New guy Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 2 minutes ago, bharathh said: Why the hate for Prannoy? He was awesome to help us win the Asian Games and Thomas Cup medals. I think Lakshya is more clutch and more in form, Prannoy blows hot and cold, one day he would be great but next really bad.
deathmonger Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 Just now, putrevus said: Shooting all done?Any more categories left? 25m mens womens
putrevus Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 Just now, deathmonger said: 25m mens womens Do we have any medal hopefuls.
Chakdephatte Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 21 minutes ago, deepdynamo said: Sift Kaur Samra- world record holder and World No.1. Her position after her event - 31st out of 32....Is this how world champion perform?? These two achievements are bigger. Global events can produce random results.
Gollum Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 4 minutes ago, bharathh said: Why the hate for Prannoy? He was awesome to help us win the Asian Games and Thomas Cup medals. No hate man. Just think Lakshya has a better chance of getting a medal. For the greater good.... Sandz and coffee_rules 1 1
deathmonger Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 19 minutes ago, Sgattick10 said: Also we need to dial down on bronze medal celebration it's a bit embarrassing. Media and SM celebrating like we won gold. I mean in non traditional ones it's fine but badminton, archery, shooting we have been competing since 30+ yrs so no big deal. archery - never have medaled badminton - only medaling from 2012 shooting - ducks in 16/20 Chakdephatte and Sgattick10 2
deathmonger Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 8 minutes ago, putrevus said: Most Indian athletes are happy with any medal.That is where I think they are not able to raise their levels. They are not wanting to be the best. man again this argument "raise levels", "wanting to be best" all depend on wealth of a country where are indians "best" at any field?
New guy Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 Lakshya seems to be taking it very easy and still thrashing Pronnoy
deathmonger Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 1 minute ago, putrevus said: Do we have any medal hopefuls. womens manu esha mens anish (long shot like babuta/swapnil)
coffee_rules Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 10 minutes ago, rkt.india said: True. Bronze pe kya jash manana. At least silver pe to banta hai. 6 minutes ago, putrevus said: Most Indian athletes are happy with any medal.That is where I think they are not able to raise their levels. They are not wanting to be the best. Beggars can’t be choosers. Aim here is to reach at least double digits , our best is Tokyo - 7 medals!! Before tat Rio debacle, we had 6 medals in London. We have to at least cross 7 this time. Half way there. Yes, I will celebrate any medal!
deathmonger Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 i still think we'll get 1 from nishant/lovlina 1 from vinesh/antim/anshu/aman 1 from lakshya/sindhu/hockey 1 from shooting 1 from javelin also dont sleep on mirabai. if she is back to full fitness can easily win as the second chinese and north korean are again missing.
Number Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 5 minutes ago, New guy said: As everything its about PR and social media for them than real improvement. I would say so much political and business involvement with politicians throwing crores at them actually puts extra pressure on our athletes. Money for training and coaching is necessary and is a good step. Never liked these politicians throwing crores of rupees as a prize money. New guy 1
Gollum Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 3 minutes ago, New guy said: Lakshya seems to be taking it very easy and still thrashing Pronnoy Just 22, he has high ceiling. New guy 1
bharathh Posted August 1, 2024 Author Posted August 1, 2024 1 minute ago, deathmonger said: i still think we'll get 1 from nishant/lovlina 1 from vinesh/antim/anshu/aman 1 from lakshya/sindhu/hockey 1 from shooting 1 from javelin also dont sleep on mirabai. if she is back to full fitness can easily win as the second chinese and north korean are again missing. Unfortunately no chance for Mirabai. She's suffered a lot of injuries since Tokyo and is nowhere close to even lifting what she could there.
Gollum Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 5 minutes ago, deathmonger said: where are indians "best" at any field? We soon will become at chess
New guy Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 2 minutes ago, Number said: Money for training and coaching is necessary and is a good step. Never liked these politicians throwing crores of rupees as a prize money. Yes, I was talking about prize money. Its like out coaching centers and schools, they dont care about any student except fees, but if someone tops everyone takes credit and shows their photos. After someone wins everyone takes credit and throws prize money at them. Number, rollingstoned and Gollum 3
New guy Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 2 minutes ago, Gollum said: Just 22, he has high ceiling. Also seems to be one of the few Indians who can really handle pressure and put it back on the opponent even when trailing or at crucial moments. Gollum 1
New guy Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 Pronnoy looks so tired just because he played a late game yesterday, we need better fitness.
putrevus Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 2 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Beggars can’t be choosers. Aim here is to reach at least double digits , our best is Tokyo - 7 medals!! Before tat Rio debacle, we had 6 medals in London. We have to at least cross 7 this time. Half way there. Yes, I will celebrate any medal! We will also celebrate any medal.I was talking about mindset.Most of them seemed happy than being sad. Compared to athletes from say USA.That mindset of wanting to be the best is the next step they need to take.Once that happens gold medal will follow. Sgattick10 1
MediumPacer Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 5 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Beggars can’t be choosers. Aim here is to reach at least double digits , our best is Tokyo - 7 medals!! Before tat Rio debacle, we had 6 medals in London. We have to at least cross 7 this time. Half way there. Yes, I will celebrate any medal! All these uncles acting as if winning is that easy,havent won anything even at their school or college . Real McCoy and New guy 2