Ankit_sharma03 Posted December 8, 2020 Posted December 8, 2020 (edited) Pant fails- Oh lets have samson he is so better Samson fails- pant was better Iyer fails- Manish is better Manish & iyer fails- samson is better Lets have gill, after gill faisl 2 games he is hyped A bowler does well in few games suddenly gets a pounding in a game , he is a midget and run machine We need batsman who can take risk - when someone does it he is a hack Pace milti hai to control chahiye, dono milta hai to skill bhi chahiye High s/r batsman milta hai to 50 ki avg chahiye Kya chahiye kya ?????? You cant just keep changing ur ideas....if u do then why blame kohli for doing same Players dont get made in 2-3 games, it takes around 70-80 ODI at rough . The great captain n great players example u throw they all have had their struggle and a captain backing them. This is what identifying a talent and backing them is called. Me n @zen @sandeep have backed pandya through thick n thin I and @Jimmy Cliff @Gollum have backed KL a lot @maniac backs if he believes in someone I dnt think twice for asking to change iyer coz i never rated him but still i say give him a fair run . 2-3 games is absolutely nothing specially to judge a talent . Dhoni 148 came in his 5th game, had it been kohli he wudnt have even gotten promotion Rohit came good after some 80 ODI Yuvi post 100 ODI People who go bonkers on pant -see where others stood Its a simple process Mark and identify your talent and the ones u believe in not the one who scores today Give him Opp at right position , format Then back him coz if u cant back him then ur identification had problem Edited December 8, 2020 by Ankit_sharma03 Mosher, Stan AF, sandeep and 2 others 3 2
jalebi_bhai Posted December 8, 2020 Posted December 8, 2020 4 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: Pant fails- Oh lets have samson he is so better Samson fails- pant was better Iyer fails- Manish is better Manish & iyer fails- samson is better Lets have gill, after gill faisl 2 games he is hyped A bowler does well in few games suddenly gets a pounding in a game , he is a midget and run machine We need batsman who can take risk - when someone does it he is a hack Pace milti hai to control chahiye, dono milta hai to skill bhi chahiye High s/r batsman milta hai to 50 ki avg chahiye This is called ICF odd-even scheme Gollum, asterix and Ankit_sharma03 3
SK_IH Posted December 8, 2020 Posted December 8, 2020 It doesn't matter what ICF think of xyz cricketer, it's only what the captain & team management think of a talent & nurture him. Fans will always be emotional & less rational but you hope that the person/persons making decisions are more rational. Gollum 1
Majestic Posted December 8, 2020 Posted December 8, 2020 I will back Iyer in ODIs while in T20s, need to go with SKY and Samson. Pant has only himself to blame. Such a poor IPL and on top of that, a very poor fitness. If he can regain his form and perform again, then sure I will consider him for T20s. But needs performance. Not sold on Kishan yet as he just had first great IPL season. SKY walks into T20 squad now based on performances of Iyer, Manish and Samson this series.
jalebi_bhai Posted December 8, 2020 Posted December 8, 2020 17 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: People who go bonkers on pant -see where others stood I think even Raina's numbers were similar. This is generally the case with fast tracked talents. Underwhelming numbers at first, but usually after 30 innings, they start getting more consistent. What has worked against Pant more than numbers is his fitness I feel. Looked horribly overweight in the IPL. But he is still in Test squad so not completely out of the scheme of things. Can turn things around.
asterix Posted December 8, 2020 Posted December 8, 2020 19 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: Pant fails- Oh lets have samson he is so better Samson fails- pant was better Iyer fails- Manish is better Manish & iyer fails- samson is better Lets have gill, after gill faisl 2 games he is hyped A bowler does well in few games suddenly gets a pounding in a game , he is a midget and run machine We need batsman who can take risk - when someone does it he is a hack Pace milti hai to control chahiye, dono milta hai to skill bhi chahiye High s/r batsman milta hai to 50 ki avg chahiye Kya chahiye kya ?????? You cant just keep changing ur ideas....if u do then why blame kohli for doing same Players dont get made in 2-3 games, it takes around 70-80 ODI at rough . The great captain n great players example u throw they all have had their struggle and a captain backing them. This is what identifying a talent and backing them is called. Me n @zen @sandeep have backed pandya through thick n thin I and @Jimmy Cliff @Gollum have backed KL a lot @maniac backs if he believes in someone I dnt think twice for asking to change iyer coz i never rated him but still i say give him a fair run . 2-3 games is absolutely nothing specially to judge a talent . Dhoni 148 came in his 5th game, had it been kohli he wudnt have even gotten promotion Rohit came good after some 80 ODI Yuvi post 100 ODI People who go bonkers on pant -see where others stood Its a simple process Mark and identify your talent and the ones u believe in not the one who scores today Give him Opp at right position , format Then back him coz if u cant back him then ur identification had problem ICFers do have their point. Atleast for LOIs the ICFers were asking for a better team based on the player performances in IPL and other domestic matches. If you see, Natrajan was backed by many ICFers as having potential and he did well in limited opportunities he got. Saini didn’t do justice to his potential. The least I say about few MI players who have huge potentials, being from the latest champions team, missing out to play this T20 series, the better.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted December 8, 2020 Author Posted December 8, 2020 (edited) 3 minutes ago, asterix said: ICFers do have their point. Atleast for LOIs the ICFers were asking for a better team based on the player performances in IPL and other domestic matches. If you see, Natrajan was backed by many ICFers as having potential and he did well in limited opportunities he got. Saini didn’t do justice to his potential. I bet the same wud have asked for natrajan throat had he failed ,called him IPL wonder and this exactly is the problem ...how have we decided in one series that saini hasnt done justice to his potential ..i mean one series that to when at start only he had back spazm. We can say that about kambli whose career is done or guys like raina, yusuf but not saini at this early Quote The least I say about few MI players who have huge potentials, being from the latest champions team, missing out to play this T20 series, the better. Had SKY or Kishen failed they wud have been called hacks, Before this series pandya was called a cameo king Edited December 8, 2020 by Ankit_sharma03 sandeep 1
Bhoot Posted December 8, 2020 Posted December 8, 2020 Different yardsticks for different players. Players like Thakur, iyer, etc abused even if they have played only a few matches. But for icf favrts like pant, samson etc "they need to be given 50 matches before you talk bad about them". Majestic 1
Ankit_sharma03 Posted December 8, 2020 Author Posted December 8, 2020 12 minutes ago, Bhoot said: Different yardsticks for different players. Players like Thakur, iyer, etc abused even if they have played only a few matches. But for icf favrts like pant, samson etc "they need to be given 50 matches before you talk bad about them". Pant n Samson have X factor Rohit n yuvi got way extra chances then many others, simple that what identification of talent is . Its impossible to give everyone same amount of chances
Bhoot Posted December 8, 2020 Posted December 8, 2020 9 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: Pant n Samson have X factor Rohit n yuvi got way extra chances then many others, simple that what identification of talent is . Its impossible to give everyone same amount of chances Exactly. But who decides what and who has this x factor?? Captain? Selectors? Or random on social media?
Ankit_sharma03 Posted December 8, 2020 Author Posted December 8, 2020 Just now, Bhoot said: Exactly. But who decides what and who has this x factor?? Captain? Selectors? Or random on social media? Its everyone job and seems whole TM including selectors have been very poor at it Random social media have been far better We called out dhawan bluff in t20 yrs ago I knw guys who caught iyer problem year ago when he was scoring runs so just becoz someone hasnt played cricket doesnt mean they dont get the game sandeep 1
jalebi_bhai Posted December 8, 2020 Posted December 8, 2020 23 minutes ago, Bhoot said: Different yardsticks for different players. Players like Thakur, iyer, etc abused even if they have played only a few matches. But for icf favrts like pant, samson etc "they need to be given 50 matches before you talk bad about them". As @Ankit_sharma03 points out, they're x-factor players. Very few Indian batsmen have the hitting range of Pant or the combo of timing-power like Samson. These two have mindset/mentality issues at international level which can be improved upon. I personally like Iyer, but he has one glaring technical issue that he needs to fix, otherwise he's toast at international level.