Tokyo 2020 Paralympics: Record 19 medals thus far!!!! Amazing

6 hours ago, bharathh said:

Bhavina Patel advances to the finals beating the Chinese lady that beat her in the group stages! 

So now fight for gold medal

Bhavina Patel loses the final to settle for Silver. First medal for India.

Mixed archery team in the compound event moves to the quarter finals to face Turkey. 

There are so many categories of events - a little hard to understand. A bit sad that noone follows this much though. These folks are just as if not more passionate than those who represent their countries in the Summer Games - but there is almost 0 coverage worldwide.

Congrats Bhavina Patel. 

Not watching the Paralympics, mainly because watching these athletes sends me to depression, as in I feel a lot of sadness when I see people with missing limbs or when young men and women are wheelchair-bound. Makes me anxious as well.

Good luck to all our athletes, hope we better the Rio show. 

Ligament tear rules Bajrang Punia out of World Championships, brings early end to his 2021 season

Olympic bronze medallist Bajrang Punia will not compete in the upcoming wrestling World Championships after being advised a six-week rehabilitation to treat the ligament tear he suffered in his right knee in run up to the Tokyo Games. The World Championships will be held in Oslo, Norway from October 2-10 and Bajrang will not be able to begin his mat training until the rehabilitation programme is compete.

Bajrang recently underwent an MRI scan to know the extent of the injury he suffered in Russia in June before the Olympics and consulted Dr Dinshaw Pardiwala, who heads the Centre for Sports Medicine at Mumbai's Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani Hospital.

"It's a ligament tear and I have been asked to follow a rehabilitation programme for six weeks by Dr Dinshaw. I won't be able to compete at the World Championship," Bajrang told PTI.

Bajrang had suffered the injury in the run up to the Tokyo Games when he competed at a Russian tournament -- Ali Aliyev in June.

Bajrang had forfeited his semi-finals against Abulmazhid Kudiev, who got hold of the Indian's right leg and pulled him abruptly in the first period of the bout.

The impact had an effect on Bajrang's right knee and the limping grappler immediately quit the mat but competed at the Olympics and won a bronze in 65kg category.

"Since it was my first Olympics and I had a dream to win an Olympic medal, I competed through pain in Tokyo. I had to do it."

Champion won an Olympic bronze with a torn ligament, in the toughest sport that too. *ing legend!!!!!

Last year I had a torn ligament in my ankle, couldn't even climb stairs for 2 weeks. First two days I was literally hopping on one leg, then walking like a tortoise. Took almost 2 months for life to become normal. 

What are our Olympians made of? Kya toughness hai!!!!!

36 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Ligament tear rules Bajrang Punia out of World Championships, brings early end to his 2021 season

Olympic bronze medallist Bajrang Punia will not compete in the upcoming wrestling World Championships after being advised a six-week rehabilitation to treat the ligament tear he suffered in his right knee in run up to the Tokyo Games. The World Championships will be held in Oslo, Norway from October 2-10 and Bajrang will not be able to begin his mat training until the rehabilitation programme is compete.

Bajrang recently underwent an MRI scan to know the extent of the injury he suffered in Russia in June before the Olympics and consulted Dr Dinshaw Pardiwala, who heads the Centre for Sports Medicine at Mumbai's Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani Hospital.

"It's a ligament tear and I have been asked to follow a rehabilitation programme for six weeks by Dr Dinshaw. I won't be able to compete at the World Championship," Bajrang told PTI.

Bajrang had suffered the injury in the run up to the Tokyo Games when he competed at a Russian tournament -- Ali Aliyev in June.

Bajrang had forfeited his semi-finals against Abulmazhid Kudiev, who got hold of the Indian's right leg and pulled him abruptly in the first period of the bout.

The impact had an effect on Bajrang's right knee and the limping grappler immediately quit the mat but competed at the Olympics and won a bronze in 65kg category.

"Since it was my first Olympics and I had a dream to win an Olympic medal, I competed through pain in Tokyo. I had to do it."

Champion won an Olympic bronze with a torn ligament, in the toughest sport that too. *ing legend!!!!!

Wow! We thought it was an injured knee but Bajrang played through with a ligament tear! And he even took off te knee cap in the last hour. Such immense courage. 

Truly inspirational. These are the tales of surreal will power and self belief which need to become folklore. 

Most of us were right about Bajrang being a gold contender.

Normal wrestlers don't win bronze with one leg that too in freestyle where you can attack the legs. Bajrang is the best in the world, at least in his case ranking was accurate. 

He has promised to upgrade the color of his medal in Paris. Federation must extend full support.

Also the USA wrestling team was cheering on Bajrang during his bouts. Pretty helpful since there were no crowds. Great to see such camaraderie. 

He trains in USA most of the time and is very chummy with their wrestling teams/coaches/commentators...saw videos of them teaching him basketball. Bajrang also is regularly invited to US based wrestling YT channels and podcasts...he does some coaching for various US based clubs, high schools, unis.

Nishad Kumar wins another silver in a high jump event. :cheer:

Vinod Kumar currently finishes and is in 2nd position with 4 more athletes to go in the seated discus throw. Hopefully will medal as well.