Elections in KL, Tn, Assam And WB, Q1/Q2 2026

1 hour ago, G_B_ said:

Naidu betrayed him though lol

lol naidu is u turn lol. He changed his stance and alliances so many times. He betrayed people too.

VS Babu who was a former DMK key member had strong established network. It helped him beat Stalin. Curious to find out how many jumpied from other parties to TVK. About 62 people jumped from other parties to TVK. So they already had ground network. 

Reports indicate that 9 former DMK members are included in the candidate list for Vijay's Thamizhaga Vetri Kazhagam (TVK) for the 2026 Tamil Nadu Assembly elections. The list is heavily dominated by defectors, featuring 32 former AIADMK members, 9 from the DMK, and 21 from other parties. [1]
5 hours ago, Gollum said:

BJP fans are so fun to rile up :phehe:, they do ease my bordeom every once in a while. 

Kerala 3 seats, and end of Left rule in India (1st time those fossils aren't in power anywhere)

In Kerala, I am reading 44.x% of births were Muslims from 2019 till 2023.

So, abhi find kuchh bhi random reason eg. Kerala Story 2 Naming debacle for not voting BJP, future for BJP isn't very bright (in very long term) in the 'educated' state.

4 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

Vijay is here to stay for next 20 years in TN if he really does something good or not ruin whatever is alrady there. I don't think he is smart enough to even accidentally ruin the progress of TN.  TN system is very robust. Lot of things run on auto-pilot mode anyway. 

I am not an expert and don't follow TN politics closely anymore. But give me one day, I can start making 20 year predictions. 

2 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

VS Babu who was a former DMK key member had strong established network. It helped him beat Stalin. Curious to find out how many jumpied from other parties to TVK. About 62 people jumped from other parties to TVK. So they already had ground network. 

Reports indicate that 9 former DMK members are included in the candidate list for Vijay's Thamizhaga Vetri Kazhagam (TVK) for the 2026 Tamil Nadu Assembly elections. The list is heavily dominated by defectors, featuring 32 former AIADMK members, 9 from the DMK, and 21 from other parties. [1]

Wasn’t he kicked out of DMK because Stalin got low margin of votes ? 

I was looking at tamilnadu Reddit. Are people on Reddit really dumb ? They mention Tamil Nadu has systems in place and govt doesn’t matter. Systems are run by govt. 

2 minutes ago, gattaca said:

I was looking at tamilnadu Reddit. Are people on Reddit really dumb ? They mention Tamil Nadu has systems in place and govt doesn’t matter. Systems are run by govt. 

India imports gold which puts pressure on exchange rates and on forex reserves. And this new TN leader wants to give 8 gms gold on every wedding?

7 hours ago, Gollum said:

Bhai, Rekha Gupta mein aap logon ko kya hi improvement dikh raha hai? 

Road to banwa rahi hai mere area main pichchle 10 saal se koi bnda jhaankne tak nhi aay tha itne kharab road thay humare yaha 6 mahine main bnwa diya fir yaha bridge pe bhi kaam ho raha hai 

9 minutes ago, gattaca said:

That's their way of living a lie/self deception...dil ko sukhun milega 

1 hour ago, ravishingravi said:

I am not an expert and don't follow TN politics closely anymore. But give me one day, I can start making 20 year predictions. 

I said that beacuse of the surprise result. I take it back. I am not the only one who is surprised. Literally eveyrone who talks about TN politics every day are also shocked. Rangaraj pandey apparently told if Vijay wins more than 10 seats he will stop talking about Politics. So i am not alone. 

About prediction without leadership DMK will go nowhere. Same with ADMK. This is conditional. If he has a good 5 year term (assuming he becomes the CM) he has potential to be ruling TN for a while. May be he might lose odd election. He is not going anywhere.

50 minutes ago, gattaca said:

I am yet to see a tamil that criticizes his state when with non-tamils. They have a high degree of linguistic tribalism. 

8 hours ago, Gollum said:

What heavily corrupt? There was only this Taj corridor case which was a few crores. She misused private planes, but most of our politcians do that. 

What a Dalit lady did during peak UP gunda raj, amidst all the atrocities against her community, one has to respect her. She improved law and order, didn't go on a revenge spree, took all communities alongside. She started the infrastructure boom in UP, Yamuna Expressway, Buddh F1 circuit and Noida growth were her projects. And a big Dalit role model, even today she doesn't create any nuisance for the centre, takes a nationalist stance when it comes to nat sec, no fearmongering. Dalit leader ho toh behenji jaisa ho.  And remember she did this at a time when centre was rarely on the same page as her, against battle-hardened criminals and mafia of MY gang....sure she had to make some deals with shady people to fight them, neeyat unka hamesha sahi tha. You won't see any big leader badmouth behenji. 

Varanasi is dirty even now, I have family there and visited twice last year. Kuch improvement nah dikha, sab hype hai. Only improvement in UP I see nowadays is better law/order. 

Maywati also faced corruption charges on NHRM cases, plus there are several incidents where she misused her power for her political gains.

There was a time when BJP BSP built a coalition in 1997 and decided to form CM on rotation basis, Mayawati completed her tenure and then pulled back the support. After that we all saw how shoes and fights broke out in the UP Assembly.

During the floor test of Vajpayee govt, eastljer BSP told that they will abstain, but later voted against BJP causing them fall by 1 vote.

Mayawati didnt won based on Dalit votes alone, she won due to her casteist Axis of Dalit + Brahmin votes countering MY axis of SP. But her step motherly treatment of Brahmin voters eventually shifted them to BJP...and eventually that led to oblivion of BSP coz SP committed immense atrocities on Dalits across UP and specially in Muzaffarnagar Riots. Mayawati remained silent on that incident which led to shift of Dalit votes as well to BJP.

Coming to Varanasi, its pretty evident for anyone to see the changes in the city. Below changes I remember straight on top of my mind, something which neither Behenji nor SP could do on the ground

1. Maintenance and cleanliness of Ghats..earlier the muddy and kavcha ghats are now well maintained and cemented. How can someone miss that ? It has turned the USP of Varanasi as its crown jewel, giving business opportunities to local entrepreneurs.

2. Kashi Vishwanath Corridor...self explanatory. Anyone who has visited that earlier have seen how chaotic it was.

3. Varanasi Ring Road project...a lifeline to the urban movement.

4. STP plants to reduce the sewage flowing in Ganga

5. Overhanging electrical wires which were prone to incidents are now cleaned up and at many places underground cables are laid in the old areas of Godowlia.

6. Cancer hospital and 500 bed Multi Speciality hospital, reducing load on BHU. Nearby towns are completely dependent on Varanasi for medical facilities.

7. Airport Expressway, something I use it often. That road used to be a 2 lane crowded with cattles moving through. Now its a 4 lane road till Orderly Bazar covering the distance in just 15 mins. With this you can also see the rise in flights and once the new terminal construction is over, Varanasi will become a major flight terminal in Central India overtaking Lucknow.

8. Stations...just see the condition of Varanasi jn or Manduadih. Varanasi jn was one of the most dirty stations in India, now, you get down and you will see how cleanliness and maintained it is. Manudadih (Banaras) is probably in top 5/10 stations in terms of passenger friendly amenities despite being massive in size. Nearest stations to my home are Kashi & City and both are currently seeing renovation with new proposed bridge across the Ganga River.

Lets hope that BJP wins all states and remains in power in the Centre with the opposition becoming irrelevant completely. Lets hope this happens.

Then we will get to witness their true competence, if they can stand toe to toe against a nation like China, by then they will not be in position to blame the opposition political parties for any shortcomings. Lets see if they can focus on actual issues or fret about renaming Mughal roads and cities with Hindu names.

Edited by MechEng
48 minutes ago, kepler37b said:

The moment AIMIM or any other hard-core Islamic party decide to contest...Congress will be swept away from there as well.

14 minutes ago, MechEng said:

Lets hope that BJP wins all states and remains in power in the Centre with the opposition becoming irrelevant completely. Lets hope this happens.

Then we will get to witness their true competence, if they can stand toe to toe against a nation like China, by then they will not be in position to blame the opposition political parties for any shortcomings. Lets see if they can focus on actual issues or fret about renaming Mughal roads and cities with Hindu names.

Renaming might not be an issue for you. But it is for lot of people. These guys did atrocities on Hindus and roads should be named after them ? They are not even Indians they are from Central Asia.