Tokyo 2020 Paralympics: Record 19 medals thus far!!!! Amazing

Another failure in shooting, Anjum was in top 8 till end of 2nd relay, and then collapsed. 

Same event but for men, remaining. After that India's campaign in shooting ka the end.

SHOOTING

Squad

Men: Abhishek Verma (10m air pistol), Saurabh Chaudhary (10m air pistol), Angad Bajwa (skeet), Mairaj Ahmad Khan (skeet), Deepak Kumar (10m air rifle), Divyansh Singh Panwar (10m air rifle), Aishwary Tomar (50m rifle 3 positions), Sanjeev Rajput (50m rifle 3 positions)

Women: Manu Bhaker (10m air pistol, 25m pistol); Yashaswini Deswal (10m air pistol); Rahi Sarnobat (25m pistol); Apurvi Chandela (10m air rifle), Elavenil Valarivan (10m air rifle), Anjum Moudgil (50m rifle three positions), Tejaswini Sawant (50m rifle three positions)

Mixed team: Manu Bhaker & Saurabh Chaudhary (10m air pistol), Yashaswini Deswal & Abhishek Verma (10m air pistol), Anjum Moudgil & Deepak Kumar (10m air rifle), Elavenil Valarivan & Divyansh Singh Panwar (10m air rifle)

Just now, rkt.india said:

Others are also winning at the same stage. 

They do, but higher the competition tinier is the margin for error. Everyone gives their best but anything can happen on 'the day'. Milkha Singh is a classic example of this.

Before the Olympics India was touted as a powerhouse in shooting. Well this is the medal tally in shooting till now, few more events to go.

Hopefully less talk, more action before Paris 2024. 

Medal table

*   Host nation (Japan)

Rank Nation Gold Silver Bronze Total
1 22px-Flag_of_the_United_States.svg.png United States 3 2 1 6
2 22px-Flag_of_the_People%27s_Republic_of_ China 3 1 5 9
3 22px-Russian_Olympic_Committee_flag.svg. ROC 2 2 1 5
4 22px-Flag_of_the_Czech_Republic.svg.png Czech Republic 1 1 0 2
5 22px-Flag_of_Iran.svg.png Iran 1 0 0 1
22px-Flag_of_Slovakia.svg.png Slovakia 1 0 0 1
22px-Flag_of_Spain.svg.png Spain 1 0 0 1
8 22px-Flag_of_San_Marino.svg.png San Marino 0 1 1 2
9 22px-Flag_of_Bulgaria.svg.png Bulgaria 0 1 0 1
22px-Flag_of_Denmark.svg.png Denmark 0 1 0 1
22px-Flag_of_Italy.svg.png Italy 0 1 0 1
22px-Flag_of_Serbia.svg.png Serbia 0 1 0 1
22px-Flag_of_South_Korea.svg.png South Korea 0 1 0 1
14 22px-Flag_of_the_United_Kingdom.svg.png Great Britain 0 0 1 1
22px-Flag_of_Kuwait.svg.png Kuwait 0 0 1 1
20px-Flag_of_Switzerland.svg.png Switzerland 0 0 1 1
22px-Flag_of_Ukraine.svg.png Ukraine 0 0 1 1
Totals (17 nations) 12 12 12 36

Archery medal tally till now (not yet over)

Medal table

*   Host nation (Japan)

Rank Nation Gold Silver Bronze Total
1 22px-Flag_of_South_Korea.svg.png South Korea 4 0 0 4
2 22px-Russian_Olympic_Committee_flag.svg. ROC 0 2 0 2
3 22px-Flag_of_Chinese_Taipei_for_Olympic_ Chinese Taipei 0 1 0 1
22px-Flag_of_the_Netherlands.svg.png Netherlands 0 1 0 1
5 22px-Flag_of_Germany.svg.png Germany 0 0 1 1
22px-Flag_of_Italy.svg.png Italy 0 0 1 1
22px-Flag_of_Japan.svg.png Japan* 0 0 1 1
22px-Flag_of_Mexico.svg.png Mexico 0 0 1 1
Totals (8 nations) 4 4 4 12

It was predicted that India would win 5-10 medals in shooting+archery. 

16 minutes ago, MechEng said:

Bruh, as if winning medals were that easy. I know math gods who flunked in International Mathematical Olympiad, doesn't make them mediocre.

Not saying these guys are bad at shooting or boxing. But to be consistently good at world level more than govt support is needed, something we lack.

The postmortem can wait but to the critics on this thread today, some numbers to chew upon

Indian Sports budget - approx. 2500 crs ($350 million), 75-80% of this is revenue spend i.e. salaries and pensions of employees of SAI and NSFs. The sports budget this year was cut by 8%

Just for contrast, China's sports budget is 3 lakh crores ($40 billion)

Source: https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.sportskeeda.com/amp/sports/indian-government-spends-only-3-paise-per-day-on-sports-china-spends-over-200-times-more

I remember a tweet by Abhinav Bindra sometime back where he said each medal costs the UK 5.5 million pounds (55 cr). In essence our entire TOPS scheme is equal to spend on one medal by UK. Their Olympic spend Al ne tops 300 million pounds (more than our national sports budget).

Created WR in 200m breaststroke final to win gold. USA's supremacy in swimming being challenged by many countries, can China finish on top because of this division of gold medals in swimming?

Seeing a lot of East Asian representation in USA swimming, badminton and gymnastics squads, they must be there in judo, diving, TT as well I guess. And they are not just participating, actually winning medals including a gold yesterday.

Is there any Indian origin guy in other countries this time?

6 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

The postmortem can wait but to the critics on this thread today, some numbers to chew upon

Indian Sports budget - approx. 2500 crs ($350 million), 75-80% of this is revenue spend i.e. salaries and pensions of employees of SAI and NSFs. The sports budget this year was cut by 8%

Just for contrast, China's sports budget is 3 lakh crores ($40 billion)

Source: https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.sportskeeda.com/amp/sports/indian-government-spends-only-3-paise-per-day-on-sports-china-spends-over-200-times-more

I remember a tweet by Abhinav Bindra sometime back where he said each medal costs the UK 5.5 million pounds (55 cr). In essence our entire TOPS scheme is equal to spend on one medal by UK. Their Olympic spend Al ne tops 300 million pounds (more than our national sports budget).

Medals are won by talent. Not money. Those countries work with more athletes, more events than us. We target just a few events. What is the excuse of people in shooting and archery crumbling under pressure, supposed top players with a decade of experience. Leave rookies, newbies aside. It shows our selections haven't been right. Those were seasoned players.

Just now, Gollum said:

Seeing a lot of East Asian representation in USA swimming and gymnastics teams., they must be there in judo as well I guess And they are not just participating, actually winning medals including a gold yesterday.

Western countries pick East Asians and Africans who are resident there for these sports because there is a natural talent and medal potential by them.. why would they pick any Indians based there? Indian sbased in india have not shown any good results in any sports consistently with medals? So why would western nations waste their money on them- they like to make safe bets.

UK has Mo Farrah he’s originally from Somalia and came to the UK as a refugee. US and Canada have many Chinese origin players to do well in badminton, diving etc. It’s because countries like that have the historical performance to show for it- couple it with Western sport funding.. that’s your answer

5 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Seeing a lot of East Asian representation in USA swimming, badminton and gymnastics teams., they must be there in judo, diving, TT as well I guess. And they are not just participating, actually winning medals including a gold yesterday.

That will be interesting. How many Indian origin, not mixed, have won medals for other countries!

4 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

Western countries pick East Asians and Africans who are resident there for these sports because there is a natural talent and medal potential by them.. why would they pick any Indians based there? Indian sbased in india have not shown any good results in any sports consistently with medals? So why would western nations waste their money on them- they like to make safe bets.

UK has Mo Farrah he’s originally from Somalia and came to the UK as a refugee. US and Canada have many Chinese origin players to do well in badminton, diving etc. It’s because countries like that have the historical performance to show for it- couple it with Western sport funding.. that’s your answer

You mean to say Indian origin even if provided funding and support won't win medals?

Edited by rkt.india
6 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Nikhil Kumar represented US in TT first time I think. Only 18 year old.

And predictably some Punjabis in Canada Hockey squads are there. :giggle:

13 minutes ago, MultiB48 said:

still one of our best olympics.

How? 2 medals till now. Shooters not even qualifying for finals. Same with Archery. 

Just now, rkt.india said:

You mean to say Indian origin even if provided funding and support won't win medals.

possibly.. but as someone else said it before first generation Indian parents in the west discourage their children from

persuing arts and sports mans to focus on studying. I guess once Indians are there for the next 2/3 generations and show more interest in sports then maybe things will change. Right now, no.

even in the UK where we have 3rd generation south Asians you will never see them in top tier of sports ( apart from cricket) there is institutional racism which only allows privately educated whites to represent the country. Or they have preference for blacks in athletics and football.

south Asians aren’t anyone’s priorities esp in sport 

35 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Medals are won by talent. Not money. Those countries work with more athletes, more events than us. We target just a few events. What is the excuse of people in shooting and archery crumbling under pressure, supposed top players with a decade of experience. Leave rookies, newbies aside. It shows our selections haven't been right. Those were seasoned players.

And how is talent found and nurtured? Out of thin air, right?

Each of the players deserved to be there on merit because they were among the top 50-60 in their category and some of them were eliminated in QF. They should have done better but they couldn't handle the pressure.

19 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

possibly.. but as someone else said it before first generation Indian parents in the west discourage their children from

persuing arts and sports mans to focus on studying. I guess once Indians are there for the next 2/3 generations and show more interest in sports then maybe things will change. Right now, no.

even in the UK where we have 3rd generation south Asians you will never see them in top tier of sports ( apart from cricket) there is institutional racism which only allows privately educated whites to represent the country. Or they have preference for blacks in athletics and football.

south Asians aren’t anyone’s priorities esp in sport 

I used to think that as well but its not always the case. In australia I myself along with several other Indian origin guys played at a high level. Capital league 1. I do feel like you need to know someone, contacts/network to get picked for top sides unfortunately. It's more about who you know. They look favourably if you satisfy certain physical attributes. 

Strength, speed, endurance etc. If you are able to demonstrate any of these qualities they will definitely invest in you regardless of your origin. 

However, There was one club which was prejudiced towards black players for some strange reason even when they weren't all that special. Really got on my nerves at the time but then I managed to get into another club that was even better. So it dint bother me in the end. Shame really. Destroyed that team in the play offs to rub more salt in the wounds. Felt awesome. Revenge wasn't just sweet. It's better. 

For me issue with shooting is that they are not even qualifying for the finals..

One person qualified from the entire continent and finished 7th. Its not even a near miss. 

Can we all agree that funding for shooting archery has improved drastically when we won a medal in shooting 2004? So despite improved funding why are the returns poorer? To the degree that people are even failing to qualify for the finals. Before these games the consensus estimate was 2 medals. Here you are struggling to even get to the finals. 

I have no qualms with boxing. We have 1 in semi and 2 in qf. Despite panghal failing there are people who stepped up. It performed as per expectations as a sport for India. 

Even if sindhu fails to get a medal she has done justice to her reputation and talents. She is in the semis. 

Even in mens hockey. If india are ranked 3rd and reach the semis, even if no medal they have done justice to their rankings and talents

If your ranked number 1 in a discipline in shooting, atleast reach the finals. If you win a medal or not depends on several things. Fair enough. But you can be ranked 1 and finish 25th. The deviation from expectation is huge.