West Indies tour of Pakistan 2022

14 hours ago, Suhaan said:

Multan is ridiculously hot,I bet hottest  in South Asia

One of the oldest and hottest city in the world. Its so hot there was no chance of any political gathering there in these peak summer days , hence cricket moved from Rawalpindi to Multan. High Temp was 45 today, but its not humid. 

On 6/9/2022 at 4:17 PM, Gollum said:

Irrespective of the strength of the opposition, nature of pitch, stakes involved, this is some level of batting by Babar, amazing consistency, freakish numbers. Easily the best overall batsman in world cricket right now....also helped by the fact that Root doesn't play white ball stuff.

Still struggles vs leg spin. 

Pakistan's white ball teams have been impressive . Mickey Arthur's work, rehauling of domestics, data-driven decisions in terms of strategies and selections.  A far cry from 2016 when they were the absolute pits. 

There is still a lot of scope for improvement though and if they get a couple of more things in order , they will be a major threat at the 2023 World Cup.

On 6/9/2022 at 11:47 AM, Gollum said:

Irrespective of the strength of the opposition, nature of pitch, stakes involved, this is some level of batting by Babar, amazing consistency, freakish numbers. Easily the best overall batsman in world cricket right now....also helped by the fact that Root doesn't play white ball stuff.

Root is better in Tests and had a chance to match him in ODIs (his best Test form has coincided with him being out of ODIs, where he already had a prior avg of 50+). however, across all formats, babar is the most consistent as you wrote

14 hours ago, putrevus said:

Have to give it Babar, he might end up best batsman in Pakistan's history.The consistency with which he is scoring in all formats is amazing.

Yes best stat padder like your dumbass kohli 

On 6/9/2022 at 7:17 AM, Gollum said:

Most consistent batsman I have seen. Brilliant batsman.

58 minutes ago, Jay said:

Yes best stat padder like your dumbass kohli 

So scoring 3 back to back centuries and avg 60+ in ODIs is stats paddler to you?

I would love to see any Indian batsman emulate such kind of stats peddling.

BTW, what is intent cricket according to you - meaningless slogs that Rishab Pant does?

20 hours ago, Nikhil_cric said:

Pakistan's white ball teams have been impressive . Mickey Arthur's work, rehauling of domestics, data-driven decisions in terms of strategies and selections.  A far cry from 2016 when they were the absolute pits. 

There is still a lot of scope for improvement though and if they get a couple of more things in order , they will be a major threat at the 2023 World Cup.

Their top order is very good - Imam, Fakhar, Babar, Rizwan....four very good batsman who are all in their peak form. Its similar to where were we back in around 2018 when our top order was brilliant.

But if you can break their top 4...remaining players are not that great. Even their bowling don't impress me in 50 over cricket atleast. Shaheen is good with new ball...play him out and remaining bowlers like Hasan Ali, Rauf, Shadab, Nawaz are halwa.

11 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

So scoring 3 back to back centuries and avg 60+ in ODIs is stats paddler to you?

I would love to see any Indian batsman emulate such kind of stats peddling.

BTW, what is intent cricket according to you - meaningless slogs that Rishab Pant does?

Rishab? In LOI? I don't rate him either. 

Babar is a stat padded in t20. Haven't watched him enough in odi.

11 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

would love to see any Indian batsman emulate such kind of stats peddling.

Bhaiya Maaf karo,we have enough of our own  stat padding talents

Don't need even one of those,need selfless match winners instead

46 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

Most consistent batsman I have seen. Brilliant batsman.

Most ka toh pata nahi, he isn't that good in tests, the ultimate format to rate any cricketer. 

Even in last 6-7 years peak ABDV, Kohli, Warner have been more consistent (and impactful) across the 3 formats. 

Not taking anything away from Babar but unless he has a drastic turnaround in red ball cricket can't give him ATG tag, heck even 'country great' tag. The likes of YK and Inzi have far better resume in test cricket. 

Babar may statpad a lot but even that can result in ATG knocks, like his gritty 100 in a must win game against eventual finalists NZ in 2019 WC, on a difficult track. One of the truly special WC 100s. Last time an Indian played a similar ballsy knock (not against minnows, sorry Rohit) in must win 50 overs ICC game (special mention to Kohli who had a special against Aus in 2016  WT20) happened in 2011 WC F at home, that too with assistance of dew, not to forget the injury cloud around our #1 threat Murali. 

Wish one of our top 3 maharathis had done similar statpadding against Black Caps in 2019 SF, even a slow 70 by one of the top 3 would have ensured us coasting to the target. But there we were left hung out to dry at 5/3 and 24/4. 

1 hour ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

Its similar to where were we back in around 2018 when our top order was brilliant.

It's not that good. Just that they play way too many games against these sub par sides. Dhawan, Rohit, Kohli and Rahul as a top4 is at a different level. Imam and Babar on their best days would score 180 runs off 200 balls against good bowling attacks. Fakhar is hit and miss and Rizwan hasn't done anything in odis.