Loving Hardik Pandya's captaincy!

zen

4 hours ago, Sean Bradley said:

Lol this thread has not aged well! Mai karke aaya hai captain chapri, Captain Garad, Captain Chaman Jhinga, Captain Babu Jalela! 

I can only find these kind of names for my new age captain fool.

The one who created this thread has the habit of blaming Indian fans for the failures of his Demi Gods (Don and Duckula).  He has created tons of threads dedicated to boot licking and glorifying the underachievements of Duckula (which is tantamount to an act of spamming, BTW) only to find out later that he averages 22 in tests in last 3 yrs.   And in his defence he says it's the irresponsible Indian fans and their undue expectations which are the reasons behind his decline.  He has come up with the same retarded argument in favour of his other God 'Don Dandya'. 

Edited by Frustrated
13 minutes ago, Frustrated said:

The one who created this thread has the habit of blaming Indian fans for the failures of his Demi Gods (Don and Duckula).  He has created tons of threads dedicated to boot licking and glorifying the underachievements of Duckula (which is tentamount to an act of spamming, BTW) only to find out later that he averages 22 in tests in last 3 yrs.   And in his defence he says it's the irresponsible Indian fans and their undue expectations which are responsible for his decline.  He has come up with the same retarded argument in favour of his other God 'Don Dandya'. 

Looks like OP is a gujju & have the tendency to hyping the gujju players. But all the players OP has hyped have turned out to be ultimate phuskies of highest order. 

1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said:

Losses are fine, but the issue is in the name of "youngsters" we are getting the dose of the same old domestic rejects who have faltered to perform in internationals.

Pandya was our middle overs enforcer and a hard hitting batsman at the end overs..now he is trying to become a new ball swing bowler and an accumulator. This throws off the likes of Mukesh Kumar off the hook as they are useless throughout, so now players are trying to play a role which they are incapable of. Ideally an Umran should have played if Mukesh wasn't going to share new ball.

Tilak is playing at no 4 and usually that's the spot he prefers..maybe he can bat at no 5 as well. But the question mark on no 6 is not yet solved. Hardik, Sanju, Axar all are incapable of batting at no 6..they are either no 7 or a no 3/4 batter. That's where Rinku Singh was precious.

Yashasvi should play the third T20, but which means one of Ishan Kishan or Gill has to come down. That will again upset the whole combination.

This series was tagged as "saare jawab milenge"..so far all it has done is raise even more questions on our strategy and the panic in the dressing room.

16 years after we won t20. We still don't have any hitters or? Are we that limited? Or is it a coaching issue. 

Why we don't have guys like prime yuvraj, prime yusuf, gambo, Sehwag and pawaar hitta Dhoni anymore? 

When India had these big strong hitters we used to pummel these teams in odi and to an extent in t20. 

Edited by wazza
5 hours ago, wazza said:

16 years after we won t20. We still don't have any hitters or? Are we that limited? Or is it a coaching issue. 

Why we don't have guys like prime yuvraj, prime yusuf, gambo, Sehwag and pawaar hitta Dhoni anymore? 

When India had these big strong hitters we used to pummel these teams in odi and to an extent in t20. 

I think more than the ability it's the habit of stat padding.

Our IPL stars all of them bat at top order. Where they will play at SR of 120-130 by 16th over..and then swing everything in last 4.

All the top champs of our T20 play in top order..where they get time to get their eye in. It's not easy to be a Dasher as it bring a lot of inconsistency as well.

MSD always found tough to get going from ball one and hence his scores in T20 were Mediocre for a large time. It's only in later stages of his career he started focusing on playing few balls and trying to maximise the impact.

That's where likes of Tewatia, Rinku, SKY are special..they have the ability to not only go big but also maneuver the ground dimensions. Pant for good 3-4 years was the same beast. Abhinav Mahohar is also a power hitter who have more range of hitting sixes.

In almost every IPL team..we have foreign players for the dasher role. Hetmyer, David, Livingstone, Miller, Russell they are playing for that role only.

8 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Our IPL stars all of them bat at top order. Where they will play at SR of 120-130 by 16th over..and then swing everything in last 4.

All the top champs of our T20 play in top order..where they get time to get their eye in. It's not easy to be a Dasher as it bring a lot of inconsistency as well.

MSD always found tough to get going from ball one and hence his scores in T20 were Mediocre for a large time. It's only in later stages of his career he started focusing on playing few balls and trying to maximise the impact.

That's where likes of Tewatia, Rinku, SKY are special..they have the ability to not only go big but also maneuver the ground dimensions. Pant for good 3-4 years was the same beast. Abhinav Mahohar is also a power hitter who have more range of hitting sixes.

In almost every IPL team..we have foreign players for the dasher role. Hetmyer, David, Livingstone, Miller, Russell they are playing for that role only.

So as usual. We dont pick the right players. Nice bcci. 

1 minute ago, wazza said:

So as usual. We dont pick the right players. Nice bcci. 

Yup, who would play Axar Patel at no 4...He is a no 7/8 batter.

Sanju who is batting at 5/6 is a top 3 batter.

Ishan Kishan the keeper can't move from top because he is handicapped elsewhere..that's where Jitesh Sharma could have been handy. 

Pandya who used to bat at no 7 is now not even batting at 6. He wants to bat at no 5 or above.

1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said:

I don't think stat padding is the reason. Rohit and Rahul never had ability to hit from ball one consistently every innings.Kohli's game was always built on rotating strike and then exploding in last few overs.Kohli became a liability in t20s after he started to get out after getting starts.

Do we have any players who can be big hitters from ball one. Pandya was always was a limited range player and now he wants to bat in top 5 is an indication he does not want to be a finisher.

Yuvraj had ability but he also did very little after 2007.The same Yuvraj struggled to put bat on ball in 2014 finals.  Dhoni was an excellent odi player but a big liability as t20 player.

India has not produced single big hitter since Yuvraj.SKY was special for that reason not only he had ability to hit from ball one but also had 360.He has not been aboe to replicate his success in longer formats.

Last couple of IPLs was first time I saw some middle order and lower order talented players emerge. 

Edited by putrevus

I have no issues with trolls crying and spreading hate (that is their nature and what is the point of happy and sensible trolls) but “cricket fans” know how India is using many bilaterals to field in new players (at times, the options can be limited due to injuries/unavailability due to rotation). 

I hope that guys like SKY and Samson are able to rediscover their touch. Good to see Axar being given confidence up the order (one of the issues Indian cricket had was guys in the lower middle order were not getting opportunities to bat up in bilaterals to develop their game). Axar too needs to pull up his socks or it would appear as if he is moving out of his purple patch. 

Few more months to go for the WC and by that time Sir Don Pandya would have gained more experience as captain, therefore, potentially exciting times ahead!!

1 hour ago, putrevus said:

I don't think stat padding is the reason. Rohit and Rahul never had ability to hit from ball one consistently every innings.Kohli's game was always built on rotating strike and then exploding in last few overs.Kohli became a liability in t20s after he started to get out after getting starts.

Do we have any players who can be big hitters from ball one. Pandya was always was a limited range player and now he wants to bat in top 5 is an indication he does not want to be a finisher.

Yuvraj had ability but he also did very little after 2007.The same Yuvraj struggled to put bat on ball in 2014 finals.  Dhoni was an excellent odi player but a big liability as t20 player.

India has not produced single big hitter since Yuvraj.SKY was special for that reason not only he had ability to hit from ball one but also had 360.He has not been aboe to replicate his success in longer formats.

Last couple of IPLs was first time I saw some middle order and lower order talented players emerge. 

Actually Yuvraj was a big hitter till 2011. After 2007 as well he played some big inns like the one in SL where he scores 60(25) something. We also had Raina who might not be a power hitter by definition but was explosive in his own way.

Then even after the cancer as well..in one T20 game he went berserk and scored a blasting inns. It's just that his body couldn't take off the load after cancer..

As I said, Abhinav Manohar, Rinku, Samad, Jitesh, Tewatia are some of the proper power hitters in our domestic circuit. Shivam Dube is also there and he probably has most power of them all, but he is pretty limited. Beyond this we have none.

21 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Actually Yuvraj was a big hitter till 2011. After 2007 as well he played some big inns like the one in SL where he scores 60(25) something. We also had Raina who might not be a power hitter by definition but was explosive in his own way.

Then even after the cancer as well..in one T20 game he went berserk and scored a blasting inns. It's just that his body couldn't take off the load after cancer..

As I said, Abhinav Manohar, Rinku, Samad, Jitesh, Tewatia are some of the proper power hitters in our domestic circuit. Shivam Dube is also there and he probably has most power of them all, but he is pretty limited. Beyond this we have none.

Everyone had a defined role. Raina, MSD, Yuvi assuming finisher role although MSD sucked in T20 format. But India had guys like Irfan coming after them.  There was this match where India was 115/7 when Irfan pathan joined Yusuf pathan. India needed 57 in 4.5 overs with 3 wickets in hand.  They added 59 in 4.1 overs to win the match. There is no way current Indian team can pull such thing off.

26 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Yuvraj did play few blinders in bilaterals but could not replicate his form of 2007 in later t20 world cups.

Raina was one batter who could have been given bigger role in t20 side. But his shortball weakness doomed him like in 2009 t20 world cup .

IPL is being played since 2008 and as you said only handful of hitters who may or may not do well as finishers.

Tewatia is prime example.You cannot play him just for his finishing skills as his bowling is non existent., only if he was a better bowler, he could walk into whiteball sides.

Who is to be blamed here , player like Tewatia himself who is unable to improve his bowling skills or BCCI and IPL sides.

IMO they need to find wicket taking bowlers in whiteball cricket.That is the only way to balance this unbalanced side but Dravid instead of grooming guys like Umran is grooming trundlers like Mukesh and Jaidev.

1 hour ago, zen said:

I have no issues with trolls crying and spreading hate (that is their nature and what is the point of happy and sensible trolls) but “cricket fans” know how India is using many bilaterals to field in new players (at times, the options can be limited due to injuries/unavailability due to rotation). 

I hope that guys like SKY and Samson are able to rediscover their touch. Good to see Axar being given confidence up the order (one of the issues Indian cricket had was guys in the lower middle order were not getting opportunities to bat up in bilaterals to develop their game). Axar too needs to pull up his socks or it would appear as if he is moving out of his purple patch. 

Few more months to go for the WC and by that time Sir Don Pandya would have gained more experience as captain, therefore, potentially exciting times ahead!!

He is not penciled up for the captain’s job for the WC, is he? RoSha is India’s captain for this WC in 2023

26 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Everyone had a defined role. Raina, MSD, Yuvi assuming finisher role although MSD sucked in T20 format. But India had guys like Irfan coming after them.  There was this match where India was 115/7 when Irfan pathan joined Yusuf pathan. India needed 57 in 4.5 overs with 3 wickets in hand.  They added 59 in 4.1 overs to win the match. There is no way current Indian team can pull such thing off.

What defined roles are you talking, what did India do in 2009, 2010 and 2012 world cups. They could not sniff semifinal for three straight world cups.

11 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

He is not penciled up for the captain’s job for the WC, is he? RoSha is India’s captain for this WC in 2023

Rohit is now the "outgoing" captain, therefore Sir Don is expected to eventually take charge. Much like how Kohli took the backseat in his last T20 world cup as captain. 

21 minutes ago, putrevus said:

What defined roles are you talking, what did India do in 2009, 2010 and 2012 world cups. They could not sniff semifinal for three straight world cups.

Well India got bounced out twice. They simply could nott play bouncers. Also persisting with Jaddu was a crime. He was more useless back then than now.  We got outplayed. We were just not good enough.

Where, the game when Yuvraj was demoted with a rookie Jadeja being sent ahead in a crucial stage or when Watson hit him for 4(5?) sizes in a row the next year? One was bad captaincy the other was *ing lunacy, MS has always been a fair weather cap just like Ponting! How many back to the wall tests you remember India having won under him when we weren't the favorites, or tournaments in fact except perhaps inaugural WT20?