These Six players and the combination must play for India to win in England and Australia

Cricketics

13 minutes ago, maniac said:

Apart from Anderson and to some extent Broad  none of the English bowlers have shown the capability to swing either...Woakes and the others who played in Aus seemed very one dimensional....Woakes has pace and can bat same with Ben Stokes.

You are completely forgetting Toby Roland-Jones who was excellent against South Africa and can swing the ball plenty.

He was injured for Ashes.

22 minutes ago, anish2tweet said:

We need to take one experienced opener and Shubhman Gill. Shubhman should be blooded as early as possible- I am confused which experienced opener should be taken to England though (Vijay,Rahul, Dhawan). 

Shaw is ahead in Test. Shubham I believe in ODI’s.

If Pant doesn’t get picked, I will tour with Karthik as reserve wicket keeper and make him open if require since he has already done well in England as an opener.

22 minutes ago, maniac said:

Apart from Anderson and to some extent Broad  none of the English bowlers have shown the capability to swing either...Woakes and the others who played in Aus seemed very one dimensional....Woakes has pace and can bat same with Ben Stokes.

Woakes does swing the ball. Ball doesn't swing in Australia so don't go by that. He was great last time in England.

25 minutes ago, anish2tweet said:

Dhoni did not drop many during his stint. He was infact very good behind the stumps. Why he cannot be called the greatest wicketkeeper?

Dhoni didn't take many too

1 hour ago, Cricketics said:

Tabhi bol raha hoon aur logo ko bhool ja sirf un 6 logo per umeed rakh.

Arrey un 6 logon kya karenge when people around them are passengers, the typical Indian mindset kicks in and the support system sucks donkey balls? Now if two of those three factors changed, then there would be some hope. Tu bhi yaar, optimism ki had hoti hain!!! :wall::facepalm:

11 minutes ago, dandaroy said:

Arrey un 6 logon kya karenge when people around them are passengers, the typical Indian mindset kicks in and the support system sucks donkey balls? Now if two of those three factors changed, then there would be some hope. Tu bhi yaar, optimism ki had hoti hain!!! :wall::facepalm:

Kisko khilaye fir.

We have to persist with Rahul for now as he is the youngest among all.

1 minute ago, Cricketics said:

Kisko khilaye fir.

We have to persist with Rahul for now as he is the youngest among all.

I agree with you that Pujara, Kohli and Rahane needs to be in the side and given ample chances to succeed. They are a better bet than anyone else in the team, especially overseas. I am not sold on Vijay, I think his time is up. I would actually give Rahul more chances and maybe move Pujara to open with him. Take a look at this Prithvi kid, I know he is young, but he is killing it in domestic circles, and maybe we ought to throw him in the fire. But then I worry that he needs to have a good mentor around him which he would lack in the team. For wk, I would do away with these tried ones, Saha, Parthiv, Karthik, etc. Throw Risabh Pant in the mix. Pandya needs to be mentored a bit. He has potential, but has really wasted his spot after the first innings. I would keep him. For bowling. Bhuvi and Bumrah are fine for bowling. Bhuvi has also shown the ability to bat a bit as well. As far as Shami is concerned, if he does not improve his fitness, I would give him a warning and even drop him. Drop Ishant and try Umesh instead. Yeah he is erratic, but he is miles better than Pissant who looks like runs in and bowls the same phucking delivery every time. 

So for England, I would try this and keep this combination for at least two may be three tests to give them chance to succeed. And Kohli needs to encourage and back these players. Also go to England 3-4 weeks before the first test and practice, practice, practice (I am sure BCCI schedule will not allow this). Finally, I would take a team counselor (psychologist) on tour, someone who understands the Indian pysche and vulnerable mindset. 

Rahul

Pujara

Shaw

Kohli (c)

Rahane (vc)

Pant (wk)

Pandya

??  Ideally a spinner spot (I am unsure of Ashwin, but do not know who else - Kuldeep maybe; if you want just someone to bowl line and length and long overs maybe Jadeja)

Bhuvi

Bumrah

Shami (if he is fitter) / Umesh

26 minutes ago, dandaroy said:

I agree with you that Pujara, Kohli and Rahane needs to be in the side and given ample chances to succeed. They are a better bet than anyone else in the team, especially overseas. I am not sold on Vijay, I think his time is up. I would actually give Rahul more chances and maybe move Pujara to open with him. Take a look at this Prithvi kid, I know he is young, but he is killing it in domestic circles, and maybe we ought to throw him in the fire. But then I worry that he needs to have a good mentor around him which he would lack in the team. For wk, I would do away with these tried ones, Saha, Parthiv, Karthik, etc. Throw Risabh Pant in the mix. Pandya needs to be mentored a bit. He has potential, but has really wasted his spot after the first innings. I would keep him. For bowling. Bhuvi and Bumrah are fine for bowling. Bhuvi has also shown the ability to bat a bit as well. As far as Shami is concerned, if he does not improve his fitness, I would give him a warning and even drop him. Drop Ishant and try Umesh instead. Yeah he is erratic, but he is miles better than Pissant who looks like runs in and bowls the same phucking delivery every time. 

So for England, I would try this and keep this combination for at least two may be three tests to give them chance to succeed. And Kohli needs to encourage and back these players. Also go to England 3-4 weeks before the first test and practice, practice, practice (I am sure BCCI schedule will not allow this). Finally, I would take a team counselor (psychologist) on tour, someone who understands the Indian pysche and vulnerable mindset. 

Rahul

Pujara

Shaw

Kohli (c)

Rahane (vc)

Pant (wk)

Pandya

??  Ideally a spinner spot (I am unsure of Ashwin, but do not know who else - Kuldeep maybe; if you want just someone to bowl line and length and long overs maybe Jadeja)

Bhuvi

Bumrah

I don’t mind that line up but I rather have Shaw be thrown at top order than come down at first.

This is only because I want to make sure Pujara is comfortable batting at top.

Pujara isn’t Dravid that he can play and do whatever be asked for the team. If Pujara is not comfortable openig, then I will stick with him at 3 where he has done a decent job.

However one important change which we can make is if Pujara is able to open, we can actually out Rahane at 3.

Yes, lets not forget Rahane, when he was in top form overseas, should have actually batted at 3 instead of coming late at 5.

So if Pujara opens, we can put Rahane at 3, and new guy Shaw at 5 may be.

The best players need to bat up and Rahane likes playing shots so for him number 3 would dit perfectly. 

6 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

I don’t mind that line up but I rather have Shaw be thrown at top order than come down at first.

This is only because I want to make sure Pujara is comfortable batting at top.

Pujara isn’t Dravid that he can play and do whatever be asked for the team. If Pujara is not comfortable openig, then I will stick with him at 3 where he has done a decent job.

However one important change which we can make is if Pujara is able to open, we can actually out Rahane at 3.

Yes, lets not forget Rahane, when he was in top form overseas, should have actually batted at 3 instead of coming late at 5.

So if Pujara opens, we can put Rahane at 3, and new guy Shaw at 5 may be.

The best players need to bat up and Rahane likes playing shots so for him number 3 would dit perfectly. 

I am actually surprised Pujara failed in England last time ...The current England pitches are tailor made for a player like him...more than Kohli I expect him to make hay in England.

I am not surprised by Pujara’s failures and Kohli’s succes in Australia though.

Just now, maniac said:

I am actually surprised Pujara failed in England last time ...The current England pitches are tailor made for a player like him...more than Kohli I expect him to make hay in England.

I am not surprised by Pujara’s failures and Kohli’s succes in Australia though.

Pujara even failed during county season few months ago after battinf plenty of times against domestic English bowlers.

However I don’t think its Pujara’s weakness in technique or anything. Its more of the game which he plays. I don’t want him to change his game which is to take “his time”. I just want him to make most of the bad balls.  He is too choosy about picking the worst ball. He needs to go after other average deliveries and start playing square cuts and stuff or take quick singles and get of strike to built the team score and get some runs for himself.

In other words, the guy needs to start getting selfish about scoring runs by dropping the ball and taking quick single and get of strike. He tends to get into some shell when he goes overseas. He doesn’t do this a lot at home.

This is what is wrong with Pujara when he bats overseas. The runrate and all other technique is absolutely fine. Pujara just needs to rotate a bit more and not worry about playing 6 balls of every over.

He needs to learn from Kohli, Root or Smith who rotate and get of strike in every format. 

Just now, Cricketics said:

Pujara even failed during county season few months ago after battinf plenty of times against domestic English bowlers.

However I don’t think its Pujara’s weakness in technique or anything. Its more of the game which he plays. I don’t want him to change his game which is to take “his time”. I just want him to make most of the bad balls.  He is too choosy about picking the worst ball. He needs to go after other average deliveries and start playing square cuts and stuff or take quick singles and get of strike to built the team score and get some runs for himself.

In other words, the guy needs to start getting selfish about scoring runs by dropping the ball and taking quick single and get of strike. He tends to get into some shell when he goes overseas. He doesn’t do this a lot at home.

This is what is wrong with Pujara when he bats overseas. The runrate and all other technique is absolutely fine. Pujara just needs to rotate a bit more and not worry about playing 6 balls of every over.

He needs to learn from Kohli, Root or Smith who rotate and get of strike in every format. 

Kohli Root and Smith have the stroke play that Pujara doesn’t...Pujara is more in the Cook mould the % cricketer...That is why I am surprised he didn’t do well in England.

1 minute ago, maniac said:

Kohli Root and Smith have the stroke play that Pujara doesn’t...Pujara is more in the Cook mould the % cricketer...That is why I am surprised he didn’t do well in England.

Pujara should do well in England if he rotates with Kohli who comes next. You don’t need strokes all the time. Pujara if he can scores, 20s, and 30s by doing the hard work, means he can score another 30-40 runs by rotating and playing smart cricket.

Its all mental and slight presance of mind difference between him and players who score in England. Once you have a fellow player doing well, he might start scoring runs too. Kohli bats at four with him usually. Last time Kohli failed and so did Pujara. This time if he scores, which I am sure he will, he will carry Pujara and make sure they score runs together in p’ship.

Sometimes you need the other partner to score runs and rotate with you so that you can get in the zone of scoring the runs.

How your partner plays in a test match also impacts your game. Kohli doing well this time in England will also ensure there are some good p’ships with Pujara which would mean Pujara also scoring runs. 

Just now, Cricketics said:

Pujara should do well in England if he rotates with Kohli who comes next. You don’t need strokes all the time. Pujara if he can scores, 20s, and 30s by doing the hard work, means he can score another 30-40 runs by rotating and playing smart cricket.

Its all mental and slight presance of mind difference between him and players who score in England. Once you have a fellow player doing well, he might start scoring runs too. Kohli bats at four with him usually. Last time Kohli failed and so did Pujara. This time if he scores, which I am sure he will, he will carry Pujara and make sure they score runs together in p’ship.

Sometimes you need the other partner to score runs and rotate with you so that you can get in the zone of scoring the runs.

How your partner plays in a test match also impacts your game. Kohli doing well this time in England will also ensure there are some good p’ships with Pujara which would mean Pujara also scoring runs. 

It’s about % cricket which made Vijay such a success overseas in our last run but looks like he has lost it...Pujara is in the same mould...if he cannot run between the wickets and is athletically challenged that is fine...He needs to pick his scoring options and not just block even half volleys and spinners overseas.

Pujara can easily play out likes of Anderson and Broar for 10(70) and make up against Ali etc for 40(60) that would still be valuable but he even goes into a shell against 2nd string bowlers overseas...today he did well against pehle khaake aayo before he gots Jaffa from him.

15 hours ago, Tattieboy said:

I will put it another way, why should the ECB and counties help India to beat England ?play a few games then disappear to beat England 

Because the counties will be falling all over themselves to sign Indian players once they express their desire to play there.  Because money talks and Bull-tatti walks.  

The six mentioned in op only caters a Chepu Kohli and a pacer.

3/6 wont win us a game. 3 more needed i.e  a opener, a spinner, a keeper, a pacer (Bhuvi), Kohli and Chepu.

Test cricket is also about milestones. Bring personnel milestones back in system and take Sharmas  out of system

Rahul

Vijay

Pujara

Kohli(c)

Rahane

Ashwin

Hardik

Saha

BK

Shami

Bumrah

Reserves:- Mayank Agarwal,Karun Nair,Parthiv/Karthik,Jadeja,Ishant,Umesh.

Dhawan & Rohit should be dropped from test squad asap.

Edited by ShebbySB
12 hours ago, dandaroy said:

Rahul

Pujara

Shaw

Kohli (c)

Rahane (vc)

Pant (wk)

Pandya

Bhuvi

Bumrah

has this account been hacked?? :smiley: You have written a positive, forward looking post!!! <JK> I agree with your post a 100% though..