Majestic Posted October 24, 2022 Posted October 24, 2022 I have created a thread for bowling. But usme masala jyada tha nahi isliye jyada comments nahi aaye..
Lone Wolf Posted October 24, 2022 Posted October 24, 2022 3 hours ago, Lord said: eh? Any chasing team will readily take 160. It should have been chased down easily. Chasing hasn't been easy in Aus this tourney... It was a fresh pitch with a lot of juice & carry. Tailor made for Pak quicks. I thought 140-145 was achievable here. What we just saw was unimaginable. Shadab bowled really well again.. Thankfully we didn't gift him wickets. Boobie has to start picking wickets... Shami Arsh saved us literally. Babar Riz Chachu were the big guns... Their Lower middle order is useless & even Shaheen Haris looks more capable than Haider &, Asif. Overall 160 was a great recovery.
vvvslaxman Posted October 24, 2022 Posted October 24, 2022 Bowlers are not beyond scrutiny here. We allowed their tully baaz cricketers to add 40 runs after we kept them down for 120/7. Frustrated 1
Number Posted October 24, 2022 Posted October 24, 2022 (edited) 3 hours ago, Lone Wolf said: Chasing hasn't been easy in Aus this tourney... It was a fresh pitch with a lot of juice & carry. Tailor made for Pak quicks. I thought 140-145 was achievable here. What we just saw was unimaginable. Shadab bowled really well again.. Thankfully we didn't gift him wickets. Boobie has to start picking wickets... Shami Arsh saved us literally. Babar Riz Chachu were the big guns... Their Lower middle order is useless & even Shaheen Haris looks more capable than Haider &, Asif. Overall 160 was a great recovery. Do feel that we made the chase look like harder than it was. From 31 in 6 overs to 45 in 10 overs isn't acceptable even if you are trying to save wickets. That run out of Axar added up more scoreboard pressure and we completely shut the shop. They were trying to cut Shadab between third man and point which kept going to fielders hands. Instead should have utilised the gaps better or played at least one reverse sweep in an over. I would back our team to chase 160 with ease anyday even after 3 early wickets but it was one of those days where we kept making things difficult for ourselves. Edited October 24, 2022 by Number Gollum 1
Gollum Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 (edited) Chahal against non-minnows will be an unmitigated disaster. Another mental midget, who is also very limited as a spinner, don't compare him with a champ like Shadab, huge gulf in class. If we are to face NZ/Eng/Aus/RSA/Pak in semi/final Ashwin vs Chahal is a non-discussion for me, one of them is mentally much stronger and superior in all facets of the game (yes even fielding, at least there is effort in Ash's case, Chahal runs away from the ball). 3 pacers is non-negotiable in these conditions, in fact I wouldn't mind even 4 if there were a better option than '24 slower balls' guy. Thakur>>Harshal All boils down to Axar vs Chahal 1. Batting- no comparison whatsoever, with Chahal as last batsman even if we need 2 runs to win in 15 overs, we will be underdogs. Axar can take down spinners and medium pacers, against genuine quicks at least he won't run away from the pitch. 2. Fielding- lol Chahal, makes Ashwin look like Symonds 3. Bowling- Chahal is no Bishnoi or Kuldeep, max you can call it a tie. But I believe Axar's bounce will be tough to deal with for some teams, and he can bowl in PP unlike collar chewer. Chahal gives zero control, can only bowl in middle overs and in last 30 odd T20Is has struggled to pick wickets. Also totally loses the plot when ball is wet, with so much rain predicted asking for trouble...... .4. Mental toughness- status unclear but tough to be worse than Chahal Most importantly we can't play with 4 #11s, bringing in Chahal means we will have to go with only 5 bowlers (including Pandya) or worse play Harshal. Will be stupidity of the highest order. We messed up in selection, but still Chahal can be utilized against the minnow teams, those teams generally find it tough against wristies and Chahal offers a wicket taking option to help crush such teams. My worry is if he gets 4/12 against Zimbabwe, our dumb TM may play him ahead of Ashwin in SF against Eng or NZ. Edited October 25, 2022 by Gollum Lone Wolf 1
Number Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 11 minutes ago, Gollum said: Chahal against non-minnows will be an unmitigated disaster. Another mental midget, who is also very limited as a spinner, don't compare him with a champ like Shadab, huge gulf in class. If we are to face NZ/Eng/Aus/RSA/Pak in semi/final Ashwin vs Chahal is a non-discussion for me, one of them is mentally much stronger and superior in all facets of the game (yes even fielding, at least there is effort in Ash's case, Chahal runs away from the ball). 3 pacers is non-negotiable in these conditions, in fact I wouldn't mind even 4 if there were a better option than '24 slower balls' guy. Thakur>>Harshal All boils down to Axar vs Chahal 1. Batting- no comparison whatsoever, with Chahal as last batsman even if we need 2 runs to win in 15 overs, we will be underdogs. Axar can take down spinners and medium pacers, against genuine quicks at least he won't run away from the pitch. 2. Fielding- lol Chahal, makes Ashwin look like Symonds 3. Bowling- Chahal is no Bishnoi or Kuldeep, max you can call it a tie. But I believe Axar's bounce will be tough to deal with for some teams, and he can bowl in PP unlike collar chewer. Chahal gives zero control, can only bowl in middle overs and in last 30 odd T20Is has struggled to pick wickets. Also totally loses the plot when ball is wet, with so much rain predicted asking for trouble...... .4. Mental toughness- status unclear but tough to be worse than Chahal Most importantly we can't play with 4 #11s, bringing in Chahal means we will have to go with only 5 bowlers or worse play Harshal. Will be stupidity of the highest order. We messed up in selection, but still Chahal can be utilized against the minnow teams, those teams generally find it tough against wristies and Chahal offers a wicket taking option to help crush such teams. My worry is if he gets 4/12 against Zimbabwe, our dumb TM may play him ahead of Ashwin in SF against Eng or NZ. I do get a feeling Axar will have a role to play. As the tournament progresses sun will come out and there will be matches on used pitches. Finger spinners are very successful in BBL.
rkt.india Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 9 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: Almost all teams have leggies as weapons. Even ireland. He was the man of the match. Inspite of having Chahal, Bishoni, Kuldeep not playing any of them will be a travesty. Even against india Shadab was the one who put the choke on Kuldeep is not a leggie. He is off spinner for right handers.
vvvslaxman Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 8 minutes ago, rkt.india said: Kuldeep is not a leggie. He is off spinner for right handers. He can spin both ways.
Need4Speed Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 11 hours ago, Gollum said: Both him and Kulasekara in that final. But before that damage had been done by that chucker Senanayake. Horrible memories. Rahahe was playing in T20 for us that time..iirc.. lol.. Gollum 1
Lone Wolf Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 40 minutes ago, rkt.india said: Kuldeep is not a leggie. He is off spinner for right handers. Googly hai uske pass... Off spinner may have to chuck to make the ball go away.
Need4Speed Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 (edited) I get frustrated with our bowlers easily..and dont watch them bowl to avoid raising BP.. I also start cursing,give up all the hopes and dont watch the match.. All this combined isa totkaa for me..Haha..to keep a faint hope that we can win..and miraculously we did win thanks to Kohli.. but you know..how often I have to repeat this process which doesnt work everytime.. why coz our bowlers always make me feel that they never finish the innings well..and lose out on any advantage gained.. with the start we got and friendly bowling conditions and weak mentality Pak batti g how coukd they still let then make 160.. 135-140 was fine but these bowlers even got smacked by tailenders..and this happens too often.. you wont always get swinging conditions and the likes of Bhuvi will get exposed when other bowlers wont get wkts in the start.. if Bhuvi cant take wkts in his friendly conditions,cant bat and gets smacked by Rauf.. he is a liability.. His overall stats look good but we dont need him for supporting role we need him to take wkts upfront.. at this point I am not asking to replace him but asking him to develop some killer instinct instead pf being defensive.. Edited October 25, 2022 by Need4Speed singhvivek141 1
vice Posted October 26, 2022 Posted October 26, 2022 Bhuvi didn't bowl poorly upfront. he bowled alright most of the time but just wasn't able to pick up wickets albeit the conditions were ideal for him.