On 4/28/2021 at 8:21 AM, coffee_rules said:

False negatives of RT-PCR is fairly variable in the first 4 days of symptoms and ideal to test it from day5-day8. I think after day4 panic will start and we get tested. I had symptoms for 3-4 days and went to get tested. Came negative. But on anti-booties and strong cough syrup, all symptoms subsided from day5. Also, in India, the RT-PCR tests are not reliable for double mutated Indian strain. They need to upgrade them. Some expert here might chime in.

With symptoms of lingering cough, one should also get CT-Scan of lungs as well. It shows if they have upper lung injury/infection. It seems based on the amount of infection and comorbidities. they give a Covid score. If the score is above 20, then if they have Covid, they will be bound to be fatal. This came from a Dr friend. The following paper has some results, have to study.

https://www.hindawi.com/journals/rrp/2021/6697677/

It's not that RT-PCR itself doesn't work with B.1.617.  It's a sampling issue - B.1.617 seems to prevail more in the lungs than mouth/throat used for sampling. 

31 minutes ago, ravishingravi said:

It’s has to be very selective. Lockdown has intense second and third order effects. We cannot afford one. 

It's almost lockdown everywhere. Effects are already there.

1 hour ago, ravishingravi said:

It’s has to be very selective. Lockdown has intense second and third order effects. We cannot afford one. 

So many died. And are dieing, death figures in past month have more than doubled. That means atleast 10 lakh death due to covid. How much more do we want to wait

1 hour ago, mishra said:

So many died. And are dieing, death figures in past month have more than doubled. That means atleast 10 lakh death due to covid. How much more do we want to wait

Many will die of poverty and starvation. I honestly think we had that one chance last year and we did it. But now it’s herd immunity and vaccination. State wise there will be restrictions. But in my view in next 3 weeks we are clearly heading towards herd immunity. It’s apparent. 

This won’t be last wave either. It’s better to let people learn to to live with it. 

Alas, wanted to keep this thread out of politics, but sharing NDTV biased videos ruined it. Can we stick out of politics for once? We can discuss the nuances of Kerala model and the failures of it showing worse numbers than Chhattisgarh to another thread. 

21 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Alas, wanted to keep this thread out of politics, but sharing NDTV biased videos ruined it. Can we stick out of politics for once? We can discuss the nuances of Kerala model and the failures of it showing worse numbers than Chhattisgarh to another thread. 

Niche do alag channel ke bhi daale hai. 

Isme politics kaha se aa gayi. Jo kaam acha hai wo acha hai