India vs Pakistan | Pre match discussion

1 hour ago, Lala_is_back said:

We are quite happy to win this match than winning WC. :cantstop:

This win feels us more satisfaction like we won the WC. :cantstop:

I remember during Asia cup  you were chest thumping about nobody is stopping pakistan and they will steam roll everyone lol  I kept asking you "are you confident you will win the cup" . You couldn't give a straight answer

Then this happened

Screenshot-2023-10-14-001406.png

Edited by vvvslaxman
1 minute ago, cowboysfan said:

Interesting that sources are saying that if Shami places it will be in place of Siraj and not Thakur which makes no sense,Thakurs once in a blue moon batting is not worth his buffet bowling.

Every one knows Thakur's batting is unreliable and has regressed quite a lot.  But his presence in the playing11 gives a psychological/mental advantage to our top order and middle order to bat more freely.  If we go with four no.11 batsmen, everytime any of our top order batter attempt a big shot, they will think twice before doing it.  In fact, if we look at the stats, we never won anything when we played 3 strike pace bowlers.  Ind vs Aus 3rd odi at Rajkot, we played Bumrah,Siraj, Prasidh along with Kuldeep. That was a bowling heavy attack.  Guess the result: We lost by 67 runs after conceding 353 runs.    Same thing happened in Windies t20 series.  We kept playing 4 tailenders and lost the series to a team which could not qualify for T20 WC.   

5 minutes ago, Frustrated said:

Agree.   But the question is: Shami in place of whom?   Siraj or Thakur.   

They ain't dropping Siraj. That guy ran through Srilanka for 51 runs. Also world. no.1 ICC ranked bowler. Also has the best strike rate by some distance in recent times. There is a good chance all 3.

13 minutes ago, Frustrated said:

Every one knows Thakur's batting is unreliable and has regressed quite a lot.  But his presence in the playing11 gives a psychological/mental advantage to our top order and middle order to bat more freely.  If we go with four no.11 batsmen, everytime any of our top order batter attempt a big shot, they will think twice before doing it.  In fact, if we look at the stats, we never won anything when we played 3 strike pace bowlers.  Ind vs Aus 3rd odi at Rajkot, we played Bumrah,Siraj, Prasidh along with Kuldeep. That was a bowling heavy attack.  Guess the result: We lost by 67 runs after conceding 353 runs.    Same thing happened in Windies t20 series.  We kept playing 4 tailenders and lost the series to a team which could not qualify for T20 WC.   

People are underplaying a decent no.8 with 10-15 runs comment. If India is 298-6 and jadeja is batting on one end, who do you prefer on the other end shami or thakur? Because jaddu will take a single without any hesitation. Thakur could be the difference between 310 a.o and 335-9

Just now, vvvslaxman said:

They ain't dropping Siraj. That guy ran through Srilanka for 51 runs. Also world. no.1 ICC ranked bowler. Also has the best strike rate by some distance in recent times. There is a good chance all 3.

Ashwin was no.1 before wtc final. ODI rankings are even more meaningless 

1 minute ago, Serpico said:

People are underplaying a decent no.8 with 10-15 runs comment. If India is 298-6 and jadeja is batting on one end, who do you prefer on the other end shami or thakur? Because jaddu will take a single without any hesitation. Thakur could be the difference between 310 a.o and 335-9

If we are relying on Thakur's batting tonight, we are already doomed.

2 minutes ago, SRT100 said:

Not his individual runs. But we are definitely relying on him as a potential partnership. Kuldeep etc can't even rotate the strike, in fact even surviving against rauf and co might be hard for them

Remember in highscoring ODIs, you can have a banger 40 overs and still finish below par if you fail to capitalise the last 10. Sri lanka was set to post 370+ the other day but rauf managed to pull pak back into the game.

7 minutes ago, SRT100 said:

If Shami replaces Thakur, Pak bowlers would hv a massive mental advantage while bowling.  They will know very well that they need to take only 6 indian wickets to win the game. Bumrah+Siraj+Shami+Kuldeep combined cannot score more than 15 runs with the bat.  They are that sh!t with the bat.  

50 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

I remember during Asia cup  you were chest thumping about nobody is stopping pakistan and they will steam roll everyone lol  I kept asking you "are you confident you will win the cup" . You couldn't give a straight answer

Then this happened

Screenshot-2023-10-14-001406.png

Well, Asia Cup has lot of rain interruptions. Moreover, had Ind-Pak game washed out then we would have been anyway in the finals due to higher net run rate. India fixed the entire tournament and changed some rules by their own in the middle of the tournament. So we didn't want to involve for such cheaters' tournament and only SL involved as they did not have a choice. In Final too we saw what happened as per script. They chased 250 in 40 overs against a quality bowling attack and deliberately collapsed for 50 runs in the final to a mediocre attack. Everyone knows Asia cup was sold :cantstop: 

In  Shami vs Thakur debate the most important point is that Siraj and Bumrah will bowl with the new ball. Shami will most probably be the first change and play middle overs enforcer role. Shami with the new ball is more threaterning but in the middle overs Thakur isn't that bad an option, he has done very well in recent times in terms of wicket taking. 

Edited by Number
18 minutes ago, Lala_is_back said:

Well, Asia Cup has lot of rain interruptions. Moreover, had Ind-Pak game washed out then we would have been anyway in the finals due to higher net run rate. India fixed the entire tournament and changed some rules by their own in the middle of the tournament. So we didn't want to involve for such cheaters' tournament and only SL involved as they did not have a choice. In Final too we saw what happened as per script. They chased 250 in 40 overs against a quality bowling attack and deliberately collapsed for 50 runs in the final to a mediocre attack. Everyone knows Asia cup was sold :cantstop: 

Kya kha liya bhai subah subah.. #high