Desi Cartman Posted July 13, 2014 Posted July 13, 2014 I want to start following basketball and football later this year. I want ICFers to tell me when a good game is coming up or new season is starting. Tell me the teams that I should follow. Remember that I live in San Francisco so I will end up missing most games :( but I'm missing out on the fun of following sports so please help else I will have to move back to Australia
punjabi_khota Posted July 13, 2014 Posted July 13, 2014 start with baseball...cricket jaisa hi hai, especially jaat level cricket
PBN Posted July 13, 2014 Posted July 13, 2014 start with baseball...cricket jaisa hi hai' date=' especially jaat level cricket[/quote'] i find baseball quite a boring sport to watch...especially if one follows cricket. it's like a dumbed down version of cricket. playing is fun but i could never watch the whole game on tv. i suppose going to the park to watch it may be an enjoyable experience with friends or family. start by going to a couple of games if you really wanna get into the game and then your interest may increase.
KhanSaab Posted July 13, 2014 Posted July 13, 2014 Ice hockey and American football are the best. Avoid baseball and basketball.
vvvslaxman Posted July 13, 2014 Posted July 13, 2014 Basket ball is really a good game to follow. Coz i Follow :--D . Not overly though these days. NFL, , MBL both i don't follow.
yoda Posted July 13, 2014 Posted July 13, 2014 1. Baseball - Start going for a couple of SF Giants games. AT&T park is a beautiful place, you can buy $30 tickets on stubhub, take Cal Train from South Bay. It is a great experience and you will like it. Prior to that, follow a few games on TV and learn the rules/players, etc. 2. Golden State Warriors (Oakland) are playing decent basketball last few years. Tickets are not expensive if you are ok with buying for random games, but you will be seated way off, so better to follow basketball on TV. This year would be good to follow Cleveland Cavs and Lebron James' return. TNT channel carries tons of NBA games once season starts on November, ABC carries weekend games once Christmas starts. I am LA Lakers fan and watch any of their games that is telecast on TNT/ABC. 3. SF 49ers are a top team, they have moved to Santa Clara this year. Tickets will be pricey, but football can be enjoyed totally on TV, especially if you have a big screen. Regular Season starts Sept 7 for the 49-ers.
Desi Cartman Posted July 13, 2014 Author Posted July 13, 2014 start with baseball...cricket jaisa hi hai' date=' especially jaat level cricket[/quote'] I went to watch couple of games and it was almost fun but it's awful on tv
Desi Cartman Posted July 13, 2014 Author Posted July 13, 2014 Ice hockey and American football are the best. Avoid baseball and basketball. Now hockey is something I wanna watch more of, I guess sharks should be my team :). When does the season start ?
Desi Cartman Posted July 13, 2014 Author Posted July 13, 2014 1. Baseball - Start going for a couple of SF Giants games. AT&T park is a beautiful place, you can buy $30 tickets on stubhub, take Cal Train from South Bay. It is a great experience and you will like it. Prior to that, follow a few games on TV and learn the rules/players, etc. 2. Golden State Warriors (Oakland) are playing decent basketball last few years. Tickets are not expensive if you are ok with buying for random games, but you will be seated way off, so better to follow basketball on TV. This year would be good to follow Cleveland Cavs and Lebron James' return. TNT channel carries tons of NBA games once season starts on November, ABC carries weekend games once Christmas starts. I am LA Lakers fan and watch any of their games that is telecast on TNT/ABC. 3. SF 49ers are a top team, they have moved to Santa Clara this year. Tickets will be pricey, but football can be enjoyed totally on TV, especially if you have a big screen. Regular Season starts Sept 7 for the 49-ers. Thanks .. Baseball, tried and can't do. I tried really hard but it's like watching Dravid and chanderpaul play to draw a game from day 1 itself. 2. So basketball season starts in Nov ? 3. Yes, I like 48ers. The whole office is crazy about them so I get into it by the end of the season but when does the season begin and which site shall I follow to know the timing n important games and channel to watch on
FischerTal Posted July 13, 2014 Posted July 13, 2014 I went to watch couple of games and it was almost fun but it's awful on tv Baseball will bore you to death. 9 innings of full tosses. Basketball and American football are much more fun.
Gollum Posted July 13, 2014 Posted July 13, 2014 Once watched a baseball game in South Korea. Worst game in the world. Jokers will bowl loopy full tosses and batters will still miss them by a foot or so. Really its a nothing sport in front of cricket. Try basketball or ice hockey, much better IMO.
Laaloo Posted July 13, 2014 Posted July 13, 2014 Thanks .. Baseball, tried and can't do. I tried really hard but it's like watching Dravid and chanderpaul play to draw a game from day 1 itself. 2. So basketball season starts in Nov ? 3. Yes, I like 48ers. The whole office is crazy about them so I get into it by the end of the season but when does the season begin and which site shall I follow to know the timing n important games and channel to watch on www.nfl.com
yoda Posted July 13, 2014 Posted July 13, 2014 Thanks .. Baseball, tried and can't do. I tried really hard but it's like watching Dravid and chanderpaul play to draw a game from day 1 itself. 2. So basketball season starts in Nov ? 3. Yes, I like 48ers. The whole office is crazy about them so I get into it by the end of the season but when does the season begin and which site shall I follow to know the timing n important games and channel to watch on Yes, Basketball starts Nov. TNT is the channel. Niners come on Channel 2 - Fox sports. There will be one Sunday night game on NBC and also Monday night on ESPN. So if they play that slot, you have to switch to those channels. The channels which show NFL are Fox, CBS (Sunday 10am, 1pm slots), NBC (Sunday night), ESPN (Monday night). One problem with NFL coverage is you may not get to see all the good match ups at all unless you buy premium package.
coffee_rules Posted July 13, 2014 Posted July 13, 2014 NFL and NBA - since a long time now. NFL will take you through winter (Feb). NBA until May or so. So, they are the two most followed sports. Baseball is boring unless you are in the stadium. NFL too. I have never watched even one game of MLS. Any good? We have European Football, EPL and CL to follow.
fineleg Posted July 13, 2014 Posted July 13, 2014 I want to start following basketball and football later this year. I want ICFers to tell me when a good game is coming up or new season is starting. Tell me the teams that I should follow. Remember that I live in San Francisco so I will end up missing most games :( but I'm missing out on the fun of following sports so please help else I will have to move back to Australia do u have time to watch beyond watching Indian cricket, IPL and Soccer? :D
cowboysfan Posted July 13, 2014 Posted July 13, 2014 start with baseball...cricket jaisa hi hai' date=' especially jaat level cricket[/quote'] i watch more baseball than any other sport mainly because they play 182 games,i have even been to a AA game.