What we learned from the SL ODI series

5 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Who is that batsman who can play spin??

The ones who can use sweep and rotate strike when it is spinning. SKY does it well and young guys like Sarfaraz, Jurel showed good signs in Tests. Are you saying no one can play spin in India?

39 minutes ago, Lord said:

I think we can play 1-2 spin allrounder and rest pacer/pace AR. Kuldeep shouldnt be considered.

Parag if he develops well can be great option alongwith Axar. For spinners batting ability is as much important

For pacers we need to zero in on guys who can hit the deck,generate bounce and hurry the batsmen. Don't see Shami playing then, so our options to try are Harshit/AkashDeep/Mayank/Siraj alongwith Reddy/Venky as pace AR (only if they actually bowl).

Axar with Parag (or Sundar)  seem the way  to  go. Kuldeep as a specialist spinner doesn't deserve a spot in white-ball formats. We're getting similar performances from Axar, Parag and Sundar with added benefits of better batting and fielding. Also, someone like Rinku lower down the order who doesn't panic and keep the batting together.

I would remove Siraj from that shortlist. Nattu would be a better option. Hopefully, Nitish Reddy or Venky Iyer can be decent all-rounders so we remove dependency on Pandya and don't play spin all-rounders when the pitch assists seamers.

1)   We learnt again that Team India won't try new players unless they are forced to.

Harshit did not get a single game and Parag played just one game despite pitches favouring spin. 

2)  Our batsmen need to play some matches in domestic cricket and hone their skills against spin. 

3)  Arshdeep and Siraj are not looking good in ODIs. 

4)  Lack of Bumrah and Shami reduces the potency of our bowling significantly ... but we don't want to find able backups either. 

Edited by express bowling

Good points but Kuldeep is still the best spinner in India ,Both Axar and washy ain't fit to tie his shoelaces.

Most of the teams try to play off Kuldeep just like they do against Bumrah hence you'll find their ER is Excellent in this day and age .

You need bowlers like Bumrah and kuldeep who can turn the match around because of their X factor ,no other bowler can do that in our team except Shami Maybe.

We would have lost to Australia ,heck even Bangladesh would have finished close to our total In the Wt20 if not for Kuldeep s spell

6 hours ago, putrevus said:

That is nonsense,

We can play spin just fine, one bad series does not mean Indian cannot play spin.

India got all out for 54 when Sanath Scored 189. Did it mean Sachin and could not play both spin and fast bowling.

Why are people overreacting for couple of losses.  SL played well and won, no need to dissect it  more .They are allowed to win sometimes.

The problem is the coach, why did he not play Harshit even in one match, other than that there is nothing wrong in losing the series.

It's not about one match, we consistently failed in same pattern in all 3 games.

Once Rohit got out, its all over.

Reminded me a lot of Mendis series, once Sehwag is out, rest all folded to pieces. 

Playing spin has been our achilles heel from sometime. Not very long ago Santner did the same to our batters in our own backyard. 

6 hours ago, Lord said:

The ones who can use sweep and rotate strike when it is spinning. SKY does it well and young guys like Sarfaraz, Jurel showed good signs in Tests. Are you saying no one can play spin in India?

Even Abhishek plays spin well.

8 hours ago, putrevus said:

Who is that batsman who can play spin??

Jaiswal, Jurel, Rinku.

On the pitches spitting cobra, you need players who can read the ball from hand and not off the pitch.

They don't need to be the world beater, they just need to be better than the opposition. Stepping out or going back consistently on such pitches is going to be an issue.

I learned the below a long time ago: 

* Don’t over hype Team India 

* Don’t look for superficial reasons like tosses lost for losses (Dil koh behela ne ke liya khayal accha hai)

* Appreciate other teams’ good performances as well 

* Don’t over rate Indian players based on performances in India (and many times on doctored pitches) 

* Give youngsters a breathing space 

Enjoy cricket, forget the game once it is over, and follow IPL, where the fun is :aha: 

That T20 win has gone to their heads. 

This team is on its decline and has got issues in multiple areas.

I cant fathom the lack of awareness in these clowns. Not long back, Gambhir made a statement that he’s inheriting a top world class team where he doesn’t have to change anything or something on those lines, 

What kind of delusional idiots are these??

The fast bowling attack is literally worse than Afghanistan. Both in terms of pace or other skills. Bumrah is the only one worth mentioning. Why is everyone talking of Shami btw? The guy hasn’t played for 10 months. He's on his last legs. I mean how incredibly dumb are these guys to not try out new guys yet in a low profile series. 

Unless u infuse new guys like Mayank, Harshit while Bumrah is still around, this decline is only gonna keep accelerating. And FFS please get rid of Arshdeep, Siraj and don’t bring back Avesh, Mukesh Khaleel again. Same with the batting order. Get rid of Dube for starters. Try out Rinku and see how he fares. What good is Iyer for? Can’t play spin nor pace? Kohli and KL are declining and  at the very least shouldn’t not be included on spin friendly tracks. 

Undoubtedly we needed to field a few more youngsters in this tournament. What GandoG did was more of the same formula 44 senior special wine in a new bottle.

Younger players often struggle to break into teams as established veterans form tight-knit cliques, making it difficult for newcomers to integrate. These groups dominate team dynamics and decision-making, leaving little room for fresh talent to shine. Even when big-name players falter, they are rarely rested quickly, as there's a reluctance to risk a newcomer seizing the opportunity and making an undeniable impact. Effectively slamming the door shut on the face of the under or non performing veteran.

This hesitation can lead to stagnation within the team, as underperforming stars continue to play while rising talent is left on the bench, potentially shutting the door on the future of the team.

15 hours ago, Lord said:

I am not saying that , the players who were playing in this series can play spin well. 

they just did not do it well enough in this series. It happens to everyone, there is no need for overreaction.

Edited by putrevus

Aakash Chopra slams Gautam Gambhir's team selection for dropping KL Rahul for 3rd ODI

"KL Rahul just plays two matches. It's very interesting that we have played three different players in all the three matches in this series - Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, and Rishabh Pant. No. 4 was our revolving door. We were making changes again and again. Why were we doing it? If KL Rahul is playing, then why were we pushing him down to No. 7. Why were we not fighting from the front?

"KL Rahul played in the first two games and then he was dropped. It's very interesting. You want to know which direction are you exactly going. You want to know what's your plan. Is KL Rahul in your plans or not?" Chopra argued. "If you see his numbers from 2023 onwards among the players who have batted at No. 4, 5, and 6 in world cricket, nobody has scored more runs than him. But he gets dropped after just two matches," he added.

:pop2:

Edited by The Realist
6 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Jaiswal, Jurel, Rinku.

On the pitches spitting cobra, you need players who can read the ball from hand and not off the pitch.

They don't need to be the world beater, they just need to be better than the opposition. Stepping out or going back consistently on such pitches is going to be an issue.

I disagree, we need to stop making players who are not selected into Bradmans.

I will take Pant  over Jurel everyday in the week and twice on Sundays.

Jaiswal needs to be found a place  but that has got nothing to do with his ability to play spin.

players in series also play spin well . There is no need to do anything, other than Harshit not getting a game nothing wrong happened here.

9 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

It's not about one match, we consistently failed in same pattern in all 3 games.

Once Rohit got out, its all over.

Reminded me a lot of Mendis series, once Sehwag is out, rest all folded to pieces. 

Playing spin has been our achilles heel from sometime. Not very long ago Santner did the same to our batters in our own backyard. 

You said it reminded about Mendis series, did they change the team. They learnt to play Mendis.

Afridi routed them in Banglore test in 2005, Shane Udal them year later in Mumbai. 

Rohit starts with new ball so it buy him time plus he is one the best players of the spin in India.

Iyer and Rahul for all their faults are very decent players of spin.Pant is very attacking player against spin.

Only guy who had issues with spin recently is Kohli.

There are only few occasions when Akash Chopra could see the Mcgrath's bowl and also can do right analysis. SL series he did right analysis of how we lost. Basically, his analysis was that on flat pitches our spinner perform better and batsman outrunes opposition. But on spin friendly wicket, our spinner can't utilize the turn fromthe pitch and batsman can't play proper shots. Both department is performing lower than opposition. 

This is hindsight but actually it is true. how come Parag riyan can turn bowl more than Sunder + Axar + kuldeep combined? WHy our batsman are going for attacking shot when you can play other shots. 

53 minutes ago, The Realist said:

Aakash Chopra slams Gautam Gambhir's team selection for dropping KL Rahul for 3rd ODI

"KL Rahul just plays two matches. It's very interesting that we have played three different players in all the three matches in this series - Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, and Rishabh Pant. No. 4 was our revolving door. We were making changes again and again. Why were we doing it? If KL Rahul is playing, then why were we pushing him down to No. 7. Why were we not fighting from the front?

"KL Rahul played in the first two games and then he was dropped. It's very interesting. You want to know which direction are you exactly going. You want to know what's your plan. Is KL Rahul in your plans or not?" Chopra argued. "If you see his numbers from 2023 onwards among the players who have batted at No. 4, 5, and 6 in world cricket, nobody has scored more runs than him. But he gets dropped after just two matches," he added.

:pop2:

I dotn like KL. However, KL made bunch of runs at that place. HIs problem is not runs, his problem is his attitude and he is slow. WC 23 Final against Aus , he could have done better and it is stuck to peoples mind. KL needs to have red bulls before every inns. 

24 minutes ago, Nash said:

I dotn like KL. However, KL made bunch of runs at that place. HIs problem is not runs, his problem is his attitude and he is slow. WC 23 Final against Aus , he could have done better and it is stuck to peoples mind. KL needs to have red bulls before every inns. 

There cannot be two QBs in a NFL team similarly there cannot be two Wks in the team.

Gambhir  plus selectors needed to make this clear to KL Rahul , you came into the team as a replacement for injured  Pant .

Pant is back, we will call you back if we need you. Give Pant free reign to express himself and if he does not work out then think about calling KL back.

KL is not young guy who will feel shattered, he had his chances  in all formats.