Alam_dar Posted May 9, 2021 Posted May 9, 2021 Could you tell me what are the benefits of having health under the states, instead of the central government? It is unfair that citizens of one state get better health facilities than other states. Another problem is this that state level governance is unable to fight against pandemics, while it needs central planning. Not only India, but this state level health governance also failed badly in US too. China and Vietnam perhaps succeeded more while they have central governments. May be low level medical facilities could be handed over to the city governments (like Kajriwal did in Delhi on Mohala bases). Or may be let the health system work as it is, but for Pandemics only it should be handed over to the central government. mishra 1
MechEng Posted May 9, 2021 Posted May 9, 2021 Only for pandemics the central government should take over health and safety of the nation. It works well for China and Vietnam because they are demographically much more homogenous in nature compared to India, and Chinese people being trained since childhood to blindly obey the government makes it easier for the central government to manage health and safety of the country. Khota and Alam_dar 2
dial_100 Posted May 9, 2021 Posted May 9, 2021 This is what happens when we dont understand how things work. sandeep and coffee_rules 2
sandeep Posted May 10, 2021 Posted May 10, 2021 This guy seems to have the intellectual capacity of a 7th grader. coffee_rules, Clarke and dial_100 3
dial_100 Posted May 10, 2021 Posted May 10, 2021 46 minutes ago, sandeep said: This guy seems to have the intellectual capacity of a 7th grader. Yaar hinsa mat karo yaar. I hate hinsa. sandeep 1
sandeep Posted May 10, 2021 Posted May 10, 2021 23 hours ago, Alam_dar said: Could you tell me what are the benefits of having health under the states, instead of the central government? want us to tell you why 2 + 2 = 4 as well? dial_100 and diga 2
mishra Posted May 10, 2021 Posted May 10, 2021 Bhai @Alam_dar have some common sense. India is massive. India is democracy not under communist regime.Indian states do not have same party in power as centre. India also doesn’t have two party sysem like USA. Constitutionally, these powers are in hand if states too. So, only way centre can take over is by changing the constitution. in simple terms, Various responsibilities have been constitutionally delegated between centre and states. For example, centres job is to import oxygen, medicines, vaccines ( because its International trade) but states job is to redistribute it. Centres job is to give directions to states and financial assistance if needed for a project but states job is to deliver it. Some Nationwide /interstate project can be centres responsibility but to take statewide manufacturing and healthcare is not possible. For example environment agency of a State will not pass someone putting up a medical/ oxygen plant/unit in a state. There are so many such dependencies even on small projects. Alam_dar 1
Khota Posted May 10, 2021 Posted May 10, 2021 The policies like pandemic control should be central domain. So does a vaccination program. Vaccination fails if one state is 90% and another is 10%. It has be under the centre. Alam_dar 1
Alam_dar Posted May 10, 2021 Author Posted May 10, 2021 (edited) 3 hours ago, mishra said: Bhai @Alam_dar have some common sense. India is massive. India is democracy not under communist regime.Indian states do not have same party in power as centre. India also doesn’t have two party sysem like USA. Constitutionally, these powers are in hand if states too. So, only way centre can take over is by changing the constitution. in simple terms, Various responsibilities have been constitutionally delegated between centre and states. For example, centres job is to import oxygen, medicines, vaccines ( because its International trade) but states job is to redistribute it. Centres job is to give directions to states and financial assistance if needed for a project but states job is to deliver it. Some Nationwide /interstate project can be centres responsibility but to take statewide manufacturing and healthcare is not possible. For example environment agency of a State will not pass someone putting up a medical/ oxygen plant/unit in a state. There are so many such dependencies even on small projects. I wish that constitution could be flexible and could be changed according to the situation. Education and Health are basic human necessities along with food, and these 3 things should be more in Central government domain. I believe, where there is a will, there is also a way. A lot of democracies have universal health care system under the central government, or with collaboration with states and central government. These countries, despite being democracies, were still able to manage and fight against corona better than US, where states were fighting against the Centre and against other states to get their hands to the hospital equipment. Present Indian system is more similar to US. People should get this awareness from this Pandemic that Indian medical system in present form is not good enough and it needs some basic reforms. Country Start Date of Universal Health Care Australia 1975 Austria 1967 Bahrain 1957 Belgium 1945 Brunei 1958 Canada 1966 Cyprus 1980 Denmark 1973 Finland 1972 France 1974 Germany 1941 Greece 1983 Hong Kong 1993 Iceland 1990 Ireland 1977 Israel 1995 Italy 1978 Japan 1938 Kuwait 1950 Luxembourg 1973 Netherlands 1966 New Zealand 1938 Norway 1912 Portugal 1979 Singapore 1993 Slovenia 1972 South Korea 1988 Spain 1986 Sweden 1955 Switzerland 1994 United Arab Emirates 1971 United Kingdom 1948 Edited May 10, 2021 by Alam_dar mishra 1
mishra Posted May 10, 2021 Posted May 10, 2021 (edited) 26 minutes ago, Alam_dar said: I wish that constitution could be flexible and could be changed according to the situation. Education and Health are basic human necessities along with food, and these 3 things should be more in Central government domain. I believe, where there is a will, there is also a way. A lot of democracies have universal health care system under the central government, or with collaboration with states and central government. Country Start Date of Universal Health Care Australia 1975 Austria 1967 Bahrain 1957 Belgium 1945 Brunei 1958 Canada 1966 Cyprus 1980 Denmark 1973 Finland 1972 France 1974 Germany 1941 Greece 1983 Hong Kong 1993 Iceland 1990 Ireland 1977 Israel 1995 Italy 1978 Japan 1938 Kuwait 1950 Luxembourg 1973 Netherlands 1966 New Zealand 1938 Norway 1912 Portugal 1979 Singapore 1993 Slovenia 1972 South Korea 1988 Spain 1986 Sweden 1955 Switzerland 1994 United Arab Emirates 1971 United Kingdom 1948 It will require constitutional overhaul. You are right both about education and healthcare. For example in education we have CBSE Board but wvery state has its own Board say West Bengal Board of Secondary Education and so on. Over the period A lot of Central Board affiliated Schools and curriculum are beeing preferred by parents and students. But it may take few decades before GoI can “speak about idea” to State Boards to bring state education boards under Central Board. Just so that you know, Central Board have languages as curriculum but state Boards have local language. Language becomes touchy subject for example our Tammys and Kannatika will declare all out war against centre if they see their language getting sidelined and centre can not afford to have one teacher of per language for every Indian language in every central school. Healthcare is even behind in in that. For example even on registration itself, A doctor can be member of states medical council or he can be member of Indian medical council or both. So if doctor is not a memeber of Indian Medical Council how will he be threatened to be chucked off register on moral ethical mal practices ground. So for Healthcare to be managed centrally, i will say 40-50 years atleast. May be and only may be, If BJP is in power in most hig states, it can bring about such shift. I don’t think local politicians or Congress will even think about such major shift as this takes away another thing out of their hands and less chance of making corrupt money. Not saying centre ones won’t be corrupt but state leaders don’t want to loose their influence and will agitate as much against this shift Edited May 10, 2021 by mishra Alam_dar 1
ravishingravi Posted May 10, 2021 Posted May 10, 2021 In my view, states should be responsible for health. It is state subject as per constitution. But we have seen some states just collapse and raise their hand up to blame the centre. In such a scenario, it is better that each party in its manifesto puts down if it wants control and accountability of health for its state. If not, it can moved to the centre along with law and order. Alam_dar, mishra and dial_100 3
mishra Posted May 10, 2021 Posted May 10, 2021 5 minutes ago, ravishingravi said: In my view, states should be responsible for health. It is state subject as per constitution. But we have seen some states just collapse and raise their hand up to blame the centre. In such a scenario, it is better that each party in its manifesto puts down if it wants control and accountability of health for its state. If not, it can moved to the centre along with law and order. None will agree. I can’t see local politican loosing veto over best medical beds of their state. I am not going into money that comes to them for creating and maintenace of healthcare of state Alam_dar 1
dial_100 Posted May 10, 2021 Posted May 10, 2021 (edited) 17 minutes ago, ravishingravi said: In my view, states should be responsible for health. It is state subject as per constitution. But we have seen some states just collapse and raise their hand up to blame the centre. In such a scenario, it is better that each party in its manifesto puts down if it wants control and accountability of health for its state. If not, it can moved to the centre along with law and order. I like that better. It is hard in indian context, well everything is. But at least it gives that flexibility. The issue with healthcare is that it requires various other departments to make a solid HC strategy. That means state will have to provide Center access to Land resource, finance, demography and few others. It will become impossible situation. Center wont accept responsibility unless they get full access. How do you solve it? Suppose, Center controlling a state decides to build 10 hospitals in 5 years, there are elections in between. How do you think this will pan out in election? Ugly right? No easy answer. State has to take responsibility. PERIOD. It is up to us to decide can a regional party handle pandemic like situation. Logistic handling is nightmare to even a pro with decades of experience. These forth standard pass politicians (who get fooled by babus) can never handle it. We shouldnt expect that. Edited May 10, 2021 by dial_100 Alam_dar and mishra 2
abc Posted May 10, 2021 Posted May 10, 2021 50 minutes ago, mishra said: It will require constitutional overhaul. You are right both about education and healthcare. For example in education we have CBSE Board but wvery state has its own Board say West Bengal Board of Secondary Education and so on. Over the period A lot of Central Board affiliated Schools and curriculum are beeing preferred by parents and students. But it may take few decades before GoI can “speak about idea” to State Boards to bring state education boards under Central Board. Just so that you know, Central Board have languages as curriculum but state Boards have local language. Language becomes touchy subject for example our Tammys and Kannatika will declare all out war against centre if they see their language getting sidelined and centre can not afford to have one teacher of per language for every Indian language in every central school. Healthcare is even behind in in that. For example even on registration itself, A doctor can be member of states medical council or he can be member of Indian medical council or both. So if doctor is not a memeber of Indian Medical Council how will he be threatened to be chucked off register on moral ethical mal practices ground. So for Healthcare to be managed centrally, i will say 40-50 years atleast. May be and only may be, If BJP is in power in most hig states, it can bring about such shift. I don’t think local politicians or Congress will even think about such major shift as this takes away another thing out of their hands and less chance of making corrupt money. Not saying centre ones won’t be corrupt but state leaders don’t want to loose their influence and will agitate as much against this shift Yup, and I am hoping places like Bengal also have at least half a spine left and stop the erosion of cultural identity if push comes to shove!!
mishra Posted May 10, 2021 Posted May 10, 2021 2 minutes ago, abc said: Yup, and I am hoping places like Bengal also have at least half a spine left and stop the erosion of cultural identity if push comes to shove!! Not West Bengal, think about Higher Secondary and Secondary history books. Say chapter on freedom struggle, Bengal will say, it wants all its freedom fighters included, Gujrat will say their contribution is more and Tamilnadu will say theirs, so a student will be effed trying to remember names dates places and thats just one chapter of Indias history.
abc Posted May 11, 2021 Posted May 11, 2021 3 hours ago, mishra said: Not West Bengal, think about Higher Secondary and Secondary history books. Say chapter on freedom struggle, Bengal will say, it wants all its freedom fighters included, Gujrat will say their contribution is more and Tamilnadu will say theirs, so a student will be effed trying to remember names dates places and thats just one chapter of Indias history. Not too sure about that -- apart from West Bengal, may be Punjab and Maratha might have a long list. The list for the remaining states might be pretty short More seriously, a reasonable approach might be to agree on a set of core topics/subjects to be taught universally in every state, and leave the remainder of the curriculum up to the individual state's discretion. mishra 1
Alam_dar Posted May 11, 2021 Author Posted May 11, 2021 11 hours ago, dial_100 said: The issue with healthcare is that it requires various other departments to make a solid HC strategy. That means state will have to provide Center access to Land resource, finance, demography and few others. It will become impossible situation. Center wont accept responsibility unless they get full access. How do you solve it? Suppose, Center controlling a state decides to build 10 hospitals in 5 years, there are elections in between. How do you think this will pan out in election? Ugly right? Yes it seems to be a difficult task, but good thing is this that we already have some models to follow. For example, some European Countries achieved this task with working together (i.e. Central Government + States + Insurance companies etc.). But in India, it seems Central government has almost ZERO control. Therefore, at least some part of it could be transferred to the central government. I believe tragedies like Corona should be used to increase awareness among the masses. Unfortunately, Media and politicians are busy in leg pulling only and positive outcome is not being produced. dial_100 1
Clarke Posted May 11, 2021 Posted May 11, 2021 I disagree. Health should be global domain, governed by WHO Wuhan headquarters. Alam_dar, jf1gp_1 and ravishingravi 3
Alam_dar Posted May 11, 2021 Author Posted May 11, 2021 (edited) 3 hours ago, Clarke said: I disagree. Health should be global domain, governed by WHO Wuhan headquarters. One Day ... I wish, and I hope that One Day humans become so much civilised to understand that these borders and countries and nationalism and races and languages and colour doesn't mean anything. We, the human beings, are smart enough to start thinking on the global level one day. Yes it is only a Dream at moment, but if we dream of it today, only then we will be able to accomplish this task in the future. In order to accomplish this task, we have to defeat religions, nationalism, racism, language bias, economic hurdles, population bomb and ignorance and extremism. One Day ... I dream for this world. Edited May 11, 2021 by Alam_dar sandeep and mishra 2