10 hours ago, kepler37b said:

Vaccine wastage is a popular term used for corruption. The doses are sold to VIP's in black market. I have heard about it in Telangana.

What a corruption infested society we are :(

This is just what Congress UPA does. Shamelessly rebrands its corruption. I won’t be surprised if all 5 will go to UPA among top 5 wastage states initially. This wastage percentage will be down once top people of those states don’t need it anymore.

40 minutes ago, mishra said:

This is just what Congress UPA does. Shamelessly rebrands its corruption. I won’t be surprised if all 5 will go to UPA among top 5 wastage states initially. This wastage percentage will be down once top people of those states don’t need it anymore.

On the other hand

States like Kerala, West Bengal, Himachal Pradesh have registered negative vaccine wastage by extracting every possible dose from a vial and inoculating higher number of beneficiaries. Recently, Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan had tweeted on how the state had inoculated more number of people by making use of the extra dose available as wastage factor in each vial.

https://www.businesstoday.in/current/economy-politics/covid-19-how-vaccine-wastage-happens-how-to-reduce-it/story/438906.html

Credit to Mamta and Vijayan govt.

Even Jharkhand govt has refuted those claims

A day after the Union Ministry of Health and Family Welfare put Jharkhand at the top of a list of States wasting COVID-19 vaccine, the Hemant Soren government has said wastage was only 4.65%.

“Of the vaccine doses available with Jharkhand till today, the wastage proportion is only 4.65%. Vaccination data could not be fully updated to the Central Co-Win server or platform due to technical difficulties and the updation is in process,” said the Office of Jharkhand Chief Minister on Twitter on Wednesday.

2 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

You are quoting a chattisgarh minister. Chattisgarh CM didnt want covaxin intially. He was the one who said it is not effective. Hard to trust someone like that. 

3 minutes ago, gattaca said:

You are quoting a chattisgarh minister. Chattisgarh CM didnt want covaxin intially. He was the one who said it is not effective. Hard to trust someone like that. 

He is health minister of Chhatisgarh.

Btw, none of these figures being circulated in media are official figures as of yet. 

Why would anyone believe unofficial numbers? If central govt publishes such information, then it can be believed.

9 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Why are they even wasting 5 % ? 5 % could save lives. Why can they have people walk in ? This is what US did. 

18 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Yes, it is praiseworthy. This is what I have been saying. At local level, there are leaders who are as good as anyone on their turf. They can deliver. However Congress and its people are different beast

15 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

May be VVIP and rich people have been all vaccinated with wastage so things will improve now on

7 minutes ago, gattaca said:

Why are they even wasting 5 % ? 5 % could save lives. Why can they have people walk in ? This is what US did. 

Not allowing walk in was  not decided by state.

6 minutes ago, mishra said:

May be VVIP and rich people have been all vaccinated with wastage so things will improve now on

Why would VVIP and rich people need to take that route when vaccine is available directlyso

Are you talking from personal experience or just guessing it?

15 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Why would VVIP and rich people need to take that route when vaccine is available directlyso

Are you talking from personal experience or just guessing it?

Personnal experience. During initial days, when Vaccine drive started, whole families of one of such people in my acquaintance got vaccinated. Only 4 people were eligible in that family of about 16 vaccinated peoples

1 minute ago, mishra said:

Personnal experience. During initial days, when Vaccine drive started, whole families of such people got vaccinated. Only 4 people were eligible in that family of about 16 vaccinated peoples

Which state? 

I know that people in AP were able to get vaccine even though were not eligible. But they were not rich or VIP.

1 minute ago, Trichromatic said:

Which state? 

I know that people in AP were able to get vaccine even though were not eligible. But they were not rich or VIP.

Its in that top 5 wasters. BJP ruled one. I was totally surprised when i heard the statement “ham sabako vaccine lag gayee hai” . I am sure their relatives also would have done same. 

4 hours ago, Trichromatic said:

This is exactly what i was thinking. We dont even waste one plastic, poly bag in our country. We make jugads to make use of everything and least wastage. Then how come 10-15% ever so important vaccines is being wasted.

Kudos to WB and Kerala for doing great job. Credit must be given for good work then only criticism will carry any weightage. I wonder what would it take for others to learn from this.