Bigg Brother Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 5 hours ago, Texan said: I am a little surprised by how much euphoria was generated by one IPL trophy. Yes, it was the first ever for Bangalore, but this tournament happens every year. It's not like a World Cup. For me personally, I would feel more happiness when the state team I support wins the Ranji Trophy rather than the IPL team that I support winning the IPL. With the Ranji win, you know that it is your local players who won the Trophy, not just a random bunch of players from around the globe who were bought and never lived there or spoke the same language or even give two hoots for the city they represent. Of course, no state level achievements come anywhere close to the elation experienced when India wins. Even then such victory parades are unwarranted. So much hoopla over an IPL Trophy is so disgusting. My two cents anyway. Absolutely. Literally can't understand the hype despite I have been watching since 1st edition. It is a domestic trophy anyway.
rollingstoned Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 13 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: Tragic. Why is there a stampede when the match happened at Ahmedabad. What are people doing there? Yep this was my first reaction and I thought this might have happened after the match near the venue. Apparently some concrete slab placed over a drain near the ground collapsed under the weight of people and this caused a panic.
rollingstoned Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 36 minutes ago, Bigg Brother said: Absolutely. Literally can't understand the hype despite I have been watching since 1st edition. It is a domestic trophy anyway. Blame the rcb never winning ipl meme for this. I don't think it is likely that especially MI, Kkr and csk winning - no one would even care - or even any other franchise would have had this much crowd to see the trophy and kuly give a speech.
kepler37b Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 For a change, we see a well known politician repenting and apologizing. I am tending to like DK Shivakumar. https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/karnataka-deputy-chief-minister-dk-shivakumar-apologies-for-bengaluru-stampede-8590511 Lord 1
bowl_out Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 There were memes saying PBKS should win and save Humanity, to which RCB posted this on their official handle. Oh, the irony. 11 human lives would have been saved had PBKS won coffee_rules 1
Nonbeliever Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 Crazy how people first waste 2 months on this scripted event. Shameful that young generation is totally trapped in fantasy leagues and betting apps. And now it has come to this that people are loosing their live on victory parade. coffee_rules, Bigg Brother and Stan AF 1 2
Sandz Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 9 hours ago, Texan said: I am a little surprised by how much euphoria was generated by one IPL trophy. Yes, it was the first ever for Bangalore, but this tournament happens every year. It's not like a World Cup. For me personally, I would feel more happiness when the state team I support wins the Ranji Trophy rather than the IPL team that I support winning the IPL. With the Ranji win, you know that it is your local players who won the Trophy, not just a random bunch of players from around the globe who were bought and never lived there or spoke the same language or even give two hoots for the city they represent. Of course, no state level achievements come anywhere close to the elation experienced when India wins. Even then such victory parades are unwarranted. So much hoopla over an IPL Trophy is so disgusting. My two cents anyway. I don’t get this parade business either, they are celebrating like they won the FIFA World Cup.
Sandz Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 The pain that parents who lost their child must be going through is unfathomable. And this happened during a weekday! This shows how many unemployed/idle youth are there in India, it’s sad and pathetic at the same time. Stan AF and BacktoCricaddict 1 1
Nikhil_cric Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 13 hours ago, Lone Wolf said: Deputy CM saying people even broke the Chinnaswamy gates... Feel for poor kids.. but blatant jaahilpana and lack of civic sense means its on Crowd only. Mumbai Crowd was bigger and more passionate post WT20 win yet they showed some semblance of civic sense and discipline. That was a planned parade .
BacktoCricaddict Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 11 hours ago, Texan said: For me personally, I would feel more happiness when the state team I support wins the Ranji Trophy rather than the IPL team that I support winning the IPL. With the Ranji win, you know that it is your local players who won the Trophy, not just a random bunch of players from around the globe who were bought and never lived there or spoke the same language or even give two hoots for the city they represent. My main interest in the IPL is the performance of upcoming/fringe Indian players. I become very annoying to others while watching with them because one moment I will be celebrating a guy from one team and the next moment a guy from the opposition. And people don't understand why I can't just pick a damn team and stick with it. That said, I must say I felt some joy in RCB's win due to Patidar being the captain and players like Krunal Pandya, Suyash Sharma etc. doing well. But that joy was short-lived ... Texan 1
rollingstoned Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 Rcb has announced 10 lac for family of each deceased person.
Chaos Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 Dumb idiots. U won a wc for india?. A rally for a failed state for 17 yrs and doing rallys for ipl win? . 10 lakhs is nothing effin moronns
coffee_rules Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 15 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: 2024 wT20 parade at Mumbai was 10 times bigger. I think it was organized better with the help of cops. If they were going to organize such a parade they should do it with the help of local cops. That happened a few days later. You saw the scenes the night they won. The very next day, they flew the team on a hurry or euphoria. Police were not prepared and organizers had no clue how many people would turn up. Such events need a bit of planning with a cool head. I have been to the stadium. In the 2017 Aus Test, I went on a weekday and the crowd to enter the stadium was so overwheleming as the gates are very narrow and immense security. I was pushed around, and entered the stadum after an hour or so. Imagine if a few lakhs turned up and entering the stadium would be a nightmare task. Foolish RCB mgmt, Karnataka politicians and general public. Still no statement from Kohli on the deaths caused by his PR exercise vvvslaxman 1
coffee_rules Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 11 hours ago, Bigg Brother said: Virat Kohli would have left for London by then.. He is a damned curse to RCB, and Bengaluru - win or lun
coffee_rules Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 2 hours ago, rollingstoned said: Rcb has announced 10 lac for family of each deceased person. No, it was the state govt. Did they add to what the state is giving? They should be sued for crores. If this was US, RCB would have faced lawsuits in millions.
rollingstoned Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 4 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Still no statement from Kohli on the deaths caused by his PR exercise Ultimate_Game and coffee_rules 1 1
rollingstoned Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 1 minute ago, coffee_rules said: No, it was the state govt. Did they add to what the state is giving? They should be sued for crores. If this was US, RCB would have faced lawsuits in millions. News headline said rcb. State govt will also offer something.
coffee_rules Posted June 5, 2025 Posted June 5, 2025 1 minute ago, rollingstoned said: Little too late. He should have done it a day earlier. Also, the hurry to organuze it was because of him and his plans to go to London . bsdk.. nikal pehle BC.. I am so friggin mad.