#HijabRow in Karnataka Schools - where do you stand?

Austin 3:!6

What's your stand on hijab row?  

29 members have voted

1. 1. What's your stand on hijab row?

• Hijab should be banned from all govt schools. Govt should enforce this.
    • Hijab or any religious attire should be allowed in all govt schools in India. Govt should enforce this
    • Status quo should be maintained. If it's allowed, let it remain so. If it's banned, don't allow it. Let schools decide it.

11 minutes ago, Mohan Swamy said:

This.

What if these girls refuse to remove their hijab during an examination? Easy impersonation trick isn't it? Nowhere in the world you are allowed to cover your face while sitting for an exam.

Definitely need to nip this bs in the bud. Else you can never draw a line on this stupidity. 

Hijab doesn't cover the face.

How is it related to examination?

12 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

What special benefits? .  As far as I know SC/ST guys are Hindus Sikhs too & they also gets special benefits including minorities..  Even though I am against it as I  belong to General category.  These benefits are given to them in constitution.  Let me tell u Native Americans live in federally administred areas in US & enjoy some special benefits as well.  Same goes for aboriginal people in Australia.  They get several benefits as well. 

Asking for a separate country based on some spiritual imagination?

Do Hindus Sikhs get it on the basis of their religion ( the imaginary spiritual....)  like Haj Subsidy or 4 marriages? If so, it has to change.

Constitution can be amended. Are native Americans being given special benefits because of some imagination?

Do not mix social problems with the opium of the masses called religion.

Have you heard of blasphemy laws in constitution for a particular religion. Should that stay or change?

Edited by HamHindustani

11 minutes ago, HamHindustani said:

Asking for a separate country based on some spiritual imagination?

Do Hindus Sikhs get it on the basis of their religion ( the imaginary spiritual nonsense)  like Haj Subsidy or 4 marriages? If so, it has to change.

Constitution can be amended. Are native Americans being given special benefits because of some imaginary creature they bend down to?

Do not mix social problems with the opium of the masses called religion.

Have you heard of blasphemy laws in constitution for a particular religion. Should that stay or change?

Who has asked for a separate country here?  Muslim league did & it led to a proper slaughter.  They get hate in India for good reason. 

I don't want to get into imaginary/idoltary or even your atheism here...  As we don't know which sect is bigger idiot. 

I do know that it's our duty abide the constitution.  It doesn't matter if we hate/love it.  That's the part of living in India. 

This Hijab isn't a social problem by any means..  There are many bigger social issues in India.  India isn't ideal & neither is every democracy. 

3 hours ago, vayuu1 said:

bhai naari tadka bhi thi,naari shrupnakha bhi thi,naari pootna bhi thi,uske vyavhaar pe bhi nirbhar krta hai

Yes but where you going with it. She is just a kid. I think fight shouldnt be against handful girls who want to wear Hijab or whatever right?

You quit that college. Mass transfer or mass drop out. Protest karne 1000 tarike hai. Whatever those boys did has completely ruined the anti-protest. Just video of her was enough. They are there to create that narrative that 1 girl vs 100 boys, community vs system, minority vs majority.

2 minutes ago, dial_100 said:

Yes but where you going with it. She is just a kid. I think fight shouldnt be against handful girls who want to wear Hijab or whatever right?

You quit that college. Mass transfer or mass drop out. Protest karne 1000 tarike hai. Whatever those boys did has completely ruined the anti-protest. Just video of her was enough. They are there to create that narrative that 1 girl vs 100 boys, community vs system, minority vs majority.

Fact 100% Indians are oblivious regarding narrative building..  BBC jalzeera Independent are all over it. I won't blame Govt.  if they favor minority here.  These guys ruined everything...  Bunch of idiots.  Made that girl look like hero. 

On hindsight it could've been negotiated down to just headscarf as this issue is leading to dramatic religious divide but no one even those 5 girls who started this may not have imagined that it becomes an international issue.  Sometimes teachers are hell bent on rules and their ego will be hurt if some students defy them publicly but they should understand that there is a bigger issue when Muslims and SC/St are involved , better follow their line than enforcing their rules. 

4 minutes ago, urbestfriend said:

On hindsight it could've been negotiated down to just headscarf as this issue is leading to dramatic religious divide but no one even those 5 girls who started this may not have imagined that it becomes an international issue.  Sometimes teachers are hell bent on rules and their ego will be hurt if some students defy them publicly but they should understand that there is a bigger issue when Muslims and SC/St are involved , better follow their line than enforcing their rules. 

It's amazing how far teachers go when it comes so called rules and take out their frustration on students.

When we were kids, school would harass kids in name of uniform. 

If you are using old tie, and if the name of school is even slightly worn off, they would keep asking you buy a new one, even if you can't afford one and it doesn't make sense either.

Punishment culture was prevelent, not sure what's the situation now. We had a Maths teacher who was always considered angry man of school. He used to beat kids mercilessly in front of entire school. They were lucky that they didn't end up behind bars back then.

I was wondering when the next Shaheen Bhag would happen. Didn't have to wait too long. 

Either there should be uniform or not. If there is uniform then the girls have no standing. If there isn't a need for uniform - then the school has no standing. IMO uniform is supposed to alleviate the differences between people. People are not supposed to know whether you are rich/poor, hindu/muslim etc. I guess that is just a fool's errand. Some people always feel they are supposed to be different and have a right to be so

16 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

Govt/police first need to come down hard on these hooligans who is giving bad names to hindusim/saffron.

Let court decide regarding the hijab.

Really is it that easy?

The moment police even touches any of them, all hell will break loose.

Headline will be students beaten for wearing saffron scarves. Is wearing saffron scarves a crime in India?

2 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Really is it that easy?

The moment police even touches any of them, all hell will break loose.

Headline will be students beaten for wearing saffron scarves. Is wearing saffron scarves a crime in India?

But some action must be taken. The issue of Hijab is not religious. Well atleast that is what school is saying. They want everyone to adhere to school uniform.

People who are not happy with this have reached out to court. Whatever verdict court gives everyone has to follow.

Not sure why these guys taking law into their own hand and that too by chanting prabhu Ram's name :facepalm:

39 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

It's amazing how far teachers go when it comes so called rules and take out their frustration on students.

When we were kids, school would harass kids in name of uniform. 

If you are using old tie, and if the name of school is even slightly worn off, they would keep asking you buy a new one, even if you can't afford one and it doesn't make sense either.

Punishment culture was prevelent, not sure what's the situation now. We had a Maths teacher who was always considered angry man of school. He used to beat kids mercilessly in front of entire school. They were lucky that they didn't end up behind bars back then.

Well students have mellowed down now...  There used to be hardcore fights especially in high schools or even middle schools back 15-20 years ago.  Government school used to be notorious for that & teachers were hardcore as well.   Situation now is well & truly decent compared to those days.  Focus is more on education & students come from decent backgrounds as well mostly.  Posh private schools are even more safer.  You can't even touch Kids these days. 

53 minutes ago, urbestfriend said:

I am fairly certain that a section of opposition stoked the fire ... There have been several precedents across the country where full arm covering or head covering Hijab were not permitted for exams or for attending classes. The issue has now become a Gordian knot

Edited by diga

4 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

But some action must be taken. The issue of Hijab is not religious. Well atleast that is what school is saying. They want everyone to adhere to school uniform.

People who are not happy with this have reached out to court. Whatever verdict court gives everyone has to follow.

Not sure why these guys taking law into their own hand and that too by chanting prabhu Ram's name :facepalm:

Really? It's obvious that these guys are politically motivated and funded.

3 minutes ago, diga said:

I am fairly certain that a section of opposition stoked the fire ... There have been several precedents across the country where full arm covering or head covering Hijab were not permitted for exams or for attending classes. The issue has now become a Gordian knot

Entire issue has been politics driven. There is nothing to guess about it.