Supreme Court removes Thakur, Shirke from top BCCI posts

bowl_out

If every state can have a separate CM, damn sure they can have a separate vote .

States in India are divided based on their diversity no nothing wrong with giving representation based on it .Yes we need a even fairer representation based on population but this is at least good first step.

What was a real joke was giving votes to the likes Mumbai Vidarba Baroda etc .All this has ensured is that most of the funding is completely diverted to these monopolized associations .What a pathetic situation when 10% Population in Bihar has no vote or funding so that these boards can continue to monopolize India cricket .

Judicial overreach. Corruption and nepotism are rampant in most sporting bodies in India, yet the SC sees it fit to interfere only in the affairs of the BCCI. What about the IOA which was derecognized? When will Lodha-ji bring out his recommendations for the IOA?  

Government nepotism then.Modi govt will interfere with IOA but won't even touch the corrupt BCCI because their own people are dominating it .

Goes both ways .

The SC will appoint a group of retired judges to run BCCI.I wonder if retired judges are all knowing.They will claim hefty salaries and benefits.The ICC will treat BCCI as it treats other asian boards.There was one sport in India that was doing well,thanks SC for destroying it.

Now the only hope is that they conduct an election at BCCI ASAP.

Even at their worst they won't be worse than a guy who appointed himself selector so that he can be selected for him state team.

Yeah how ICC treats BCCI is more important than improving cricket in India .

5 hours ago, gattaca said:

Retired judges are only that can be trusted obviously no one in BCCI cant be trusted after what thakur and shirke did. So we let Manipur cricket not develop because they don't have a vote that is how BCCI worked they used to ignore tier two and three cities ask how people of Bihar feel they don't have a fricking stadium. Where was BCCI ? right they were busy pulling the rug underneath the guy who opposed Srini. Bjp already has a rule to not have any one above 70 to govern. It is other parties that have to follow. People retire at 58 from government jobs 70 is good enough.  Look at bastman and spinner ? India has been producing them for years. The popularity of the sport is churning out these talents. England definelty had produced good spinners underwood, Swann and even Australia had Richie benaud , Shane warne, McGill. How many series wins ? They atleast won one series each and came close to win 2001. Did we win any in Australia or newzealand or England recently ?

1.So out of 1.3bn people there isnt a single cricketer,finance guy,marketing person and administration expert who can be in the Overseer committee?Only retired judges?

2.You still havent told me what was the qualification and experience of these judges,in administration,finance,marketing and administration to make them competent to recommend such changes.

3.Let Manipur make any credible anvancement in cricket.Take example of Chattisgarh.They were not a full member of BCCI.But the local committee with the help the govt and with its own efforts made a big stadium,got together a credible team and now they are full members of BCCI and play Ranji.FYI all states are associate members of BCCI and receive a certain amount,full members receive larger amounts.

4.Bihar has a stadium in Patna.It has hosted 2 ODIs.After Jharkhand was created,the question was which state will get the BCCI seat.In Bihar Lalu hijacked the Bihar cricket association and became its President,a rival faction led by BJP MP Kirti Azad made another association and a third party made a third association.All 3 applied for BCCI membership,Lalu even tried to arm twist BCCI with his goondagardi.Finally the 3 associations reached the court and the case is on.BCCI then gave the seat to Jharkhand.

5.BJP doesnt have a retirement age.Only that people above 75 years are not made central ministers.There are many 75 plus MPs in BJP.

6.If Swann and Underwoood are examples then we have had Kapil,Srinath and Zakk.

7.India won the series in Eng in 2007 and in NZ in 2009.NZ has never won a series in India and Eng also won in India in 2012 after 25 years. India is also the only SC team to win in WI.

8.What are you tallking about Srini?

54 minutes ago, BeautifulGame said:

Government nepotism then.Modi govt will interfere with IOA but won't even touch the corrupt BCCI because their own people are dominating it .

Goes both ways .

I know it's hard, but try not to be partisan here. This is about judicial overreach, not Modi government. The judiciary are strictly interpreters of law; they are not enforcers. The judiciary is as corrupt as any of the sporting bodies and they have no business in hiring or firing people from private bodies. It can barely do its own job properly, so I find it rich when judges act all sanctimonious.

Look, I have no love for the BCCI netas but there is a limit for everything. Recommendations are recommendations, not diktats.  

If every state can have a separate CM, damn sure they can have a separate vote .

States in India are divided based on their diversity no nothing wrong with giving representation based on it .Yes we need a even fairer representation based on population but this is at least good first step.

What was a real joke was giving votes to the likes Mumbai Vidarba Baroda etc .All this has ensured is that most of the funding is completely diverted to these monopolized associations .What a pathetic situation when 10% Population in Bihar has no vote or funding so that these boards can continue to monopolize India cricket .

States in India were divided linguistically based on demands from the public and for easier administration within the state using language as a unifying factor.

States in India receive funds from the center based on each state's share of taxes and duties.

Why should funds for administering cricket be divided based on language? You need the best eleven players from the country to represent the international team. What language he speaks is immaterial, that notion is absurd.

If Maharashtra and Gujarat receive excess funds for cricket administration and Bihar feels hard done by, then that is a problem that should be tackled separately. Two wrongs don't make a right.

I have my concerns in this Lodha commitee. To improve sports in India, it is a must have so we can make sure everything is done under government compliance etc.

But why just BCCI? Why not also IOC which needs more proper governance and Indian tennis association(AITA) and all other sports bodies in India especially Hockey's IAH. 

I hope the government does not have special interest in only the rich board like BCCI but actually also have concerns about boards like AITA, IAH which need proper governance structure so these bodies can manage their respetive sports in a better way than what they have been doing so far. Many sportsmen and women in India who are top talents and medal contenders are losing their careers to injuries etc and nothing has been done. They need financial support as well proper financial management plan. 

Lodha committe better be on it instead of just focussing on the rich BCCI. 

2 hours ago, Malcolm Merlyn said:

1.So out of 1.3bn people there isnt a single cricketer,finance guy,marketing person and administration expert who can be in the Overseer committee?Only retired judges?

2.You still havent told me what was the qualification and experience of these judges,in administration,finance,marketing and administration to make them competent to recommend such changes.

3.Let Manipur make any credible anvancement in cricket.Take example of Chattisgarh.They were not a full member of BCCI.But the local committee with the help the govt and with its own efforts made a big stadium,got together a credible team and now they are full members of BCCI and play Ranji.FYI all states are associate members of BCCI and receive a certain amount,full members receive larger amounts.

4.Bihar has a stadium in Patna.It has hosted 2 ODIs.After Jharkhand was created,the question was which state will get the BCCI seat.In Bihar Lalu hijacked the Bihar cricket association and became its President,a rival faction led by BJP MP Kirti Azad made another association and a third party made a third association.All 3 applied for BCCI membership,Lalu even tried to arm twist BCCI with his goondagardi.Finally the 3 associations reached the court and the case is on.BCCI then gave the seat to Jharkhand.

5.BJP doesnt have a retirement age.Only that people above 75 years are not made central ministers.There are many 75 plus MPs in BJP.

6.If Swann and Underwoood are examples then we have had Kapil,Srinath and Zakk.

7.India won the series in Eng in 2007 and in NZ in 2009.NZ has never won a series in India and Eng also won in India in 2012 after 25 years. India is also the only SC team to win in WI.

8.What are you tallking about Srini?

For 1 and 2 why is anurag thakur fired. Because he couldn't implement what Supreme Court suggested. If they appoint someone from cricket again BCCI babus will arm twist them.

3. So if you give enough money to develop a stadium how can associate boards develop grass root level cricket. This like going in a circle. You develop first then we will give you money. If you don't give money how will they develop.

4. Cricket existed in India before independence. How come Bihar board is an issue now. 

5. Pawar has been ruling roost for years still Srini is there , dalimiya was with Kolkata for long time why do these guys get lifetime presidency for their respective state boards. If you want sharad pawar even after 75. The main goal of remove the power these gain with many years at BCCI.

6. I just named two guys I know they might more spinners. But the three guys you named are entire history of Indian cricket.

Edited by gattaca
7 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

I have my concerns in this Lodha commitee. To improve sports in India, it is a must have so we can make sure everything is done under government compliance etc.

But why just BCCI? Why not also IOC which needs more proper governance and Indian tennis association(AITA) and all other sports bodies in India especially Hockey's IAH. 

I hope the government does not have special interest in only the rich board like BCCI but actually also have concerns about boards like AITA, IAH which need proper governance structure so these bodies can manage their respetive sports in a better way than what they have been doing so far. Many sportsmen and women in India who are top talents and medal contenders are losing their careers to injuries etc and nothing has been done. They need financial support as well proper financial management plan. 

Lodha committe better be on it instead of just focussing on the rich BCCI. 

Lodha committee was formed to punish individuals like Srini son in law and outline reform so this doesn't happen. Spot fixing in IPL kicked this off. Spot fixing showed nexus between administrators and bookies. Don't know if other sports had similar issues and also cricket has more exposure in media as well.

19 minutes ago, gattaca said:

Lodha committee was formed to punish individuals like Srini son in law and outline reform so this doesn't happen. Spot fixing in IPL kicked this off. Spot fixing showed nexus between administrators and bookies. Don't know if other sports had similar issues and also cricket has more exposure in media as well.

Other sports might not have fixing issue but our Olympic association is a disaster and the least I say about tennis association the better

Ever heard of Yuki Bhambri? He is as good as Rohit Sharma or Rahane or Pujara in Tennis. A junior Australian Open champion who reached in top 100 recently but did not get any government or tennis association support and later he had to rely on gofundme.com support

Can you imagine a player who gave Andy Murray hard time as a youngster few years back asking for funds through gofundme? Guess he is back now, but people like him need support but corrupt organisations ate eating all the money .