Why don't we play

R!TTER

Your reason  

12 members have voted

1. 1. why India doesn't have a dedicated home (test) season?

• Indian players don't care much about tests!
    • BCCI doesn't really care about tests
    • Indian viewers don't like tests as much as Oz/Eng
    • Other (specify)

Because the more we travel abroad the more home nation earns in broadcast fees. In return they give us unconditional support for hosting ipl and let their marquee stars play.. in addition ( now the interesting bit) they send all their marquee stars to play in useless odi and t20 bilateral series one after the other ( nz came in 2021 now coming again. Saf s second home is india) and bcci earns much more moolah from Finolex Pipes odi series or cycle agarbatti t20 series against these countries. If you see how many odi s and t20s India has played at home you ll be amazed and India will be number 1. BCCI mandarins thats why are the best businessmen.. home tests or home t20 odis.. they know where the money is ( plus all state associations like assam orissa uttarakhand up mp etc remain happy with their share of matches).. also stadiums are full and maninder singh and saba karim in commentory says Khachakhach bhada hua stadium.and india wins all these useless series so broadcasters public all are happy... koi shaque..

Edited by neel roy
1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said:

Also we haven't toured SL since 2017....  BD tour was first since 2015.  That means we are touring SENA nations non stop.  

Next cycle we are going to SA again....  And a 5 test series vs Aus. 

Apart from 2016-17 we never had a dedicated home season. 

We should be playing at least 3-4 tests at home each season, no exceptions! * the boxing day or Lord's test if they interfere with this, when will the babus at BCCI learn?

1 hour ago, R!TTER said:

We should be playing at least 3-4 tests at home each season, no exceptions! * the boxing day or Lord's test if they interfere with this, when will the babus at BCCI learn?

Boxing day Test in 2018, 2020, 2021 & again in 2023...  That includes subsequent new year's Test as well in all these instances. 

Perhaps an away Test in SENA makes more money for broadcasters than a India test. 

2 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Boxing day Test in 2018, 2020, 2021 & again in 2023...  That includes subsequent new year's Test as well in all these instances. 

Perhaps an away Test in SENA makes more money for broadcasters than a India test. 

Yes but as far as I know the tests in India are part of the bundled broadcast deal, so BCCI will make money off it no matter what! Not to mention gate receipts aren't that big of a deal in India like Eng, Oz so even matches ending quickly don't really matter to the board. Yes of course the broadcaster will lose ad revenues if the games end in 2-3 days but you can't force the games to last longer if there's no quality opposition/dead pitches for the matches to last 5 days.

11 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

yes, it is more profitable seeing india getting thumped overseas

Yeah, these two countries compete in everything. Cricket is no exception. India won the Cricket World Cup. For the second time in its history and 28 years after the first triumph. India is trying to stretch the feeling of victory longer. I remember that time when I managed to make a lot of bets on this game. In general, I am a gambling person and I like different games, so I often play pin up aviator. But I will never leave cricket without attention. This game gave me so many emotions.

Edited by daverdnob
2 minutes ago, daverdnob said:

All I know from the cricket world is that the Indian team is competing with Pakistan, India's political arch-rival. I'm more into betting on cricket and playing at an online casino, does anyone want to keep me company?

Yeah, these two countries compete in everything. Cricket is no exception. India won the Cricket World Cup. For the second time in its history and 28 years after the first triumph.

Tests can made popular in India ..  embedding the sport within the Ethos and culture of the country is BCCI’s responsibility.. the problem is the BCCI doesn’t need to compete to get ppl’s attention for t20I’s .. also stadiums should be more than stadiums , should have history , culture , other things for spectators to engage in during test matches .. I don’t think it’s possible set test matches in India up like that .. also if bcci allowed Indian players to play international leagues it will probably have a bargaining chip 

On 12/31/2022 at 10:37 AM, R!TTER said:

Yes but as far as I know the tests in India are part of the bundled broadcast deal, so BCCI will make money off it no matter what! Not to mention gate receipts aren't that big of a deal in India like Eng, Oz so even matches ending quickly don't really matter to the board. Yes of course the broadcaster will lose ad revenues if the games end in 2-3 days but you can't force the games to last longer if there's no quality opposition/dead pitches for the matches to last 5 days.

If matches end in 2-3 days , broadcasters will be ready with Super V , KING is Back , Greatest Player  aur kya kya series and repeat it all days till viewer starts vomitting! 

The point is it shouldn't (the type of pitches we make) be contingent on Broadcasters, like many Oz fans allege when we tour over there! We should absolutely make dustbowls if it suits us but sadly we don't have good players of spin anymore, barely 1 or 2 in the side, so "sporting" pitches would generally be a lot better.