Tokyo 2020 Paralympics: Record 19 medals thus far!!!! Amazing

11 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Man too much cricket being discussed and brought into this thread unnecessarilly. 

we don’t want these guys/gals to let us down like Chokoli and co :p:

Edited by maniac
8 minutes ago, maniac said:

we don’t want these guys/gals to let us down like Chokoli and co :p:

70 percent already have. Others  doing well and hopefully will get us medal. PV Sindhu winning her second medal in Olympics will be a massive achievement by any sportsperson in India. Two individual medals will be a massive achievement.

Just don’t like the idea of dissing cricket players who have bigger talent pool and much harder chance to being into all India  playing x1. Cricketers who make to Indian team have much harder path. Every sportsman works hard.

Just now, Cricketics said:

70 percent already have. Others  doing well and hopefully will get us medal. PV Sindhu winning her second medal in Olympics will be a massive achievement by any sportsperson in India. Two individual medals will be a massive achievement.

Just don’t like the idea of dissing cricket players who have bigger talent pool and much harder chance to being into all India  playing x1. Cricketers who make to Indian team have much harder path. Every sportsman works hard.

bhai sab light hai yaar, we criticize a legend like Kohli as chokoli or Dhoni and worship sir jogi for his incredible contribution

to Indian cricket . All in good fun. If we all talk like Murali Karthik and Deep Das Gupta this place will suck :)

all in good fun

2 minutes ago, maniac said:

bhai sab light hai yaar, we criticize a legend like Kohli as chokoli or Dhoni and worship sir jogi for his incredible contribution

to Indian cricket . All in good fun. If we all talk like Murali Karthik and Deep Das Gupta this place will suck :)

all in good fun

par yaar tu saleh 10 dollar kharchke subsribe nahi karta to watch Indian olympics atheletes. That is my concern :(

1 minute ago, Cricketics said:

par yaar tu saleh 10 dollar kharchke subsribe nahi karta to watch Indian olympics atheletes. That is my concern :(

bhai I tried every thing under the sun to get a subscription. I even got sonyliv on sling after someone posted here but us doesn’t have it. You need cable TV to watch Olympics so I have to sign a new contract. I tried it in on Hulu live TV as well but it’s not working. So don’t be concerned I pay for ESPN+,Hotstar and Willow as a sports fan.

4 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Supporting overpaid cricket players :giggle:

yes that’s why I demand performance. I have to watch crappy movies like Big Bull and Other Hotstar movies to recover my cost. Middle class aadmi hoon bhai, paise ka hissab rakhna padta hai. At least ESPN+ I could watch Engerland lose to Italy and some awesome 20:20 sports documentaries 

2 hours ago, maniac said:

^ tu bol apna nbc ka share karega tujhe $10 de doonga :p:

Free me dega to aur bhi chalega :)

There is a pro free streams link that covers every major sport including Olympics. You just need a VPN. It's completely FREE

5 hours ago, Cricketics said:

Not always. Many deserving players get overlooked or filtered out early too. That's why players like sky are debuting now instead of say 2018 when they were in peak form. 

3 hours ago, nitinbwj said:

There is a pro free streams link that covers every major sport including Olympics. You just need a VPN. It's completely FREE

Vipbox stream works for me. As if I will pay watch these fools. After 2021 WTC final I cancelled all indian cricket subscriptions. 

9 hours ago, neel roy said:

Schedule for tomorrow. @Gollum please enlighten us about our chances for tomorrow..

Boxing

Round of 16: Amit Panghal vs Y. Martinez (Colombia) – 7:30 am

Quarterfinal: Pooja Rani vs Li Qian (China) – 3:36 pm

Shooting qualification – 50m rifle 3 – Tejaswini Sawant, Anjum Moudgil – 8:30 am

Final – 12:30 pm

Athletics

Women’s discus throw Group A – Seema Punia – 6:00 am

Women’s discus throw Group B – Kamalpreet Kaur – 7:25 am

Men’s Long Jump – M. Sreeshankar – 3:40 pm

Sailing – 49er Race 10 – Ganapathy Kelapanda, Varun Thakkar -- 8:35 am

Archery men's individual Pre-Quarterfinal – Atanu Das vs T. Furukawa (Japan) – 7:16 am

Semifinal – 11:15 am onwards

Medal rounds – 1:00 pm onwards

Badminton women’s singles semifinals – PV Sindhu vs Tai Tzu Ying (Chinese Taipei) – 2:30 pm onwards

Hockey – India women vs South Africa – 8:45 am

9 hours ago, maniac said:

@Gollum @neel roy schedule and medal chances for today? 

@maniac we can confirm a medal today in boxing, archery, badminton.

Boxing

Watch Amit's R16 match, medal contender. 

Pooja Rani, if she wins is assured of a medal. Tough opponent (Rio bronze, world #3, former world champ, height advantage), do watch but don't have high expectation.

Shooting

Maaf kar

Athletics

No hope. But I may watch women's discus to see if they can breach 65m mark. We are good at CWG, decent at Asian Games level, no chance in Olympics.

Long jump guy is a youngster, our NR holder. Good prospect, but no chance of medal. Let us see if he can surprise us by making the final. 

Let us be realistic about our athletics chances, if one of them can make the final (only Neeraj I have more expectation) and/or break the national record, I'd say :hatsoff:

Sailing

Skip

Archery

Not much hope (since 2012 seen only disappointments in this sport) but will watch. Atanu at least seems to have some mental toughness unlike his wife. Draw not that difficult, he has the ability to reach SF where he is set to face an American beast named Ellison (holds a few WRs), a legend who is expected to fight for gold. 

Badminton

Big big match, most important contest tomorrow. Sindhu is the clear underdog. Our idiotic sports media, TV channels, twitter gyanis may hype up Sindhu's chances, don't fall prey to that and look at it objectively. 

Hockey

Should win against RSA. Depending on goal margin and Ireland's performance against GBR, we may sneak into QF as the 4th ranked side from our section. In QF we are set to play Australia (if some miracle happens, us against a powerful Arg side) and if we make it that far only point of interest will be whether we will lose honorably or get crushed 0-8.

But great feat if we make QF. Historically our women's side was never good, qualified to Rio 2016 for the first time since 1980 Moscow (depleted Olympics cos of withdrawals by Western countries) and we finished last in our group, couldn't win a single match. 

Long way away from beating Aus, Arg, top European teams....if we do better than China, Japan I count that as an improvement since historically these 2 Asian teams have been comfortably ahead of us. 

If you want to watch a medal prospect play, skip this since not happening. If you want to watch improvement of the team, as an Indian hockey fan, sure watch the encounter. 

Field hockey men, results today

Ind beat Japan 5-3

Arg beat NZ 4-1

Aus-Spain draw 1-1

Ger beat Neth 3-1

Can-RSA draw 4-4

Bel-GBR draw 2-2

Think it was a conscious decision by Aus, Bel to not push hard today, #1 was assured anyway and maybe they are saving fuel in their tanks for KOs. Both are expected to make the final, cut above the rest. 

Final standings from group stage

Group A[edit]

Pos Team

M W D L GF GA GD Pts Qualification
1 23px-Flag_of_Australia_%28converted%29.s Australia 5 4 1 0 22 9 +13 13 Quarter-finals
2 23px-Flag_of_India.svg.png India 5 4 0 1 15 13 +2 12
3 23px-Flag_of_Argentina.svg.png Argentina 5 2 1 2 10 11 −1 7
4 23px-Flag_of_Spain.svg.png Spain 5 1 2 2 9 10 −1 5
5 23px-Flag_of_New_Zealand.svg.png New Zealand 5 1 1 3 11 16 −5 4  
6 23px-Flag_of_Japan.svg.png Japan (H) 5 0 1 4 10 18 −8

Group B[edit]

Pos Team

M W D L GF GA GD Pts Qualification
1 23px-Flag_of_Belgium_%28civil%29.svg.png Belgium 5 4 1 0 26 9 +17 13 Quarter-finals
2 23px-Flag_of_Germany.svg.png Germany 5 3 0 2 19 10 +9 9
3 23px-Flag_of_the_United_Kingdom.svg.png Great Britain 5 2 2 1 11 11 0 8
4 23px-Flag_of_the_Netherlands.svg.png Netherlands 5 2 1 2 13 13 0 7
5 23px-Flag_of_South_Africa.svg.png South Africa 5 1 1 3 16 24 −8 4  
6 23px-Flag_of_Canada_%28Pantone%29.svg.pn Canada 5 0 1 4 9 27 −18 1

KO bracket

AqsQOVV.jpg

Great Britain in Olympics field hockey usually does well (gold in 1988, 4th and 5th place finishes in 2008, 2012), unique in the Games since England, Scotland, Wales are together. In WCs, CTs, Euros, CWG etc. England team plays, not GBR.

Funny thing is Eng is ranked 6, Wales 17, Scotland 19 (Pakistan between them at number 18 lol), all 3 in top 20...making the GBR squad a pretty strong one. 

Not just hockey, will be interesting to see how the individual units of GBR perform in Olympics, how combining them boosts the team's chances in sports like hockey, cycling, relay races etc. All it takes is replacing one weak link in Eng with a player from Wales/Scotland and team can suddenly become world beaters.  

25 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Field hockey men, results today

Ind beat Japan 5-3

Arg beat NZ 4-1

Aus-Spain draw 1-1

Ger beat Neth 3-1

Can-RSA draw 4-4

Bel-GBR draw 2-2

Think it was a conscious decision by Aus, Bel to not push hard today, #1 was assured anyway and maybe they are saving fuel in their tanks for KOs. Both are expected to make the final, cut above the rest. 

Maybe india conserved their energy vs Aussies too. Peak at the right time hopefully. 

So the commentators mentioned why they don't have bronze medal match in boxing. Fears of injuries due to knockouts or concussion in the SFs, so there is some rule in boxing which prohibits loser of a bout from participating for a certain period of time (on failure to comply it seems license is cancelled), purely safety reasons. Makes sense. I am assuming this is the same in most combat sports.

Wrestling is different, has repechage where losers go on to have more matches the same day.  So common to see concussions, blunt force trauma, spinal injuries in that sport. Is safety not a concern there? Sure boxing has more head injuries but in wrestling you slam your opponent hard on the floor, do suplex etc. 

Suplex. Wrestling. Lucha olímpica. | Olympic wrestling, Sports fights,  Wrestling quotes

6 minutes ago, Gollum said:

So the commentators mentioned why they don't have bronze medal match in boxing. Fears of injuries due to knockouts or concussion in the SFs, so there is some rule in boxing which prohibits loser of a bout from participating for a certain period of time (on failure to comply it seems license is cancelled), purely safety reasons. Makes sense. I am assuming this is the same in most combat sports.

Wrestling is different, has repechage where losers go on to have more matches the same day.  So common to see concussions, blunt force trauma, spinal injuries in that sport. Is safety not a concern there? Sure boxing has more head injuries but in wrestling you slam your opponent hard on the floor, do suplex etc. 

Not on concrete though. Mat is safer. 

32 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Pakistan between them at number 18 lo

Whattt.. pakistan less than wales. Half the wales hockey players are not even professionals. They have day jobs