http://latomatina.co.in/
Once in a while there comes an event thats so insane that you just have to go and check it out at ANY cost. La Tomatina is just that. Imagine hurling tomatoes at each other in an all out frenzy without any consequences! Add best DJ's in the country into the mix and you are bound to have a fantáÔtico time. So be prepared for the first ever La Tomatina festival in the city! Event Details Date : 18th September, 2011 Time : 11 AM Onwards Venue : Emerald Greens, Palace Grounds City : Bangalore
Adopting a culture from west when food prices are already going up and many people find it difficult to afford food twice a day. :hmmm:

Major Attractions of the Event Rain Dance & Other Attractions So, huge amount of water wastage will also be attraction of the event? Youth of Bangalore will like it?

^^ Not just that, pathetic timing when one recalls Anna and some of his followers fasting for days to bring some much needed accountability. Going by some debates in parliament towards reducing the weddings related food wastage, this might just create another uproar. While on topic, MMS did admit the country needs a second green revolution. If we can achieve that effectively to improve the agricultural yields along with establishing a proper storage/logistics infrastructure, such events might be feasible despite our huge population.

That tradition was to get rid of the excess harvest they couldn't sell and would rot anyway. :facepalm:
:cantstop: Indians are following it for fun. I think someone from Bangalore should contact the state authorities and complain about this.

Delhi was the first to organize it, but obviously cancel hogaya :phehehe: Organizers were the gunde from my school.. so i pretty much knew ki kuch nahi hona. Honaaa kya thaa.. pese lekar Shimla ghooom aaye woh 'organizers' :hehe:

Will not happen.They didn't dare to do it in Delhi. In a country where a lot of people don't get two meals and clean water ,this is criminal waste.

:headshake: When I read the title, I was :woot:ing but now keeping in mind the timing and also the fact that many parts of our country are suffering frm food shortage.:((

Delhi was the first to organize it, but obviously cancel hogaya :phehehe: Organizers were the gunde from my school.. so i pretty much knew ki kuch nahi hona. Honaaa kya thaa.. pese lekar Shimla ghooom aaye woh 'organizers' :hehe:
How come you weren't involved then ? :hehe: Maybe the B'lore organizers will have sadaa hua tomatoes rejected by the vendors for the fest..:confused:
:cantstop: Indians are following it for fun. I think someone from Bangalore should contact the state authorities and complain about this.
Complain about what exactly?? :confused:
They can go to Koyambedu market and buy the already rotten vegetables and play with it. Why waste food that can be used for public consumption?
As much as I agree with your line of thinking, this is not how things work. They are wasting food because they paid for it. How different is it than wasting food at a lavish wedding reception while millions are starving or wasting water to wash your third car when many families don't have a bucketful to drink for a day?
Complain about what exactly?? :confused: As much as I agree with your line of thinking, this is not how things work. They are wasting food because they paid for it. How different is it than wasting food at a lavish wedding reception while millions are starving or wasting water to wash your third car when many families don't have a bucketful to drink for a day?
:hmmm: One can say that they can do so because they paid for it. It's true that things don't work like that. Few weeks ago, I was watching a TV report on the food wastage and a law about this. I don't remember whether Govt is thinking to enact a law about this or whether the expert in the show proposed that govt should bring such law. I tried to find news articles for this on internet, but couldn't find any. Most probably it was an expert opinion that Govt should do this. I'll just tell what I remember. They showed the data related to food wastage in India. Probably 30% of the food during parties, marriage functions are wasted. There should be a govt policy to reduce this wastage. It includes limiting the number of item that can be provided to guests. Then there was details about the number of guests to be allowed for a certain occasion and special permission or different guidelines for different number of guests. They told that such laws exists in some places and it helps a lot. I was busy in doing something else and I don't remember much about this. I think Govt should have a policy about this.
They can go to Koyambedu market and buy the already rotten vegetables and play with it. Why waste food that can be used for public consumption? :headshake:
They might be using rotten tomatoes only. I don't know. It means that we can't blame them without being sure that what they will use. :P

Vibhash, I appreciate your sentiment, but not your proposed course of action. You are at the wrong end of the stick. Having a cap on food consumption on marriages will not solve the basic problem of those who cannot afford food in the first place. IMO, a better solution would be to get down more strictly on those who hoard food that is meant to be rationed to the poor. Most of the times, there isn't a shortage of food, and if present, its man made. Also, the govt can introduce staggered price slabs for essential food items, like how we have for taxes. For 1kg of genhu you pay x. for 2 kgs you pay 2x, but for 100 kgs you pay 150x and for 1000 kgs you pay 2000x etc. I know this system maynot be foolproof and people would send proxies and what not, but at least it makes people think twice before wasting.

They showed the data related to food wastage in India. Probably 30% of the food during parties, marriage functions are wasted. There should be a govt policy to reduce this wastage. It includes limiting the number of item that can be provided to guests. Then there was details about the number of guests to be allowed for a certain occasion and special permission or different guidelines for different number of guests. They told that such laws exists in some places and it helps a lot. I was busy in doing something else and I don't remember much about this. I think Govt should have a policy about this.
Not that i'm a fan of lavish weddings (especially when not attending) but lets not miss the elephant in the room. As a nation we waste quite a percentage of our agricultural produce, especially the fruits & vegetables. Some estimates suggest its as high as 40%, which sounds unusually extreme even for fresh produce like tomatoes. Shouldn't the dumb-fork govt handle that on an war footing (by itself or through the private sector) before even thinking about weddings related waste :poink: