Raghav_12 Posted July 20, 2014 Posted July 20, 2014 Guys, Creating this thread so that people can discuss all their worries with respect to flying options, schedules, itineraries, quality of in-flight meals and entertainment here only and spare other threads for the discussions they were intended for. Mods can move posts from other thread to here.
JourneyMan Posted July 20, 2014 Posted July 20, 2014 From Europe, the best option is usually Etihad/Emirates/Qatar Airways via Abu Dhabi/Dubai/Doha. Ticket prices depend on the season. For cheaper options, there is jet airways via mumbai/delhi depending on where you want to go.
Laaloo Posted July 20, 2014 Posted July 20, 2014 From US to India, I take a 14 hours nonstop Air India flight from NJ to BOM I've also taken Jet Airways but hate the holdover going and coming back in Brussels. There is also continental flight non stop from NJ to BOM in 14 hours as well I believe.
gattaca Posted July 20, 2014 Posted July 20, 2014 Always Arab airlines 1) safety who will attack their airlines :giggle:2) never had a delay. Atleast they are not racist as European airlines. Their customer service is really good and also Abu dhabi has port of entry now that means you don't have to wait in long lines in us.
BlackMamba Posted July 21, 2014 Posted July 21, 2014 From US to India, I take a 14 hours nonstop Air India flight from NJ to BOM I've also taken Jet Airways but hate the holdover going and coming back in Brussels. There is also continental flight non stop from NJ to BOM in 14 hours as well I believe. United
coffee_rules Posted July 21, 2014 Posted July 21, 2014 From US to India, I take a 14 hours nonstop Air India flight from NJ to BOM I've also taken Jet Airways but hate the holdover going and coming back in Brussels. There is also continental flight non stop from NJ to BOM in 14 hours as well I believe. Good for BOM only. For other cities, they connect with flights going from domestic terminal...changing terminals in BOM sucks big time. The shuttle is operated once in 45 mts or so, there are no stalls to eat/drink . They offer complementary coffee/tea and snacks. For me, Luftansa/Delta (AF) works better as they fly directly to other cities from Amsterdam. I think all airlines are not flying over Ukraine, so that should not be a concern.
Ram Posted July 21, 2014 Posted July 21, 2014 I have done most routes that there is to do, b/w US and India (United, BA, Lufthansa, Air France, Cathay pacific, Air India, Jet Airways, Kuwait, Saudi, Qatar etc). BA is very good from a timing standpoint. Their trip duration is typically the shortest. But their e-ticket policies are pretty pathetic. They offer no cancellation on their economy tickets, which is pretty inconvenient if you had to postpone/cancel your trip due to unavoidable circumstances. Jet Airways is ok, but like Coffee said, its probably perfect for people in Bombay/Delhi, but not so much for other cities. You typically land in Mumbai at around 10 in the night and the onward flight is at 3 am in the morning. The whole transfer process to the domestic terminal such a pain the ****. Same for the non-stop from Newark to Bombay via United. United also offers only one free (checked) baggage. If you couldnt care less about convenience, the middle eastern routes are the way to go. Their tickets are typically the cheapest, but their layover times are also preposterous and their airports are THE most boringest places in the whole world. There's not a even freaking newspaper to buy a magazine for time pass. Riyadh airport is just one giant store selling dates (not calendar dates, but the one with seeds..). Joe much dates does a person need in their life? But like i said, if all you care about is your wallet, then Kuwait/Saudi is your option. The other con - their in-flight crew are by far the rudest and the food most unfriendly to vegetarians like me. But all things considered - price, trip duration e-ticket policies, comfort, quality of flight crew, food etc - I'd rate Cathay Pacific to be the best.In fact, I have a bunch of family members visiting me this fall so i had to book a handful of tickets for them via Cathay. We had to move their trip by a couple of weeks due to sudden circumstances and it cost less than $50/ticket to do so. Any other airline and i'd have either had to cancel the tickets entirely or paid $100s in rescheduling fee. Qatar airways is a close 2nd
Nash Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 You can not fly. You have to take airlines which flies. Take Malaysian airlines.
Desi Cartman Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 Mel - Del - Malaysian or Singapore Avoid Japan airlines
maniac Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 Always Arab airlines 1) safety who will attack their airlines :giggle:2) never had a delay. Atleast they are not racist as European airlines. Their customer service is really good and also Abu dhabi has port of entry now that means you don't have to wait in long lines in us. Ethihad or Qatar? Never flew Ethihad even though they have good deals,always got better deals from Air India. My parents flew Qatar the last 2 times they visited....Good price and Apparently pretty good service. Whenever I decide to try a different airliner,Air India tempts me with their low fares :banghead:..good to have the extra dough to spend in India ... Their service might be horrible in terms of Air Hostesses talk to you like they are your school teachers but apart from that they are efficient in everything else.Also food is pretty good
gattaca Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 Ethihad or Qatar? Never flew Ethihad even though they have good deals,always got better deals from Air India. My parents flew Qatar the last 2 times they visited....Good price and Apparently pretty good service. Whenever I decide to try a different airliner,Air India tempts me with their low fares :banghead:..good to have the extra dough to spend in India ... Their service might be horrible in terms of Air Hostesses talk to you like they are your school teachers but apart from that they are efficient in everything else.Also food is pretty good Qatar. I will never fly air india worst customer service ever. My flight was delayed by 24 hrs in Delhi and they didn't transfer my connection properly in Chicago it was nightmare.
maniac Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 Qatar. I will never fly air india worst customer service ever. My flight was delayed by 24 hrs in Delhi and they didn't transfer my connection properly in Chicago it was nightmare. Oh ok...will probably try it this time but don't know if they have flights from sfo....it's mostly Cathay and air India that have decent fares. As far as air India goes I heard horror stories but personally I have travelled enough times to say never had a bad experience in terms of arrival or departures. The only thing is rude air hostesses .....whenever you ask for an extra dink they look at you as if you asked for their own property :haha: also this one time the overhead bin was not probably closed and the luggage almost fell on my head....the air hostess Aunty gave a dressing down to my co passenger...it was funny....felt bad for the guy who was humiliated even though it was his fault.
Sachinism Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 From Europe, the best option is usually Etihad/Emirates/Qatar Airways via Abu Dhabi/Dubai/Doha. Ticket prices depend on the season. For cheaper options, there is jet airways via mumbai/delhi depending on where you want to go. This. Also if don't mind Air India, it can be worth taking as they seem to send empty planes back and across. you end up getting 3/4 seats to yourself for a nice lie down
Mippa Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 I've been to India once. I flew by Qatar. Customer service was good.
Detonator Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 I travelled only once to US. I made a round trip from chennai to san francisco once in lufthansa. flexible first class i think. overall it's a good experiance, but I can't sleep for more than 30 minutes as I m travelling alone and in constant fear. all the time I was looking outside the window to make sure that the engines are fine and no damage in the aircraft :haha: it's ludicurous but i was doing it out of panic. they gave some complementary food and stuff, which is average. air hostess are milfs and they were very friendly. i befriended one of them, name is betsy condo something. they contantly announce the places that we fly over and occationally ask us to view some stunning places in window. there are tvs but the movies in it are crappy.
Sajid_Rana Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 Take PIA direct flight to Lahore from JFK and then take a bus thru Wagah border.