Paris Olympics 2024 Discussion Thread

She has her personal coach, nutritionist and her family with her there to support her. 

Saina Nehwal said very bluntly that Vinesh has only herself to blame, that's not her first tournament. 

Tough disagree with her on this.

7 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

A professional training unit would not have allowed this to happen. When you are in weight category first thing you should worry about is "weight". Y

No  one can control it to the last gram. Its just rotten luck.

Also how does this disqualify her semis win? She was right weight before semis

More i read about this more i understand this. Anyone who is indulged in weight loss can understand this better.  Sometimes you feel like you achieved your target and be happy only to see you gain 3 pounds without doing much. It has to be a progressive  effort to stay at targeted weight even with eating. Seems like by nature she is a 57 kgs woman who lost weight to compete in this category. Losing 7 kgs  and maintaining require insane amount of discipline. 

4 minutes ago, MechEng said:

Human body is not a machine which would follow rules to the T, irrespective of how professional the trainers are.

Everyone has different metabolism/hormones and weight naturally fluctuates throughout the day.

Yes.. That is applicable for normal people. But for sports people shouldn't it be the biggest focus. Trying to understand how often it happens.  Others did not have this issue. SO they are doing somethign right.

1 minute ago, vvvslaxman said:

Yes.. That is applicable for normal people. But for sports people shouldn't it be the biggest focus. Trying to understand how often it happens.  Others did not have this issue. SO they are doing somethign right.

Genes. Desi genes are toughest to maintain lean muscle mass with minimum body fat.

Again, 100 grams disqualification is only a sadist nerd's wet dream.

1 minute ago, MechEng said:

Genes. Desi genes are toughest to maintain lean muscle mass with minimum body fat.

Thers is an allowance of 2kg already. This is 100 g more than that. You need to have a cut off somewhere. 

9 minutes ago, Number said:

She has her personal coach, nutritionist and her family with her there to support her. 

Saina Nehwal said very bluntly that Vinesh has only herself to blame, that's not her first tournament. 

And this is not the first time she has been disqualified. 

9 minutes ago, Number said:

Also Saina says "She is an experienced athlete. She knows what is right or wrong. I don't know the details of wrestling. I don't know if there has been any appeal in Olympics which resulted in something significant. She knows the rule. I don't know what mistake she did, that too on the final day. I have always seen her working very hard. She gives her 100%," 

Abbey jab nahin malum toh kyun gyan pel rahe ho Saina ji?

3 minutes ago, MechEng said:

But they took out some blood. too much dehydration. I think there are some techinques boxers use to lose weight quickly.  Fact of the matter is no one else is disqualified. Not blaming her. Blaming the training guys

1 minute ago, vvvslaxman said:

But they took out some blood. too much dehydration. I think there are some techinques boxers use to lose weight quickly.  Fact of the matter is no one else is disqualified. Not blaming her. Blaming the training guys

She has personal staff, not the one from SAI/GoI/WFI etc to blame outsiders.

35 minutes ago, MechEng said:

This chewtiyapa is the reason why I dont take Olympics too seriously.

100 gm heavy hone se she becomes a hulk or what? 

I can bet my bottom dollar that if she were a US or Chinese wrestler, the small matter of 100 gms would've gone away, and they would've said the clothing she;s wearing weighs more than 100 gms so it's all good.

1 minute ago, coffee_rules said:

She has personal staff, not the one from SAI/GoI/WFI etc to blame outsiders.

It is a bummer to lose out on technicality even if it is only by 1  gram.  THis has to be the most epic **** up  all said and done. 

10 minutes ago, South_Paw said:

Thers is an allowance of 2kg already. This is 100 g more than that. You need to have a cut off somewhere. 

Where do you see the 2kg allowance?

3 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

It is a bummer to lose out on technicality even if it is only by 1  gram.  THis has to be the most epic **** up  all said and done. 

Sums up this Olympics for us... poori qaynat ne milke saazish ki hai with an assist from refs & officials :((

Edited by Ultimate_Game

100 grams does sound like a harsh joke though. Still can’t believe. This is worse than losing a dumb cricket match for 1 run. These athletes prepare with so much dedication and work ethic even the ones who don’t win a medal and it’s taken away for 100gms is a big tragedy. Can’t blame anyone though it’s pure bad luck,

15 minutes ago, MechEng said:

Typical "thoda sa adjust" "itna to chalta hai" attitude. This is not how it works. 

Did anyone see any "official" communication from the Olympics Committee that disqualified her? I only see comments from the Indian administration at the Olympics saying that she was 100 grams over. Surely, if they had a proper weighing machine, which they should have, they must have known that she was overweight by 100 gms before the weigh-in. Cutting more hair, potentially drawing some more blood could have got her there. In the match, she could have just conceded after starting a little and settled for silver. I suspect it wasn't really 100 grams, likely more.