King Tendulkar Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 4 minutes ago, CG said: Really some of posters here did not watch cricket under Ganguly at home .We did not win every series and even under Dhoni there were draws against SA twice and loss against England.Under Dhoni we really started dominating at home . Agree on ganguly . He started the no backwood stepbattitude but kohli has upped intensity energy levels express bowling 1
jalebi_bhai Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 Needs to be more startegic. Can't be a cheerleader on the pitch. Shunya 1
sensible-indian Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 (edited) We truly fought. The one day we bat properly, we lose just 4 wickets the whole day with a solid run rate. Boom. Now time to put our heads down and make it count. Quite a way to go. Edited March 6, 2017 by sensible-indian Brainfade and Mosher 2
putrevus Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 When your leading bowler is not picking up wickets on bunsen burner your team will struggle.Kohli intensity alone made the difference yesterday, Aussies batted whole day and just lost 6 wickets but Kohli kept all the four bowlers in the game, every bowler did their bit to keep India in the game. Yes Jadeja was under bowled a little bit but that happens , What are people expecting from him. Laaloo, Mosher and express bowling 3
BCCI Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 43 minutes ago, putrevus said: When your leading bowler is not picking up wickets on bunsen burner your team will struggle.Kohli intensity alone made the difference yesterday, Aussies batted whole day and just lost 6 wickets but Kohli kept all the four bowlers in the game, every bowler did their bit to keep India in the game. Yes Jadeja was under bowled a little bit but that happens , What are people expecting from him. Common sense.Bowling Jadeja ,who was picking wickets was the logical decision,instead he was taken off after he picked up a wicket.Anyways the innings is over now and hopefully this was a one-off. Lord 1
Lord Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 10 hours ago, sensible-indian said: Yeah give Kohli those batsmen and he won't lose too. Leave those bats, if we had scored 300 in this pitch in first innings, we would have been in driver's seat. All those past Indian captains would look befuddled too if they had this batting lineup against spin. Let's keep things in perspective. Hes captaining this batting lineup for 2 years now.Why hasnt it improved vs spin.Only Karun Nair is new who is good against spin but gets dropped for Rahane Doesnt help matters when captain is leaving straight deliveries
maniac Posted March 6, 2017 Author Posted March 6, 2017 1 minute ago, Lord said: Hes captaining this batting lineup for 2 years now.Why hasnt it improved vs spin.Only Karun Nair is new who is good against spin but gets dropped for Rahane Doesnt help matters when captain is leaving straight deliveries And after how many matches has he had dip in form? You need a settled line up...just because Rahane has had 1 good game and a youngster has had 1 good innings,you don't make decisions in haste. Yes not giving Jadeja the ball was wrong move but only in hindsight because Jadeja was the most expensive till then and every run taken by Aus as a lead was gold dust.....yes strategy backfired keeping Jadeja away for so long....criticize that but over all most refreshing change in attitude as a captain ever.
Lord Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 1 minute ago, maniac said: And after how many matches has he had dip in form? You need a settled line up...just because Rahane has had 1 good game and a youngster has had 1 good innings,you don't make decisions in haste. Yes not giving Jadeja the ball was wrong move but only in hindsight because Jadeja was the most expensive till then and every run taken by Aus as a lead was gold dust.....yes strategy backfired keeping Jadeja away for so long....criticize that but over all most refreshing change in attitude as a captain ever. Seriously? He bowled 4 overs out of our first 50 or so.And in that he took out Smith.You are talking about his ER?:facepalm: And I'm sure the great Jaddu batting at 5 in a Test match to stabilise innings Sidhoni, Shunya and jalebi_bhai 3
maniac Posted March 6, 2017 Author Posted March 6, 2017 Just now, Lord said: Seriously? He bowled 4 overs out of our first 50 or so.And in that he took out Smith.You are talking about his ER?:facepalm: And I'm sure the great Jaddu batting at 5 in a Test match to stabilise innings Time has gone for survival....Jadeja hacking a 30(25) is way more valuable than him playing a 6(80) type innings on this pitch.......look at Starc his innings have been pretty much the difference so far.
Lord Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 Just now, maniac said: Time has gone for survival....Jadeja hacking a 30(25) is way more valuable than him playing a 6(80) type innings on this pitch.......look at Starc his innings have been pretty much the difference so far. He scored 2 off 12 Starc is a much better batsman,but you wont see him batting at 5
sensible-indian Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 11 minutes ago, Lord said: Hes captaining this batting lineup for 2 years now.Why hasnt it improved vs spin.Only Karun Nair is new who is good against spin but gets dropped for Rahane Doesnt help matters when captain is leaving straight deliveries That's a crazy line of argument Lord ji. You can't drop players like Vijay, Pujara just like that. Rahul was inducted. Rahane was struggling but now he has a backup in Nair. Saha is weak with the bat but that's the price we pay for a solid keeper. When better options come, he will go.
maniac Posted March 6, 2017 Author Posted March 6, 2017 2 minutes ago, Lord said: He scored 2 off 12 Starc is a much better batsman,but you wont see him batting at 5 Well atleast we are finally on the same page on agreeing Jadeja is a hack Laaloo and Lord 2
Lord Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 1 minute ago, sensible-indian said: That's a crazy line of argument Lord ji. You can't drop players like Vijay, Pujara just like that. Rahul was inducted. Rahane was struggling but now he has a backup in Nair. Saha is weak with the bat but that's the price we pay for a solid keeper. When better options come, he will go. Who's talking about dropping? But we can get better with such issues (dropping catches is another) if you work on it.What we've seen this series is completely different from what you expect from Indians.We have only got worse if at all Winning and losing will happens,things go wrong.But when you know the issues,you expect them to work on it. Or else just dont prepare turners.But thats running away from it jalebi_bhai 1
BeautifulGame Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 12 minutes ago, maniac said: And after how many matches has he had dip in form? You need a settled line up...just because Rahane has had 1 good game and a youngster has had 1 good innings,you don't make decisions in haste. Yes not giving Jadeja the ball was wrong move but only in hindsight because Jadeja was the most expensive till then and every run taken by Aus as a lead was gold dust.....yes strategy backfired keeping Jadeja away for so long....criticize that but over all most refreshing change in attitude as a captain ever. Shunya, Sidhoni and jalebi_bhai 3
Ultimate_Game Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 Jadeja batting at 5 should not be considered a bad move. The guy has 2 triple hundreds in Ranji trophy for crying out loud and it made sense to promote him and see what he can do at the top. So far there are only two bad moves I've seen from Kohli - taking the new ball in first Test and not giving Jadeja enough overs in the second one. Other than that you can't fault him for much and hopefully he learns over time. Our struggles with DRS are more due to a less than confident wkt keeper in Saha. Ideally wkt keeper should be the one who gives you the feedback when to review or not as he has the best view. If our wkt keeper can't even convince the captain for a caught behind or looks so uncertain in his appeals and without much conviction it becomes all the more harder for a captain to nail reviews.
sensible-indian Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 Just now, Lord said: Who's talking about dropping? But we can get better with such issues (dropping catches is another) if you work on it.What we've seen this series is completely different from what you expect from Indians.We have only got worse if at all Winning and losing will happens,things go wrong.But when you know the issues,you expect them to work on it. Or else just dont prepare turners.But thats running away from it But you just said: Quote Hes captaining this batting lineup for 2 years now.Why hasnt it improved vs spin. Kohli has to improve on DRS, utilize bowlers betters...all of those are valid criticism.
Lord Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 3 minutes ago, sensible-indian said: But you just said: Kohli has to improve on DRS, utilize bowlers betters...all of those are valid criticism. I meant why hasnt our batting vs spin (and catching) shown any improvement.As a captain he can put the foot down and tell players to improve For example,its the same Umesh Yadav and other pacers that look better under him.We credit him for that so why cant we hold this issue against him.Our current batting against spin isnt just even inability,its pure lack of common sense sometimes
maniac Posted March 6, 2017 Author Posted March 6, 2017 (edited) 5 minutes ago, Lord said: I meant why hasnt our batting vs spin (and catching) shown any improvement.As a captain he can put the foot down and tell players to improve For example,its the same Umesh Yadav and other pacers that look better under him.We credit him for that so why cant we hold this issue against him.Our current batting against spin isnt just even inability,its pure lack of common sense sometimes what is the coach doing here? Captain can motivate his team on the field-Check excellent job Captain leading by example-Apart from the last 3 innings commendable job-Check Captain showing intent-Check. The odd failure in strategies-Part of the game but yes can improve. Individual technique and performance management is the Coach's responsibility Edited March 6, 2017 by maniac
sensible-indian Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 (edited) 5 minutes ago, Lord said: I meant why hasnt our batting vs spin (and catching) shown any improvement.As a captain he can put the foot down and tell players to improve For example,its the same Umesh Yadav and other pacers that look better under him.We credit him for that so why cant we hold this issue against him.Our current batting against spin isnt just even inability,its pure lack of common sense sometimes 1. How can he make batsmen become better players of spin? Batting is such a complicated skillset that batsmen have to work on their game and show results. Kohli in his part is making sure non performers don't get extended runs. Rahane is getting chances cos he has performed (albeit overseas and a bit in Asia) and is the VC. 2. As for pacers, Kohli is credited for backing Umesh and other pacers with raw ability. Not improving them on his own. He is not going to make some trundler become an all conditions bowler. Edited March 6, 2017 by sensible-indian
BeautifulGame Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 I meant why hasnt our batting vs spin (and catching) shown any improvement.As a captain he can put the foot down and tell players to improve For example,its the same Umesh Yadav and other pacers that look better under him.We credit him for that so why cant we hold this issue against him.Our current batting against spin isnt just even inability,its pure lack of common sense sometimes Kohli himself struggles badly on turners .How on earth can he improve other batsmen. It's the fault of the batting coach if anything.