In 2023, India has 3 pacers bowling 150 kph+ .... Mayank Yadav, Kartik Tyagi and Umran Malik

5 minutes ago, Lord said:

There was this guy Sushant Singh too right? or Akash Singh. Played India U19 WC

Sushant Mishra...played 4 games and pick up 7 wickets for Jharkhand. Didn't watch any game.

Akash Singh moved to Nagaland...didn't play any game.

On topic of lefties

1. Arshdeep looked undercooked. Has lot his edge with Yorkers...pace 130-138

2. Pradeep Sangwan has become a trundler

3. Arjun Tendulkar flopped with ball, but contributed with bat.

4. Prithviraj looked 140+, but had poor control and went for runs

5 hours ago, express bowling said:

@Mosher, @Suhaan, @singhvivek141, @rkt.india, @Lone Wolf @Forward Defence, @Rightarmfast, @rollingstoned, @prudent_kreeda, @MK55

You guys have watched Mayank, Tyagi and Umran bowl in SMAT.

Please give your observations. 

Express pace without accuracy will travel in short format . Ultimately if such youngsters fail to contain runs at critical stage and team loses , they will be dropped.  That is the bitter truth be it at state level , IPL or India level.  Both Umran & Tyagi are the example for us. Hence they should get control on their stock ball first which increases accuracy and try to seam it a bit , being express they can seam it rather than swing it.  Seam deviation is the most difficult for batters at such high pace as deviation of ball (in or out) not known till ball pitches. Then they can add a good bumper, a slower bouncer & a yorker .

Once they have these , i think they can be given few matches in bi laterls . 

Mayank Yadav - At present looks the more zippier ,more accurate than others. Gets sharp bounce. looks to have slower bouncer. No idea about yorker as of now as this match is the one where had a good look at him. Needs to get balls holding the line as Mosher observed else becomes bit predictable.

(We know Srinath got the straighter one after 3  years) . Could not see his grip & wrist , but most probably it is mostly bound to produce incoming deliveries hence not sure can he quickly master the ball holding its line . Prefers back of length more but should quickly need to add the good length deliveries more with that inward movement to get LBW & bowled.  

For me he is the front runner to be  given a chance in 50 overs first. 

Kartik Tyagi  - The more skilful among the three . Moves the ball both ways , Fast yorker, Dipping Yorker , Fiery Bouncer ,top of off stump deliveries at high pace. Almost near complete skill sets but without control. If anyone can scare a batsman among these 3, it is Tyagi. 

Looks like made for Test matches . Injuries & lack of FC matches really dragged  his development.

Only thing now he needs to do is to get that control over line & length .Mindset should be get the test match bowling skill ready. Once he gets decent control , he is the man who will & should get test debut first among the three. Only drawback is very little FC experience.

Umran Malik  - Potentially has more hurdles to come good in Test & to some extent 50 overs due to lack of height and  not having good bumper and hardly any movement .Too straight and least skillful among the three at the moment. Really disappointed that even after working with mentor like Styne for 2 seasons , did not come good .

To get a India chance , at his height i think he should strive to perfect yorker , add well disguised change of pace and bit of seam movement to come good in short format first. At present he lags behind others in the race.

These guys should first get control over line & length and become undroppable for their state team . 

Hope Agarkar & Co take bold  decisions and 

1. Include Tyagi in each of the Test team of 16 , even if not included in X1 from next year.  

2. Give chance to Mayank in 50 overs  in few games in A level ASAP and based on that at india level within a year . Even T20 cannot be ruled out if does well in next IPL. Lets see.

3. Umran-May be one change and death bowler in 50 overs could be the role selectors should ask him to be . No expectations as of now. 

I am not sold just on pace ,  need to see bit of seam movement and control on those in between 6m -8m length balls . If it takes them a year or more for these 3 , i am OK , but India cap only after we see that improvement .

Just ape the line & lengths of present TRIO , that's it.  

Edited by prudent_kreeda
15 hours ago, prudent_kreeda said:

Express pace without accuracy will travel in short format . Ultimately if such youngsters fail to contain runs at critical stage and team loses , they will be dropped.  That is the bitter truth be it at state level , IPL or India level.  Both Umran & Tyagi are the example for us. Hence they should get control on their stock ball first which increases accuracy and try to seam it a bit , being express they can seam it rather than swing it.  Seam deviation is the most difficult for batters at such high pace as deviation of ball (in or out) not known till ball pitches. Then they can add a good bumper, a slower bouncer & a yorker .

Once they have these , i think they can be given few matches in bi laterls . 

Mayank Yadav - At present looks the more zippier ,more accurate than others. Gets sharp bounce. looks to have slower bouncer. No idea about yorker as of now as this match is the one where had a good look at him. Needs to get balls holding the line as Mosher observed else becomes bit predictable.

(We know Srinath got the straighter one after 3  years) . Could not see his grip & wrist , but most probably it is mostly bound to produce incoming deliveries hence not sure can he quickly master the ball holding its line . Prefers back of length more but should quickly need to add the good length deliveries more with that inward movement to get LBW & bowled.  

For me he is the front runner to be  given a chance in 50 overs first. 

Kartik Tyagi  - The more skilful among the three . Moves the ball both ways , Fast yorker, Dipping Yorker , Fiery Bouncer ,top of off stump deliveries at high pace. Almost near complete skill sets but without control. If anyone can scare a batsman among these 3, it is Tyagi. 

Looks like made for Test matches . Injuries & lack of FC matches really dragged  his development.

Only thing now he needs to do is to get that control over line & length .Mindset should be get the test match bowling skill ready. Once he gets decent control , he is the man who will & should get test debut first among the three. Only drawback is very little FC experience.

Umran Malik  - Potentially has more hurdles to come good in Test & to some extent 50 overs due to lack of height and  not having good bumper and hardly any movement .Too straight and least skillful among the three at the moment. Really disappointed that even after working with mentor like Styne for 2 seasons , did not come good .

To get a India chance , at his height i think he should strive to perfect yorker , add well disguised change of pace and bit of seam movement to come good in short format first. At present he lags behind others in the race.

These guys should first get control over line & length and become undroppable for their state team . 

Hope Agarkar & Co take bold  decisions and 

1. Include Tyagi in each of the Test team of 16 , even if not included in X1 from next year.  

2. Give chance to Mayank in 50 overs  in few games in A level ASAP and based on that at india level within a year . Even T20 cannot be ruled out if does well in next IPL. Lets see.

3. May be one change and death bowler in 50 overs could be the role selectors should ask him to be . No expectations as of now. 

I am not sold just on pace ,  need to see bit of seam movement and control on those in between 6m -8m length balls . If it takes them a year or more for these 3 , i am OK , but India cap only after we see that improvement .

Just ape the line & lengths of present TRIO , that's it.  

Mayank has good control over line and length in the few matches I have seen him bowl. And can change his length while holding his line. I find this quite impressive in a rookie quick.

He gave me the impression that he is trying to bowl to a plan.. And as @Mosher bro said, if he can get the ball to move away a bit, he can be really dangerous. 

P.S ....  And one area where Bumrah and Shami can improve is bowling more bouncers as set up balls. They did it till early 2022. 

Edited by express bowling
7 hours ago, express bowling said:

Today, Mayank Yadav, the tall 21 year old quick from Delhi, clocked 155 kph in SMAT, with lots of balls in the 149 k to 152 k range.

This kid is special as he is accurate and gets steep bounce at express pace. He plays for LSG in the IPL. 

Kartik Tyagi of UP has bowled lots of 150 kph to 152.8 kph balls in this SMAT too. He too is tall at 6'3" and will complete 23 in a month. He is highly skilful with swing both ways, in-seam, good yorkers, fiery bumpers and a good temperament. But needs to get his lines right.

Then there is Umran Malik who everyone knows about. 

Hope Rohit, Dravid and Agarkar are keeping an eye on these events.

Mayank Yadav can be fast tracked in ODIs just after this WC as he is very accurate too and has amazing List A stats. 

And Kartik.Tyagi needs to play this full FC season and be groomed specially.

This is great news about Mayank.

Not just his fastest ball, but accuracy and ability to swing both ways coupled with balls consistently in that 150km zone.

As you know, it isnt about balling fast, its the ability to be accurate and generate swing. You need some arsenal to draw upon, then when you combine that with brutal speed, thats how you become a weapon.

Eventually what is needed is ART OF TAKING WICKETS!!

Mayank , Karthik should be fast tracked to India A teams for getting the experience, they have done well in the shortest format which is mostly designed for the batsmen & ok indian pitches it’s even tough, we have seen how umran lost his confidence after the initial season since the captains don’t k kw how to set fields for such quicks , mostly the captains prefer the medium pacers such as bhuvneshwar , kaul etc.

India A tours in SENA countries would be a start for these quicks.

India has traditionally beignets poor at grooming quick bowlers, Ankola , VRV, Varun Aaron, Saini , Umran have not been given proper coaches , guidance to be groomed & learn the art of taking wickets..

Bumrah, Shami, Siraj have been exceptional to learn the art of taking wickets themselves, without specialists coaches, though in their peak have touched 150k but eventually they settled for variable speed which is even tough for batsmen since the batsmen can’t predict at what speed will the ball come. For instance if umran on indian pitches balls only at one speed it’s eventually going to be easy for batsmen to play him since these days more than pace it’s pace + variability which defeats the batsmen.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

15 hours ago, express bowling said:

@Mosher, @Suhaan, @singhvivek141, @rkt.india, @Lone Wolf @Forward Defence, @Rightarmfast, @rollingstoned, @prudent_kreeda, @MK55

You guys have watched Mayank, Tyagi and Umran bowl in SMAT.

Please give your observations. 

I've been traveling the past week bro so haven't been able to watch any smat. I'll have your word for it though and if your description is in anyway half-way accurate we have a gem on our hands. 

56 minutes ago, jf1gp_1 said:

kartik tyagi is not 150, nowhere close. Could be a good bowler but more like 140. 

Aisa hai,Bina kuch dekhe Bina kuch jaane bola ya verdict pass nahi Kiya jata

Did you see him bowl in IPL,SMAT,Hazare or even in his u19 year?

Let me tell you ,Tyagi clocked 144+ in his very u19 WC and was consistently quicker than any of the fastest bowlers played there

Now,he bowls in his first IPL and clocks 148

Bowls for SRH in 2022 clocks ~150 and looked extremely quick for whatever little he bowled same year when Umran was breathing fire for them

Even this year he was near 150

About time we all knew soon he will breach 150and exactly what he did this time in SMAT clocking 153

There are rumours he even bowled 161(95%glitch)but people won't doubt him either as he was express against Gujarat

You can argue about his line and lengths ,but his pace is right up there

12 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Sushant Mishra...played 4 games and pick up 7 wickets for Jharkhand. Didn't watch any game.

Akash Singh moved to Nagaland...didn't play any game.

On topic of lefties

1. Arshdeep looked undercooked. Has lot his edge with Yorkers...pace 130-138

2. Pradeep Sangwan has become a trundler

3. Arjun Tendulkar flopped with ball, but contributed with bat.

4. Prithviraj looked 140+, but had poor control and went for runs

Is this the same Sangwan who has been around since the first season of the ipl? Already a very long career if so. 

14 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Hangargekar is not 145+..maybe 142-143 but has a high arm action and strong shoulders..generate good bounce. Is a powerful hitter.

Bawa last I saw was in 135-140 range...sad to see that he is used as 7th batter & 5th bowler by Chandigarh. But he is a very high ceiling allrounder.

Yudhvir Singh from J&K is another 137-143 pacer..tall, hit the deck pacer. Can bowl decent yorkers in death. Is a powerful hitter.

Mohsin is there as well, tall strong lad. Bowls heavy ball and gets great bounce. Just need to get rid of his lazyness.

Hanga will get quick was bowling 141 even in his first(u19) year

20 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

Aisa hai,Bina kuch dekhe Bina kuch jaane bola ya verdict pass nahi Kiya jata

I have been following kartik tyagi (Bishnoi and Jaiswal) ever since U19 world cup. I am not getting into a debate if he is 150+ bowler or not because i have never seen him hit those speeds. Even U19 WC his avg speeds would have been between 138-141. 

14 hours ago, express bowling said:

■■  Mayank Yadav ....

□  Age .. 21

□  Pace .. Express pace and good zip off the deck

□  Bounce .. Steep bounce

□  Height .. 6'1" or 6'2"

□  Accuracy .. Really good

□  Movement .. Primarily indippers

□  Yorkers .. Good  

□  Bouncers .. Excellent, accurate and hostile

□  Slower balls .. Ok

Most ready among the young express pacers ....

■■    Kartik Tyagi ....

□  Age .. Almost 23 

□  Pace .. Express

□  Bounce .. Good bounce

□  Height .. 6'3"

□  Accuracy .. Lengths ok, lines not good so far

□  Movement .. Swing both ways, In-seamers 

□  Yorkers .. Good and sometimes really good. Can have off days too.

□  Bouncers .. Very Hostile and good 

□  Slower balls .. Sometimes good, sometimes ordinary.

■■  Umran Malik ....

□  Age .. Almost 24 

□  Pace .. Express pace and very skiddy 

□  Bounce .. Not bouncy

□  Height .. 5'9" or  5"10"

□  Accuracy .. His lines were good but has regressed, lengths need improvement 

□  Movement .. Only occasional 

□  Yorkers .. Need work 

□  Bouncers .. Need work 

□  Slower balls .. Need work 

Thanks for the height as well. Interesting, as Tyagi as tall as Srinath.

For the record, WI fast bowlers of the 80s were generally all 6"5+ in height.

As you know, height provides the fast bowler with an additional weapon in where the bowler releases the ball. Not surprising Malik is skiddy given his height being the smaller of the three, compared to others. I think its great variable to have as it offers a point of difference.

2 hours ago, jf1gp_1 said:

kartik tyagi is not 150, nowhere close. Could be a good bowler but more like 140. 

1)   Kartik Tyagi has clocked 151 kph in this year's IPL with many deliveries in the 147 k to 151 k range.

2)  In the ongoing SMAT, international bowlers like Bhuvi, Arshdeep etc.are bowling at their usual speeds, proving thereby that Tyagi's 147 k to 153 k speeds are correct. 

3)  Indian pacers usually get quicker till around age 24 / 25 and Tyagi is 23. He is likely to get even quicker and cross 155 kph.

19 minutes ago, express bowling said:

1)   Kartik Tyagi has clocked 151 kph in this year's IPL with many deliveries in the 147 k to 151 k range.

2)  In the ongoing SMAT, international bowlers like Bhuvi, Arshdeep etc.are bowling at their usual speeds, proving thereby that Tyagi's 147 k to 153 k speeds are correct. 

3)  Indian pacers usually get quicker till around age 24 / 25 and Tyagi is 23. He is likely to get even quicker and cross 155 kph.

If is bowling that quick then good for us

17 hours ago, express bowling said:

Today, Mayank Yadav, the tall 21 year old quick from Delhi, clocked 155 kph in SMAT, with lots of balls in the 149 k to 152 k range.

This kid is special as he is accurate and gets steep bounce at express pace. He plays for LSG in the IPL. 

Kartik Tyagi of UP has bowled lots of 150 kph to 152.8 kph balls in this SMAT too. He too is tall at 6'3" and will complete 23 in a month. He is highly skilful with swing both ways, in-seam, good yorkers, fiery bumpers and a good temperament. But needs to get his lines right.

Then there is Umran Malik who everyone knows about. 

Hope Rohit, Dravid and Agarkar are keeping an eye on these events.

Mayank Yadav can be fast tracked in ODIs just after this WC as he is very accurate too and has amazing List A stats. 

And Kartik.Tyagi needs to play this full FC season and be groomed specially.

saw Mayank's bowling yesterday in a few highlights- seems he has seriously fast bouncers. easily bowls 135 k to 153K. Extremely exciting Talent.  what i found very exciting is his bouncers, he created so many catching opportunities. Not sure if he has inswing and Outswinging capabilities and whether he has matured or not.

Saw Umesh Yadav's bowling too and seems he has now CONTROL over his bowling, entire life he never had control over his bowling but now it seems he has got the control and accuracy back, he has gone down on pace a little but can increase his pace whenever he feels the need. But i have to acknowledge that Umesh is impressive now. got 4 wickets in 4 overs in one of the matches.

Kartik tyagi- just saw one highlight where i saw few balls, he bowls a little full some times and has sheer Pace - no doubt about that. But I am not sure about his control still , he can bowl a Maiden or an leak 20 runs - i guess he has to improve his accuracy still. but extemmely exciting.

Umran- i have always been very impressed by him , i hope he improves and comes back into odi India team some times at least as I feel he is our answer to english quick bowler( mark wood/jefra archer) and New zealand fast bowler( lockie ferguson/adam milne)

ON accuracy - none of them are good yet. But yes may be mayank could be a shade better than Kartik tyagi or umran.

ON Pace- Umran should be the quickest followed by Karthik and then Mayank.

Over All who is the most exciting of the three - I am equally excited by the three of them ,all three should be trained and all three should get a lot of opportunities in IPL and a few international opportunities too. One who is bowling best should be picked and atleast one of them should be in INDIAN team at all times. these 3 should be rotated.

I am very excited about Prasidh and Kuldeep Sen too . Kaverappa is good but his pace is a little down though i know he is very Intelligent and bowlers like him are destined for success in international cricket.

Saini has disappointed ( not on pace) as he is always SHORT and his bouncers are not as dangerous as Mayank yadav. though on average pace he is as fast as Mayank but i guess now he is not in race for INDIA team.