Paris Olympics 2024 Discussion Thread

Think India will bounce back in LA. Maybe complacency set in after Tokyo. 

Even though it doesn't mean much, finishing behind Pak in medals tally will give a kick up the backside of IOA. '

Even Neeraj may start throwing 90+ in the future. He needed not just any rival, but a Pakistani one. Maximus Neeraj will soon be unleashed and he'll go for gold in LA. 

India to get double digit medals in LA, close to 15, with 4 golds. Mark this post down. Many of our feds are going to get their act together, especially with rumours of 2036 bid floating. 

Early prediction from me @randomGuy

1 minute ago, Lord said:

What's the point of consistency if it doesnt reach the best? Arshad hit 90m twice so he is consistent too. 

In this sport just 1 great throw is enough to win even if others are not so good.

but neeraj literally won 2020 olympics and 2023 world championships where arshad was also participating.

1 minute ago, Lord said:

What's the point of consistency if it doesnt reach the best? Arshad hit 90m twice so he is consistent too. 

In this sport just 1 great throw is enough to win even if others are not so good.

What do you want to say? 

18 minutes ago, MechEng said:

I got access to that Paraguayan swimmer's insta too.

The tharki in me is at peace :laugh:

Sharing is caring :agree:

1 minute ago, Sgattick10 said:

Neeraj's mom said he wasn't fully fit, had groin injury :((

He has had groin problems for last 6 months but avoided surgery due to risk of missing Olympics. He will have it now.

One year before Tokyo he had a shoulder surgery, but recovered in time. 

1 minute ago, Singh bling said:

Abhi tak Pakistan ki chinta satati thhi ab Vietnam ki satane lagi hai . Koyi nahi agle Olympic mein india se aage honge

Vietnam's GDP per capita is 2.5 times of Ind.  Won't be surprised if they start pulling off more medals.  But Failed/bankrupt states like Pak & North Korea getting higher ranking does hurt a lot.   (In hindsight we can say lot of things like Vinesh Pogbhat & others.  Lekin ab bolke kya faida)

Multiple Olympic medalists in men's javelin

Rank Athlete Nation Olympics Gold Silver Bronze Total
1 Jan Železný 22px-Flag_of_the_Czech_Republic.svg.png Czechoslovakia (TCH)
22px-Flag_of_the_Czech_Republic.svg.png Czech Republic (CZE)
1988–2000 3 1 0 4
2 Eric Lemming 22px-Flag_of_Sweden.svg.png Sweden (SWE) 1908–1912 2 0 0 2
Jonni Myyrä 22px-Flag_of_Finland.svg.png Finland (FIN) 1920–1924 2 0 0 2
Andreas Thorkildsen 22px-Flag_of_Norway.svg.png Norway (NOR) 2004–2008 2 0 0 2
5 Jānis Lūsis 22px-Flag_of_the_Soviet_Union.svg.png Soviet Union (URS) 1964–1972 1 1 1 3
6 Neeraj Chopra 22px-Flag_of_India.svg.png India (IND) 2020–2024 1 1 0 2
7 Viktor Tsybulenko 22px-Flag_of_the_Soviet_Union.svg.png Soviet Union (URS) 1956–1960 1 0 1 2
Keshorn Walcott 22px-Flag_of_Trinidad_and_Tobago.svg.png Trinidad and Tobago (TTO) 2012–2016 1 0 1 2
9 Steve Backley 22px-Flag_of_the_United_Kingdom.svg.png Great Britain (GBR) 1992–2000 0 2 1 3
10 Gergely Kulcsar 22px-Flag_of_Hungary.svg.png Hungary (HUN) 1960–1968 0 1 2 3
Seppo Räty 22px-Flag_of_Finland.svg.png Finland (FIN) 1988–1996 0 1 2 3
12 Sergey Makarov 22px-Flag_of_Russia.svg.png Russia (RUS) 2000–2004 0 0 2 2
13 Vítězslav Veselý 22px-Flag_of_the_Czech_Republic.svg.png Czech Republic (CZE) 2012–2020 0 0 2 2
Just now, Gollum said:

Think India will bounce back in LA. Maybe complacency set in after Tokyo. 

Even though it doesn't mean much, finishing behind Pak in medals tally will give a kick up the backside of IOA. '

Even Neeraj may start throwing 90+ in the future. He needed not just any rival, but a Pakistani one. Maximus Neeraj will soon be unleashed and he'll go for gold in LA. 

India to get double digit medals in LA, close to 15, with 4 golds. Mark this post down. Many of our feds are going to get their act together, especially with rumours of 2036 bid floating. 

Early prediction from me @randomGuy

yes pak's performance is completely unsustainable.

they had 7 athletes, 3 who were universality places.

so 4 qualified, 1 made finals and won gold.

even usa and china does not have that hit rate.

let them enjoy. at least now they know what an olympics is. will be better as they get hurt in subsequent ones when their tally again goes down to 0. like they barely medal in asian games or cwg lol.

India is almost there.

After 2036, Ind and Pak will be dehyphenated in cricket too like elsewhere (hockey etc).

Just now, Gollum said:

What do you want to say? 

That knowing 90m has been breached already, he should have prepared accordingly and not limit himself in name of consistency. One 90m beats five 89m here.

1 minute ago, Frustrated said:

Vietnam's GDP per capita is 2.5 times of Ind.  Won't be surprised if they start pulling off more medals.  But Failed/bankrupt states like Pak & North Korea getting higher ranking does hurt a lot.   (In hindsight we can say lot of things like Vinesh Pogbhat & others.  Lekin ab bolke kya faida)

north korea has a system. not an issue.

Pak's was lightning in a bottle like Sri Lanka in 2000. Not happening again.

2 minutes ago, Frustrated said:

Dude sports is about individual brilliance. Heath Streak from Zimbabwe was better than 98% of Indian fast bowlers at that time or probably as good as most we have now.

training with Desi style worked out for Nadeem who seems to be a freak. North Korea etc I can only imagine how their athletes prepare.

India has a sports structure now and with our population and right talent we will start winning more. In the 90s I was happy with 1 bronze lol. Now we are upset our player got silver 

Edited by maniac
Just now, Lord said:

That knowing 90m has been breached already, he should have prepared accordingly and not limit himself in name of consistency. One 90m beats five 89m here.

Why do you think he is limiting himself? Do you think he doesn't work hard? Or intentionally does below 90?

He may not even have peaked for all we know. Right now maybe 89 is his peak. 

Just now, Gollum said:

Why do you think he is limiting himself? Do you think he doesn't work hard? Or intentionally does below 90?

:yess:

3 minutes ago, Lord said:

:dance:

1 minute ago, maniac said:

Dude sports is about individual brilliance. Heath Streak from Zimbabwe was better than 98% of Indian fast bowlers at that time or probably as good as most we have now.

training with Desi style worked out for Nadeem who seems to be a freak. North Korea etc I can only imagine how their athletes prepare.

India has a sports structure now and with our population and right talent we will start winning more. In the 90s I was happy with 1 bronze lol. Now we are upset our player got silver 

:aha:

3 minutes ago, Lord said:

How do you know that he didn't? He's 26, this is his peak. He wouldn't intentionally hold back now 

Just now, Gollum said:

huh, clearly said its preparing and focus on consistency than peaks. Intention kaha se aa gayi?

I really hope he does better next time. Is one of our few hopes

Just now, Vicks57 said:

You Outta ER?

effin stuck in new orleans suite with a same sick girl plus a dog! All i hear is complaining aboutt HER life lol