Is IPL actually helping Indian Team?

Not really. Dhawan didnt play much this IPL. Jaddu was already in form. .Moreover. if at all IPL helps that should help in T20 games where we are still languishing. India is a form team. If they are in form and play their A game' date=' they look very good. Most of us predicted doom because we were not sure how our top order would go. There was an element of uncertainty..[/quote'] well we are currently ranked 3rd in the world in t20s.....
well we are currently ranked 3rd in the world in t20s.....
Our performance in world T20 dipped only after IPL. Our batsmen are always good with or without IPL. Kohli never did anything in IPL until this season. INdia was expected to perform poorly in England mainly because of condition and this is a new team. Not because they are a bad ODI side. Even before IPL 2013 they were ranked no.1 side in the world. The day we dominate other teams in T20, i will believe IPL help Indian side.

I have said this before...IPL is a wonderful concept....People against IPL have the same mentality of people who opposed progress throughout the history...Does IPL have it's flaws hell yes...But IPL is a huge step forward for cricket and it will do more good than harm esepcially for Indian cricket since we own it anyways :winky:

batting oriented thread,bowlers still suck,not much variations so playing in IPL might have helped batsmen playing in the shortr format.but team consists of bowlers as well.

Karthick, Rohit is a definitely 2.0 after the IPL. Yadav was much better before IPL. With 3 inform players and Dhoni ever in form, we are looking good in batting. With subcontinent like pitches our spinners are potent in Eng. Back in 2011, we were pants.

we are in season 6 or past season 6 of the IPL and this is the first time we are doing ok after the IPL.
Fair enough to be conservative in your judgment but surely unrealistic to expect instant (seasons-1-4) positive effect. The main effects would take time.
I have said this before...IPL is a wonderful concept....People against IPL have the same mentality of people who opposed progress throughout the history...Does IPL have it's flaws hell yes...But IPL is a huge step forward for cricket and it will do more good than harm esepcially for Indian cricket since we own it anyways :winky:
Its the indian mentality..:(( Cant help it.. People will always try to bring down something which is doing good..

As much as I have hated IPL in the past.. I do have to admit.. IPL has given youngsters the confidence to play positively. That is one great benefit I've seen of IPL influence on the team. The added riches also help... Unlike Paki team where players thrive on being in the national side to sustain themselves financially.. ..the lure of millions has brought out the best amongst our players. Capitalism always brings out the best.

yaar yeh Indian team itna hype ho gayi hain' date=' i feel we might be brought to earth in our next match.......:((:((:pray::pray::pray:[/quote'] We were up against one under-strength side and an 8th ranked ODI side which was full of IPL legends :cantstop: . We are reading too much into it.

Yes, and there are two points to note. 1. IPL has allowed a lot more players to have key roles. Dhawan, Karthik and others really got their chance to shine in situations where they were among the key batsmen of their team. In team India, they would usually sit on the bench, if anywhere, because there was a long line up of batsmen. 2. The rule that was instrumental in this was the 4-man cap on foreign players. If there was no cap, only 2-3 Indian players would have key roles and the rest of them would either not play or be given a small role. IPL gave these players a platform to show their ability and also to get regular match practice at a high level. The odd match here and there or the occasional cameo will never give you that kind of exposure and development.

No IPL cannot produce one Sachin, Dravid, Ganguly, Laxman, Dhoni or Kumble. It hypes up mediocre players like Vinay Kumar, Mishra etc. who gets spanked in international cricket.

True.. IPL gives more visibility to performance than other domestic competitions. http://www.espncricinfo.com/indian-domestic-2012/engine/match/574138.html These kind of performances barely gets a mention. Look at how Pujara went after the total though falling short by a whsiker.

I wouldnt read that much into two wins as good as they were, WI are ordinary and SA were without Smith, Steyn, and Kallis not to mention 3 overs of Morkel...

I wouldnt read too much into two wins as good as they were' date=' WI are ordinary and SA were without Smith, Steyn, and Kallis not to mention 3 overs of Morkel[/quote'] Wow, so in Sooda's world, there is nothing to celebrate about. Pretty sad, isn't it?

Well a rookie Indian batsman facing the likes of Steyn,Lee in the final overs trying to win a game under a pressure situation does more to his temparement than scoring billions of runs against Tundlers on Pattas. Also IPL doesnt ruin anyone's technique,A good player will adapt to a format regardless and a hack will remain a hack

But you do know that in T20 not just IPL a batsman doesn't have to put price on his wicket as much as you do in an ODI. In ODI you have to preserve wickets and score quickly. In T20 preserving wickets for long periods is not a mandatory requirement. So the mindset is different. In T20 you can also pick up bowlers of your choice like Gayle does. In One dayer a bowler can bowl a 10 over spell . Even Debrata Das whacked Steyn around in a match.. you think he will do the same in a ODI agaisnt ANderon, Broad? NO way. You have to be basically a good batsman.

- After the first season of tamasha league, India lost Asia Cup and then became Ajantha's Mendis *****es - After second season of the tamasha, India were humiliated in T20 Cup in England - After third season of the tamasha, India were humiliated in T20 Cup in WI - After fourth season of tamasha, India managed to beat no.8 WI, but people like Gambhir, Sehwag and Tendulkar put the tamasha cash above playing for the country and India were handed out an almighty beating in England - No major tournament immediately after fifth season of tamasha although in the first major tournament after tamasha a few months later, India yet again failed to reach the semi-finals of the World T20 (indeed India's performance in T20 World Cups has been absolutely deplorable since the start of the tamasha) This season we have admittedly managed to beat the world's no.8 side and an SA side that is a historically under performer in major tournaments but still a real stretch to suggest that the tamasha is helping Indian cricket. Especially considering some of the owners of tamasha teams indulge in illegal betting and a few Indian players were sent to prison for fixing in the tamasha.