putrevus Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 (edited) 5 minutes ago, jusarrived said: How would anyone know who the backups are without even trying them? There are dozens of batsmen performing in domestic and A tours. You won't drop failures, you won't try any new talents and you can't get the best out of players who have done well in the past? Let's not blame coach/captain. So now coach has to watch and keep a track on all domestic matches also , what are selectors doing then.He is getting best out of bowlers and one batsman let forget that also. Dropping failures is the job of selectors, don't confuse roles. Edited August 10, 2018 by putrevus UrmiSinhaRay 1
Global.Baba Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Just now, putrevus said: Last time I checked they did play first test and still openers did not get past single digits in second test either.But you are saying these guys would have scored 100s if they had extra day practice.Aussies came and whopped India in Pune when Kumble was coach so didn't they practice enough then? Coach is best judge to see what player wants.I don't put much stock on these practice games. Practice may or may not have made a difference, As an international athlete you are required to prepare 100% regardless. Now if a team management is going out of it's way to cancel practice schedules you have a problem. You don't rate a captain/coach a leader in general based on the results. Stephen Fleming is rated as a better captain than Ricky Ponting. Kumble may not have been a great coach tactically but his commitment cannot be questioned. Here is a guy who was removed as the complaint against him was he was being a "headmaster". That can mean 2 things either he was taking a cane and whipping the players on the knuckles or he was trying to instill discipline. Now you be the judge. On the other hand here we have a team management where players are taking selfies after cancelling practice matches,doing their own thing and showing total lack of accountability. It is not that difficult to see. UrmiSinhaRay and Switchblade 1 1
SK_IH Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Haven't seen a ball of this test but debate here is quite entertaining UrmiSinhaRay 1
coffee_rules Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 2 minutes ago, Straight Drive said: True. Actually teams in past have criticized for lack of practice matches. The last few years is the first time practice matches are skipped and whatever are being played are shortened as well. indeed, the practice matches are not given the due importance in recent past. f It has to be a match like setting instead of all 18 play. It is BS . might as well have a net session. Plus Eng/Aus/SA started playing their C teams in practice matches just to make teams feel confident. Only India gives their brightest to play in their Board Prex X1 teams. UrmiSinhaRay 1
Sgattick10 Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Just saw the score card Pujara run out UrmiSinhaRay 1
jusarrived Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Just now, putrevus said: So now coach has to watch and keep a track on all domestic matches also , what are selectors doing then.He is getting best out of bowlers and one batsmen let forget that also. Dropping failures is the job of selectors, don't confuse roles. Nice one. You saying Virat does not have a say in selections? Dhawan and Rohit are actually msk prasads friends so they keep making the team? Switchblade and UrmiSinhaRay 1 1
RAZPOR Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 41 minutes ago, Switchblade said: Captain ko pasand nahi hai captain ke ghar ki team thodi hai UrmiSinhaRay 1
Straight Drive Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 1 minute ago, coffee_rules said: It has to be a match like setting instead of all 18 play. It is BS . might as well have a net session. Plus Eng/Aus/SA started playing their C teams in practice matches just to make teams feel confident. Only India gives their brightest to play in their Board Prex X1 teams. Here the matches are cancelled, the number of players etc is secondary. Touring party will prefer all players get time in middle so that will continue at times, unless the practice match is in country which has similar type of wickets to what touring team is used to.
Global.Baba Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 5 minutes ago, putrevus said: So now coach has to watch and keep a track on all domestic matches also , what are selectors doing then.He is getting best out of bowlers and one batsman let forget that also. Dropping failures is the job of selectors, don't confuse roles. Selectors are ok,not great but they have selected a few youngsters every series. Now if these youngsters are not getting a shot despite them being in a squad it is the fault of the coach/captain. If you are giving the entire blame to the captain,once again it is the coach's fault for letting the captain walk all over you. Switchblade and UrmiSinhaRay 1 1
putrevus Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 (edited) 9 minutes ago, Global.Baba said: Practice may or may not have made a difference, As an international athlete you are required to prepare 100% regardless. Now if a team management is going out of it's way to cancel practice schedules you have a problem. You don't rate a captain/coach a leader in general based on the results. Stephen Fleming is rated as a better captain than Ricky Ponting. Kumble may not have been a great coach tactically but his commitment cannot be questioned. Here is a guy who was removed as the complaint against him was he was being a "headmaster". That can mean 2 things either he was taking a cane and whipping the players on the knuckles or he was trying to instill discipline. Now you be the judge. On the other hand here we have a team management where players are taking selfies after cancelling practice matches,doing their own thing and showing total lack of accountability. It is not that difficult to see. If the management of the team thinks it is best for the team to have less practice who are you tell otherwise.These guys are playing non stop cricket , resting sometime is important. So why you rating Shastri poor then ,on what basis is Shastri poor , he had very good results also. Why should you be headmaster , what exactly was Kumble trying which caused players to rebel. Do you find any player out of shape or captain looking to take short cuts. So taking selfies is now a crime, they have lives outside the ground , why are you so much bothered about what they are doing outside the grounds, have they been in any trouble late nights. These are players let them enjoy their lives, they are not robots. Edited August 10, 2018 by putrevus
putrevus Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 3 minutes ago, Global.Baba said: Selectors are ok,not great but they have selected a few youngsters every series. Now if these youngsters are not getting a shot despite them being in a squad it is the fault of the coach/captain. If you are giving the entire blame to the captain,once again it is the coach's fault for letting the captain walk all over you. What youngsters were denied chances??? Other than Pant I don't recollect any youngster being denied chance when it was needed but Pant was competing with Dhoni.
asterix Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Just abandon the match... too risky for players... Clarke, coffee_rules, UrmiSinhaRay and 1 other 1 3
asterix Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Rahul problem is he pokes too much outside offstump still in odi mode.C’mon he’s young... little bit poking here & there is okay... UrmiSinhaRay and SK_IH 1 1
NameGoesHere Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 52 minutes ago, Global.Baba said: I am transferring power into his bat with my tantric shakti. watch,he is going to play a blinder You mean tantric.shakti (don't forget the dot) UrmiSinhaRay and Global.Baba 2
putrevus Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 (edited) 28 minutes ago, jusarrived said: Nice one. You saying Virat does not have a say in selections? Dhawan and Rohit are actually msk prasads friends so they keep making the team? Is Rohit in this team now??? Rohit was in SA becuase he scored a 100 in his previous series.Was Kohli the first captain to give Rohit extended run??? Why is everyone against Dhawan getting chances, he was totally out of test team and then he was brought due to injury to other openers in SL in 2017 where he took his chances and was MOS .So what would want Captain and coach to do kick him out within a year. Edited August 10, 2018 by putrevus UrmiSinhaRay 1
Global.Baba Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 Just now, putrevus said: What youngsters were denied chances??? Other than Pant I don't recollect any youngster being denied chance when it was needed but Pant was competing with Dhoni. Rahul being dropped for Raina in the 3rd ODI. Now please don't give that Raina can bowl excuse. It is not an arm chair expert opinion on ICF saying this but anyone could see this was an idiotic move. This is a guy who scored a 100 in a T20,Didn't he deserve an extended run in LOI's? Every overseas test series, Dhawan plays the first 2 tests, gets out in the same manner,gets dropped and lo be hold he is back to open again in the next series. Now you might say selectors are selecting him, fair enough but a) you are not obligated to play him or b)if the guy is getting out in the same manner over and over again, where is the analysis or an attempt to fix it? I believe Rohit Sharma playing in place of Rahane in SA has been discussed to death. The only thing this team is getting right is the bowling line up but that has been happening even before the current team management. As much as I think Pandya is not a test cricketer, I am ok with the team believing in and backing a youngster. No problem there. We heard that playing Kuldeep over I believe Mishra was something that started the Kumble/Kohli rift but is just hear say so let us not take that as fact. There are plenty of such things that add up. UrmiSinhaRay and Switchblade 2
NameGoesHere Posted August 10, 2018 Posted August 10, 2018 (edited) 2 minutes ago, asterix said: C’mon he’s young... little bit poking here & there is okay... Can he please do it with his significant other(s) and not on the damn field please? Edited August 10, 2018 by NameGoesHere asterix and UrmiSinhaRay 2