4th Test, India Vs England at Southampton on 30th August 2018 at 3.30pm IST.

tweaker

Predict India's 1st innings lead  

44 members have voted

1. 1. 4th Test : Who much will India's 1st innings lead be?

• <0
    • 0-100
    • 101-150
    • 151-200
    • 250+

This poll is closed to new votes

8 minutes ago, Laaloo said:

We could use a 14-15 runs over from Rashid.

Mental midget rahane doesn't have the ability to do that 

1 minute ago, Rasgulla said:

Viru is cool. I was reffering to other guy you mentioned. 

other guy faced much better bowlers and batted on much harder pitches than current batsmen. Was a one-man army for some years. But should have retired 5 years before than his retirement date.

12 minutes ago, Yoda-esque said:

With 45 overs and 159 runs, we can rule out indian win.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

It's day 4

Just now, Austin 3:!6 said:

When was the last time India have hit a six in test cricket? Arre ek step out karke Rashid bhai ko maaroo

And hole out like in Adelaide,pls no.

If it comes to Pant and Pandya maybe but not others

1 hour ago, Tibarn said:

Define wreaking havoc. I don't pay attention to other Asian teams, but from memory, the top wicket takers in our home series are almost always spinners. 

I don't think there is a difference in accuracy between our and their spinners. Ashwin was accurate throughout the day yesterday, it was just he was either darting or trying too many variations. Neither did he target the footholes/rough when he was bowling.

Revs are helpful in extracting spin from the surface, but that benefit of revs becomes less important in India when there are turning pitches. 

There are also different speeds spinners are expected to bowl in India vs outside of Asia.

IIRC, Kohli and Vijay both average near 70 vs spin and Rahul/Pujara/Dhawan all average over 50.  Only Rahane, of the specialist batsmen, averages less than 40, coming in at 35 vs spin

Ok let me see:

Define wreaking havoc. I don't pay attention to other Asian teams, but from memory, the top wicket takers in our home series are almost always spinners. 

I define it as picking up crucial wickets consistently to put your team on a path to victory. Not taking cheap wickets of tailenders to boost up your wickets tally (like Rashid did in India).

If you look at series in India,

1. When NZ toured, our spinners averaged 17-25 and their spinners 50-70. Their spinners may have taken wickets but they had very little impact in the results.

2. Next when Eng toured, our spinners averaged 23-30 while their spinners averaged 46-60. Rashid averaged 46 due to a ton of tailender wickets while Moeen averaged 60.

3. Aus tour of India, our spinners averaged 18-25 while their spinners averaged 25 each (Lyon and O keefe). This was one series where opposition spinners actually did something in India (mainly Lyon, O keefe averaged 50+ after the 1st test).

I don't think there is a difference in accuracy between our and their spinners. Ashwin was accurate throughout the day yesterday, it was just he was either darting or trying too many variations. Neither did he target the footholes/rough when he was bowling.

Nah. Data clearly shows Ashwin landed in the good length area much lesser than Ali. Naturally the number of balls hitting rough was much lesser.

Revs are helpful in extracting spin from the surface, but that benefit of revs becomes less important in India when there are turning pitches. 

Ok. First of all, Indian pitches in the last 2-3 years have ranged from flattish to rank turners.

NZ series pitches were mixed. 

Eng series pitches were quite flat.

Aus series pitches turned a lot for the first 2 tests and rest were quite flat.

---

Let's take the fact that pitches reduce the need for revs, but how does that explain overseas spinners who averaging 40 or 50 or 60 in Asia?

Moeen averaged 60+ in UAE and India.

Lyon averaged 140 in UAE, 30+ in SL (mostly rank turner pitches in that series), 40 in 2013 India tour (before he improved).

They do well in tough conditions and are a liability in easy conditions? This is an unexplainable anamoly.

In fact, last series in India, we had flatter pitches which should have aided Moeen's style of more revs compared to Ash, yet the results were opposite to what is happening today.

Coming to the last point

IIRC, Kohli and Vijay both average near 70 vs spin and Rahul/Pujara/Dhawan all average over 50.  Only Rahane, of the specialist batsmen, averages less than 40, coming in at 35 vs spin

Yes, it's true which is why we are invincible at home. But these same bats struggle against spin overseas (Lyon in Aus and Moeen in Eng). So how do we explain that?

----

The answer lies is 2 parts:

Psychological (where team situation, confidence, familiarity matter) and Technical.

The former is explainable but I don't see any relevant technical explanation for why this is happening. I am curious tho.

--

There are lots of anamolies reg spinners' performances in various countries (looks can be deceptive)

Moeen outbowls Ashwin in Eng....gets outbowled by him in India.

Moeen outbowls (marginally) Maharaj in Eng....gets outbowled by him in Asia and Aus.

Ashwin outbowls Maharaj in SA.....who outbowls Lyon in SA.....but we know for a fact Lyon would have outbowled Ashwin in Southampton yesterday.

Moeen is invincible against India and SA in Eng....but toothless against Pak in Eng.

Pak crumble against Herath...while India destroys Herath both home and away.

Haha.

It would be interesting to know why these things happen. It's not a one off case. Irregularities are the norm.

I don't see any acceptable technical explanation for any of them but would love to know why these things happen.

Edited by sensible-indian