needlessly focusing too much on that report. Some media created an unconfirmed report and all others picked on that. Not first time false reports came in the news.

There was no way India could play when 8-10 players were not able take field.

Edited by rkt.india
13 hours ago, Khota said:

Thanks for putting this up and providing the link.

These are very disturbing pictures of players who think that rules dont apply to them. For the kind of money they get there has to be a sense of responsibility that has been missing.

Disgraceful behavior.

@Khota ... Morality of some people is relative. They think that people with power and money can afford to "break some rules" as they are "special and talented and it keeps them happy". If you raise an objection, the response is "What is your aukaat you dirty low life fan?". 

13 hours ago, zen said:

Please "read" properly. Why would players want to miss out on the opportunity to go to UAE early? (a part of the points being made) - India’s physio tests positive, but final Test set to go ahead. (India agreed to play despite everything, rest does not matter) 

Reading the link of Hindu you posted with your own interpretation of "ndia agreed to play despite everything)

https://www.thehindu.com/sport/cricket/india-england-series-manchester-test-in-doubt-after-india-physio-tests-covid-19-positive/article36379706.ece

Parmar’s positive lateral flow test on Wednesday evening came to light on Thursday afternoon. It led to the Indian team expressing reservations about playing the final Test considering the health risks posed to them and their family members.

However, after several hectic rounds of discussions between the two boards, it was agreed to go ahead with the Test. The news was conveyed to the Indian players late on Thursday night, asking them to get ready for the game.

It will be interesting to see if any of the Indian cricketers, apprehensive about playing the match, makes himself unavailable for the contest.

It only shows BCCI agreed and conveyed the decision to the players. It never says the players agreed to take the field. The report is still indicating players apprehensive about taking the field.

13 hours ago, zen said:

Indian players in England (too worried to be not wearing masks and acting like locals when they are here on a sporting assignment representing their country) - See PICS: Indian cricketers breaking COVID protocols in England; Carefree roaming without mask land them into trouble

Decisions on international matters are taken based on rules not personal feelings and opinions. 

Just smear campaign. Who knows if they took out masks just for the pics, also there is no mask mandate in UK.  People wear masks on their own preference, just showing some pics doesn't mean they were freely going around without any fears.

1 hour ago, rkt.india said:

Then How match got cancelled if India agreed to play? You needlessly focusing too much on that report. Some media created an unconfirmed report and all others picked on that. Not first time false reports came in the news.

There was no way India could play when 8-10 players were not able take field.

I hope that you understand that players refusing to play (for whatever reasons) does not count as India refusing to play. Ind-ECB agreed to have the test played. For that COVID tests were done where players came negative. 

Speculations like what happens at 12 pm during the match if a player coughs, what happens if the temperature of a player is 100F when he is about to bowl, etc., are out of scope. On top of that there is “missing out on IPL as individuals” angle. If the players were in fear and had to be in isolation/quarantine, that should have happened in Eng (not by flying to UAE immediately).

When Pak players were caught spot fixing in Eng, some TV show in Pak even tried to fit money in a briefcase to show that such amount cannot be fitted in to a briefcase using their logic and understanding of the matter (No one cares about such). 

The thread itself is discussing a specific scenario where the game is deemed forfeited (it is not discussing how many excuses can one come up with for the players).

13 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Reading the link of Hindu you posted with your own interpretation of "ndia agreed to play despite everything)

https://www.thehindu.com/sport/cricket/india-england-series-manchester-test-in-doubt-after-india-physio-tests-covid-19-positive/article36379706.ece

It only shows BCCI agreed and conveyed the decision to the players. It never says the players agreed to take the field. The report is still indicating players apprehensive about taking the field.

Just smear campaign. Who knows if they took out masks just for the pics, also there is no mask mandate in UK.  People wear masks on their own preference, just showing some pics doesn't mean they were freely going around without any fears.

1. Thanks for seeing to the legality of India agreeing to play (COVID negative results as well, which are designed to make players available). Players motivation to participate early in IPL have been discussed. Players’ feeling and opinions do not matter (Covid negative tests do). Eng players were at the similar risk by playing with Ind players.

2. Irrelevant as likes of Pant got COVID. As a representative of a country on an international tour, one is expected to take precautions to not keep his team in a bad situation. There is Shastri launching his book example as well.

57 minutes ago, zen said:

1. Thanks for seeing to the legality of India agreeing to play (COVID negative results as well, which are designed to make players available). Players motivation to participate early in IPL have been discussed. Players’ feeling and opinions do not matter (Covid negative tests do). Eng players were at the similar risk by playing with Ind players.

First up, ECB was rushing to get the test started and not follow the protocol. If a team member or staff is found positive, all players in close contact had to quarantine for a few days , in spite of testing negative or vaccinated status. 

This doesn’t mean the players were conspiring to get the test cancelled and scoot off to IPL and hatched a plan with NCCI