randomGuy Posted April 26, 2024 Posted April 26, 2024 (edited) I got to watch it yesterday. I watch movies very rarely, watched this one as people were bugging me to watch it. (I am thankful now) ...it is a movie about a real life story of IPS Manoj Kumar Sharma who hails from Chambal (was notorious for dacoits). Available on hotstar. I will pitch it in 1 line - It is the sholey, 3 idiots, RRR in its category. Ending is very emotional...all YouTube reactions have people crying in the end. Kudos to the director vidu vinod chopra and Vikram Massey lead actor ... the movie also has a small role of this divyakirti guy whose views I don't like but his role is 1-2 mins... Edited April 28, 2024 by randomGuy Vickydev and Muloghonto 2
Muloghonto Posted April 26, 2024 Posted April 26, 2024 28 minutes ago, randomGuy said: I got to watch it yesterday. I watch movies very rarely, watched this one as people were bugging me to watch it. (I am thankful now) ...it is a movie about a real life story of IPS Manoj Kumar Sharma who hails from Chambal (was notorious for dacoits). Available on hotstar. I will pitch it in 1 line - It is the sholey, 3 idiots, RRR in its category. Ending is very emotional...all YouTube reactions have people crying in the end. Kudos to the director vidu vinod chopra and Vikram Massey leader actor ... the movie also has a small role of this divyakirti guy whose views I don't like but his role is 1-2 mins... best bollywood movie i've ever seen.
Gollum Posted April 27, 2024 Posted April 27, 2024 Avoided it cos I don't like themes glorifying this UPSC/govt exam culture. Anyway our babudom is useless, IAS is archaic, and lakhs of promising youngsters waste their peak years trying to crack this exam, huge national drain IMO. Lord, Vicks57 and randomGuy 1 1 1
coffee_rules Posted April 27, 2024 Posted April 27, 2024 8 minutes ago, Gollum said: Avoided it cos I don't like themes glorifying this UPSC/govt exam culture. Anyway our babudom is useless, IAS is archaic, and lakhs of promising youngsters waste their peak years trying to crack this exam, huge national drain IMO. Yet, is the only way to break the class and zamindari feudal hegemony in rural India. They have to migrate out to cities for jobs or education. Skills based industries are out of fashion and agriculture is dominated by rich landowners and arthiyas.
speed_thrills Posted April 28, 2024 Posted April 28, 2024 Vulgar glorification of babudam. Switched off halfway through the movie. ravishingravi and Lord 2
ravishingravi Posted April 28, 2024 Posted April 28, 2024 As a movie, it was good. The message is not something I 100% agree with. Lord and randomGuy 2
coffee_rules Posted July 24, 2024 Posted July 24, 2024 Sad end to one such IAS aspirant. Chaos and randomGuy 2
Chaos Posted July 24, 2024 Posted July 24, 2024 10 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Sad end to one such IAS aspirant. how did someone get away with that? Crazy!!!
Lord Posted July 24, 2024 Posted July 24, 2024 6 hours ago, Chaos said: how did someone get away with that? Crazy!!! Its India lol
Lord Posted July 24, 2024 Posted July 24, 2024 6 hours ago, Vicks57 said: UPSC is still the best way to do good for people without joining politics. But anytime over 2-3 years in preparation will * up your life. IAS people bootlick ministers only.
New guy Posted July 24, 2024 Posted July 24, 2024 (edited) On 4/28/2024 at 2:37 PM, speed_thrills said: Vulgar glorification of babudam. Switched off halfway through the movie. On 4/27/2024 at 11:53 PM, Gollum said: Avoided it cos I don't like themes glorifying this UPSC/govt exam culture. Anyway our babudom is useless, IAS is archaic, and lakhs of promising youngsters waste their peak years trying to crack this exam, huge national drain IMO. Huh? This is really weird thinking. There are only 3 ways to make any big changes in a country/system 1) Infiltrate and change the system from within and do good within the system, use the power while being a rebel. Thats what the movie portrays, the protagonists stands up within the system while using the plus points of the system itself to make radical changes. 2) Make changes from without while not being part of the system and not having real power. Something way tougher than point 1 and we have very very few successful examples in our history. 3) Break the system itself and bring a revolution and put a new system in place. Something almost impossible its very easy to rant about babudom and IAS but please suggest an alternate. Whether you like it or not, the civil service are the most likely to make concrete effects on India as a country, even more than politicians. unless you have an alternate, crying about the system doesnt help anyone Edited July 24, 2024 by New guy
coffee_rules Posted July 24, 2024 Posted July 24, 2024 1 hour ago, Lord said: IAS people bootlick ministers only. If they don’t, they will be transferred to remote areas as punishment
coffee_rules Posted July 25, 2024 Posted July 25, 2024 2 hours ago, New guy said: Huh? This is really weird thinking. There are only 3 ways to make any big changes in a country/system 1) Infiltrate and change the system from within and do good within the system, use the power while being a rebel. Thats what the movie portrays, the protagonists stands up within the system while using the plus points of the system itself to make radical changes. 2) Make changes from without while not being part of the system and not having real power. Something way tougher than point 1 and we have very very few successful examples in our history. 3) Break the system itself and bring a revolution and put a new system in place. Something almost impossible its very easy to rant about babudom and IAS but please suggest an alternate. Whether you like it or not, the civil service are the most likely to make concrete effects on India as a country, even more than politicians. unless you have an alternate, crying about the system doesnt help anyone But how many work so hard to pass IAS and have such high ideals change the system ? I’d say a very low percentage, esp the ones from rural areas (like the true story the movie is based of) Most would do for money and power. Once they enter , it is a closed club looking after one another. Just follow the Puja Khedkar case. So much is written in the papers and media coverage , there is not one tweet from the IAS officers’ association. If she goes down, she will take a lot of them down.
Gollum Posted July 25, 2024 Posted July 25, 2024 (edited) 10 hours ago, New guy said: Huh? This is really weird thinking. There are only 3 ways to make any big changes in a country/system 1) Infiltrate and change the system from within and do good within the system, use the power while being a rebel. Thats what the movie portrays, the protagonists stands up within the system while using the plus points of the system itself to make radical changes. 2) Make changes from without while not being part of the system and not having real power. Something way tougher than point 1 and we have very very few successful examples in our history. 3) Break the system itself and bring a revolution and put a new system in place. Something almost impossible its very easy to rant about babudom and IAS but please suggest an alternate. Whether you like it or not, the civil service are the most likely to make concrete effects on India as a country, even more than politicians. unless you have an alternate, crying about the system doesnt help anyone Indian bureaucracy is often rated the worst in Asia in many reports. Has been the case for a long time. Even our politicians have accountability, not these babus. Edited July 25, 2024 by Gollum
Lord Posted July 25, 2024 Posted July 25, 2024 15 hours ago, coffee_rules said: If they don’t, they will be transferred to remote areas as punishment Yep they hold no actual power
Muloghonto Posted July 25, 2024 Posted July 25, 2024 8 hours ago, Gollum said: Indian bureaucracy is often rated the worst in Asia in many reports. Has been the case for a long time. Even our politicians have accountability, not these babus. If you pay heed to these western reports, then you are lost. The same reports that rank Afghanistan higher on democracy index than India.
Gollum Posted July 25, 2024 Posted July 25, 2024 (edited) 1 hour ago, Muloghonto said: If you pay heed to these western reports, then you are lost. The same reports that rank Afghanistan higher on democracy index than India. Not all are western reports. Even Modi has called for reforms in UPSC, pushed for lateral entry. We in India have to deal with babudom/police etc. on a frequent basis, leech is the term. Edited July 25, 2024 by Gollum
Muloghonto Posted July 25, 2024 Posted July 25, 2024 3 minutes ago, Gollum said: Not all are western reports. Even Modi has called for reforms in UPSC, pushed for lateral entry. We in India have to deal with babudom/police etc. on a frequent basis, leech is the term. Calling for reform does not equate to the system being rated as one of the worst. Everywhere in the world you have to deal with babudom.