Jay Shah confirms Rohit to lead India in CT25 and WTC

25 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Who is he to announce all this so far ahead? What if Rohit strikes poor form in upcoming tests, at that age decline is sudden and irreversible. What if we get hammered in Aus? Selectors ka koi role hai ki nahin? 

Form is immaterial for senior players especially if they are brands

5 minutes ago, Norman said:

Does this donkey think we get automatic qualification for the WTC final every time like a world cup? :facepalm:

I'm pretty sure we are going to lose 4-0 or 4-1 in Australia this time around and won't reach the final.

Looking at how Aussies played Pak, WI last season, I am optimistic like @Lone Wolf. Will be a close series. They have scheduled their matches for max home advantage: Perth first, then Adelaide D/N, T3 Gabba and last two in MCG, SCG. But we can give them a real scare....Smith, Khawaja are past it, Green's role unclear, new opener to fill for Warner (Smith opening experiment won't last long), Labu/Marsh/Carey can be tackled, Starc/Hazlewood/Lyon quite old/jaded, our youngsters are capable of giving Lyon a phainta...no Rahane/Pujara to get Lyon into the groove. Head and Cummins are the dangermen. 

Rohit

Jaiswal

Gill

Kohli

Pant

Sarfaraz/Jurel

Jadeja

Harshit

Kuldeep

Bumrah

Shami

11 minutes ago, Norman said:

Does this donkey think we get automatic qualification for the WTC final every time like a world cup? :facepalm:

I'm pretty sure we are going to lose 4-0 or 4-1 in Australia this time around and won't reach the final.

We still can reach final..as long as we don't lose 5-0 I think.

We reached 2021 finals after series defeat in SA and NZ.

Yet to lose 1 right now.

BGT 2020-21 gave us a spot in 2021 final and removed Aus from the race.

Eng 2-2 draw gave us 2023 final, albeit only 2nd in the table.

This time we have split points in RSA already, should have whitewashed WI in WI if not for rain. We have done enough to make it to the final, if we continue to be ruthless at home. If we drop a test in this home season, different matter altogether. 

Our home record is so dominant and ruthless that we don't have to do miracles overseas to qualify to WTC finals.

Just now, Gollum said:

Looking at how Aussies played Pak, WI last season, I am optimistic like @Lone Wolf. Will be a close series. They have scheduled their matches for max home advantage: Perth first, then Adelaide D/N, T3 Gabba and last two in MCG, SCG. But we can give them a real scare....Smith, Khawaja are past it, Green's role unclear, new opener to fill for Warner (Smith opening experiment won't last long), Labu/Marsh/Carey can be tackled, Starc/Hazlewood/Lyon quite old/jaded, our youngsters are capable of giving Lyon a phainta...no Rahane/Pujara to get Lyon into the groove. Head and Cummins are the dangermen. 

Rohit

Jaiswal

Gill

Kohli

Pant

Sarfaraz/Jurel

Jadeja

Harshit

Kuldeep

Bumrah

Shami

Won't be walk in the Park for Aussies... They are at the end of a cycle as well and haven't made any progress at future replacements.

Khwaja is done at Top level and India might be his last series. 

Smith is failing as Opener.  Marnus's luck has ran out & is now a stroke less wonder almost.

All hope is on Green Head and Carey who somehow saved them in NZ... Especially Green and Carey.

Indian batting stocks aren't this bad...Gill hopefully has nailed no 3 spot after Eng series and should go from strength to strength in next 5 games.

Aus has zero test scheduled before India series... I remember Aussie forum was crazily worried about this factor.

3 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

We still can reach final..as long as we don't lose 5-0 I think.

We reached 2021 finals after series defeat in SA and NZ.

Yet to lose 1 right now.

Our home dominance is so extreme that we can suffer a few blows in SENA. More breathing space. Eng is vulnerable at home, RSA rarely whitewashes opponents at home, Aus lost its aura last season. 

4 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Aus has zero test scheduled before India series... I remember Aussie forum was crazily worried about this factor.

Important point, we will be in prime test mode before the series. All players should be ready from ball one in Perth because of continuous red ball cricket, let B teams handle the T20Is against Toygers and Saffers. 

NZ series assumes even more importance. Quality opponent but not enough firepower that we have to overexert ourselves physically or mentally. Let batsmen get runs under their belt, let pacers be among the wickets and overs, spinners too....I am sure we will get balanced pitches at home henceforth. 

47 minutes ago, Lord said:

@rkt.india why is Jay Shah announcing it when Roger Binny is BCCI prez :hmmm:

Roger binni ke halat manmohan singh se bhi badtar hai….Sarey star sports anchor shah ki chatney me lagey they in that champions celebration, also why the hell he presented the wt20 trophy, shouldnt it be job of icc head. 

Edited by raki05

Great player, by all accounts a nice guy. But have to say Rohit has been one of the most pampered and well looked after players in Indian cricket history. Even Sachin, Kohli never had it this smooth in their dealings with BCCI. MSD maybe the only competition to Rohit in this regard because of Srini mama.  

Just now, Frustrated said:

@Chaos Lot of ICFers are questioning Jay Shah's statement and his credibility on this topic since he is the BCCI secretary and not the BCCI president.   For someone like you who has been closely associated with Chotu Shah, I hand over the stage to you.  Please throw some light on this subject.   Let everyone get enlightened on this.:cheer:

told u man…chotu bhai very busy. Ill release official statement when he is sober to talk. 

2 minutes ago, Frustrated said:

@Chaos Lot of ICFers are questioning Jay Shah's statement and his credibility on this topic since he is the BCCI secretary and not the BCCI president.   For someone like you who has been closely associated with Chotu Shah, I hand over the stage to you.  Please throw some light on this subject.   Let everyone get enlightened on this.:cheer:

Regarding rohit leading as our captain in wtc and CT25 is 1000% true and he promised everyone ct25 is ours. And will be ours!