Shastri excellent point on pujara

It's free market economics, you will get paid more if you provide what consumers want. Test cricket is a format understood and followed by a few elites. When the vast majority of the public wants LOIs, you have to live with Test specialists getting paid lesser than their IPL counterparts.

It is like a classical musician earning less than a pop star, or a big budget movie raking in more dollars than a well made indie. If you are an entertainer and people find you boring, tough luck making money. That's life.

Instead of comparing with IPL earnings which is a different animal altogether, what BCCI should do is hand out more Grade A contracts to deserving players. It is a travesty for Pujara, Shami and Vijay to be grouped together with the likes of Rayudu, Raina and Dhawan under a Grade B contract. Maybe they should come up with a more staggered approach towards payments.

And it is not completely doom and gloom anyway, BCCI raised the test match fee from Rs 7 lakh to Rs 15 lakh last year. That is comfortably more than that of English and Australian Test cricketers. Comparing the cost of living in those countries vs ours that does not look bad at all.

interesting thoughts and discussion...

Prompts me to add my two cents.

I am particularly unhappy with some people saying the likes of Che being incapable of playing well on IPL hence drawing lower income. Anyways, I do understand economics and the laws of demand and supply. However we need to keep certain things under perspective if we want to protect Test cricket in the long run.

I want to draw parallel with a couple of current affair topics going on in Tamil Nadu, India. You may remember the Jallikattu. And now the people have joined hands to protest against a hydro carbon initiative in order to protect the agriculture of the region.

We can argue that there is more economic benefit with the Hydro carbon initiative and agriculture is anyways not having a higher ROI.

Here Hydro carbon = IPL; Agriculture = Test

If we just go by economics and keep sacrificing agri lands and farmers for a higher rate of return, then who will produce the rice and wheat that we need for survival.

If people like Che, Shammi are treated like farmers in the country - lets think for a moment, who is important? Farmers producing food or Entertainers producing entertainment?

Look at the response here . My op had 16 thumbs up in blink of an eye 

what does this show ?

the love Indian fans have for tests and how we want our team above all to do well in test . It matters !

yes market forces blah blah . Bcci is loaded and can do what's good for Indian cricket . What did market forces have to do with bcci giving nice deals for all ex players for india ? Come on bcci do what's right . Reward awesome test players like pujara , or he might think might need to change game to earn big bucks :afraid:

8 hours ago, express bowling said:

BCCI rewarded Shami monetarily as he was forced to miss the IPL due to his surgery which he had to undergo as he played through pain to represent his country in the WC 15.

I thought it was a good gesture.

Did they ? That's brilliant by bcci who we criticise a lot . Now they can up this reward for test stars 

personally would love to see bcci say yadav skip ipl . Rest . We will compensate you 

What if our players were allowed to play overseas T20 leagues? In that case many of our players would earn a lot more considering how many such leagues exist and test specialists will miss out there too. Would you be wanting BCCI to compensate them for that as well?

Or, what if Pujara was picked for base price of 10L in the auction? That would be much lower than players described as "talentless". Would BCCI make up for the difference in the prices?

Prioritizing test cricket for giving out contracts is the logical thing to do. Also, like on WC wins BCCI gives rewards they should give rewards for being no. 1 in tests too, or if we win a series in Aus/SA/Eng.

Edited by Sidhoni

Look at the response here . My op had 16 thumbs up in blink of an eye 

what does this show ?

the love Indian fans have for tests and how we want our team above all to do well in test . It matters !

yes market forces blah blah . Bcci is loaded and can do what's good for Indian cricket . What did market forces have to do with bcci giving nice deals for all ex players for india ? Come on bcci do what's right . Reward awesome test players like pujara , or he might think might need to change game to earn big bucks :afraid:

No that shows some in an online forum love test cricket.

If anything was a representation of Indian fans interest that would the stadiums which are near empty for test cricket.

9 hours ago, Prince_ said:

U aren't thinking straight man. Modern cricket is quite different from the past and requires a different pool of players for different formats. 

It's not about Pujara only, it's about setting an example, encouraging the young upcoming players and giving them the assurance that their board will be beside them if they want to make their career in the purist form of cricket. 

If ur best test players aren't rewarded properly and earns less than a nobody player of IPL then it will set a pretty bad example for future generations and hardly anyone will be interested to devote themselves in the longer format. 

I think pretty straight brah. Check this thread:

Pujara already earn probably more than one crore a year when u include his domestic ,international match fees etc .That would probably put in the most elitist supwr rich group in India .

And he isn't compensated enough ?

1 hour ago, BeautifulGame said:

No that shows some in an online forum love test cricket.

If anything was a representation of Indian fans interest that would the stadiums which are near empty for test cricket.

Test cricket is much better followed on TV as it is more about following where the ball lands and how the batter plays it

T20s are enjoyable even when you don't know anything about the trajectory of the ball..... as the scoreboard is fast changing and there is tremendous excitement generated on the ground via big hits and quick wickets.   ODIs come close too.

Test cricket is much better followed on TV as it is more about following where the ball lands and how the batter plays it

T20s are enjoyable even when you don't know anything about the trajectory of the ball..... as the scoreboard is fast changing and there is tremendous excitement generated on the ground via big hits and quick wickets.   ODIs come close too.

Nope much more enjoyable if watch in stadium with the buzz .

I have attended enough to know that lol.Infact that is true for practically any sport.

5 minutes ago, BeautifulGame said:

I have attended enough to know that lol.Infact that is true for practically any sport.

I have been to a lot of test matches too.  The buzz feels good for a day or two but I feel more involved while watching tests on TV

My point is.... there are lots and lots of dedicated test match fans like me who prefer watching tests on TV.  I don't like going to the stadium for test matches these  days but that does not mean I am not watching them.

As stadium facilities improve and ammenties improve may be we will get more crowds at tests in non regular venues.Some of new venues being far away from city also don't help.Last test atmosphere was great.

I don't think Pujara/Dravid/Laxman think about the rewards when they're playing. They consider batting as a ritual and sacred art when they're out there. The pleasure derived from seeing off a difficult spell, playing out a difficult session can't be derived from scoring a meaningless 40 off 20 balls in a pointless T20 match (not demeaning a format, just stating how it is). Yes, money is important, but these guys play from something more which can't be explained in simple words.

The fact is that Pujara was interested in IPL which is evident by the fact that he made himself avialable for the auctions and even played in some IPL matches, could not succeed because his game is not suited to the pace of T20 and ultimately got dropped from playing 11 and finally out of IPL. But he did want the IPL exposure and / or money involved.

Don't BCCI reward player of the year or so. I guess they do and test performances also count. Chet may still win the award if he scores more than others.

Edited by Straight Drive
On 3/18/2017 at 5:27 AM, King Tendulkar said:

In summary 

pujara stellar Indian test bat in ultimate format . Yet some young talentless pup in ipl will earn more then him 

need to reward likes of pujara more . Test cricket is ultimate and incentive must be there 

bcci needs to look at this and reward test stars 

Salman Khan will always make more money than Irrfan Khan because he generates more money.  Aishwarya Rai will make more than Nandita Das.  The average jeweller will usually earn more than the average teacher or law enforcement officer.  It is what it is.  

And in any case, test cricket is not really ultimate; it's just different.  The day 50,000 people show up to watch Pujara play 525 balls or multiple millions of people have their eyes on the TV, we can talk.  Money begets money, and money is not everything.  As long as he is being paid well (which he is), there is nothing to complain.  If we really want to complain, show up at Ranchi to watch the guy bat or stay up all night in the USA watching him pile them up.  

And one last thing added in edit:  If anything, pay constables and Jawans more because they are not making a living wage.  They have a legitimate grouse.  But that's a Chit Chat topic for another time ...  

Edited by Brainfade