cowboysfan Posted November 27, 2015 Posted November 27, 2015 Going by past history the Delhi pitch will be similar or worse than Nagpur.
Ram Posted November 27, 2015 Posted November 27, 2015 The so-called controversy over the pitches in this series is as fake as a storm in a tea-cup. At the end of the day, as long as pitches arent so diabolical that they pose a threat of bodily harm to the batsmen, what is the big fuss? After all, It's the same pitch for both the teams. Its their skill-set versus skill-set. So what is the problem? We have an obligation to give ourselves the best chance to win at home. With a weapon like Ashwin - who is essentially the Kumble re-incarnated - and admirable supporting cast like Jadeja, it would be foolish for us NOT to capitalize and notch a few wins. Anil Kumble single-handedly carried the Indian team on his shoulders during the 90s. Ashwin is already 29 and probably has 2-3 years left in his peak form. Its time to make hay while the sun shines. And btw, every time we win at home as a result of spin-friendly conditions, the usual suspects making up the I-am-so-outraged society come pouring onto Social media to express their disdain. Yes, i am talking about the Michael Vaughns and Mathew Haydens.. Its like their co-ordinate their tweets!
Chalks Posted November 28, 2015 Posted November 28, 2015 (edited) This series and the current Adelaide test only go to show that when there is a bit in the pitch, today's batsmen - raised as they are on flat tracks - have no idea. I kinda miss the days when the likes of Allan Border and Steve Waugh would get stuck in and tough it out on difficult pitches. Edited November 28, 2015 by Chalks Mosher 1
amiret Posted November 28, 2015 Posted November 28, 2015 advertisers suffer a loss in revenue : India won the third Test and series inside three days at Jamtha, Nagpur on Friday. South Africa have once again crashed to defeat on a rank turner, having surrendered in the first Test in Mohali as well with rain intervening to force a draw in Bengaluru.But the picture is bleak behind the ‘great pitch tamasha’ as well. The short Tests have left official broadcaster Star India saddled with a huge financial loss. Star, which had won the rights to broadcast Indian cricket between 2012 and 2018 for a whopping Rs 3,851 crore, is now fuming.Star has lost about 75 broadcasting hours as two Test matches finished within three days because of bad surfaces and only the opening day’s play was possible in the second Test. According to Star sources, the company has accrued a loss in advertisement revenue to the tune of almost Rs 80 crore so far in the series.80 Crores is a small price to pay for a home series victory against SA.“You can imagine what it is doing to us. We are losing money left, right and centre. One match has been called ‘washed out’. Two one-sided matches finished in three days. This is bad for cricket, bad for us. If matches become one-sided, then it is not good thing. I hope BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) takes note of it,” a top Star India official “We have a broadcasting arrangement with the BCCI and we can’t start interfering in the game. But one thing is clear — this is not in the interests of the game,” he said. Our desperation to win supercedes the duty to safeguard the interests of the Game . SA is to blame ; if they had not thrashed us in the ODI and T20 series we might have prepared more competitive pitches. Pagalpanti 1
MCcricket Posted November 28, 2015 Posted November 28, 2015 It's disgraceful we have to resort to such defeatist tactics to win a test, yes England n Australia , NZ have done so on remote ocassions, a wkt like that is a bad advertisement for test cricket, A game of cricket should be played on a wkt that. Provides 4 days atleast of cricket, a good wkt would involve spinners, pacers, and attacking and defensive batters come into play at diff stages diehardpacer 1
express bowling Posted November 28, 2015 Posted November 28, 2015 (edited) advertisers suffer a loss in revenue : 80 Crores is a small price to pay for a home series victory against SA. Our desperation to win supercedes the duty to safeguard the interests of the Game . May I know how these test matches are not in the interests of the game ? After we defeated South Africa in the first test, we saw good stadium attendance in both Bangalore and Nagpur. That clearly reflects interest among the general public. The attendance in the first test, after our abysmal performances in the LOI series, was very poor...it picked up after our victory.Many people nowadays claim that they don't have time to watch a slow match for 5 days. If we have an eventful test matches, filled with action for around 3 days, with results at the end, it should actually promote the interests of the game.Actually...every decision in a game cannot be for the interests of broadcasters. South Africa is the number 1 test side in the world for quite some time...and I would expect them to put up a better fight when they face challenging circumstances. It is not as if they were expecting green tops here. If I were a South African fan, I would be more disappointed by their meek submission when playing out of their comfort zone. Teams unable to bat unless they get flat tracks and home-like conditions is actually not in the interests of the game. Cricket is the game it is because of the diverse pitches and conditions...not because of similar pitches everywhere in the world.When we analyze our batsmen, we say that Vijay, Kohli and Rahane are doing well because they did well in Australia, South Africa, NZ etc . We are disappointed with Rohit and Dhawan because they failed outside the sub-continent, in challenging conditions. Why can't we expect the Amla, duPlessis etc. to fight it out a bit more on spinning tracks.Do you think Gavaskar, batting on green tops in the West Indies, without a helmet, against the four very good pace bowlers , with the permission to bowl unlimited bouncers, had an easier time than ABDV, Amla, duPlessis, Duminy !! Yet he scored many many runs there and did not give an excuse . Those test matches were very one sided too. Did anyone say then that such test cricket was against the interests of the game ???? Edited November 28, 2015 by express bowling
express bowling Posted November 28, 2015 Posted November 28, 2015 (edited) This series and the current Adelaide test only go to show that when there is a bit in the pitch, today's batsmen - raised as they are on flat tracks - have no idea. I kinda miss the days when the likes of Allan Border and Steve Waugh would get stuck in and tough it out on difficult pitches.Absolutely. I am disappointing with both the Indian and South African batsmen in this series. They are giving up too easily. Just like the Australian and NZ batsmen who were scoring 150+ at will in Perth but giving up so easily when faced with a bit of seam and swing in Adelaide.But some of the past players and some sections of the world media are being hypocritical here. They are criticizing the Nagpur pitch and heaping praise on Adelaide although both are producing low innings totals. How is a spinning condition worse than a seaming / swing aiding condition if there is no threat to the batsmen physically !The only people suffering are the Indian fast bowlers who are either not getting a chance to play or are playing primarily as fielders...and hence not getting a chance to develop. Edited November 28, 2015 by express bowling Mosher 1
rkt.india Posted November 28, 2015 Posted November 28, 2015 What's world come to. Perth became Adelaide and Adelaide like Perth. diehardpacer 1
zen Posted November 28, 2015 Posted November 28, 2015 This is a pointless discussion, imo, as it is the pitches in the domestic matches, playing A games in a variety of conditions, etc. that primarily help to develop cricketers .... An international game is like an exam where you are expected to deliver what you have learned. People don't go to exams with the hopes of learning a subject .... The more relevant discussion would be what type of pitches should be prepared for the domestic games. Also Ind plays 3-4 tests per year on average in Ind. IIRC, we traveled a lot recently. So again pinning the entire hope of development of Indian cricket on such a small number of games is amusing .... For international games, we have to play in conditions that favor us. In fact, visiting teams should be peeing in their pants at the prospect of taking on Ind in Ind :D doccricket 1
CG Posted November 28, 2015 Author Posted November 28, 2015 (edited) Offcourse A tours and Domestic are breeding grounds But and we see benefits in current gen players who are good fielders and play short ball better on average than previous gen.But these type of pitches are lottery where any spinner be it elgar looks like bedi.International cricket too is a learning ground as quality is far ahead of Domestic cricket.During 90s we won most home series but it came at cost of away record.Batsman will have no form and fast bowlers no confidence playing on these pitches,even spinners would get in to bad habbits.Suddenly next away tour same spinners become redundant.What we need is balance in a series play on pitches which has good bounce .Have variety of pitches while planning a series . Edited November 28, 2015 by CG MCcricket and diehardpacer 2
zen Posted November 28, 2015 Posted November 28, 2015 (edited) But these type of pitches are lottery where any spinner be it elgar looks like bedi. International cricket too is a learning ground as quality is far ahead of Domestic cricket.During 90s we won most home series but it came at cost of away record.Batsman will have no form and fast bowlers no confidence playing on these pitches,even spinners would get in to bad habbits. Suddenly next away tour same spinners become redundant.What we need is balance in a series play on pitches which has good bounce .Have variety of pitches while planning a series .You are mixing things up. International cricket had turned in to a learning ground because domestic cricket was not that well developed (relatively speaking). Your point is like suggesting that Eng should not make green pitches as when they travel to subcontinent, their pacers become irrelevant. By keeping neutral pitches (and even at the cost of losing), Eng would benefit and learn from playing "quality spin" and bowling on relatively flatter surfaces, which will eventually make them better cricketers. By making green pitches, Eng is making Bhuvi appear like a Hadlee In the 90s, the issue was that we were playing some very good teams with ATGs. On the other hand, Ind team was transitioning with some of the stars from 80s in the last phase of the careers and with new players trying to establish themselves. Our domestic cricket was poor too lacking modern facilities and training methods. In a phase such as these winning at home on turning tracks made it appear that such tracks are probably not helping Ind cricket .... But an Elgar will be an Elgar. He will look good on turning track. Nothing much on some of the other tracks. Making him play on other tracks will not turn his performance on such tracks similar to his performances on turning tracks. That was the case for some of our players in the 90s3-4 tests on an avg are played in Ind annually. Many of those tests are played on sporting wkts too. So taking all forms of tests and list A in to account, the percentage of games that a player plays on such tracks is very less .... This thread is similar to where a person suffers from heart attack and many take it as a muscle pull and rub his chest with ointment to treat the condition Edited November 28, 2015 by rett
adi B Posted November 28, 2015 Posted November 28, 2015 Delhi might just spring a surprise and produce a 500+ wkt and you guys will start the whining again Tbh,these pitches are extreme!! 1-2 rank turners are fine for a four match series not more than that,problem was that Bangalore test match couldn't proceed which was a good test wkt and the fact that india really wanted to dish out saf some epic phainta(no series win against them since 2004)
Pagalpanti Posted November 28, 2015 Posted November 28, 2015 (edited) Mohali seemed fine. Nagpur was a dustbowl though, a lot like Mumbai'04 pitch. And surely not good for the game because, I am quite sure result would've been different had we lost the toss. The call for "true" wickets are rubbish, In India you can't make a wicket that assists seamers and spinners. You make a green top its good for 1 day and road for the next 4. Pitches for England series were the best I've seen in quite sometime. Except Nagpur again which was flat and so slow. Mumbai, Ahemdabad, Kolkata were all good pitches that had turn from Day 1 but lasted 4-5 days. I'd back us to beat SA on those surfaces as well with our current team. We don't need to go to the extent of Nagpur surface to beat SA or any team tbh. Maybe the curator went overboard on this one but pitches like one in Bangalore should be the norm. Good to play your shots and also turn for spinners. Edited November 28, 2015 by Pagalpanti diehardpacer 1
rkt.india Posted November 29, 2015 Posted November 29, 2015 Mohali seemed fine. Nagpur was a dustbowl though, a lot like Mumbai'04 pitch. And surely not good for the game because, I am quite sure result would've been different had we lost the toss. The call for "true" wickets are rubbish, In India you can't make a wicket that assists seamers and spinners. You make a green top its good for 1 day and road for the next 4. Pitches for England series were the best I've seen in quite sometime. Except Nagpur again which was flat and so slow. Mumbai, Ahemdabad, Kolkata were all good pitches that had turn from Day 1 but lasted 4-5 days. I'd back us to beat SA on those surfaces as well with our current team. We don't need to go to the extent of Nagpur surface to beat SA or any team tbh. Maybe the curator went overboard on this one but pitches like one in Bangalore should be the norm. Good to play your shots and also turn for spinners. Mumbai 2004 pitch was worse. It had turn, it had bounce and turn was really sharp. A part-timer Clarke picked up a 6-fer there. Nagpur was a slow pitch. It was nowhere a mine filed. Run scoring was difficult but you stay there if you showed patient. Faf and Amla showed that in the last innings.
Straight Drive Posted November 29, 2015 Posted November 29, 2015 (edited) They're any day better than 500+ runfests of Australia and on par with green pitches in England. Agreed. It's stupid to make pace friendly wickets because someone else makes them. Are the non asian teams making spin friendly wickets? No.. So they should stop cribbing if they dont like our wickets. Edited November 29, 2015 by Straight Drive doccricket 1
jf1gp_1 Posted November 29, 2015 Posted November 29, 2015 So no pitch related issues now that aus nz test got over in 3 days ? Debutant, express bowling and Mosher 3
HippoSucks Posted December 1, 2015 Posted December 1, 2015 So no pitch related issues now that aus nz test got over in 3 days ?The batsman from both sides failed in Adelaide because of technical deficiencies (similar to how the batsman failed on the Mohali pitch because of incompetent batting). The third South Africa test pitch was much more difficult to bat on and batsmen, even if they apply themselves, couldn't do well. diehardpacer 1
amiret Posted December 1, 2015 Posted December 1, 2015 It's Official . ICC Match referee calls Nagpur pitch "poor".In a major embarrassment for BCCI, the ICC on Tuesday rated the track at Nagpur which hosted the third cricket Test between India and South Africa as "poor", triggering a review of the performance of the pitch under the ICC Pitch Monitoring Process.In accordance with Clause 3 of the Process, ICC Match Referee Jeff Crowe submitted his report to the ICC expressing the concerns of the match officials over the performance of the pitch. This report has been forwarded to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), which now has 14 days to provide its response.The pitch at the Vidarbha cricket ground at Jamtha, which is BCCI president Shashank Manohar's home association, saw ample turn from the very first day resulting in the game being over within three days. Manohar, interestingly, is currently also the ICC chairman.
jf1gp_1 Posted December 1, 2015 Posted December 1, 2015 The batsman from both sides failed in Adelaide because of technical deficiencies (similar to how the batsman failed on the Mohali pitch because of incompetent batting). The third South Africa test pitch was much more difficult to bat on and batsmen, even if they apply themselves, couldn't do well. Amla and faf had a partnership which lasted over 45+ overs. Not sure how they lasted that many overs without applying themselves