Umesh Yadav - As brainless as ever

50 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Shami has 5 more four-wicket hauls in addition to his 2 five-wicket hauls and that means something too  ( and Bhuvi has 1  ) 

If you consider wickets per innings, it is 

Shami     1.84

Ishant     1.60

Bhuvi      1.53

Umesh    1.43

This parameter is important to check consistency in wicket-taking ability.

2-3 wickets is not going to win you matches, particularly overseas where spinners won't chip in. Difference between Rahane and Kohli, one scores 50s in form, the other big 100s

2 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Bhuvi does that when the ball is swinging or seaming and looks like one of our 2 best pacers ......  but looks innocuous on flat tracks which are rather frequent.

Others cannot even do what Bhuvi does. Bhuvi in form is better than any other Indian pacer in form. The five fers are very important. At least one such bowler is required in a team who turns up with five fees on his day and he is the one. Others also struggle in some conditions. End of the day Bhuvi has produced better results than any other Indian pacer.

32 minutes ago, New guy said:

2-3 wickets is not going to win you matches, particularly overseas where spinners won't chip in. Difference between Rahane and Kohli, one scores 50s in form, the other big 100s

Talking about  4-wicket hauls which are substantial too.

We need a pace partnership and Shami and Bhuvi are coming across as the first 2 pacers for away tests based on current form. My 3rd pick is Bumrah.

These 3 would give us best wicket-taking ability.

Edited by express bowling
4 minutes ago, Straight Drive said:

Others cannot even do what Bhuvi does. Bhuvi in form is better than any other Indian pacer in form. The five fers are very important. At least one such bowler is required in a team who turns up with five fees on his day and he is the one. Others also struggle in some conditions. End of the day Bhuvi has produced better results than any other Indian pacer.

Shami has better SR and wickets per match and is a better all-condition bowler. Has 7 four-plus wickets in 26 tests too.

12 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Shami has better SR and wickets per match and is a better all-condition bowler. Has 7 four-plus wickets in 26 tests too.

Agree that Shami is good too. Yes, he is picking 4 wicket hauls and has relatively good wickets per innings. I like bowlers who pick 4 fers and 5 gets than take a wicket here or two. That is role of all rounder bowlers a, more is expected from specialists. Problem is fitness of Shami. Bhuvi and Shami can be the spearheads. I would like to see them open the bowling in SA as well. 

23 minutes ago, express bowling said:

And Bhuvi has 5 4+ and Shami has 7, Bhuvi has played 2/3rd the matches.  As for all condition bowling, Bhuvi has improved a lot with the older ball and on flat tracks, he has not been given a consistent run in tests for us to judge yet

29 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Talking about  4-wicket hauls which are substantial too.

We need a pace partnerships and Shami and Bhuvi are coming across as the first 2 pacers for away tests based on current form. My 3rd pick is Bumrah.

This 3 would give us best wicket-taking ability.

Seeing Ishant's current form, he is likely to be picked too

1 minute ago, New guy said:

And Bhuvi has 5 4+ and Shami has 7, Bhuvi has played 2/3rd the matches.  As for all condition bowling, Bhuvi has improved a lot with the older ball and on flat tracks, he has not been given a consistent run in tests for us to judge yet

There is no comparison at this time. Unless Shami becomes extemely fit and stop showing signs of running in and out of the team due to injury, one can not say this is our no.1 seamer. Yes when in form he might on his days bowl better than Bhuvi, but overall Bhuvi is better bowler, with better fitness and someone who shows signs of being competitive in every session unlike Shami who can lose steam quickly and might not last long in team in a series or a game. Such bowlers can’t be called no.1  and then the whole exaggerated theory about only extremely fast or hit the deck hard will work overseas is what is also wrong. This theory kept Bhuvi away for long and kept Umesh part of the team, after I and many kept saying about it being not so important as Bhuvi will still find his way out to take wickets. Bhuvi is all condition bowler even if he might not hit the deck hard etc. 

A decent bowler with 132ish speed also is capable of doing well on any deck in the world, and will bowl better than Umesh if he bowls consistently. I am glad people are finally realizing its useless to back this guy everytime. We have to move on sometimes. 

2 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

There is no comparison at this time. Unless Shami becomes extemely fit and stop showing signs of running in and out of the team due to injury, one can not say this is our no.1 seamer. Yes when in form he might on his days bowl better than Bhuvi, but overall Bhuvi is better bowler, with better fitness and someone who shows signs of being competitive in every session

Injuries are part and parcel of most top pacers.  Happened multiple times to Lille, Thomson, Wasim, Waqar, Donald, Johnson, Steyn, Starc. Does not or did not stop people from calling them top pacers.

2 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

unlike Shami who can lose steam quickly 

Never seen that happen. 

Niggles and losing steam are not the same.

7 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Injuries are part and parcel of most top pacers.  Happened multiple times to Lille, Thomson, Wasim, Waqar, Donald, Johnson, Steyn, Starc. Does not or did not stop people from calling them top pacers.

Never seen that happen. 

Niggles and losing steam are not the same.

Just saw on day 1, how Shami couldn’t bowl and had to go out and come back, be it dehydration or any excuse, I believe it is more to do with Hamstring actually and I do see him down the line feel the same pain again. You shouldn’t be dehydrated even in hot Kolkata weather after bowling just 2 overs, so there is surely some hamstring or some similar issue which we will quickly learn in the next test or so on when he goes again. I am very sure about this. 

Regarding top bowlers having injuries, yes,  bowlers are injury prone and I can’t blame them as some can be unlucky. And hence I call them world class and do the same for Shami, and he is surely worle class whom we need to protect but I can’t call him number 1 at the same time when Bhuvi is bowling equally good with better fitness.

But I am sure about that dehydration part. There is a concern which Shami knows pretty well. Its more than dehydration having played enough cricket.

10 hours ago, vishalvirsingh said:

Brother... Shammi is still 5k faster on average

Shammi length is very wicket taking..he could have got one or two wickets yesterday too..

Will check on bcci TV and share why shammi is still better.

Dear New guy and others .. i checked out on bcci.tv..

Shammi bowled upto 145k..135 to 145k

Bhuvi bowled 132k to 139k ....

there is a difference of 6k in Max Speeds...which is big difference.

Pitching or length wise too- everybody appreciates BHuvi's length but wicket taking length was BHuvi's , he was unlucky too, wrong shots were hit on his bowling but fielders did not complete the catch.

Umesh and bhuvi bowled at approximately same speed but bhuvi was very accurate and Umesh had a few good bouncers in his spell , two of them managed to get him two wickets too. But yes BHuvi's length was very Impressive.

But if that you guys to believe that bhuvi bowled than Shammi...than thats wrong.

Fat ti hain batsman ki Shammi ko khelne mein...shammi was unlucky not to end up getting 5 or 6 wickets. he may get in the next inings tommorow.

SHammi was better than BHUVI and Umesh and you all will get a confirmation tommorow about this.

5 minutes ago, vishalvirsingh said:

Dear New guy and others .. i checked out on bcci.tv..

Shammi bowled upto 145k..135 to 145k

Bhuvi bowled 132k to 139k ....

there is a difference of 6k in Max Speeds...which is big difference.

Pitching or length wise too- everybody appreciates BHuvi's length but wicket taking length was BHuvi's , he was unlucky too, wrong shots were hit on his bowling but fielders did not complete the catch.

Umesh and bhuvi bowled at approximately same speed but bhuvi was very accurate and Umesh had a few good bouncers in his spell , two of them managed to get him two wickets too. But yes BHuvi's length was very Impressive.

But if that you guys to believe that bhuvi bowled than Shammi...than thats wrong.

Fat ti hain batsman ki Shammi ko khelne mein...shammi was unlucky not to end up getting 5 or 6 wickets. he may get in the next inings tommorow.

SHammi was better than BHUVI and Umesh and you all will get a confirmation tommorow about this.

O bhaiya, you can check out highlights on bcci.tv or watch it or porn hub site with multiple logos, watermark and popups, one thing remains same and that is that it doesn’t tell you that bowling well in few spells doesn’t mean you bowled better overall. He was bad on day 1 and good on day 2 while Bhuvi was good on both the days so overall better bowler.

7 minutes ago, vishalvirsingh said:

Bhaiya, Day 1 mein kisi ki phat nahi rahi thi jab Shami was doing in and out of the team. He was world class yesterday but not on day 1. And regardin( Umesh Yadav, that I agree, Shami is way better than Umesh. Umesh ka toh naam he na lo kyunki isse dekhkar batsman ki nahi, scorecard update karne waloh ki phat-ti hai

1 hour ago, Cricketics said:

There is no comparison at this time. Unless Shami becomes extemely fit and stop showing signs of running in and out of the team due to injury, one can not say this is our no.1 seamer. Yes when in form he might on his days bowl better than Bhuvi, but overall Bhuvi is better bowler, with better fitness and someone who shows signs of being competitive in every session unlike Shami who can lose steam quickly and might not last long in team in a series or a game. Such bowlers can’t be called no.1  and then the whole exaggerated theory about only extremely fast or hit the deck hard will work overseas is what is also wrong. This theory kept Bhuvi away for long and kept Umesh part of the team, after I and many kept saying about it being not so important as Bhuvi will still find his way out to take wickets. Bhuvi is all condition bowler even if he might not hit the deck hard etc. 

A decent bowler with 132ish speed also is capable of doing well on any deck in the world, and will bowl better than Umesh if he bowls consistently. I am glad people are finally realizing its useless to back this guy everytime. We have to move on sometimes. 

yaar AAP log ek bad performance pe hi ek genuine fast bowler( umesh) ko galli dene lagte ho...

Have patience..he managed 2 wickets this time too..he will improve and go back to his faster days when he bowled 136 to 148k.

HOLD ON...Have Patience.

17 minutes ago, vishalvirsingh said:

yaar AAP log ek bad performance pe hi ek genuine fast bowler( umesh) ko galli dene lagte ho...

Have patience..he managed 2 wickets this time too..he will improve and go back to his faster days when he bowled 136 to 148k.

HOLD ON...Have Patience.

Koi gali nahi de raha bhai. I actually thought he bowled well on first day when the critics were out telling he sucked, but overall woh itna koi khaas bowler nahi hai.

He is genuinely fast, and woh mai agree karta hoon that he puts in hard yards to be the fast bowler he is. I bowl my self and I am no where fast like him so I know what kind of effort it takes to be that fast, so I recognize that and give him kudos for that. But playing for India regularly in test means performing, and Yadav ne ek do series ke bajaye, hasn't done much honestly. It's not that we have Steyn and Morkel waiting, but he and Ishant have been tried a lot and ab time a agaya hai ki kisi aur ko bhi chance do.

I mean imagine if you are a bowler in India around 20-24 years of age and someone keep telling you you will get chance when this guy fails more. Don't you feel that you are unlucky. Put yourself in the shoes of many youngsters who are playing in Indian Ranji system and how they must feel when same players who are bowling only decent keep getting picked over and over. 

Yadav has reached hsi peak. He will have some good spells but he won't bowler better than what he did against Australia at times. Time to slowly move on from him. Keep him around the squad but try to start playing others ahead of him if one slot is remaining. 

3 hours ago, Rasgulla said:

Aur kitna patience he is already 30:facepalm: 2 or 3 years max.. then he will be old. When will this torture end... rather invest in some new bowler than this failure of an experiment who never won us anything or even showing any promising signs. 

Lol you can't say the same to dhoni in T20. Both are useless at the moment. Dhoni in t20 and yadav in tests.