Mariyam Posted October 23, 2024 Posted October 23, 2024 On 10/22/2024 at 12:50 PM, New guy said: Mother tongue is malayalam. Brought up in North Why did the Malayalee cross the road? *simbly* Stan AF 1
New guy Posted October 23, 2024 Posted October 23, 2024 23 minutes ago, Mariyam said: Why did the Malayalee cross the road? *simbly* Dont mess with a malayali, we are those who - bore addicha, terichi addikum Mariyam 1
Mariyam Posted October 23, 2024 Posted October 23, 2024 Just now, New guy said: Dont mess with a malayali, we are those who - bore addicha, terichi addikum I would never mess with you. I don't get the reference here. What is your connection to Bengali/Bengal? I am sure I remember reading you argue with @Gollum? in Bengali in a Sachin Tendulkar related thread. Those threads always make for a great read. New guy 1
coffee_rules Posted October 23, 2024 Posted October 23, 2024 (edited) 35 minutes ago, Mariyam said: Why did the Malayalee cross the road? *simbly* There is no equivalent consonant for that L in English. It is the Ly as in a retroflex lateral flap ळ (ḷa) Edited October 23, 2024 by coffee_rules
New guy Posted October 23, 2024 Posted October 23, 2024 (edited) 20 minutes ago, Mariyam said: I would never mess with you. I don't get the reference here. What is your connection to Bengali/Bengal? I am sure I remember reading you argue with @Gollum? in Bengali in a Sachin Tendulkar related thread. Those threads always make for a great read. It was a dad joke my dad used to (still does) make. If I ever said said - Bore adikkua which translates literally to "bore maar raha hai", he would always say tirichi addiku - meaning, "then hit it back". So in my reply to you, I said dont mess with a malayali, we are those who even hit boriyat back. And bengali connection is through my wife, who is a bengali. Edited October 23, 2024 by New guy Mariyam 1
Mariyam Posted October 24, 2024 Posted October 24, 2024 21 hours ago, New guy said: It was a dad joke my dad used to (still does) make. If I ever said said - Bore adikkua which translates literally to "bore maar raha hai", he would always say tirichi addiku - meaning, "then hit it back". So in my reply to you, I said dont mess with a malayali, we are those who even hit boriyat back. And bengali connection is through my wife, who is a bengali. Aww that is so sweet, learning your wife's mother tongue. You must be a hit with the in laws. IIRC @BacktoCricaddict also speaks his Marathi, his wife's language. @coffee_rules do you speak Telugu? BacktoCricaddict and coffee_rules 2
coffee_rules Posted October 24, 2024 Posted October 24, 2024 3 hours ago, Mariyam said: Aww that is so sweet, learning your wife's mother tongue. You must be a hit with the in laws. IIRC @BacktoCricaddict also speaks his Marathi, his wife's language. @coffee_rules do you speak Telugu? Speak Telugu? I can't say that "I can talk Telugu, walk Telugu because Telugu is a phunny language." I can hold a conversation with simple sentences mixing Telugu verbs with English nouns. Coffee taagtaara? Lunch aainda? But can totally understand Telugu after seeing many many movies with her. So much that I can totally understand what my wife complains to her mom about me. Mariyam, singhvivek141 and randomGuy 1 2
BacktoCricaddict Posted October 24, 2024 Posted October 24, 2024 5 hours ago, Mariyam said: IIRC @BacktoCricaddict also speaks his Marathi, his wife's language. It sure helped that my Hindi was already decent. I basically understand everything that is said in Marathi, and can watch Marathi TV/movies with no subtitles. But I still hesitate to speak because it is easy to mess up gender-references. Mariyam 1
G_B_ Posted October 25, 2024 Posted October 25, 2024 22 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said: It sure helped that my Hindi was already decent. I basically understand everything that is said in Marathi, and can watch Marathi TV/movies with no subtitles. But I still hesitate to speak because it is easy to mess up gender-references. Masta biddu!
Mariyam Posted October 25, 2024 Posted October 25, 2024 1 hour ago, G_B_ said: Masta biddu! Thats JackieShroffspeak not Marathi!!
BacktoCricaddict Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 10 hours ago, Mariyam said: Thats JackieShroffspeak not Marathi!! If that was Marathi, he would be Jackie Saraf. coffee_rules and Mariyam 2
singhvivek141 Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 11 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said: If that was Marathi, he would be Jackie Saraf. Saraf or Sarraf ? Sarraf is a common word in North for the folks who're are in ornaments business.
coffee_rules Posted October 26, 2024 Posted October 26, 2024 59 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: Saraf or Sarraf ? Sarraf is a common word in North for the folks who're are in ornaments business. Saraf is a common Marathi last name. Remember a TV actor named Ashok Saraf and he came from Marathi Cinema. And also Nivedita Saraf BacktoCricaddict 1
diga Posted May 21, 2025 Posted May 21, 2025 https://x.com/VeeraBallalaV/status/1925124820796408150 @Mariyam / @coffee_rules Views of Banu Mushtaq on Kannada vs Urdu.. for the uninitiated her work won the booker prize https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/karnataka/who-is-banu-mushtaq-kannada-writer-who-scripted-history-with-international-booker-prize-win/article69600716.ece coffee_rules 1
randomGuy Posted May 23, 2025 Posted May 23, 2025 According to ChapGPT Language Similarity with Hindi (out of 10) Bhojpuri 9/10 Very close to Hindi; mutually intelligible. Punjabi 8/10 Similar grammar and vocabulary; different script. Marathi 7.5/10 Shares Indo-Aryan roots; close grammar and lexicon. Gujarati 7/10 Similar structure and vocabulary; different phonetics. Bengali 6/10 Shares some vocabulary; different phonology, grammar, and script. Odia 5.5/10 Some common roots, but notable structural differences. Telugu 3/10 Dravidian; some Sanskrit influence shared with Hindi. Kannada 3/10 Dravidian; limited similarity via Sanskrit-based words. Malayalam 2.5/10 Dravidian; script and grammar very different; some Sanskrit loanwords. Tamil 2/10 Dravidian; minimal similarity in structure or vocabulary.
Sean Bradley Posted May 23, 2025 Posted May 23, 2025 Indi toda toda malum coffee_rules, Lone Wolf, randomGuy and 1 other 1 2 1
coffee_rules Posted May 23, 2025 Posted May 23, 2025 (edited) 3 hours ago, Sean Bradley said: Indi toda toda malum Accha hain. Itna bhi mat thodo Edited May 23, 2025 by coffee_rules randomGuy 1
randomGuy Posted May 23, 2025 Posted May 23, 2025 On 5/22/2025 at 3:52 AM, diga said: https://x.com/VeeraBallalaV/status/1925124820796408150 @Mariyam / @coffee_rules Views of Banu Mushtaq on Kannada vs Urdu.. for the uninitiated her work won the booker prize https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/karnataka/who-is-banu-mushtaq-kannada-writer-who-scripted-history-with-international-booker-prize-win/article69600716.ece I don't know this woman but sharing this since I follow Sanjay Dixit -
coffee_rules Posted May 23, 2025 Posted May 23, 2025 16 minutes ago, randomGuy said: I don't know this woman but sharing this since I follow Sanjay Dixit - @diga I came across this interview of her 3 years back. Quite a Arfa Khannum style intellectual. She's celebrating the Shah Bano case !! https://article-14.com/post/-in-karnataka-cultural-practices-basavanna-fought-against-are-getting-reintroduced--6231ec2685c76 What would be your advice to the girls at the forefront of the hijab issue? I would say continue fighting in the courts but also continue your studies in the meantime. Colleges are saying they will make provision for a designated place to remove hijab before entering the classroom. There is nothing more valuable than education for a woman. We have to choose our battles wisely. The resistance we all showed against CAA in the recent years was commendable. The entire community galvanised around the issue. But that will not happen in the case of the hijab issue. Remember what happened in the Shah Bano case? Our rigidity became fodder for the divisive politics of BJP. But do you think the Sangh Parivar will stop at the hijab issue? They won’t. But as a community we should be wise enough to know which issue to fight for and which to let go. And everyone has realised it and that is why you don’t see widespread support from within the community. Because the hijab issue is a double-edged sword and resistance to this will be used for vote bank politics by the right wing. Also, I personally think there is no need of exhibitionism in Islam. Progessive, anti-Majority, anti-RW, randomGuy 1
diga Posted May 23, 2025 Posted May 23, 2025 I was only pointing out her stance on language.. not sure about her proclivities with respect to religion coffee_rules and randomGuy 2