Kerala Floods !!!

velu

In the current state India is in I don't think planned urbanization is ever going to be a reality. Moreover enough damage has been done on that front and the process has already been set in motion much before most of us were even born. But environmental disasters can be mitigated via a number of ways. Urban flooding will become more and more common as we are entering a phase where because of climate change there will be more extreme events...floods/cyclones as well as droughts, the fact that majority Indians will live in urban areas in the future will only make matters worse w.r.t urban natural disasters. Nothing will be in moderation in the future and unfortunately the damage we humans have done post Industrial Revolution is irreversible. We can only slow down the fury of Mother Nature, never stop it. But it is our duty to do all we can to ensure the next generation doesn't pay too heavily for our follies. To mitigate the pangs of urban flooding we need:

-Wetland conservation 

-Rigorous afforestation especially along banks of water bodies and slopes (to reduce landslides)

-Prohibit encroachment of water bodies and make ways to free up encroached ones

-Rain water harvesting in every building and public place

-Groundwater replenishment and minimal human activity in flood plains

-Creation of large, deep artificial waterbodies in urban areas for storage of rainwater runoff from storm drains, and please don't mix storms drains with sewer lines :facepalm:...most Indians can't differentiate between the 2

-Reinforcement/removal of old/dilapidated buildings and changes in building code towards more resilient and flood proof structures

-More awareness about disaster management and regular mock drills to prepare the public

All in all disaster management and environment related projects should get more focus and funding. Pathetic to see that in India not a single political party even talks about these things, or even media and most of civil society for that matter. MoEFCC should be as important as Home/External Affairs/Finance ministries, yet they are treated as some pariah and given bread crumbs after everyone else are given their quotas. IPS/IAS/IFS are demi gods but who even knows that we have an elite Indian Forest Service? NGT is a running joke since its inception. Pollution Control Boards are all underfunded and technologically obsolete. All major changes need to start from the school level, Environmental Studies in schooling systems must be given as much importance as PCM, Biology, Computer, Languages, Economics etc. We need a paradigm shift in attitude ASAP. Families should mould their children as eco warriors before imposing their ambitions regarding what future their kids must work towards. If we can create one young generation of environmentally conscious citizens it will have a cascading effect and we will have some hopes of a better future. 

5 minutes ago, Gollum said:

In the current state India is in I don't think planned urbanization is ever going to be a reality. Moreover enough damage has been done on that front and the process has already been set in motion much before most of us were even born. But environmental disasters can be mitigated via a number of ways. Urban flooding will become more and more common as we are entering a phase where because of climate change there will be more extreme events...floods/cyclones as well as droughts, the fact that majority Indians will live in urban areas in the future will only make matters worse w.r.t urban natural disasters. Nothing will be in moderation in the future and unfortunately the damage we humans have done post Industrial Revolution is irreversible. We can only slow down the fury of Mother Nature, never stop it. But it is our duty to do all we can to ensure the next generation doesn't pay too heavily for our follies. To mitigate the pangs of urban flooding we need:

-Wetland conservation 

-Rigorous afforestation especially along banks of water bodies and slopes (to reduce landslides)

-Prohibit encroachment of water bodies and make ways to free up encroached ones

-Rain water harvesting in every building and public place

-Groundwater replenishment and minimal human activity in flood plains

-Creation of large, deep artificial waterbodies in urban areas for storage of rainwater runoff from storm drains, and please don't mix storms drains with sewer lines :facepalm:...most Indians can't differentiate between the 2

-Reinforcement/removal of old/dilapidated buildings and changes in building code towards more resilient and flood proof structures

-More awareness about disaster management and regular mock drills to prepare the public

All in all disaster management and environment related projects should get more focus and funding. Pathetic to see that in India not a single political party even talks about these things, or even media and most of civil society for that matter. MoEFCC should be as important as Home/External Affairs/Finance ministries, yet they are treated as some pariah and given bread crumbs after everyone else are given their quotas. IPS/IAS/IFS are demi gods but who even knows that we have an elite Indian Forest Service? NGT is a running joke since its inception. Pollution Control Boards are all underfunded and technologically obsolete. All major changes need to start from the school level, Environmental Studies in schooling systems must be given as much importance as PCM, Biology, Computer, Languages, Economics etc. We need a paradigm shift in attitude ASAP. Families should mould their children as eco warriors before imposing their ambitions regarding what future their kids must work towards. If we can create one young generation of environmentally conscious citizens it will have a cascading effect and we will have some hopes of a better future. 

Hear, hear.

Climate change is very much a threat as of now and unfortunately although unsurprisingly, we like always, are woefully under prepared.

This along with rising pollution be it air, water or land has become a twin problem about which nobody wants to talk about.

Every freaking year in the winters we have Delhi becoming a post apocalyptic zombie land where even stepping outside becomes a task in itself and yet apart from a few customary guidelines from the ministry or the NGT , nothing serious seems to being done.

Vagaries of monsoon have potential to drastically affect the productivity esp in a country such as ours where still a staggering 48% of arable land is out of irrigation coverage solely depending on the summer rains which if estimates are to be believed could led to productivity going down about 15% in next decade along with the rising cost of production thus having a cascading effect on economy.

Modiji much touted doubling farmer's income concept is looking to be a pipe dream with the way Agriculture has suffered over the years and climate change can massively exacerbate the problems in this ailing sector.

What we need is a firm political will on the part of Union Govt and focusing more implementation of existing schemes rather than looking to churn out a few more to impress the guillible public.

Agro forestry, social forestry, community participation, large planned out awareness campaigns etc is the need of hour .

On 8/16/2018 at 12:33 PM, Clarke said:

Flooding happens anyways with once in a century rainfall as seems to be the case here. The problem in my opinion might be lack of adherence to building codes & safety regulations, for e.g. proximity of construction to water bodies. In case of the Kashmir floods in 2014, the highly affected areas close to the water bodies were prohibited in the British Raj more than a century back. That tells us how lax we are in terms of planning & execution.

A river decided to change its course on August 8 and snaked into human habitat at Kannappankundu in Puthuppady panchayat in Kozhikode

A geographical analysis of areas that suffered maximum damage this monsoon show that they were all classified as ecologically-sensitive zones (ESZs) under the Western Ghats Expert Ecology Panel report (WGEEP).

The report was binned by both UDF and LDF governments, with both Idukki and Thamarassery bishops throwing their weight behind the political parties. The UDF government even passed a resolution in the assembly rejecting the report saying that it went against public interest.

https://m.timesofindia.com/city/kozhikode/crisis-arose-due-to-destruction-of-ecologically-sensitive-zones-in-w-ghats/articleshow/65371244.cms

1 minute ago, Clarke said:

Did the Central govt completely reject all foreign aid or it simply wanted it through it's desired channels ?

its central governments policy i guess..

UPA government too rejected it earlier

Just now, velu said:

its central governments policy i guess..

UPA government too rejected it earlier

That's a shame. 

People need the help they can get in rebuilding, it's not just food/meds/clothes but day to day living, housing, power etc that needs to be addressed.

2 minutes ago, Clarke said:

That's a shame. 

People need the help they can get in rebuilding, it's not just food/meds/clothes but day to day living, housing, power etc that needs to be addressed.

Unbelievably shocking that decision of not accepting foreign aid...I mean if that decision was made by the UPA Govt,NDA govt should change it...

So 700 crore from UAE thing was a hoax.
The behaviour of comrades and congis has been a disgrace all through the tragedy.

Gives you idea about how low life these people are...

There are other states too which have gone through natural disasters but the bitching associated with this one is totally unprecedented....

3 hours ago, asterix said:

Gives you idea about how low life these people are...

There are other states too which have gone through natural disasters but the bitching associated with this one is totally unprecedented....

Mostly fueled by SOBs from TheWire/TheNewsMinute/Troll.in along with the usual Commie scumbags on Twitter. 

11 hours ago, Number said:

These online Mallu commies are defaming all of Kerala with their bakwas. I've seen some anti-Gujarati and anti-Tamil stuff by them online as well. 

Karnataka is also experiencing some of this flooding effects at this time, but you hardly see the sense of entitlement and vitriol as from these commies. I wouldn't be surprised if many of these internet trolls are based in the Middle east